Showing 114 reviews of 102

Simio

Facility design simulation & production scheduling

4.7 /5 (102 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
Showing 114 reviews of 102
Khumbulani M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simio a world of possibilities

Reviewed on 10/03/2017

the software provides a wide range of possibilities to simulate and test known and unknown systems for better preparedness in their implementation.

Pros

ease of use
availability of student version and research version

Cons

none

Ashley R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent software for handling complex simulations.

Reviewed on 08/08/2018

Pros

Simio software consists of standardized library. In order to focus on the visuals and to forget the analysis, this software is really easy for creating simulation models. It is no doubt the superb choice for business. It is quite easy to learn while other simulation software are quite difficult to learn comparatively. Its functionalities are really awesome with less time consuming. No doubt best ever simulation software. Matchless software with fantastic 3D animations.

Cons

There are not any specific cons about this software. Simulation is mostly written in graphical programming language which is no doubt easy for small and quick designs but as we move further this software is failed to navigate while discussing large and complex simulations. Above discuss is the only con I can hardly think of.

Danial M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simio is not exactly what we expected but gives more than anticipated

Reviewed on 20/06/2018

Simio certainly delivey more realistic results than the simple spread-sheet based calculations we used previously, however you really need to invest a vast amount of effort in the model to be able to get an accurate and believable result.

Pros

The program gives an incredible amount of information and is far more accurate than the spread-sheet based caclulations we used in the past.

Cons

Setup of a true working model is very complicated and terribly time consuming. This is not a simple "drop in a box or two to make a production line and there it works" type of program, you need to invest the time using accurate input information in order to be able develop a true working model. Thereafter you need to keep updating your models in order to keep them relevant.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great software

Reviewed on 28/09/2018

Pros

Can be applied to many different scenarios and is easy to toggle between 3D and 2D modelling.

Cons

Available libraries is limited so support is required or training

Colin A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Simulating with the Analyst in Mind

Reviewed on 09/11/2016

It is very easy when building simulation models to focus on the visuals and forget the analysis. After all, we need to convince the stakeholders that the solution we propose will deliver what it says on the tin and what better way than to mesmerise them with animation. Actually, there is another way, demonstrate that all scenarios have been considered and with an inflated chest lay down the challenge, "tell me where I have gone wrong and I'll tell you what data I need to determine whether its fact or fiction".

Simio like most major simulation engines allows 3D visualisation and what is nice is a simple press of the '2' and '3' keys smoothly transitions you from 2D to 3D respectively. Add Google Warehouse and importing 3DSMax files and decent visuals can be shown. Developers please add STP or IGES file format.

This simulation engine seems to have been developed with not only the ability to quickly model with little to no code writing experience, but also empowers one to devise and quickly run scenarios that can answer the real questions and find those sensitive areas/ optimal solutions.

The start of any simulation project should start with the agreed conceptual model. This boils down to possible resources and a general set of inputs that trigger delays and produce outputs. Simio supports this basic concept in its standard library of objects. The object orientated approach means that these basic objects can be modified by adding more detailed lower level processes or modifying original logic. Of course the model is an object that can be imported into another model. Gaining model acceptance is generally easier with collaboration, so showing the team their input has been incorporated in a way that resembles the conceptual model goes a long way.

The power of discrete event simulation is its ability to handle random events. Simio has the standard list of distributions which using a form of intellitype is easy to define. Note to developers, it would be great if intellitype is available in all fields. Of course with distributions come replications, which using the Experiments function allow the analyst to create and execute scenarios using different user defined input parameters and compare results based on user defined KPIs. But Simio has another trick up its sleeve, using the Input Parameters tab and defining the distributions with the sample size, provides a neat way to analyse the impact the distribution has on specific result parameters.

Pros

Standard Library - Object Orientated approach to modelling means models can become objects in other models.

Copy and Paste - Processes data, functions etc can be copied between models.

Key Felds Data can be created like a database i.e. enter once use multiple times.

External Data - Supports links with external data files such as CSV or excel.

Easy Scenario Creation - Experiment function allows easy creation of multiple experiments and comparison of results.

Neal H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Employing Simio to size offshore vessel fleet (e.g. forecast charters) and to schedule...

Reviewed on 13/07/2017

Company spends hundreds of millions of dollars each year moving equipment and supplies to offshore drilling units and producing assets. We use Simio to determine optimal vessel fleet size and develop 10 days shipment schedules daily. Tool works well and has enabled us to reduce our fleet size considerably.

Pros

Handles highly complex simulations--we model 25+ slips, 30 vessels, 25 offshore locations, and more than 30 different types of demand product types such as barite, cement, casing, and baskets. Scheduler optimizes schedule based on lowest tangible and intangible costs and considers weather forecast, crew change schedules, and tank cleaning.

Cons

Simulation is written in a graphical programming language which is great for small, quick designs, but gets cumbersome to navigate in very large and complex simulations.

Petr T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Warehousing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excelent customer support and frequent updates

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

This along with full feature pack and ability to extend with C# modules makes SIMIO excelent software.
I was suprised many times to find requested feature in the next sprint in less than a month.

Pros

User support is quick and helps with solving problems
Great community of users with usefull forum
Great 3D visualization
Object, entity, process oriented simulation software
Easy to use

Cons

didn't find any

Pascal P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Great Multi Purpose Simulation Package

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

I have been using SIMIO to optimize airport operations for six years and have been very happy with its ease of use, versatility, built-in features, and capability to customize processes. Technical support from SIMIO has always been good. People are pleased with the quality of the visual output and now that we can use the Occulus Rift to provide an immersive experience, there is even more to be pleased about SIMIO.

Pros

Ability to embed metrics in the simulation.

Cons

Management of interaction between entities during movement in free space to simulate for instance pedestrian movements on a sidewalk. They sometimes seem to get stuck against each other instead of walking around each others.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dalton's Simio Review

Reviewed on 09/10/2018

Pros

I like having the ability to rapidly model quick systems, but also having the ability to add in any level of complexity.

Cons

i least like the inability to view logs over multiple simulations to track information like buffer queues over time.

Mohammed O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Industrial Engineering Professor

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

SIMIO is amazing simulation Software Tool. It helps student performing their projects easily and proficiently

Stephen R.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Probably best in class simulation software

Reviewed on 19/06/2018

Pros

Relatively easy to learn and to use. Has great flexibility for almost any simulation application. Integrates well with data bases and can be readily extended for specific applications.

Cons

Sometimes its hard to keep up with the latest development, due to frequent updates and development. The development version cycle is about six weeks, so updates and new features come out frequently.

Alberto G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Industrial engnieer coordinador

Reviewed on 08/03/2017

SIMIO help me a lot as Teacher for industrial engineer tópics like simulation, optmization and DOE.

Pros

the graphics diagrams and option to validate results

Cons

Some gaps between the examples and the explanations to define the characteristics.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Distribution Centres in Clothing Retail Industry

Reviewed on 05/10/2018

We've been able to compare projects and their impacts on our distribution centres.

Pros

It's very visual and this makes it much easier to convince stakeholders of solutions shown with Simio. The software also helps us with decision making.

Cons

It's not always obvious how the software works, so training and good online resources are definitely necessary. Luckily Simio does provide these, you just need to take the time to sit and play around with the software.

Karine L.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Intuitive and Challenging learning

Reviewed on 22/06/2018

Pros

I have a good amount of experience with Arena and I can see how faster it can be with Simio to accomplish the same thing, especially the animation. I also appreciate the agent-based modeling with the token concept.

Cons

I find there is a lack of documentation in general. I have not found good documentation on functions and applications. Simbit is limited and examples are sometimes too complex. I have not found a description of functions and different utilization example. I would have liked to see a description of all functionalities of a server for example.

There are so many users that come from Arena, I would have expected to see documentation to address the differences and suggest best practices to approach modeling.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Simio

Reviewed on 22/08/2018

Pros

The oportunity to create a wonderfull simulation of your process

Cons

The cost, it is so expensive for medium companies

Ben V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simio review

Reviewed on 05/10/2018

There is a learning curve and it took me about a month to get familiar with the program.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to build simulations. The tutorial videos are really helpful and easy to follow.

Cons

Sometimes certain properties are hard to find when clicked on multiple selections.

Ki-hwan B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent customer support

Reviewed on 08/03/2017

When it comes to using Simio as a simulation modeling and analysis tool, there are many benefits such as user-friendly interface, many powerful features in detail levels, continuous improvements (even though too frequent updates), etc. However, standing out among them is the CUSTOMER SUPPORT. Every time I have any question and contact the support group, they are willing to answer in a timely manner. I have both graduate and undergraduate students using Simio, and they all have been consistently receiving great help.

Pros

- customer support
- many functions

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

good for discrete event simulation

Reviewed on 18/09/2018

Pros

This software has features to simulate different discrete event scenarios and is really good for use in supply chain and industrial engineering applications

Cons

This software is not good for agent based simulations such as multi agent simulations

Michael M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great Software!

Reviewed on 14/09/2015

This software package can handle highly complex systems and has multiple ways to implement process triggers, constraints and statistical data. This makes it much easier to find a method that works best for the user and simplifies the learning curve for a simulation software. SIMIO's optQuest feature is accurate, easy to use, and delivers detailed reports for optimized processes. I strongly recommend SIMIO for both beginners and advanced users.

3 years simulation experience with the following packages:
Witness, Arena, FlexSim, and SIMIO

Victor V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to learn and use, for professionals and students.

Reviewed on 11/07/2017

Pros

Easy to learn how to use it.
Covers almost any need for an undergraduate course or project.
Cost less than other software that have almost the same performance.
Fast customer support.

Cons

Official SIMIO Tutorials are not updated and limited. I guess It's because courses are sold too, but the basic modeling should be available in several languages.
Image/symbol importing not the best thing: Many images, but many no suited for insert in the models considering shape and size.
It could have more specialized libraries.

Ian C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Can't go wrong

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

I have worked with the top discrete event simulation packages and I prefer simio. Easy to use, nice features, easily flexible.

Pros

Ease of use for complicated models, 3d animation

Cons

Licensing methods

Jimena P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I am having fun!

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

I love having lots of resources for a progressive learning experience. I have been teaching simulation for a while and for the last year I have taught an elective usimg Simio. My students really like it and enjoyed participating in the student competition. Keep up the good work! I hope to be able to attend one of your advanced courses for faculty.

Nate Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Just started using a few months, very good, especially on the visual.

Reviewed on 19/06/2018

Great for shifting from 2D to 3D

Pros

General visual capability, real-time 3D development, ability to use Windows based functionality, ability to import external CAD drawings with ease

Cons

Slowing down and slight glitches with large visual models. More learning tools and Simbits would also be helpful.

Alvaro G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

What I always wanted to do in Simulation

Reviewed on 13/03/2017

I love the object orientation that allows the developer to go to a very deep level and to build very high level objects that may be reused in a very robust manner.

Xiaojun S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great visualization tool for process improvement

Reviewed on 06/04/2017

I was a research scientist and involved in many health care related projects. We often use Simio for process improvement. It is a great tool.