Abtrac

Abtrac

Project management for professionals in the AEC space

4.3/5 (12 reviews)
Cindy M.

It is a simple and intuitive product that enables us to track time on projects and keep to budget.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 06/12/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We have employees with a range of computer skills, it's important that we had software that was easy to use and Abtrac comes to the party with professional setup, training and support.

Abtrac's time tracking software allows us to manage projects, track employee hours and monitor expenses easily you don't need an extensive education to use this software it is easy to use with the added benefit of being web-based.

You can generate standard reports or filter reports to your required specifications for time spent on projects, tasks, budgets, hours, expenses and invoice virtually putting together whatever you require from the reporting functions.

I have no hesitation in recommending this software, we have been using Abtrac for over 15 years and moved to the web based system over a year ago and although Abtrac was completely re-written for the web based system our staff have had no problems re-learning their way around.

Cons

To be honest there really isn't much that I don't like about Abtrac and I struggle to think of any cons.

The only thing I can come up with would be that being web based you rely on the speed of the internet for opening new tabs or when entering details at data entry speed it can sometimes be a hindrance but for the every day user I'm not sure this would not affect them and the functionality certainly out weighs this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Ann G.
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Really enjoy using ABTRAC, have done so for a number of years now so it's very familiar to me

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 03/12/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Having a reliable package and knowing if you have a problem the help desk is always there and only too happy to help out with anything or find a solution

Pros

Getting to everything, enjoying the Cloud version now I'm used to it. It all flows really well and enjoying not having to jump in and out of functions, opening a new browser is really good.

Cons

Sometimes a bit of a pause when the internet isn't going well. Having to log in when you've been doing something else is a bit of a pain at times.

Response from Abtrac

Hi Ann,
Thanks for your review. We have now implemented the quick login screen so that you don't lose any work if you have been logged out of the system. I wish we could but unfortunately we can't do anything about the internet speed in your offices. Please contact us if you have anything else.
Thanks
Will

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Caroline G.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Very flexible software system with great customer support and loads of reporting options.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Accurate project costing against budget.

Pros

Captures all data relating to a project in one place; flexible invoicing by time engaged or % complete on a customised invoice; good tracking and reporting on budgets and sub-consultant costs.

Cons

It does save a bit too often on time sheet entry, and can run a bit slow over the internet sometimes when querying the database.

Response from Abtrac

Hi Caroline, thanks for your review

As I mentioned on the phone there is the setting at the bottom of all the different time-sheet pages that allows you to select the frequency of saving with a simple tick box.
I hope this helps and feel free to call if you want.
Regards
Will

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Deborah W.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 13-50 Employees

I couldn't recommend Abtrac highly enough. Invaluable timekeeping software. Excellent service.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/11/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Reporting / time keeping / project staff & team planning and programming / profitability analysis / resource management / WIP analysis / unbilled time capturing / improved profitability. Biggest benefit - control!

Pros

Ease of use. Capturing every billable minute. Allowing us to gauge profitability of both projects and people enables programming, and resource allocation. We are only just beginning to realize the potential of this invaluable tool. Wonderful Abtrac staff to work with.
The technical staff are excellent - professional, knowledgeable, patient, efficient and extremely helpful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ruby B.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Great customer support, just a phone call away

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 04/12/2017
Review Source: Capterra

it stopped me double entering invoices, and manually typing them out from MYOB

Pros

I use it mostly to track time, and love it how invoices capture the time spent and are generated with a push of a button

Cons

reports exported to excel, have too many lines and colums that complicate using excel... it looks good (if printed) but not practical.

Response from Abtrac

Hi Ruby,
Thank you for your review.
With the current report export functionality, it is exporting with a 'what you see is what you get' basis but we are currently working on adding additional exporting in an un-formatted csv output. As you may have notices there are a few that have this already.
Thanks
Will

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sarah M.
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Vision Surveys is extremely happy with the program and it's implementation.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 04/12/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Real time cost of projects, collection of WIP, ability to write on and off against projects, invoicing and reporting functions are fantastic. Real time support from the software developers who are always listening and improving their product.

Pros

The cost of implemantation, training and monthly user subscriptions is very reasonable and software support are fantastic. Capturing timesheet hours and expenditure costing direct to the projects is great. The reports are extensive and the support staff assist with any changes of tweaks required to get the information we want to see. We invoice direct from the program and import the invoices to our accounting software. Our company captures information based on many variables and the support staff have helped us to manipulate the system to allow us to set up, capture and report on these variables.

Cons

We currently use Reckon Professional for our accounting and there is no automatic push function from Abtrac at the moment, so we have various import/export functions to assist with the transfer of information. However, Abtrac does have the automatic push function with Myob Accounts and we intend to move over from Reckon in the next couple of months which will remove the need of import/export function.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Alannah H.

A system you can rely on and is kept up to date in a changing world of technology.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 04/12/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like the aspect that you can record your time and it is collated in an easy formulated reporting functions, is available on the cloud and the customer support staff are always willing to help and fix any problems that may occur. Customisation of the software is available too.

Cons

The function in the timesheets field where it will revert back to the current days timesheet after exiting from a timesheet a month ago and you want to stay in that selected time frame. Just a very minor irritation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Helen B.

The new version is great to work with and the Abtrac team are ALWAYS helpful!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/02/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It has many features, some Im still discovering, accommodates all aspects of our business requirements, and is fully supported by the Abtrac team.

Cons

The software is great, it is only ever let down by the supporting browsers from time to time, which can be frustrating when it causes delays in getting work done.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Marion H.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 13-50 Employees

It has transformed the way we record time and expenses, and prepare invoices .

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 06/12/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Saves time when preparing invoices, and includes disbursements automatically.

Pros

Able to generate invoices from timesheet comments
Easy to use client data base
Keeps a record of employees' time: leave, admin, seminar, etc.
Easy program for new employees to use
Costs/disbursements are automatically added to invoices
Employee time can be added or subtracted when preparing invoices, and holds unbilled time

Cons

The system "saves" too often -e.g. when entering timesheet entries, disbursements
The desk top version had a report that is not available in cloud version: Fees Earned by Employee and JOB and Invoice.
Adding addresses is confusing - e.g. if you use the post code line, it does not come up in the address

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Excellent Time Management Tool

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/05/2018
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Abtrac is your all-in-one solution that talks seamlessly with most accounting software. We use Abtrac for quoting, timesheet entries complete with flexible invoicing software and an extensive range of management reports.Saves time when preparing invoices, and includes disbursements automatically. Ultra user friendly - very quick to set up new solutions and on-board new users - any one can use it.

Cons

Sometimes takes several reloads for application to become available. Downtime for maintenance. Have to log back in after maintenance

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Claire B.

We're a team of 7 administrators, & a staff of 50, i've been using Abtrac for 11+ years

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 06/12/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software support is great, to have the answer on a quick phone call or team viewer is so handy.
Recently we've upgraded to the cloud version, many more areas we can customise to suit our needs.
Frequent upgrades, and easy to add to suggestions for amendments/improvements.

Cons

The speed can be slow, this is also what i hear other staff complain about also.
Perhaps it is the internet speed again, but sometimes it takes a while or doesn't pick up entries (when entering a date or job number etc), it means slowing down, or clicking on the dropdown box

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Nancy M.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Learning to use Abtrac has been a pleasure.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 29/11/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to use, friendly helpful support staff, delivers exactly what we needed.

Pros

It is very user friendly and logical to use. The support staff are easy to contact and incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. They do not speak geek.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10