Elastic Stack

4.6 (51)
Distributed search and analytics solution

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(51)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support
4.0/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

51 Reviews for UK Users

Mo F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes for best scalability

Reviewed on 22/04/2022

Organizing chat data to be searchable and log management to proactively fix issues.

Pros

One of the best features I like is that Elastic built their own kubernetes operator to extend the k8s orchestration and make it easy to deploy, scale, change, secure and configure hot-warm infrastructures. Their operator saves a ton of time during configuration. I have deployed stacks on different k8s architectures like Azure Kubernetes Service, Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service and small on prem clusters with microk8s without issues. When we reach performance thresholds we add more elastic nodes and ECK secures and joins it to the cluster and in minutes we can leverage the extra compute. A lot of changes that are done after going to PROD are non-disruptive since ECK is aware of the main node and makes sure to pass the master role before the main one is re-deployed. I have also migrated Elastic Cloud Enterprise deployments running on bare metal and the stability of ECK is unmatched.

Cons

Currently it is not recommended or supported for a PROD cluster to do its own self monitoring so you have to deploy a monitoring cluster. In cloud scenarios this adds costs and extra complexity so it will be great to have this feature supported.

Houcem H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful stack for event collection, management and visualisation

Reviewed on 14/04/2022

A solid product with a rich feature set, if you get past the initial setup complexity.

Pros

Provides great features for log ingestion, normalisation and visualisation.
Has a free open source tier which can be used to cover many use cases.
Visualisation options are diverse and powerful.
Solid community support in forums.

Cons

Initial setup can be tedious and is rather complex.
The provided security ruleset tends to produce many false positives and requires fine tuning.
Log ingestion options are not entirely covered by the web user interface.

Victor luis G.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

This powerful tool allows you to take data from any source and format to search and analyze.

Reviewed on 23/03/2018

Pros

It is a super fast and efficient data extraction tool. Recommended for medium-sized projects.
Handles large amounts of data, is scalable.

Cons

Usable from any device, however these must be state-of-the-art and offer great calculation speeds and ram storage.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Elastic Stack for Application Logs

Reviewed on 14/04/2022

Elastic Stack is an open source full stack solution for logs of modern day big data applications processing logs with its different applications of Logstash, Elastic and Kibana. We are using it to read through application logs, storing logs data and using dashboard to easily navigate thru the big chunk of files. Its an amazing combo of applications, completely free of cost with easy implementation and powerful online support.

Pros

1. End to End Solution of enterprise logs with services such as Logstash, Elastic and Kibana.
2. Strong User Community and support.
3. Easy to use and implement.
4. Proactive updates on possible downtimes.
5. Dashboards for easy navigation.

Cons

1. Cloud performance is slower than on premises installation.
2. It crashes in between which delay things sometimes.

Animesh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best for Website Monitoring, Event Management and Log Analysis.

Reviewed on 18/04/2022

This lightweight, yet powerful, modern SIEM is well-suited for the modern security operations center as it can handle a wide range of activities with ease. elastic Stack is a powerful and flexible SIEM with feature-rich out-of-the-box tools that make it easy to get the job.

Pros

We are using ELK Stack SIEM, a scalable aggregation engine that helps us find patterns in our data as well as provides a wide array of customizable analytics and reports. With Elastic Stack, we have a better understanding of flaws and security issues, particularly memory tier support that ensures the security of our data and networks.

Cons

It is very challenging and time-consuming to upgrade cluster node roles and data replication.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Elastic Stack is the best for Business

Reviewed on 11/04/2022

we use elastic stack to integrated with elastiflow to track all the traffic destination, protocol log, and other activity inside network, it very nice and work well, and produce the nice dashboard and clear view.

Pros

the very powerful search engine I search around 5 million log in a second only.
Very nice real-time dashboard, I can integrated with other software and see all the view of network traffic, traffic flow very well.

Cons

well I would say, it's pretty good already, but still some function need to use command alot.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Distributed Search and analytics engine available in cloud

Reviewed on 30/06/2020

Best search and analytics software available in cloud, flexible to use and available free trial to evaluate it.

Pros

This is best search software for data searching and analytics on stream data in cloud. It is so flexible complex keyword searches and very efficient. Great tool for analyzing logs very powerful. 24/7 customer support.

Cons

Not really a negative side but if you have low bandwidth web interface will become very slow.And think learning manual still needs some improvement.

Deniz Ç.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the Best No sql Document Base Database

Reviewed on 03/05/2021

In our projects, we use elasticsearch in database queries that need fast answers. It is especially useful for search and autocomplete operations.

Pros

When you want to run queries in big data and get results, you can get results much faster from relational databases. Queries are also easy to create

Cons

We sometimes have problems during the integration of Kibana. But we couldn't figure out why
Other than that, I didn't have any problems

Luis felipe A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Have too much data to your database?

Reviewed on 03/12/2019

Our application makes many filters for too much data, without Elasticsearch it just stops

Pros

- Almost 100% of uptime
- Great support
- Really fast and easy to use for any application
- Easy to configure

Cons

- The cost of product may inviabilize it's use for small applications or companies
- If the configuration goes wrong it may really affect the speed

Wechuli P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quality Search and Analytics Software

Reviewed on 07/04/2020

Elasticsearch has been a powerful search engine that caters to most of my search and analytics use cases.

Pros

- Powerful and fast, near-real-time search capabilities that can handle massive amounts of data with a breeze.
- Free, you can download the software and use it on your own infrastructure without any license concerns
- Ability to enhance search speed and storage capacity by building clusters that store part of the data. Configuring of clusters is fairly straightforward and easy to do.
- Machine learning capabilities
- API clients available for popular programming languages such as PHP, Python, JavaScript, Java , GO and C#.
- Convenient cloud offering that makes the deployment, security and configuration of an ES cluster super easy.
- Free Kibana client to visualize data in ElasticSearch

Cons

- A bit of a learning curve to get up to speed with the query language
- There are some nuances and security pitfalls that you might run into if you try to configure an ElasticSearch cluster yourself.

M. serhat D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A complete stack for full text search

Reviewed on 02/04/2020

Elasticsearch might be overkill if you are working with a small or mid-sized applications. However it's a serious solution for big-scale apps that are dealing with millions of records. The setup of the Elasticsearch might seem easy, but the maintenance is not. If you have simpler needs, I would suggest the full-text search functionality of modern PostgreSQL versions.

Pros

Elasticsearch is quite powerful and fast. You can implement it to any enterprise software independent of the scale. It's well documented and getting frequent updates. It's also a reliable software that you can use in mission-critical operations.

Cons

Breaking changes between different versions are hard to deal with. Each major version upgrade of ElasticSearch is bringing new functionality, improved security, and speed - but at the same time, it requires you to update your indexes, which is not an easy task if you don't have a strong infrastructure team.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Elasticsearch is a general purpose search engine that can do much more than search

Reviewed on 11/01/2019

We use Elasticsearch to filter and sort search results in our marketplace. We've built out many complicated queries that allow us to do interesting things like geo-based queries, personalization, and time boxed deals.

Pros

Elasticsearch offers a very flexible system for adding search capability to your systems. It is also capable of much more. The REST API and great documentation makes getting started very simple. Elasticsearch was also designed with scaling in mind. Adding nodes and self balancing is quite easy. AWS offers hosted Elasticsearch that makes spinning up your first cluster as simple as a few clicks.

Cons

Writing complicated queries can be quite tedious at times. The JSON interface is not always easy to read when trying to match up parentheses. Upgrading from older versions is not a simple process.

Onur E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Working On Big Data Is Now More Comfortable

Reviewed on 03/12/2019

Our company uses elasticsearch to analyze data in very large data. Successful indexing is designed in a cluster (node) structure, which has made our work much easier. Thanks to this search engine, we can reach the desired analysis results in the data. It is a blessing for our sector employees to have a free application running in this performance.

Pros

Flexibility and high performance are the most loved features for us. The fact that we are not using it very effectively is also a ramen of suggestions and guidance.

Cons

The only feature I don't like is that it is Java based.

Gedson S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The perfect searching allied to a RDB

Reviewed on 12/03/2019

We've been pairing Elasticsearch with a traditional RDB in many projects with great results. This way we don't compromise our data reliability and searching speed is blazing fast.

Pros

Searching is where elasticsearch is second to none, either in terms, n-grams or full-text. Latest releases have greatly improved the aggregation performance, so it's also a great fit for analytics workloads. The customizable sharding and replica configurations make is very reliable too.

Cons

Searching and joining different documents has room for improvement, it's usualy not as fast as we would like it to be, so most of the times we end up un-normalizing documents and en-richening their data to boost searching performance.

Miguel H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Elasticsearch Makes Big Data Possible

Reviewed on 24/01/2019

We've dramatically improved the stability of our big data analytics compared to any other data store we've used.

Pros

Elasticsearch is the single most valuable tool I have come across in my career for solving big data problems. No other datastore scales as well and as easily as ES. The premium features that come with a license are extremely powerful and definitely make a case for upgrading beyond just the need for support like most database solutions.

Cons

Elasticsearch definitely has a significant learning curve for developers and administrators experienced with a more relational database solution. However with some time and with the aid of the fantastic UI Kibana these hurdles are small in comparison to the power you can reap.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Using Kibana

Reviewed on 30/12/2021

Pros

We user Kibana's dashboard and also part of it for data analysis of our tool. It allows us to look and compare historical data and gives us a great visualisation, analytic tools and data sharing options of all the data collected by our scanner.

Cons

I enjoy working with the tool, however, I am missing quite some UX design improvements that could really improve the interaction with Kibana. Moreover, I could use an option of saving the templates or most recent types of searches into some kind of database so we would not need to setup these all over again.

Neelesh B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ElasticSearch: A Powerful Search Engine

Reviewed on 24/09/2020

Its a very good search engine as it has a power to query for more than thousands-lakhs of records in just few seconds and sometimes is perform better. But again its all depends on the query you have written. Sometimes writing a specific busniess query got harder over SQL queries.

Pros

Flexibility and high performance. Good for Distributed full text search, No-SQL, Aggregation. Can be used as a replacement MongoDB and RavenDB. Capability of handling mutiple type of data- including textual, numerical, geospatial, structured, and unstructured.

Cons

Mostly for developers, other people's would have a hard time to understand and work on it. Also the query is typical or hard to write in terms of SQL queries.

Ravikiran R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best product for search and aggregations

Reviewed on 09/08/2017

Great full text capabilities.
Highly scale able .
Good documentation.
Good set of libraries.

Pros

The search is very good and very fast in response.
Documentation is very good for writing NoSQL queries.
Libraries are there for 90% of popular languages.

Cons

It would be good to create a standardization for NoSQL.
It would be great, Elastic search provides IDE to write the queries rather than editors.

Keren K.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

Managing big databases

Reviewed on 28/06/2018

Pros

The product is very popular among many companies, therefore there is a big community who can share their knowledge, the search is very fast and the installation process and integration are very easy.

Cons

I leas like the Elasticsearch itself does not provide much except just storing the information, the additional tools (Kibana and Logstash) are required.

Damon D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Excellent Tool When Used Correctly

Reviewed on 30/03/2020

Pros

Elasticsearch simplifies data queries and integration with user interfaces. Describing the records as JSON makes updates as simple as modifying your JSON format. The query builders make selecting complex data relationships easy to construct.

Cons

As designed and by default, Elastcsearch does not immediately synchronize data between server nodes. Updates and inserts to records take time to reconcile which can cause some data integrity issues with frequent updates. ES is not the best tool to take bulk or rapid changes to the data. It is a great tool for retrieving data. The best combination is to use a SQL database for CRUD operations and replicate/synchronize the data to Elasticsearch for user interface/reporting.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Really fast

Reviewed on 30/11/2018

Pros

Its a really good solution for people looking to process large volumes of data, it allows to filter, make aggregations and other operations really fast even when you need to rely on text search.

Cons

Its really easy to make your performance really low, you have to be really careful with your cluster setup, mapping and queries.

Chirag S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

ElasticSearch - Modern NoSql datanbase

Reviewed on 16/11/2018

We are building a new and next generation product and we are using elastic in all search or autocomplete area of the application. Its really fast and powerful tool.

Pros

ElasticSearch is one of the most popular and fastest growing NoSql data store. one of the best feature we are using is to search and return data quickly. Schema less is making its most powerful features and base of this entire product.

Cons

Only cons we are facing right now is its major version Upgrades and breaking change.

Sagar D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Fastest and easy data storage and search engine

Reviewed on 15/11/2017

Pros

Elasticsearch stores and search through data in a distributed manner. Available to integrate with most of the programming languages to integrate with own application. Also provides rest api to directly integrate through command line or browser. Easier to add and remove cluster nodes for larger distributed datastore.

Cons

It requires large heap memory for better performance since is based on JVM. The datastore handles text only.

Dewmi R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

One of the best data indexing software to look for

Reviewed on 19/06/2021

Very positive experience. Easy to learn and use. Highly recommended.

Pros

I have used Elasticsearch for one of the research projects - Visual Search and Autonomous Linkage Tool which would enable Autonomous Data Processing and to improve Big Data Analysis and Reporting, in my previous work place. It served the best in driving the product to it's success with it's great capability and accuracy of indexing data.

Cons

No much negative experience to highlight but sometimes have to deep dive into documentation to learn about more features and their functionality.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

One of the best NoSQL Databases

Reviewed on 07/09/2019

I use it every day in a production environment, with all the stack that it provides.

Pros

This database allows you to store the data in a document format. The ability to get it runnning in a cluster configuration is perfect for many projects. Its continuos development is introducing very important new features.

Cons

The Query DLS is a little tricky at first, sometimes you need to write a complex query in order to achieve the logic you want.