Countfire

4.8 (200)
Write a Review!
The next generation of automated estimating software

Overall rating

4.8 /5
(200)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Support
5.0/5

100%
recommended this app
Sort by

200 Reviews for UK Users

Mike
Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Countfire - Pros and cond

Reviewed on 19/11/2018

Excellent, the online support is fantastic, as is the software. There have been some containment...

Excellent, the online support is fantastic, as is the software. There have been some containment drawings that I simply could not have lifted off with Pen and paper, but Countfire has made it possible and easy to review.

If in doubt do the trial on a big job and see how you get on!

Pros

Whats not to like? Not much. Its a fantastic tool for estimators, the more you use it the faster you get and the more confidence you gain.

Automatic counts - Brilliant
Manual Counts - When you cant use automatic counts this is still super fast compared to pen and paper
Measurements - Brilliant
Splits and multiples - essential and very helpfull

I have been using it for a year now and would recommend it to anyone involved in estimating or any other form of take offs.

Cons

Every now and again you get a bad drawing where all the symbols are slightly different and its a pain. Just use manual count and safe yourself a lot of frustration!

The cost is pretty high (but worth it in time saved) If I was self employed it could be out of price range.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Countfire

Reviewed on 11/01/2021

Labour & cost saving, great product

Labour & cost saving, great product

Pros

Very efficient, software very easy to use, great support team, would not want to be without it.

Cons

Having correct symbols for design purposes, this is in the pipeline.

Alternatives Considered

AutoCAD

Reasons for Choosing Countfire

Countfire is much more efficient and has additional benefits

Switched From

Bluebeam Revu

Reasons for Switching to Countfire

Much easy to use and the counting quantities is much more efficient with the download
David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great Tool for Estimating

Reviewed on 22/06/2023

Pros

So easy to take off all elements and easier than trying to mark up manually

Cons

Nothing to add on this one that I have found at the moment

Response from Countfire

Appreciate the review David.

It's great to hear you're finding it easy to complete your takeoffs in Countfire.

We really welcome feedback from our users so if you do think of any features you'd like to see, you can either use the "Give feedback" option or "Send us a message" using the orange button in the bottom right hand corner of the app.

Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Countfire Review

Reviewed on 18/04/2024

Pros

Productivity, lets me get a quote together so much quicker!

Cons

Not many cons at all, the only thing i can think of is the tab down the side possibly could be extended to see more counts/measure when scrolling up and down.

Response from Countfire

What a great review – thanks Adam!

Being able to extend the sidebar to see more count / measure headings would definitely be helpful – we have a feature request for the "ability to customise the sidebar". You can view our feature requests and add your vote on the orange button at the bottom right hand corner of Countfire.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Don’t bother with the others, countfire outshines them all

Reviewed on 23/10/2020

Countfire has been a breeze from start to finish, the help team have always been on hand to help...

Countfire has been a breeze from start to finish, the help team have always been on hand to help out and implementing and training on the software was seamless!
I love countfire, you will too.

Pros

I’m impressed, countfire allowed me to do a take off in 28mins... the other guy in the office actually had the take off and got out his fluro’s and a pad...he had allowed himself 2 days...
It’s brilliant, simple and easy to use. The wholesalers love me because the take off is easy to read!

Cons

The cost is high, but the amount of time I saved means it’s worth the large cost!!

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Does what it says on the tin

Reviewed on 21/08/2023

Pros

Pure ease of use, does exactly what i need it to do and outputs easily legible tables.

Cons

Nothing, does exactly what i need with a good price!

Response from Countfire

Does what it says on the tin – love it! Thanks Chris.

Awesome that you're finding Countfire easy to use and it does exactly what you need.

Spot on – Countfire produces a consistent set of outputs for every project.

Great to hear that you don't have any cons! If you do ever have any feedback on features you'd like to see, we'd love to hear from you – just use the orange button in the bottom right hand corner of the app.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sceptical at First

Reviewed on 24/10/2023

Very sceptical at first having always done things longhand and trusted my own ability. However...

Very sceptical at first having always done things longhand and trusted my own ability. However having used Countfire and realised the time saving and accuracy it gives you is outstanding. The support is brilliant if you are unsure of something or want to do something a bit different. Overall a great asset to any estimating or project control division

Pros

The ease of document loading and producing take off's

Cons

I do not believe anything is missing. The hardest part is remembering to set the zones so you do not do a take off on the legend

Response from Countfire

Thanks for the great review David!

Awesome to hear you're finding it easy to upload your documents and complete your takeoff.

Nothing missing - brilliant! If you have any feedback in future or any questions, please send us a message on the orange button in the bottom right hand corner of the app.

If you do find you've forgotten to add your zones on the first pass, you can jump back in to your takeoff, add your zones and reprocess your takeoff to get your updated output files.

Appreciate it can be a bit daunting to change your estimating methods but it's great to hear you're benefitting from the time saving and increased accuracy Countfire provides.

Our support is something we're super proud of – we provide free online training sessions to help you get the most out of the software.

Kalvin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

FMS Review

Reviewed on 30/11/2023

I've had a great experience overall. I use it daily.

I've had a great experience overall. I use it daily.

Pros

it speeds up my take offs on a daily basis.

Cons

sometimes it doesn't pick up some symbols

Response from Countfire

Thanks for the great review Kalvin!

Awesome to hear Countfire is speeding up your takeoffs on a daily basis.

Sometimes, symbols may look the same but they've been drawn differently when the drawings were created. All you need to do to count these symbols, is make an additional selection under the same heading.

Zachary
Zachary
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Revolutionary takeoff experience.

Reviewed on 09/02/2018

Reduction in time in the estimation process (magnitudes).

Reduction in time in the estimation process (magnitudes).

Pros

- clear cut user interface with everything hotkeyed, and the hotkeys labeled in plain sight
- PHENOMENAL customer service and support (I requested and had a feature built and deployed overnight, etc., etc., etc.)
- Documentation from another planet (over 25,000 words of concise walk through material
- Redundancy (the way projects are delivered after being processed eliminates worry and most potential for error)
- Data manipulation (the data spit-out from a project comes post-pivot table, saving us a step in formatting to get our numbers straight)
the list goes on and on - simply amazing!!

Will and the boys are a phenomenal team, awake at preposterous hours of the morning solving issues that could wait, etc. just amazing!

Aaron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very good service and the system saves a lot of time

Reviewed on 30/01/2024

Pros

the ease of use for take offs is very good

Cons

some other features can be confusing however the countfire team are more than happy to help out

Response from Countfire

Thank you Aaron for the review 😊

Great that you have saved a lot of time and your finding completing take offs easy!

Always more than happy to help, if you're finding any features confusing you can send us a message on the orange button in the bottom right hand corner of the app.

Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An estimators dream

Reviewed on 23/06/2023

A company that provides a fully supported free trial of their software has confidence in its...

A company that provides a fully supported free trial of their software has confidence in its product. Safe to say that its not miss-placed confidence.

Pros

Intuitive, accurate, superb customer support, simple to use, fully formatted downloadable reports.

Cons

Hard to say what I like the least.............. That it wasn't available 30 years ago. :-)

Response from Countfire

Thanks for your great review Andrew!

It's great to hear that you find Countfire intuitive and simple to use.

It would have been great to be around 30 years ago so we could have been helping estimators increase their speed and accuracy for longer – if only we had a time machine 😄

You're right – we are confident that Countfire will help estimators speed up their takeoff and estimating process.

We also want our users to get the most out of the software, so we offer free full online training and live support to all of our users – from free trial through to our legacy customers, as we are consistently releasing new features.

Ben
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Impressive Software.

Reviewed on 30/05/2023

Pros

Ability to quickly turn around project quantities and transfer onto Excel for all to use and review.

Cons

difficulties using the product is when the drawing images are uploaded but each symbol has minor alterations. To the naked eye can't be picked up but the software will, therefore some symbols need multiple take offs done for same image.

Response from Countfire

Wow, what a great review - thanks Ben!

It's great to hear that you're able to quickly turn around your projects.

You're spot on – sometimes symbols can look the same on your drawings but, when the drawings have been created, they have been drawn slightly differently. All you need to do to count all these symbols is make an additional selection. Countfire will then look for your selections across all of your drawings in the discipline.

If you do run into this, it's always worth popping our support team a message, they'll usually have some tips to help you get more matches from fewer selections.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mechanical take Offs

Reviewed on 09/02/2023

I have found using Countfire really helpful as it is more accurate than printing and marking...

I have found using Countfire really helpful as it is more accurate than printing and marking drawings and also i believe faster

Pros

I have found that even though it is mainly for the electrical trade i have adapted it with the help of the Countfire Team to mechanical use

Cons

Nothing. It has suited all my needs and assists in my day to day works

Response from Countfire

Thanks so much for your kind review Mark.

Yes, although it's not specifically designed for the mechanical trade, Countfire is flexible and you can adapt it to your way of working.

It's great you've found using Countfire really helpful and more accurate than printing and marking drawings.

I agree, it's definitely faster too as you don't have to worry about adding up your measurements or losing your place if you're interrupted - Countfire keeps a track of all that for you.

Once you've finished your takeoff you also get a set of marked up drawings and a spreadsheet splitting out your quantities.

Luke
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Countfire Review

Reviewed on 23/05/2023

It has been a great use so far, saves time greatly and eliminates the needs for printing and doing...

It has been a great use so far, saves time greatly and eliminates the needs for printing and doing takeoffs manually

Pros

It saves an incredible amount of time when doing takeoffs and the other features make it much easier to complete many time consuming tasks. Also the countfire team shows you all of the ins and outs so you always know what you are doing.

Cons

No negatives at this time.

Response from Countfire

Thanks for the review Luke!

Awesome to hear Countfire is saving you an incredible amount of time and making it easier to complete tasks.

You're spot on – our support team are on hand to provide training and live support to make sure you're confident using Countfire and getting the most out of the software.

No negatives at this time – brilliant! If you do come across anything, we always like to receive feedback from our customers. You can submit feedback using the orange support button in-app.

It's great that you're benefitting from not having to print and store your drawings too. All of your projects are stored in your account so they're ready for you to dive back in as and when you need to.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

What did we do before this software?

Reviewed on 08/02/2023

Pros

We use solely for the count of off drawings for tendering projects, this has saved immense time for even some of the largest projects, we are able to add additional points and measure accurately to check the designs were supplied. We are then able to provide the spreadsheet produced with our tender with a comprehensive list of where the information came from.

Cons

If the drawings are not made correctly then the software does struggle to read all symbols this though probably is more down to the original document than Countfire problem,

Response from Countfire

Thank you for the great review!

Pleased to hear using the software is saving you loads of time.

In terms of the software struggling to read all the symbols, that's usually down the way the original drawing was created, yes.

We tend to find it's a fairly unusual thing to run into, however, we've also got a number of ways we can step in and help.

If you run into it again, please fire us a quick message in-app and one of the Support team will take a look at your project and likely have you sorted in no time.

Neil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

This product has revolutionized the way i run my business...

Reviewed on 09/02/2023

I've found the software brilliant and the customer service exceptional. Its taken my business to...

I've found the software brilliant and the customer service exceptional. Its taken my business to the next level and couldn't imagine how i would run my business without it.

Pros

Easy and quick to use. Absolutely brilliant.

Cons

It would be nice to be able to copy test off the drawings to paste in the software

Response from Countfire

So great to hear Countfire has made such a difference to your business Neil!

In terms of copying text from drawings, we're sometimes a little restricted to what's contained within the PDFs and how it's been saved, but I can definitely see how useful it would be.

I know we've got a feature request open for it currently.

Terry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes life very easy.

Reviewed on 30/05/2017

Pros

Countfire makes doing takeoffs extremely easy and the amount of time it saves leaves more time to do other things that need doing.

Cons

not enough colours in the palette, When you measure & ask for itemised it measures every click not just start to finish giving far to many reults

Response from Countfire

Thanks Terry! I wanted to let you know we released an update recently to include more colours.

With measurements and how they're saved into the Excel spreadsheet, you have a choice between not itemised (just the overall total) and itemised (each individual measurement).

Itemising does definitely result in a larger spreadsheet because there's just a lot more information to represent within Excel, however, I also wanted to point you towards a workaround we have which allows you to round & summarise those measurements towards specific lengths (EG: set busbar lengths etc. There's more here:

http://help.countfire.com/workarounds/summarising-measurement-items

Jacob
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Countfire Introduction

Reviewed on 04/07/2023

Excellent.Like with any new software it'll take time to get upto speed but the team were literally...

Excellent.Like with any new software it'll take time to get upto speed but the team were literally replying in minutes or seconds in some instances so any challenges or needs were answered immediately.

Pros

The software is extremely intelligent. Once i had set up one level of drawing for lighting and small power it instantly took to work completing other levels.

Cons

Ongoing takeoffs as a benchmark when halfway through the estimate. it would be good to see a current line in the sand at any give time.

Response from Countfire

Thanks for the great review Jacob!

Spot on – when you make a selection of a symbol on one drawing, Countfire will automatically count the symbol across all of your drawings in the discipline, speeding up the completion of your takeoff.

We do have progress markers for your drawings. When the work on your drawing is saved, the marker will automatically change to yellow signifying your work is in progress. When you have completed your work and checked all symbols on your drawing have been selected, you can click the dot to change the progress marker to green.

You can also change your project status on the main project page as you complete your takeoff and estimate and submit to your client – just click on the drop down menu in the top right corner of the page.

It's great to hear you've found the support quick and helpful – we know that your time is valuable so we'll always try to resolve any issues as quickly as possible 👍

Malcolm
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Countfire Review

Reviewed on 19/11/2018

Well worth the effort to try out. I would really allocate this to only one or two persons in an...

Well worth the effort to try out. I would really allocate this to only one or two persons in an office and let them develop the skills necessary to be productive and create accurate take offs.

I enjoy using it and continue to be surprised how well the end result evolves. Practice makes perfect, it can only get better.

Pros

As a Lighting Engineer with some knowledge of construction software and the difficulties one can experience in quickly getting up to speed with new programs, I was pleasantly surprised to find that even without reading any tutorials, I was able to navigate and complete a number of projects on my desk over a 24hr period.

The guys at Countfire patiently watched me and offered advice how to improve my takeoff but I just kept going and only when I got into some bother did I read their suggestions.

What this means is that a novice with some practical experience of popular programs such as Microsoft Paint etc. will quickly get a handle on the basics of this take off program.

As with most things today..easy to learn..to master, takes time.

Cons

Nothing to do with the software but it does pick up some inconsistencies amongst Architects and Drafts-persons, some who clearly do not anticipate a computer checking their work. Some very sloppy drawings out there.

I check the drawings now prior to uploading so that I have an idea of where I need to look closely. Again, it's not an issue with Countfire.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Countfire

Reviewed on 15/09/2020

As noted above and the benefit of having a fully totalled excel spread sheet.

As noted above and the benefit of having a fully totalled excel spread sheet.

Pros

This software not only saves time estimating with automated counting, but also saves on the need to print off large layout drawings.

Cons

Think it would be helpful to be able to add / remove layout drawings within the main count off screen instead of coming out and going to the project log in screen. Would be good if the system to could remember the last drawing that you're taking off when you first log on.

Greg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Countfire Review

Reviewed on 28/02/2019

I have worked in the industry for many many years in directorship and management and used many...

I have worked in the industry for many many years in directorship and management and used many costing / take off software. I can honestly say this is the best I have worked with. the level of detail you are with once you process a project is fantastic and it is very user friendly. And last but no means least the team are constantly on hand to help whenever needed and go above and beyond to ensure your experience with the software is positive. Thats not just an initial help that always.

Pros

I like near all features of the software but really like how user friendly it is and the level of customer care you get.

Cons

Not really come across anything that I dislike yet

Jamie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Countfire Review

Reviewed on 01/04/2021

saves printing drawings out and buying highlighters etc, but also saves alot of time and so is very...

saves printing drawings out and buying highlighters etc, but also saves alot of time and so is very valuable.

Pros

its made the takeoff process alot easier and ten times faster.

Cons

an undo button would be great, also took abit of time to introduce new users and get them to fully understand the software.

Nicholas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Security & Investigations
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Time Saving Application

Reviewed on 11/07/2023

This lowers the rate of human error, whilst also saving on printing paper. Very quick turn around...

This lowers the rate of human error, whilst also saving on printing paper. Very quick turn around too :-)

Pros

I love the ability to join drawings, this is useful on Drawing updates, Split Drawings. I have also found a use for System Modifications too.

Cons

When I have to Manually Count, I find the dots placed can flood the drawing making it hard to ensure you have covered everything, when toggling the tabs, this equally leaves questioning.

Response from Countfire

Great to hear you're managing to save time Nicholas!

Our Floor plan, Overlay and Compare features are really handy for handling layouts split over multiple drawings, checking compatibility between services and handling revised drawings.

If you don't have any linear measures on your drawings, you can control the size of the manual points by changing the scale on the drawing in the measure tab. You can also hide the points you've already counted using the check box next to each measure heading to make it easier to complete the rest of your takeoff.

It's awesome that you're benefitting from lowering the rate of human error and saving on printing paper on your takeoffs too.

Karl
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Essential for estimating

Reviewed on 15/09/2020

Pros

Countfire is so easy to use. I've only recently moved to the estimating department and this tool is essential. I love that the Countfire team keeps an eye on the way you use the software and come in with suggestion how to use the tool more effectively if they see you making the same mistake multiple times. They will also offer suggestions on the most efficient ways to do your take-offs.

Cons

Countfire can sometimes fail to recognize the same symbol if there is a difference in orientation, but having said that, the "Toggle" function will identify missed symbols.

Diane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great so far

Reviewed on 11/10/2018

So far, it is early days, I have found everything very straightforward. I spent time working...

So far, it is early days, I have found everything very straightforward. I spent time working through a lot of the help screens before I attempted my first take off, but still encountered a problem selecting some symbols. I couldn't find the answer myself so used the chat option. Within minutes I was chatting to someone who could help straight away with advice and even videos to show me how to deal with my problem. Looking forward to learning more as I progress.

Pros

Love the common sense feel to this software.
Very quick to do a take off.
Every problem I have encountered so far has had a solution.
Support and help screens are excellent.

Cons

I actually haven't found anything I don't like so far, but I have only been using it for a short time. I think it is just a case of getting your head around what the software needs from you to do its thing.