eCMS Reviews

eCMS

Fully integrated construction ERP platform

3.9/5 (10 reviews)
Mark S.

Best Value ERP integrating operations and accounting

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/06/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Our company reviewed every best in class software package before deciding on eCMS by Computer Guidance Corp. Integration in one product across departments was a very important part of our decision. We went from living in 3 different software platforms in addition to all the excel spreadsheets to just one package doing the same work. Access to data across departments increased alleviating the need for review and reconciliation steps for many processes. After 4 years live on the system i would still go back and make the same decision again. There is always a new product to market that may do something a little better but from an overall value standpoint eCMS has not let us down.

Pros

Full integration between operations and change management to accounting/financial reporting. Value compared to competition that required substantial money and customization just to get going. Robust functionality across Operations, Human Resources, Payroll, Accounting right out the box. Custom Form editing logical and easy. Custom report writing through IBM Cognos is valuable and logical way to analyze data across the ERP. Support for critical items is addressed with the appropriate level of urgency. Ownership at JDM has exhibited a commitment to innovation and development as they bring in features from their other AEC vertical products. we have seen features come online in the few years that they have owned the company which addressed our desire for updates and improvements.

Cons

Customization/Support at times can have lengthy lead times when not critical to daily operations. Based on IBM iSeries so IT staff used to a Windows only environment have some training to do. (we have gone to their cloud based SAAS model to alleviate these concerns)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Steve P.

Satisfied user 10+ years. Robust functionality. Excellent data imaging. Good support.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/09/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Solid ERP system with excellent data imaging capability and customer support.

Pros

Converted to eCMS initially for data imaging ability, which is well integrated with all modules but especially AP. Its ability to handle imaging smoothly and effortlessly is still what sets it apart from the competition. Second, its ability to integrate data from other sources (ie HCSS, etc.) enable us to pull timecards in from the field and streamline PR entry. Finally, two years ago we went hosted (cloud) and it was one of the best decisions we've made.

Cons

Because eCMS is so detailed and provides so many options to collect/enter data, setting up can be a challenge.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Jeff M.

Implemented the software in 1996 and have grown with it ever since

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/06/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Complete financial and job management system. Very scalable to meet our growth.

Pros

Configurable to meet many different needs. It has the best payroll module I can imagine. It is very easy to extract data for reporting. It is specially tailored for the construction business in both accounting and job cost. It runs on an IBM iseries and thus is virus proof.

Cons

Inventory module is not very robust. Software updates are complex and require the vendors support to install them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Darlene M.

Stable, scalable, Intuitive, fully integrated and a true cloud-based ERP system

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 08/08/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

CGC blends the latest technologies from IBM and Microsoft to ensure a stable, yet open, SQL platform which yields the industry’s highest system uptime, most scalable, most secure and most compatible solution available. CGC’s data centers and their managed hosting services are both Sarbanes Oxley compliant and have been for years with an annual audit. The Avnet data centers are not only state-of-the-art when it comes to security, system, app and software monitoring, but they offer full redundancy and a variety of hosting options for your specific needs and they are backed by IBM.

Pros

It is browser based. No need to install software on users' computers. Fully integrated accounting and project management software. Easy to navigate. Clean easy on the eye screens. Our system is a true cloud based system that is secure and scalable to grow with our business. Always on the leading edge of technology providing us as the end-users with great experiences.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kathy L.

Our company has been a user of the eCMS for many years and have a good working relationship with CGC

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/08/2017
Review Source: Capterra

By becoming a "hosted" customer we've been able to save many dollars by not having our accounting staff maintain an in-house iSeries.

Pros

The software is very user friendly. We also like that it is cloud based. The support staff of CGC is very knowledgeable, patient, and quick to respond to customer issues.

Cons

The ever changing functionality of the software sometimes is overwhelming, but we'd have those issues with any software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Luther B.

Computer Guidance eCMS

Reviewed on 25/02/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The product is web-based and can be accessed from any machine with an internet connection through an encrypted VPN back to our servers. The product is fully integrated and maintains a great amount of detail on transactions so we can follow everything that goes on within the system as well as the fact that it runs on a very reliable backend platform.

Cons

I dislike the length of time it takes to get to a complete resolution on issues that are found in the software. This has gotten better over the years, but still needs some attention.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Darlene M.

Efficient, Reliable, User Friendly, Aware of Customer needs, are a few words that describe ECMS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/09/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall Very Satisfied

Pros

The product is constantly growing with the rapid demands in the Construction technology world. This is a moving target with todays needs ECMS does a great job keeping up to date on this.

Cons

As all software struggle with finding a mobile solution, it would be great if ECMS could find a solution to this age old problem.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Todd C.

ECMS works for us

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 24/04/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good tool for accounting.

Pros

It works for what we do, it is difficult, however, to run a query but I have yet to see something that was easy in this regard. I mostly use it to do cost forensics for jobs that aren't going well, great tool in this regard.

Cons

It is a dated program that is clunky. It also could be the way that our accounting department has things set up. They have been known to make sure we stay in the 20th century.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Danielle T.

eCMS is aweful

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/01/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I have to use it everyday and it makes my job harder and less enjoyable.

Pros

There is nothing I like about using this system.

Cons

It constantly freezes, times out or goes blank.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

0.0/10
Veronica B.

Out dated

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/01/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Software is working condition for a small start up company. Kinda out dated for the price it’s workable

Cons

Cons: Out dated, too many pages to do one complete work order. Always have to pop in and out of the system

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

4.0/10