Amazon RDS Reviews

Amazon RDS

Relational database service software

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(209)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

209 Reviews for UK Users

Dan
Dan
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Watch out for billing surprises

Reviewed on 06/05/2018

Pros

Amazon has worked hard to democratises databases, it's easy to set up a variety of different type of databases: SQL, Oracle, MySQL etc and perform things that typically have been a little more complicated with just a few clicks for example snapshots and database mirrors for you analytical platform.

Choose the region in which you're seeking to operate with just a few clicks, and it's pretty easy to kick off auto-scaling etc.

Cons

You need to be careful with billing surprises, make sure that you're familiar with Cloudwatch before you start playing with RDS.

Keep an eye on how much it's costing you.

Amazon may be elastic, but your budget probably lacks the same amount of elasticity.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Amazing relational database which is easy to setup and use provided you have the technical...

Reviewed on 29/07/2019

AWS RDS can be linked with Victorops/splunk/slack and what not to constantly monitor the state of...

AWS RDS can be linked with Victorops/splunk/slack and what not to constantly monitor the state of the database and set up alerts for catching problems. It can automatically save regular copies of the database.

Pros

ease of setup
ease of taking snapshots
no configurational drainers
very easy to set up alerts for monitoring problems in the database
debugging is a breeze.

Cons

It is easy to get lost without an UI.
also replicating databases can get stuck sometimes if you don't know what you are doing.
replication can be pain depending upon whether you want (master-master) or (master-slaves)

Alternatives Considered

Google Cloud

Switched From

Google Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Amazon RDS

GCP was sort of handing off sensitive data over to Google and flying blind. AWS RDS debugging is much more useful when a problem arises. aws was a no contest choice despite it's expenditure.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Amazon RDS how is useful

Reviewed on 11/02/2023

Its can be scaled a push of button. So i prefer this.

Its can be scaled a push of button. So i prefer this.

Pros

Its saves time of their employees, productivity increased and cost of data management is reduced

Cons

Their cost is high, because they make monopoly and less competitive.

Hung
Hung
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A simple setting up relational database in the cloud

Reviewed on 19/12/2019

We use RDS with MySQL and PostgreSQL as primary database for my Applications which deploys in EC2...

We use RDS with MySQL and PostgreSQL as primary database for my Applications which deploys in EC2 and ECS, AWS IAM and VPC are used to limit access to RDS only from the backed Component and do not expose RDS to publish. we reply on AWS on backup, snapshot and database patch.

Pros

Amazon RDS is easy to create and maintain, just a few clicks to set up a new Database instance and AWS will take care of all maintenance and upgrade task. RDS is well integrated with other AWS component for security, role-based access and query access. RDS is cheap compared with other solution and it has flexible on select instance size, engine, purchase mode and scale mode for cost-optimized. AWS RDS provides fast response and very reliable

Cons

We should trickly use AWS version of the database engine. Its database logs are not kept for a long time and we have to use additional solution for keeping the log.

Pawe
Pawe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

RDS as a database for Web Applications

Reviewed on 09/08/2022

Pros

It has met all our requirements regarding costs and storage. We observed no downtimes. Once set up, we did not have to manage it at all. Really enjoyed the backup functionality.

Cons

Deployment was quite hard as for most of AWS infrastructure, but once you get over initial struggles it becomes relatively easy

Alternatives Considered

Amazon DynamoDB

Reasons for Switching to Amazon RDS

Previous experience with AWS.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

RDS is just a necessity

Reviewed on 10/08/2023

Pros

Provides all the basic features that we absolutely need, out of the box. Super helpful

Cons

Since it's an AWS service, it's just not very intuitive to get around with - just like any other AWS products.

Ashish
Ashish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazon Web Services are the Best!

Reviewed on 10/08/2019

Pros

It caters to all types of requirements in terms of size, it can handle any amount of data
The pricing is good and even a person starting out his website or server can use this to maintain 100% uptime of his database.
You can control a lot of things from the Control Panel of AWS which include monitoring CPU usage, number of connections. It provides easy rebooting as well.

Cons

There was nothing that I did not like about this software. I am still using it and it solves my use case perfectly.

Manny
Manny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy way to put DB in the cloud

Reviewed on 24/09/2018

Amazon is changing the way we do things and how our database reaches others. It's only a matter of...

Amazon is changing the way we do things and how our database reaches others. It's only a matter of time before our entire infrastructure is on the cloud.

Pros

Amazon is getting good at putting DB in the cloud that before you know it, it will be as easy and syncing data to another computer.
Amazon is in the right track and not for long other companies will follow and make their disaster recovery simple to do.

Cons

Amazon still has a long way to go to make every database work seamless, but they have the right idea and concepts and it will only be a matter of time.
The pricing is something to get use to until it goes down and the demand get larger.

Luis Felipe
Luis Felipe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great performance and fast support

Reviewed on 03/12/2019

We have been using RDS for about 6 years, we have just a few issues (with always a fast response/sol...

We have been using RDS for about 6 years, we have just a few issues (with always a fast response/solution)

Pros

- Great stability and performance
- Great technical support
- You almost don't need to mind at any configuration or database servers anymore

Cons

Maybe the costs, but it depends. For small databases the RDS may not be a good idea but for large ones, you'll probably spend less than maintaining you own infrastructure

Richard
Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Brilliant database service with scalability

Reviewed on 25/09/2019

Very positive. We've never had any downtime and our database is reliable and performs well.

Very positive. We've never had any downtime and our database is reliable and performs well.

Pros

I like that I don't have to worry about my database as much - RDS takes care of all of the details. Security, scaling and uptime are all baked in to the service.

Cons

Like all AWS products, it has a learning curve to figure out. And you don't get unlimited control - if you want that you have to deploy your own database servers.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good db service from amazon

Reviewed on 12/03/2023

Pros

It is scalable, we tried it on different projects, small and big and it performed well.With just a few clicks, you can easily add or remove database instances, adjust computing resources, and automatically scale your database as your application grow.

Cons

One bad thing is that developers have limited control over the underlying infrastructure and configuration.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Always up, 0 headache database option

Reviewed on 03/10/2019

It's been a great experience so far. It also helps us manage a lot of our compliance risk living...

It's been a great experience so far. It also helps us manage a lot of our compliance risk living in a fully compliant datacenter.

Pros

We use Aurora, which gives us a lot of flexibility in scale and size. Not having to manage clusters or database consistency across a number of different machines is amazing.

Cons

RDS, and aurora, generally lags behind the current state of postgres, which comes with the territory.

Alternatives Considered

Google Cloud
Ankit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Relational Database Service in the market til now

Reviewed on 28/05/2019

Overall its the best thing we did to choose AWS RDS, we are happy with the service amazon provides...

Overall its the best thing we did to choose AWS RDS, we are happy with the service amazon provides & we can focus on other issue leaving our database in amazon's strong hands.

Pros

He been using AWS RDS for like 4 years now, & its the best Database management tool we ever tried. Here its super easy to operate & scale your database. The console is easy to understand & somehow intuitive if you been working with databases in past. Multi-AZ feature gives you power if you cannot afford any downtime. RDS takes backup automatically so no worries of loosing any data.

Cons

Only dark side of AWS RDS is its pricing, do have a watch on what they billing you. Keep track of your usage on CloudWatch and Trusted Adviser. It may get expensive not not affordable if you use it without sincere approach.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best "cloud" rDB implementation so far

Reviewed on 06/03/2019

I've been using AWS since 2015 and to be fair, it has only improved all this time. Being RDS one of...

I've been using AWS since 2015 and to be fair, it has only improved all this time. Being RDS one of the most commonly used services, I have plenty of experience with it (including the support team behind it) and I only have good things to say about it.

Pros

- Fully managed database
- Access to all the configuration options you would usually do when tweaking the configuration file(s)
- Top notch support
- High-availability is just a few mouse clicks away
- Incredible easy to setup master/slave scenarios
- Great backup (snapshot) service
- Great performance with basic monitoring included
- You get the database engine you already know without the hassle to have to set it up by yourself

Cons

- Price? AWS is still expensive
- Nothing else I can think of

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A good fit

Reviewed on 21/01/2020

All our commercial products run on Aws Rds severs and overall we are happy with it. Server...

All our commercial products run on Aws Rds severs and overall we are happy with it. Server configuration is a breeze, performance is steady, but cost is not the lowest, for sure.

Pros

- the ease of setting up and getting ready with the first instance
- the multitude of options when getting to advanced level
- the performance of the Aurora engine

Cons

- could not get the fastest performance being connected from remote vs connect from another Aws instance. A minimum 60ms overhead is added to every query, which disappears running the client on an ec2

Pasquale
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The easiest database server

Reviewed on 10/02/2021

RDS is without doubts a complex, hard to master system, but the basics are easy enough to kick off...

RDS is without doubts a complex, hard to master system, but the basics are easy enough to kick off a project in very short time. In the long run you get a best in class reliability and performances without comparison.

Pros

Setting up a PostgreSQL server can be a daunting task and keeping it secure and protected is even more challenging.
A managed database solution solves all this problems and many more. RDS in particular is quite easy to set up (at least in the basics) and it is very fast and reliable.

Cons

On the other hand there are a lot (I mean, a LOT) of options and settings, so the service is by no mean intended for causal users. A serious preliminary study of platform's usage is strongly advised.

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Database service that allows you to scale easily and quickly

Reviewed on 03/10/2019

Very good. Started using it when we were a small startup and it allowed us to easily scale to a...

Very good. Started using it when we were a small startup and it allowed us to easily scale to a full grown portal.

Pros

A lot of server tiers available to choose from, good when you need to start out with a smaller instance. Like to option to quickly create snapshots or restore a backup. Multi-az is a nice freaute to have that can save your business when things go south.

Cons

Halted instances are booted back up after 7 days automatically, so you can't really have an instance that is stopped for a long time. Since it's not a self-hosted service, there are some low level features that are missing.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

No need of building own infrastucture, use RDS and save time ,money. Rapid development

Reviewed on 16/07/2019

Pros

AWS is the reason, amazon is giant today and RDS is one of the most used services on AWS.
No need of maintaining own infrastructure, server, backup plans. Use RDS, they have everything ready for you, create RDS instances , as much as you required, scale if you need more resources, use RDS backup
plans to backup all your data and retrieve whenever required. with 99.999% availability and highly secured features, your application development will be much better.

Cons

security features need to be taken care seriously

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazon RDS - The Clear Winner

Reviewed on 06/09/2018

We use Amazon RDS for all of our database needs. We use it for our transactional (OLTP) and...

We use Amazon RDS for all of our database needs. We use it for our transactional (OLTP) and datawarehousing database needs.

Pros

Amazon RDS is Amazon's solution to hosted database services in the cloud. The console is easy to use and provides a ton of functionality with the click of a button. They have CLI and other API's that makes it easy to automate processes such as backup and recovery.

Cons

Microsoft products are supported but latest features are late to be added. Amazon likes to push their own products and slower adopt new features of SQL Server.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

RDS is awsome!

Reviewed on 29/05/2019

Pros

As a sysadmin, I working with many databases and tools related to this. I could say that RDS is a great service, that allows your team to focus on business, letting Amazon manages your database for you.
I also appreciate pay on demand, and the facility to upgrade environments.

Cons

I could say that I like every aspect of this product, but if I should say some negative aspect. I would say that price on America/Sao_Paulo is a bad aspect, but I know that isn't RDS problem but the cost of my country.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I use RDS for my Mysql deployment on amazon and it works 100% uptime with no failure rates

Reviewed on 29/04/2018

Compared to EC2 deployed database I prefer RDS for its absolute stability

Compared to EC2 deployed database I prefer RDS for its absolute stability

Pros

Almost 100% uptime very reliable compared to own installation of mysql on EC2, auto backup, auto update etc are seamless and very stable product, aurora is a very promising technology for scalability too

Cons

Not much the parameter groups UI is kind of stinks and has some default parameters configured is not good, for eg: definer statements need to be removed before uploading data/stureture from backups

Varsha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Stability and amazing features

Reviewed on 14/09/2019

My overall experience with Amazon RDS has nothing but been amazing with the great customer support...

My overall experience with Amazon RDS has nothing but been amazing with the great customer support that they offer and consideration they provide for minor mistakes performed at our end.

Pros

The stability and reliability of this product make it an amazing choice. Also scalability is very easy with RDS and amazon overall because anytime you can select how much memory and storage you want based on the dynamic requirement

Cons

Though Amazon RDS is totally worth the money but for a company not so big it can get really problematic to fund for the same. They do have amazing plans if you compromise on the dynamic scalability which is not always possible.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

it's very easy to work with RDS

Reviewed on 29/07/2019

Pros

Amazon RDS (Amazon Relational Database Service) is a very powerful Service hosted by AWS. It's very easy to Setup and Run complex Database Instances. You can choose between Amazon Aurora (AWS own database System), PostgrSQÖ, MySQL, MariaDB, Oracle and MSSQL Server. It's very easy to Setup Things like Data Replication or Scale the DB up or down.

Cons

if u are using MSSQL Server you are only able to work with the database engine - SSAS is not available (which makes sense in the context of working wih a database but it might me a stumbling Stone)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great way to deal with Databases

Reviewed on 24/07/2018

Pros

Easily scalable system. Different DBMS available, so everyone can find a good fit. A lot of metrics available, so you can track what's going on with your databases.

Cons

Once set, some of the setting are not easily changed (like space reserved for RDS instance). Restoring includes restore of complete instance, not just a DB, so in some scenarios it can take a lot of time.

Santhoshi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazon RDS enables easy setup for databases

Reviewed on 30/04/2019

Pros

Amazon RDS helps to setup databases like Oracle, Postgress, mysql on AWS cloud very easily and everything is on clicks. It helps in setting up big infrastructure increasing nodes decreasing nodes easily. really your should not think about hardware and installation process of databases. Also provides nice dashboard which helps us to understand health of system.

Cons

Not really negative but you should properly estimate how much infra is needed for your project and setup accrodingly, Billing is main important thing in AWS if you over build infra than required it will cost more. and also as it is pay per use need to monitor usage and downgrade if needed to save cost.