Kinetic Reviews

Kinetic

3.8 (176)
Cloud ERP made with manufacturers, for manufacturers.

Overall rating

3.8 /5
(176)
Value for Money
3.5/5
Features
3.8/5
Ease of Use
3.5/5
Customer Support
3.3/5

71%
recommended this app
Sort by

176 Reviews for UK Users

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Epicor ERP Software Review

Reviewed on 22/10/2018

Pros

Very versatile software that can be adapted to fit any business needs. I have been a Senior Consultant for Epicor and also an end user for a total of 15 years in all functional areas.

Feel free to contact me with any questions.

Robert W F Krause
Epicor/ERP/Consulting
Krause Consultants
Cell: 516.983.8095
Email: [email protected]
http://www.krauseconsultants.com/

Cons

The software is very complex and requires some initial training to use it effectively.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Product stability has greatly improved in recent releases, support is often missing in action

Reviewed on 06/03/2018

Financials, Shop Floor control, scheduling, purchasing

Financials, Shop Floor control, scheduling, purchasing

Pros

ITs flexibility and ability to customize. Cloud versions available. Offers many modules for most needs. There has been in the past several years a building of third party software vendors with the ability to augment the customization, implementation and general maintenance of the software requiring less reliance on Epicor consulting services. Features such as document routing has greatly improved forms handling. The software is definitely in growth mode resulting in new features and abilities. The number one feature I like is the ability to export any report and most data grids directly to excel. Overall I have more likes on were the software is going rather than were it is at today

Cons

The software is not at all user friendly. Little if any documentation on how to use the product. Education is available but pricey. Support system is totally ineffectual and support personal are lacking in basic knowledge. Company has built many silos and employees do not have the ability to see across those barriers. The online support system called Epicare has added a layer of difficulty in that you cannot speak with an employee to explain an issue. The online submission is often limited to drop down selections that have nothing to do with the problem. The helpful tips you are given when submitting a case are almost always way off topic and of no use.

Colin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Do not buy this program!!!!!

Reviewed on 24/05/2017

My company thought we were moving up in the world. Our last system only did half what we needed...

My company thought we were moving up in the world. Our last system only did half what we needed and had a lot of bugs, but it was cheap. The sales team at Epicor really sold us on what this will do, told me I would not spend nearly as much time in the office and could be out running my company more. HA! I spend 3 times as much time in the office and still can't work this program half the time despite months of expensive training. And this program doesn't do half what the sales team said. We used to have hand written invoices we manually entered into QuickBooks. I would take that again over Epicor in a heartbeat. I don't even want my money back. I just want to convince my business partners to ditch this mistake! I wish I read more reviews. I have never reviewed ANYTHING online before but I had to for this.

Pros

Written for hardware stores.
Sales people really do their job well.

Cons

I am not a hardware store. This program is a nightmare. If you make a mistake be prepared to spend hours fixing it. Epicor's own help pages have fixes that do not exist in the program. This program has been overwritten so many times it makes no sense to use. Not at all intuitive. Incredibly expensive monthly support for absolute garbage!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Epicor ERP

Reviewed on 13/02/2019

Vast improvements in improving business speed and communication between different business units. ...

Vast improvements in improving business speed and communication between different business units. User interface easily allows jumping to other areas quickly to enable improved speed in business decisions and customer service.

Pros

Very flexible and powerful user interface. Software modules have extensive flexible options to tailor the configuration to work as desired. Most modules very integrated, allowing powerful user capability. User personalization is powerful and easy to administer.

Cons

Customization is often too complex. Need C# programmer and still can be complicated. In V9 to V10 customization languages changed which required rewrite of previous customizations. This is very costly rather than tools being available to effectively migrate existing customizations. Upgrades of software modules is too complex and is being worked on to improve and focus more on ease, allowing companies to keep on the current release without seeming like a new implementation. More work than it should be. Several modules are included for improving requirements and are very weak. Example: Integration to Salesforce.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Lots of customizations required

Reviewed on 05/12/2018

Overall, the software works as intended. If an issue comes up, it’s generally an easy fix even if...

Overall, the software works as intended. If an issue comes up, it’s generally an easy fix even if it does take a bit of time. Much of what we do as a company can sometime require us to have to dig around in the system to find the information we need but the good thing is that Epicor allows for that digging thru it’s search fields.

Pros

The very thing that kind of sucks about this software is also the thing that makes it “work” for our company. The ability to customize the software for our day to day business needs is awesome.

Cons

Unfortunately, those customizations make fixing things a little more difficult than if we were able to use the software “out of the box.” Having developers in a different country also prohibits and lengthens “fix time” due to time difference.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Epicor ERP

Reviewed on 13/05/2021

Good experience but I can be better, if you have a midsize company is a good option

Good experience but I can be better, if you have a midsize company is a good option

Pros

It's easy to implement and if you have an .NET team the knowledge curve is low and you can customize the modules by yourself

Cons

CRM is not good, also the web version has so much problems when we compare to other competitors

Alternatives Considered

Dynamics 365

Reasons for Switching to Kinetic

Cost and hardware infrastructure

Response from Epicor Software

Hi there, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear you've found it easy to customize and would like to learn more re: your experience of the CRM. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected]

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not a great CRM

Reviewed on 04/07/2020

Pros

Has scope for customisation and works well when used as an ERP

Cons

When used as a CRM, the software is very slow
Requires technical knowledge and a lot of development time to make changes (create views, reports, etc)

Response from Epicor Software

Hi, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. Your feedback is invaluable to us. We would like to learn more about the performance issues you are experiencing so we can deliver a solution quickly. Please email us at socialmedi[email protected] with your contact information so we can assist you.

Eric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very customisable ERP

Reviewed on 03/01/2019

Pros

This ERP is very customisable. You can change the behavior of the software with it's DATA DIRECTIVE, METHODE DIRECTIVE. You can change the look and feel of every screen with it's internal .NET engine.

Cons

It is slow... You will need a very fast server.
The query engine (BAQ) is very limited with Epicor 9 but I heard it's better with Epicor 10.
If you made a lot of customisation, the upgrades will be difficult.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Broad functionality that comes with a price

Reviewed on 03/11/2016

We use Epicor to run a $5M machining business. The software allowed us to do almost everything we...

We use Epicor to run a $5M machining business. The software allowed us to do almost everything we wanted with the exception of scheduling each machine accurately. While the software has a powerful scheduling module, because many of our parts were processed on more than one machine, we were not able to accurately reflect our actual process in their scheduling module. Standard reports were also lacking so we used Crystal Reports and created custom reports on a regular basis. The ability to easily create dashboards was great and allowed us to create screens that showed specific metrics that we wanted to monitor. Shop floor access was acceptable - allowing workers to log into/out of jobs, clock in/out, etc. on a daily basis. Overall a good package that can easily grow with a small company.

Pros

Ability to create custom 'dashboard' screens to see things that we want to monitor.
Extensive functionality for small to medium sized manufacturing companies.
Good shop floor usability.
Job costing provided real times access to allow you to monitor costs and flag overages.

Cons

Standard reports were ok but not great.
Scheduling module was not adaptable to our process - would have required some modifications that we did not want to spend the money to make.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

We are a manufacturing plant that distributes products worldwide and Epicor manages it all.

Reviewed on 01/03/2018

Pros

Epicor allows us to manage multiple companies with multiple currencies. One system for the entire company. We use if from the manufacturing floor to distribution & sales to financial reporting.

Cons

It's a very complex program because it does a lot. It took a team about a year to implement and users require training. It is not intuitive to use but once you understand how it works, it works very well.

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Not user friendly

Reviewed on 13/09/2020

Though I think that Epicor is very over priced, and charges for any additional service you want, it...

Though I think that Epicor is very over priced, and charges for any additional service you want, it is able to be personalized to each of our stores' needs. I wish there were a different system that was comparable to what Epicor can do, so I could switch, but with our specific company it integrates well and gets the job done.

Pros

This software has about anything you could think of to help and personalize it to your business. It has so many different reports and assets to help your business. It even has the ability to link together different chains of stores owned by the same owner. They also use what is called "Bomgar" which is a system that allows them to view and control your screen on any terminal to help resolve any issue.

Cons

Nothing is free with this software. If you want the smallest thing they will charge you. You do pay a monthly fee, just like anything else, so you do have access to a call center to walk you through things. However, depending on who you talk to, it is a hit or miss if he/she knows what they are doing and understand what you are looking for. They have different help levels so if they don't understand that can pass you up to a different help level. Sometimes they charge will charge you by hour to take to someone high up.

Another CON, is that nothing is simple or straight forward. With it being such a high-tech system, if you want your system to do more than basic, you have to call the help line to help set it up. Sure, you could do it, but good look trying to figure it out and knowing what other flags in the system you need to mark so nothing else is messed up.

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Kevin, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We note your comments regarding personalization complexity. Please email us at [email protected] to share any additional comments.

Lorena
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A very powerful tool for manufacturing companies - but customer support could be better

Reviewed on 10/08/2018

I believe Epicor is an excellent tool for manufacturing. I can not give it 5 starts really because...

I believe Epicor is an excellent tool for manufacturing. I can not give it 5 starts really because of the time it takes to get an issue solved once it's placed with customer support. They have however, improved in the last couple of years now that they started using an online ticketing system, which seems to run a lot better now. Its reporting capabilities are amazing, for any module in the ERP. I do believe the experience is better for customers in the Americas than in other parts of the world, since there are a lot more experts, consultants, users, etc. in the States and Latin America than I've seen in Asia or Europe. The implementation is complex, so being paired with the right consultants can make it or break it - it really is a very good software!

Pros

- very powerful and thorough functionalities for all manufacturing operations
- extremely good costing capabilities (all financial features are quite good, actually)
- can be customized to a great extent
- many tools for reporting and data analysis
- integrates with tools such as MES, bar code reader, is ready for EDI

Cons

- it's a bit more slow that I wish it were
- customer support is very bureaucratic, it takes from a couple of days to weeks to get any issue solved (to be fair, they do solve them)
- learning curve is steep. It's not that easy to use so people who are not tech-savy get a bit intimidated by this tool
- instruction manuals and help menu are only available in English

Dawn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great for Manufacturing Plants

Reviewed on 08/08/2019

The business problems we solved are more up-to-date inventory management system and the ability to...

The business problems we solved are more up-to-date inventory management system and the ability to make last-minute changes from customers without re-creating orders.

Pros

I like the flexibility to customize the software to fit your business. There are many features which can be incredibly useful. The fact that it is Windows-based is a plus fo our antiquated facility.

Cons

The one con I have about this software is the price. I like that we can find status updates in real-time on orders or inventory; however, to get this feature you have to pay even more money.

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Dawn, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the flexibility and ability to customize is so useful. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great ERP

Reviewed on 30/04/2020

It has been great we have found errors in our engineering program and saved a great deal of money....

It has been great we have found errors in our engineering program and saved a great deal of money. It has allowed us to have all of the different departments all in one ERP.

Pros

It has truly helped the company grow and able to analyze what works and what isn't. Purchasing and Project Management is simple and straightforward.

Cons

It isn't aesthetically pleasing and I have noticed many users like it to be sleek..

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Robert, thank you so much for your review of Epicor ERP. We're pleased to hear it has helped you identify areas of improvement in your organization. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Sheri
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The experience has been good, the software seems to be working as desired.

Reviewed on 06/03/2018

Pros

The ease in which most parameters are set in the part entry screen. The forecast module seems to be performing as desired, offering consumed quantities for easier visibility. MRP plans unfirmed jobs which make sense between planned jobs and firmed jobs. They are distinguished very well, giving the user a sense of clearness. The site maintenance screen allows the user to set up the prefix for the MRP unfirmed orders which is nice and clear to see upfront in identifying MRP unfirmed jobs.. It is also nice to have a time fence parameter in the part master where no jobs can plan within that time fence.

Cons

It is often no intuitive, making it hard to figure out why MRP suggested something that did not make sense.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good Software. Mediocre Support

Reviewed on 14/06/2017

Pros

The software interface resembles a Microsoft product which helps end users pick up the basics of navigation.
Epicor 10.1 represents a significant improvement over legacy versions of the software and performance is much better.

Cons

Support is poor. First line support team members are really just called takers and it is difficult to get to someone who actually knows the software and who might be able to assist you with the problem you are experiencing. Most times, it seems like the first line support tech's job is to find out if you have customized the software so that they can use that as a reason not to provide support, which is frustrating since the Epicor sales pitch emphasizes ease of customization.

Ross
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Epicor is amazing for tracking production details

Reviewed on 03/10/2019

Epicor has been a blessing with customer support, as it helps us track every aspect of a parts...

Epicor has been a blessing with customer support, as it helps us track every aspect of a parts creation.

Pros

I frequently use this program to track historical product records. I can pull a full production detail report, to see each and every operation a part has gone through.

Cons

Sometimes, the reporting feature takes awhile to pull the report. This is only the case for very large reports however!

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Ross,
Thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the production tracking is working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.Many thanks.

Nicole
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Great if you are a potential new customer, not so great after

Reviewed on 12/09/2016

Pros

We went from a manmade access system to this ERP system being our first. I enjoyed the easy click through menu options and ability to customize the forms to our liking. We have a unique business that would not fit an out of the box capability.

Cons

Reporting is not easy in this system. Almost everything has to be customizable and it created many years worth of problems trying to build this system without a strong support team. We have been trying for over a year to get our rep to give us pricing on licenses as we have grown and would like to expand in this area. We cannot get responses from the website support, our rep, or anything. Once you become a customer, you are abandoned, and left with very little support. this was not ideal as we developed how we wanted to use an ERP system and what the system could really do. We have spent 100s of thousands with other consulting companies to try to build the system, all while paying for the support and maintenance without any support.

Harry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Epicor provides a robust modular ERP that allows us buy and expand the system as our company...

Reviewed on 14/06/2017

The software tracks and reports on our production and performance. Integration across modules...

The software tracks and reports on our production and performance. Integration across modules allows adjustments in one module to be appropriately communicated across the system.

Pros

The ERP allows us to create dashboards to track company performance, includes good documentation and built in help (application level or field level), and we have access to a great user group to help us explore new modules before we buy and implement them.

Cons

There are inconsistencies between modules or menus that are not intuitive. Support is expensive and oftentimes unresponsive.

Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Epicor

Reviewed on 09/04/2020

Pros

We use a ton of customizations and personalization. The ability to do so is awesome!

Cons

We are a job shop, non-stock parts with many only being built once. Epicor 10 is more geared towards stock jobs and continued quantities

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Daniel, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the customization functionality is working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Everything in one package

Reviewed on 14/03/2017

Been working with Epicor since 2005 and they have been making great strides to make the software...

Been working with Epicor since 2005 and they have been making great strides to make the software more efficient, easier to update, and constantly adding new functionality to make it a real value! If you don't need all the modules, just purchase the ones you need and add on at anytime, perfect for the growing business

Pros

Easy to update and use, navigation by pc or tablet makes it a portable solution on the shop floor as needed

Cons

Some features are connected to others so to track labor you need to purchase payroll, even if you don't use payroll in Epicor

Steven
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Snap Shot of EPICOR from USER

Reviewed on 24/04/2020

GOOD +

GOOD +

Pros

It was easy to learn for me - Been a user for 5 years

Cons

I have no issues with this software.
I cant think of anything I dont like after 5 years of being a user.

Response from Epicor Software

Hi Steven, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear it is working well for you and you've found it intuitive. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

luke
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good, but needs some improvement

Reviewed on 13/06/2017

Pros

I like how you are able to customize things to the aspect of your company. The ability to make things unique to your own is a great feature. It's great for tracking inventory too.

Cons

There is always a problem with any update that happens. I do not like the ticket process because it takes forever to get a response and most times the problem could be solved in a few minutes instead of being dragged out for a few weeks.

Segi
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Epicor is an important piece of MRP software for our company and we cannot do business without...

Reviewed on 03/07/2018

Pros

Epicor is a good piece of MRP software overall.

Screens are able to intelligently link to one another with relevant right click context menus.

Cons

When error messages appear, they are often cryptic and difficult or impossible for non Epicor employees to understand.

Epicor licenses are extremely expensive and not recommended for smaller businesses.

Lisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Flexible and stable product

Reviewed on 02/05/2017

Pros

Flexible to your business processes. Stable application. Option of cloud and on-premise. Handles quote to cash without the need for a 3rd party financial package.

Cons

Weak technical support in the past, but we've seen improvements over the last few months. Responds well to outages, but if you require escalation for a non-emergent issue, you might wait a while.