Amazon RDS

4.7 (175)
Relational database service software

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(175)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

99%
recommended this app
Sort by

175 Reviews for UK Users

Giuseppe N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

As every AWS service, is best in class database as a service

Reviewed on 30/04/2022

Pros

I use this service daily and it is really powerful, especially if you need to manage hundreds of databases without having to worry about anything. pointing in time backup is the most powerful feature ever.

Cons

For the target audience of the service there are no cons, perhaps a little costs for smaller projects.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazon RDS - the backbone of your AWS stack

Reviewed on 06/05/2022

Waaaay back in the day, we owned and managed huge machines on which we ran our database software. It was Oracle for a while, then we moved to mySQL. But the machine and the software were our problem to handle. Most of the time (because these are not new technologies), there were no problems. But when there were problems, there were huge problems. Because like many websites/apps, data is at the core of what we do. No database, and everything goes poof. Since switching to RDS, this has become a thing of the past. We tell RDS what kind of beefy setup we want, and they do the rest. The mySQL patching. The upgrades. If we want to move to a bigger instance, that's pretty straightforward, too. Database hosting at pretty large scale, with just a few clicks. And no machines to worry about. You get decent (but not amazing) visibility into the instance at any time. But, basically, what you really get is peace of mind, not having to worry that your system's most critical layer will flake out on you. That's worth a lot. Also: AWS's Aurora is a very nice port of mySQL. We've had no issues there either.

Pros

Aurora is a great port of mySQL - very compatible and super fast
Prices are always going one direction: down
Scalable way huge with just a few clicks
Automated backups, patching, upgrades
You can still do a lot of customization using PL/MYSQL
The instances just stay up and running - becomes one less thing to worry about
You have options: both mySQL and Postgres

Cons

It's not amazingly easy to update the various variables that enable you to configure your mySQL instance.
I wish it was a bit easier to get monitoring that would give you more granular insight into what's causing issues.
You don't have quite as much flexibility and control over special packages you might install to do special stuff (calculating the Levenschtein distance between words, for example).

Aleksandr S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Will cost you all yourmoney.

Reviewed on 07/04/2021

Easy to setup. Very expensive. Play great with other AWS services.
The main issue is that metrics collected manually will never meet AWS metrics which are used to bill your stack. And of course AWS point of view will be much costly. Their Enterprise Support can not understand why metrics extracted from DB itself do not meet billing metrics and will endlessly redirect you to yet another expert.

Pros

Requires minimum knowledge or time to set up the database.
Everything you need is basically there.
Documentation is fantastic.
It just works and takes all the burden of infrastructure management from you.
A handful of engines, version, and extensions to them are supprted.
Integrated seamless to AWS infrastructure.

Cons

Price. It will literally eat 7/8 of your infrastructure budget.
Metrics lies. Performance insight simply does not work. Note, this is an opinion of somebody who paid for AWS Enterprise support (sigh, that's me)
Backups are not backups per se, this is filesystem rsync. So it is easy to end up with broken DB.
Support is very poor.

Alternatives Considered

Google Cloud Platform

Reasons for Choosing Amazon RDS

RDS looked very promising. It still is except that you have no control over the bill.

Switched From

Google Cloud Platform

Reasons for Switching to Amazon RDS

We already had few services deployed to AWS. This is the sole reason.
David W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

High quality, bulletproof managed database service

Reviewed on 20/04/2022

We use Amazon RDS to manage our key production/transactional databases for our customer-facing applications as well as our development environment, internal ERP, etc.

We definitely gain value and efficiency from not having to deal with the management of yet another server - and its operating system, patches, uptime, etc. - it is a real boon to simply have a database-as-a-service that we spin up, connect to, and work with, letting AWS deal with all the management.

Pros

AWS RDS allows us to deploy databases easily and efficiently with great resilience, scalability, and security - but without having to deal with managing a server. RDS makes it easy to spin up a new database, have multi-availability zone replicas, back it up, and do many other things. It's also dead easy to upgrade software versions - simply let AWS look after it.

Cons

Being a managed database service there are restrictions; for instance, with SQL Server you don't have the sysadmin role and you can't set any trace flag you want. You can adjust a number of parameters in the RDS console but only those which AWS have explicitly added support for. There are other caveats and restrictions for other DBMS products too.

Another thing I don't like is when you change your instance size it takes a long time - but at least there's no downtime. Also, tooling is restricted.

A lot of great tools to dig into performance and query tracing won't work with the AWS caveats so you have to use the AWS RDS console and logs and it can be more tedious to really drill into application performance bottlenecks.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Azure

Reasons for Choosing Amazon RDS

We wanted to move from on-premises to the cloud.

Switched From

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to Amazon RDS

Ultimately, despite being a Microsoft environment historically, our developers felt AWS provided superior tooling and functionality.
Gouri S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazon RDS for storing Model logs as a database

Reviewed on 03/06/2022

Overall experience using Amazon RDS is good, we are able to store the model logs in Amazon RDS from EC2 instance and same data we are utilising to create the dashboards in Amazon QuickSight.

Pros

The best thing about Amazon RDS is, it automatically take backups of the database which increase more reliable systems so basically it supports recovery at that point.

Cons

The least liked thing about Amazon RDS is there is no guarantee of hardware performance and also sudo access is to be provided.

Ramses miguel P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

The cloud is here

Reviewed on 12/11/2021

In general, this software is really good and efficient, you could do many things and your information is safe.

Pros

I really like this software and I would sincerally recommend it. It is simple, practical and easy to use.

Cons

I think the only thing that I don't quite like is the cost. I think it is a little expensive.

Diego U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Flexible and reliable data base suite on the cloud

Reviewed on 30/05/2022

It's up to our expectations and in many ways surpasses what an on premise database can give you

Pros

Easy deployment
Easy management and monitoring
Affordable price

Cons

Lack of replication options
It do not have a scheduler to keep a replica updated at a desired time

Nhan N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good managed RDS service

Reviewed on 22/12/2021

Pros

Performance Insight is the best, it helps us to identify slow queries in our system. Also, since this is managed service, we don't have to worry too much about uptime.

Cons

Since AWS RDS offers a lot of features, I usually lost when navigating the UI. Having the ability to create a custom dashboard for each user role can be helpful.

Daniel K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazon RDS is a great solution for managing multiple databases

Reviewed on 17/05/2022

Amazon RDS is top tier, great product and great support.

Pros

You can manage several databases at once, with excellent performance and capabilities

Cons

It's cost prohibitive for small businesses.

Alternatives Considered

Caspio

Reasons for Choosing Amazon RDS

We needed more power

Switched From

MySQL

Reasons for Switching to Amazon RDS

The amazon brand weighted more
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazon RDS Regular Usage Review

Reviewed on 21/05/2022

My overall experience with Amazon RDS was good

Pros

What I like about this software are its functionality and its features.

Cons

Not much to not like about this software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simplifies a lot of database management work

Reviewed on 14/04/2022

Overall, Amazon RDS has been very useful to us. It has saved us tremendous amounts of time just in the provisioning, scaling, and maintenance activities alone.

Pros

I like how easy it is to scale RDS up and down alongside its monitoring features which can be conveniently accessed via AWS console.

Cons

The burst balance limit for the underlying EBS disk gave us lots of problems. I wish this feature was more user-friendly.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Azure

Reasons for Choosing Amazon RDS

In my previous companies, we used to self-host databases (postgres, MySQL/MariaDB) in VMs. This was more expensive in the long run in terms of time spent. We also used Google Cloud SQL for some projects but eventually switched to RDS since our main tech infra runs on AWS.

Reasons for Switching to Amazon RDS

Our main tech infra runs on AWS already.
Manas M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Database Management as a Service is well implemented, which is reliable, secure and efficient

Reviewed on 10/10/2020

RDS is a really good service, I haven't seen any Downtime, the communication between EC2 and RDS is really fast since they are in the same AWS network

Pros

This really reduces the operational time taken to set up a database on a cloud machine, the cost of setting up and managing is really cheep when compared to the native approach of installing mysql or psql on a EC2 and managing it,
it exposes us to a verity of options and versions which we wouldn't have been aware of , and setting them up in just clicks without even spending much time in researching on it and figuring out the way to setting it up ,
The security management is really good, we can set all types of security managements like, subnet, security group, VPC, IAM role etc, which will take a lot of effort if gone manually ,
Backup restore is really well managed , we can schedule the backup process which dumps the data into the S3, we can restore it when needed ,
it supports all type of CURD operations including cloning a DB setup,
it supports many type of databases, it has a new one called Aurora which is AWS specific which is in 2 flavours (mysql and psql) - can use it for high cost effectiveness, additional features and speed up your bulk query executions,
Upgrading DB version or any other edition are easy to make without any data losses,
it gives a DNS URL for the DB, we need not manually add its IP into a Rout53,
Now we can integrate RDS with AWS secret, using which the application can access the DB with a dynamic password, and this creds gets rotated every day, which really increases the security.
Query Execution history and resource utilisation monitoring .

Cons

I know AWS is in a process of developing new hybrid databases like Aurora, i have noticed some trivial issues in it, its slower then RDS for executing stand alone queries , but its faster than RDS while executing Bulk Queries, there may be a way to SSH into the RDS machine or accessing its DB terminal , it would be better it i can do it on the UI, instead of remembering all the commands to connect

Monish K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cost Effective and Fully Cloud Managed Relational Database Service

Reviewed on 20/04/2020

Had A Really Great Experience with RDS, I have been evaluating Aurora with Native RDS so i will be talking more about Aurora in this Review

Pros

RDS provides support for verity of database systems like mysql, postgreSql, Maria DB, Oracle, Microsoft Sql and a hybrid Aurora (supports both mysql & psql)

Resizing, network management processes like subnet and security group are easily manageable.

Using Aurora it has become easy to transfer data from DB to S3 using "INTO OUTFILE S3" query

Aurora is really faster when it comes to executing heavy flock of query simultaneously when compared with its native RDS, it increases the over all through put

Aurora Server less is a extremely cost effective solution when used with proper configurations, it scales up and scales down as per its usage (pay per sec)

Supports Auto Backing up and scheduled snapshotting which stores the DB snapshot in S3, which helps in recovery at times of data deleted by mistake or data corruption by some failure in the application etc

Aurora provides Export Snapshot to S3 feature, its a additional feature towards data movement from RDS to S3, from this we can easily migrate data from RDS to Redshift or Athena via S3

Cons

Can't change subnet of a multi AZ RDS Database directly, to achieve this i had to first change my DB to single AZ

Aurora Server less dose not scale up when used with low CPU utilising application, user should have given the flexibility to change the autoscaling parameter for Aurora server less (CPU utilisation 70%)

Aurora the use of "INTO OUTFILE S3" query requires some additional setup steps at the s3 bucket end and IAM role which is well documented, but quite confusing,

Aurora dose not support newer mysql or psql versions which are supported by its native RDS's

Aurora when compared with its native RDS its slower for executing single queries,
officers Aurora is really faster when it comes to executing heavy flock of query simultaneously, but at the least we expect Aurora to perform as the same level as its native RDS when it comes to single queries

Aurora's Export Snapshot to S3 feature only supports Parquet file format, and on trigging Export it takes more time to start, it wold be better if the process starts instantaneously

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Amazing relational database which is easy to setup and use provided you have the technical...

Reviewed on 29/07/2019

AWS RDS can be linked with Victorops/splunk/slack and what not to constantly monitor the state of the database and set up alerts for catching problems. It can automatically save regular copies of the database.

Pros

ease of setup
ease of taking snapshots
no configurational drainers
very easy to set up alerts for monitoring problems in the database
debugging is a breeze.

Cons

It is easy to get lost without an UI.
also replicating databases can get stuck sometimes if you don't know what you are doing.
replication can be pain depending upon whether you want (master-master) or (master-slaves)

Alternatives Considered

Google Cloud Platform

Switched From

Google Cloud Platform

Reasons for Switching to Amazon RDS

GCP was sort of handing off sensitive data over to Google and flying blind. AWS RDS debugging is much more useful when a problem arises. aws was a no contest choice despite it's expenditure.
Muhammad arsalan N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

AWS RDS Review

Reviewed on 10/06/2019

My company need a simple and fast scalable solution for managing MySQL databases therefore we chose RDS. Prior to RDS we were managing DB clusters installed on VMs on Hyper Visors, and it was a cumbersome job. Though switching to RDS does make our life easy but RDS is not a cheap solution though.

Pros

Easily Scalable as per need.
AWS manage you infrastructure completely.
Fast Disaster recovery if planned the architecture correctly.
Multi AZ deployment and Read replica supported.
Supported various DB services like MySQL, Oracle, SQL Server and Postgres.
Backup procedure is very easy.

Cons

Cost on higher side.
Lack of control on your DB instance, though it's good but at times you need some tweaking todo.

Esra K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best managed relational database service in the market!

Reviewed on 17/04/2019

Choosing RDS was the best strategic decision we made. We saved a lot of time to focus on our company's growth instead of dealing with operations.

Pros

We have been using AWS RDS with MySQL since 2015. It is the best option we encountered in the market to set up, operate and scale a relational database in the cloud. Management Console is really easy to use. You can create, restore and scale any size of database in a matter of minutes. You should however be familiar with the technical term AWS uses. Be careful when you choose between General Purpose and Provisioned IOPS types.

Multi-AZ feature is a life saver if you have a database that cannot tolerate any downtime.

Point in time recovery saved us a lot. Also RDS takes automatic backups regularly.

You should also try Amazon Aurora which is an engine compatible with MySQL and PostgreSQL. AWS built Aurora for itself and the underlying technology is mind blowing.

Cons

You should be careful with the price of Amazon RDS and keep an eye on CloudWatch and Trusted Advisor. It gets expensive depending on usage but still it is worth not to struggle with operational problems.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Setting up a "serversless" database environment inminutes

Reviewed on 13/02/2019

Since we start using RDS it saves us a lot of time. You can start with a small instance and very easily grow to a larger instance and a multi AZ (High available) setup. No need to worry about disk space anymore for backups or snapshots. Amazon doesn't run out of space. You can setup automated backup with a retention of 35 days max but if you need to keep backups longer you can create manual snapshots and keep them forever.

Pros

- Very easy to setup
- Creating database environments including HA in minutes
- Creating a HA environment without having to know anything about database replication
- Upgrading the DB engine with a click of a mouse
- Very ease to create backups (and setup automated snapshots)
- Easy to restore
- Can be managed via the weg GUI but also via the very powerful AWS CLI
- No need to manage an Operating system
- Changing instanced types if you need more or less CPU/memory.
- Dynamically change the storage
- Performance is very good

Cons

- On Aurora the disk spaces grows automatically when the database grows. But when deleting lots of data its not possible to shrink the file system.
- No root access to server (which we never missed since using RDS)

Trang N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Manage database services solution for AWS Cloud

Reviewed on 23/12/2019

We use RDS with PostgreSQL and MySQL as our backend database for our Application hosted in AWS, they are located in a private VPC and only allow access from our backend subnet.

Pros

RDS allows us easy to create and manage a relational database for our Application hosted in AWS. It supports many different instance type, engine and scale option to select. RDS works well with VPC to keep our database private and only allow to access from specify sources. It has a lot of monitor metrics such as CPU utilization, free storage, freeable memory and read/write latency and well notification system to keep track of our database. Excellent backup, snapshot and restore support by AWS

Cons

Manage RDS's parameter is quite complex since it does not have good UI support. It lacks support tool to run SQL command directly from AWS console

Julian X.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Database provisioning without maintenance efforts

Reviewed on 08/12/2019

Personally I am very satisfied by this solution as it makes Database hosting totally painless. Also, Read-Replica and Multi-AZ features, makes it very hard to have a downtime on your side. If you're searching for an HA solution for your Database, consider Amazon RDS.

Pros

Amazon RDS is a very good product if you need a Database solution in your software architecture. Scaling and ensure performance without bottlenecks is definitely a plus value that Amazon RDS offers. Easier to integrate across other AWS products, but also on standalone software through DNS names and port, you can easily spawn a Database in a couple of clicks. Amazon RDS offers also Read-Replicas and Multi-AZ totally transparent to you, which makes it kind of unique in database hosting.

Cons

Price: everybody is well aware of how much AWS costs in the long run. Amazon RDS solution makes no difference, but if you are well aware of the costs, then this shouldn't stop you from trying and using it.

Gurleen K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazon RDS - The Relational Database Service

Reviewed on 03/02/2019

Amazon Relational Database allows us to encrypt your data using the Amazon Web Key Management. We manage our databases on Amazon Virtual Private which isolate the service and keep running without trouble. Monitoring of AWS RDS with Amazon CloudWatch is easy and describes details in metrics with no extra cost. Amazon Aurora is one of the cost efficient RDS.

Pros

Amazon Relational Database Service is one of the best product of AWS. The best thing in it is easy to deploy,patch,backup,security and administrate . The distributed architecture provide render the high scalability feature in it. The hardware upgrade is also easy and less time consuming with AWS as it comes with the embed features of it. After switching to the AWS RDS there is a less administration activities needed on managing the databases. Best feature in it is, if you are new to the RDS it also provides the best practices and recommendations. Managing the database snapshot with the help of Amazon S3 is also very convenient.

Cons

Amazon Relational Databases management is easy but it's little tricky also as if you mess up the security group setting to vast, it's not an easy task to solve the puzzle. Best practices is to keep the security group setting simple and as per recommendation by AWS.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Amazon RDS - Keeping it simple & easy

Reviewed on 18/01/2019

Overall very satisfied. It worked for our use case.

Pros

Easy to setup and running. All cloudwatch metrics made available like other AWS services. Ability to take snapshots, scale up horizontally and vertically across environments and depending upon load. We were able to automate our build and deployments using terraform scripts. Automated Backups are stored in S3 so you can retrieve backups when needed. Pay as you go like traditional EC2 metered cost model. You can predict your montly/yearly estimates before hand. It just works!

Supports a wide range of DB's - PostgreSQL, MySQL, MSSQL, etc.

Cons

Security setup may take time as its controlled by security groups. So it takes time to troubleshoot if you are not able to connect from local or any other remote instance.

Pricing may start to increase when you upgrade your instance types and add replication nodes etc.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Always up, 0 headache database option

Reviewed on 03/10/2019

It's been a great experience so far. It also helps us manage a lot of our compliance risk living in a fully compliant datacenter.

Pros

We use Aurora, which gives us a lot of flexibility in scale and size. Not having to manage clusters or database consistency across a number of different machines is amazing.

Cons

RDS, and aurora, generally lags behind the current state of postgres, which comes with the territory.

Alternatives Considered

Google Cloud Platform
Ashish A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazon RDS is cheapest database service i have used so far

Reviewed on 30/03/2018

The benefit we got from using RDS is that we have full control of the RDS instance. Unlike heroku RDS allows me to create any number of databases i want plus it provides 20 GB of PostgresSQL instance in its free tier

Pros

Amazon RDS provides arelational database instance that you can use to create any number to databases. All data are stored in SSD that provides faster read and write compared to conventional magnetic disk. Data can be secured by applying a security group such that the database can get request from within AWS (EC2 servers). RDS provides variety of databases each with their free tier.

Cons

Prices to enable multi availability zones for an instance is just double to their singe availability zone. It is too costly. For beginner the set up of RDS is quite confusing. Sometimes It doesn't display the estimated price of while setting up resources of an instance.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great managed database solution

Reviewed on 03/12/2019

Managing database servers is an expensive time sink. RDS lets you focus more on the business needs instead of managing servers.

Pros

It makes your life way easier by not having to manage a database server. Amazon RDS abstracts all the server stuff away so you just focus on managing the actual database content itself.

Cons

The UI is a bit clunky and some of the parameterization options are a bit difficult to use. There used to be a couple of bugs as well but they were fixed thankfully. With the lack of control over the server it can be a bit annoying if something is broken and you can't fix it.

Ankit B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Relational Database Service in the market til now

Reviewed on 28/05/2019

Overall its the best thing we did to choose AWS RDS, we are happy with the service amazon provides & we can focus on other issue leaving our database in amazon's strong hands.

Pros

He been using AWS RDS for like 4 years now, & its the best Database management tool we ever tried. Here its super easy to operate & scale your database. The console is easy to understand & somehow intuitive if you been working with databases in past. Multi-AZ feature gives you power if you cannot afford any downtime. RDS takes backup automatically so no worries of loosing any data.

Cons

Only dark side of AWS RDS is its pricing, do have a watch on what they billing you. Keep track of your usage on CloudWatch and Trusted Adviser. It may get expensive not not affordable if you use it without sincere approach.