GenieBelt Reviews

GenieBelt

Web & mobile platform for the construction industry

3.8/5 (98 reviews)
Martin H.

Get this app and stop wasting your time and money

Reviewed on 23/05/2016
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using for two years now. Getting up to date and accurate progress reports is key for us to save time on our projects by being proactive. I knew GenieBelt was a real game changer for us as soon as I started. I am really impressed with GenieBelt and would be surprised if it does not reduce expenses. The platform is about being flexible to change, share information, and adjust your plans according to the other stakeholders. It shows everyone's responsibilities, across the design team and the subcontractors and we are currently about 70 different operatives working on site that uses GenieBelt. - The ideal is that everyone does their own reporting, but as it is custom when implementing new systems, there have been a bit of resistance to change, where we had some mixed experience in getting all the contractors to do their reporting. But most people carry a smartphone these days, so it's possible, In general, the workers really like GenieBelt. We have worked about 130 years in the construction business, and we use some subcontractors more often than others. The ones we work with the most also use GenieBelt more, since they know we prefer to use it. - The main problem about delays is when people don't know where they are in a process. For example, a team may arrive on Monday and expect to be finished with a task Friday ' but gets delayed a day. This scenario tends to actually cost more than a day, since everyone else have to adjust their plans to it. And if a team finishes early and nobody knows about it, you cannot gain economically from it. Finishing quicker always makes money and that is how GenieBelt helps us.

Response from GenieBelt

Martin,
Thank you for your lengthy review of your GenieBelt experience. You been a user of our platform since the early beginning, and we're happy you've chosen to stick with us and now also recommends it to other users. We wish you and your business a prosperous future.
Regards,
Peter from GenieBelt

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Eldhose K.

A great tool for construction and building developement teams

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 13/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Our client is happy with the effective utilization of human resource and limited issue. Also the time for issue resolution is very less. All thanks to GenieBelt!

Pros

We use GenieBelt for our construction client as it involves a lot of hassles and hard tasks involved, also the staff is limited. We use GenieBelt to help them solve the problems by maintaining a strong set of communication and sharing the issues they face. GenieBelt is a great tool to manage and tackle issues with minimum high skilled professionals. The main advantage is that one can solve the issue virtually for different sites.

Cons

The UI and the app needs more improvement as it crashes frequently.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Torsten P.

Easy to set up, great overview with the Gantt chart

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 06/01/2017
Review Source: Capterra

As a tech company, we needed a project management tool. We were aware that GenieBelt is primarily for physical infrastructure building purposes; but we decided to give it a shot, given its good initial impression.

We have now moved on to a different tool (but still haven't settled), as we felt that a few key things were perhaps too specifically intended for physical infrastructure projects. We do miss the Gantt chart: it gave us the best overview we've ever had, along with easy interaction. Good UX too.

Given its ease of setup, do try it out and see if it ends up being a good fit.

Pros

Gantt chart, great UX.

Cons

Too specifically designed for building purposes for us (a tech company).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Syed jahangir Z.

I am using this app since 2016. its amazing for us.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 05/07/2018
Review Source: Capterra

No documentation work is required after completion of project. This app automatically makes a complete documentation work for your project,

Pros

real time pics uploading. budget monitoring. task management and specially one thing that make this software is you can run it without internet on field.

Cons

the function of drill down is best but it should be available in every package, because we are are missing it in our existing package.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Traficanto R.

A Review of GenieBelt.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 10/09/2018
Review Source: Capterra

GenieBelt is ideal for CM and basic scheduling pertaining to an array of different project uses. Overall we enjoy the idea that it helps to connect our users' home office to our main work sites and shared sites, making it easy to locate blueprint and plans and PDF files. It is also useful in our team based progress reporting goals.

Pros

We like that GenieBelt enables our employees working remotely, to function on close levels with corporate help. As far as construction management software, it is top notch. Multiple dashboard features and a cloud based storage platform make for a sleek and efficient module. We also appreciate the mobile reporting aspects and picture uploading tools.

Cons

We enjoy GenieBelt overall for our project management and scheduling needs. If there was one thing we like the least about this software, it might be that if some sort of document control platform were added, we could monitor work-performance with additional ease.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ricardo B.

Great tool for Construction

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 27/02/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall Geniebelt has help us to reduce the time of construction. Is a great tool.

Pros

What I like the most about Geniebelt is the easy way to learn it. You can interact like a social media app, insert comments, give likes or notifications.

Cons

What I like the least about Geniebelt is sometimes the web app crash due to the amount of information.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Nigel S.

First Day of Using Geniebelt and I'm hooked!

Reviewed on 22/02/2016
Review Source: Capterra

I like the fact Geniebelt combines programming and the ability to track progress / updates per specific task. I update items daily and add info to the audit trail including delays and disruptions, the program has replaced my site diary. I had a few queries and they were answered quickly by the friendly team. Very impressed so far.

Feedback:
It would be good if task items on the programme could be coloured for different trades i.e. groundworks, brickwork etc.
It would be good if the extended section of a task which is overdue (past the original finish date) could be identified in a different colour to show how many days/weeks the task is in delay.

Response from GenieBelt

Hi Nigel,
Thanks a lot for your review and feedback. Happy to hear GenieBelt even works like a replacement for your site diary.

We like your suggestion with the manual color options for different trades, so I'll definitely pitch this idea with the product team. Have you tried out Tags in GenieBelt? A lot of users uses tags to organize their tasks by trade. Just reach out to us if you would like to get a demo of how this works.

I would like to have you elaborate a bit on your second suggestion, so I will reach out to you in private.

Once again thanks for taking the time to review.

Regards,
Peter
GenieBelt Ambassador

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Mathias R.

Got the basics, and then some

Reviewed on 23/06/2016
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using Geniebelt to keep track of my projects and getting a good overview of my project portfolio.

Pros

Easy and intuitive to use and has a nice visual.
Able to use a free account with lots of useful functions.
Fast support.

Cons

I have been using Geniebelt from the beginning of the development, so I have experienced a lot of small irritations points. These still pop up, from time to time, but are usually fixed fast.

Response from GenieBelt

Hi Mathias,

Thanks for taking the time to do a review of GenieBelt. We're happy to have you as customers, and are grateful you live through the small bugs.

If there's any you think we don't fix quick enough, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here to make the best construction communication platform, and we only achieve this with your help.

Regards,
Peter

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Timothy C.

Amazing project management tool for builders on the go

Reviewed on 28/01/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The staff at Geniebelt has worked closely with our team to ensure we are well trained and we get the most out of the application. The product itself is the first of its kind that lets our ground teams work closely with the office, updating status, planning and issues. It has saved our company thousands and is well worth trying if you want to improve your current processes particularly when it comes to an easy to implement, follow and update PM system.

Cons

There is nothing in particular any shortcomings the team has quickly taken into account and factored into future versions.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Vladi N.

School usage

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 15/12/2016
Review Source: Capterra

I really enjoy using it. It helped our group work to be way more organized and clear. The best thing is that is accessible from everywhere on every single minute.

Pros

Accesible in different devices and OS

Cons

Comparability with other softoware products on the market

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Ryan M.

Fantastic collaboration hub software

Reviewed on 11/03/2016
Review Source: Capterra

AreaSq whom is part of The Fourfront Group runs about 100 projects a year. We had previously used Woobius until the website closed down and have been searching for a good replacement.

There are a lot of Collaboration hub websites out there but we felt that they were either very complex (and expensive) and required a lot of training or you ended with a Dropbox style that used file space on your PC's drive. It was quite a relief to find GenieBelt which in my opinion is a vastly improved upgraded version of Woobius with so much more.

The programme has a very easy means of issuing drawings & sharing documents, and the audit tracking is brilliant. We haven't fully explored the tasks side of the programme yet, but can see its benefits. The Geniebelt app is great for when you are onsite and urgently need to see the latest drawings.

The customer service has been very good and practically instant when you have an issue. The team have also been listening to our ideas and are quite happy to accommodate our needs.

Overall I am very happy with Geniebelt

Response from GenieBelt

Hi Ryan.
Thanks for the review, we're happy that you're a happy customer.
Regards,
Peter, Customer Ambassador

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Vladislav N.

I just love it <3

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 02/11/2016
Review Source: Capterra

We used it in school and make our projects way more organised and easier for control! It helped us to know how the things are supposed to be done and what to expect in the future on our technical development.

Pros

That it is online and there is an app

Cons

Integration with other project planning software

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Patrick F.

Very useful project management software with great support.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 01/07/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Have started using GenieBelt recently. Early days but already using it on two projects with more to come. Very good for communicating and keeping audit trails for tasks, keeping record of documents and access to latest drawings.

Pros

The ease of use. The support is excellent and it seems as if the team are keen to bring on new features but only when they are as intuitive to use as the current features. We found this to be in contrast to other Project Management software that try to do all and become impossible to use.

Cons

No major gripes, in fact the few issues we have had have been dealt with promptly by support.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Rk G.

MAKE THE CHANGE TRANSFORMATIONAL !

Reviewed on 12/12/2016
Review Source: Capterra

While GenieBelt is a great tool to allocate & track project deliverables, store and access documents and Generate & share reports, I believe there is still more to a project than just these. I think integrating project information with the building special model is the next step.
Which means real-time corroboration of Geniebelt data with the 3-dimentional BIM is what is needed to make this tool really effective.

Team GenieBelt should also be working on bringing the IPD ( Integrated Project Delivery) approach into the tool and see if the data in GenieBelt could be seamlessly extended to Real Estate, Design, Procurement, Field and Facility Management aspects too.

Finally, GenieBelt should get on to every handheld & wearable gadget on the project site and work in the Augmented / Mixed Reality environments to make the transformation of Construction Management complete.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Nicolai E.

Visual and constantly evolving

Reviewed on 21/09/2016
Review Source: Capterra

GenieBelt offers a very visual view of the time schedule, which makes it very easy to see the status of the project. Under each task you can, other than assign a "task leader", share information about the task, which can be helpful for whoever is ask to complete it.

Also the developers uses the feedback from there users, to improve various aeras of the program or to add new features.

Pros

Visual, easy to use, focus on communication

Cons

The app could use a little work

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Naveed abbas R.

Project Monitoring

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 09/12/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Project Management
I access to all tasks all the time and Interactive Gantt chart to track timing and delays on your construction site allocate people to builder tasks, then manage contractors and monitor their progress.
Import a program from MS Project and run it live, in real-time, in GenieBelt.
it keeps a bird's eye view on all projects - know which workers are on what tasks.

Pros

Project Management
Access to all tasks all the time.
It's simple for anyone to access daily reports on progress in seconds, to all relevant parties and contractors.

Cons

Need more report option and connection with accounts

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Sveinn E.

Simple, productive

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 06/01/2017
Review Source: Capterra

I have used the Geniebelt at group work at the school with a good success, everybody were informed about what was happening and good and simple overview of the process and the fact that we could just check out the task on the phone instead of opening a program that is saved on a file on a certain place.

Pros

Simple and user-friendly, with a good and simple overview. And everybody of the group is informed all the time about what is happening and if there are some changes in the plan.

Cons

A bit hard to set up and can sometimes be hard to manage, fx the sites is sometimes slow and difficult and time consuming to plan the project in the beginning.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jakob H.

A positive all round experience

Reviewed on 17/05/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Simple, easy to use and has the required elements to use in the construction business.

Provides a good interface for planning and executing a project, and if trust is established in the group, Geniebelt is a fantastic tool to maintain flow and focus.

It's lightweight and versatile, and the learning curve is acceptable, especially on the mobile apps.

The plans are easy to read and scales well.

What you see is also what you get, there are no hidden limitations, and a superuser is not a requirement. Anybody with experience in building can use this and save time, even if its just for a simple visualization of a plan, file-sharing or monitoring progress.

I've been using Geniebelt for 2 years and it's the best all round program, if not the only one, for the building process including contractors and building owners.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Astrid fremstad B.

Excellent customer service.

Reviewed on 23/02/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Geniebelt helps us with the day-to-day status on a project with many locations. Our project is not the typical building-project which GenieBelt is designed for, but has still proven to be a very useful tool for registrering problems og keeping track of the overall progress of our project. GenieBelts customer service is excellent! Always ready to help!

Response from GenieBelt

Thanks for the review Astrid. We're happy to hear your company still benefits from the day-to-day overview GenieBelt offers for multiple projects in many locations - even though you describe your projects as not being typical building projects. We're happy to have you as customers and look forward to many future projects with you.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Olga S.

An easy way to follow the process of your project

Reviewed on 15/03/2016
Review Source: Capterra

For me the biggest quality of GenieBelt is how easy it is to use. The interface is simple and it is easy to follow the progress of the project.

There are still some small things that could be better but I know the GenieBelt staff is working hard to solve the problems. Their customer service is excellent and they are always willing to help and improve the program.

Response from GenieBelt

Olga, thanks a lot for the review. We also think GenieBelt is really simply to use. That's actually why we call it simply simple. We're always open for suggestions on how we can improve your GenieBelt experience, and glad that you share them with us.
Regards,
Peter, Customer Ambassador

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Somar H.

Great innovative app

Reviewed on 15/12/2016
Review Source: Capterra

My bachelor thesis was on smartdevice apps for the construction industry. In my research I found Geniebelt to be one of the most valuable apps on the market. It offers great capabilities for construction managers such as scheduling, state reporting, communication, drawings and file management. All offered in a very user-friendly framework.
This app is ideal for managers to plan and get an overview of the ongoing activities on one or more sites, including quick communication and problem solving in collaboration with partners and contractors.
I definitely recommend construction managers to try the app out.

Pros

It is user-friendly and has a wide range of capabilities. Good for planning, progress overview and communication.

Cons

Depends on the participation of most actors in the construction project.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
David A.

Great Format

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 05/01/2017
Review Source: Capterra

I used my trial subscription for a Project that we eventually did not get to do. However, I was evaluating several different PM software programs and Genie Belt was at the top of my list. I really like the format and the drill down feature.We are in the structured cabling industry so we work on many construction sites. I am impressed with the feature set but was not able to use it like I would have liked. The one thing I would have liked is some more templates. I am a PMP and therefore am partial to the PMI standards. So a PMI standard basic template set would be nice. I know we could use the document management but I like the integrated templates that some offer. I also very much like the Android App. I think the app had more features than other apps. I also like the access to the documents and the Task tracking of problems. I am looking forward to our next opportunity to use this service.

Pros

The Mobile App and the features. I also like the drill down feature. The Dashboard is set up nice and the quick access to the budget is great.

Cons

I would like to see it more PMI friendly and more templates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Tim N.

Great software

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 16/11/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to use, didn't have any issues. Great customer service they got me set up and going in no time. Thank you for going above and beyond the call of duty.

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

Didn't have any

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Dan B.

A user friendly system, that offers great value commercially and operationally

Reviewed on 27/01/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Genie Belt has been part of our Project set up for over 10 months we have found the Genie Belt team to be proactive and supportive. Each enhancement to the system is well thought out and practical - nothing added to over complicate the user experience.

Response from GenieBelt

Hi Dan,
Thanks a lot for taking the time to review your experience and sharing it with others. We always strive to have the best customer support possible.

It's been a pleasure to work along side you for 10 months now. We look forward to improve GenieBelt even further and to the next 10 months cooperation with you guys.

Best regards,
Peter Drechsler
Customer Ambassador

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Tom W.

Won't stop hassling

Reviewed on 11/01/2017
Review Source: Capterra

I was invited to a Genie belt project by a client who wanted us to report on his project using this software. The software worked ok but is a bit basic compared to Microsoft project that we normally use and doesn't have the same level of functionality or Microsoft office functionality. Since the project has finished and I have no need to use Geniebelt anymore I am getting constant spam emails from them about user experience etc. I have unsubscribed from the emails but they keep contacting me. In short if you want a cheap and basic solution and you never intend to stop using it then this is highly recommended.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support