PostgreSQL

4.6 (313)
Open source relational database management system

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(313)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

98%
recommended this app

313 Reviews for UK Users

Juan manuel C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Ultimate Database Engine

Reviewed on 20/12/2021

In general, my experience with postgress is more than satisfactory, it is an engine that works very well, it is stable, it allows me to handle large databases with tables of more than a million data without any problem. It has some syntax different from common sql, but they give great functionality (like data parsing)

Pros

Excellent database manager, it has its own program (phAdmin) that gives you a very friendly graphical interface to carry out all kinds of tasks. Postgress is highly scalable and stable, which is why I prefer it over other options

Cons

As against, when the database that is handled is relatively small, when comparing response speeds with other engines, it has a small disadvantage, but its great advantage is noted by having a large database.

Janne M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best overall databases in the market

Reviewed on 29/06/2021

For overall backend database purposes I would currently not choose anything other than PostgreSQL. Widely known, easy to hire talent for, secure and reliable.

Pros

PostgreSQL is well supported by backend frameworks like Django. Getting into the command line of PostgreSQL database isn't necessary that often, but when a must, it works very robustly.

Cons

Not suitable for some data types as well as some of the competition, like time series data, that is becoming more and more important via IoT use cases.

Alternatives Considered

MariaDB and MySQL

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Generational leap in web development, a new product was launched.

Switched From

MySQL

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Best direct support from backend frameworks such as Django.
Albernes G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

easy to use and understand

Reviewed on 15/03/2018

It can operate on platform specifications, including Linux, Windows, Unix.
Large storage capacity

Good scalability since it is able to adjust to the number of CPU and the amount of available memory optimally, supporting a greater number of simultaneous requests to the database correctly.
It supports the types of data, clauses, functions and commands of standard type SQL92 / SQL99 and extended own of PostgreSQL ..

Pros

its graphic environment and considerable savings in operating costs: PostgreSQL has been designed to have a maintenance and adjustment lower than the products of commercial suppliers, while retaining all the characteristics, stability and performance. Stability and reliability: There have been no drops in the database

Cons

That Compared to MySQL is slower in insertions and updates, since it has intersection headers that do not have MySQL Support online: There are official forums, but there is no mandatory help It consumes more resources than MySQL .

Javier S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the BEST Open Source Relational Data Base System

Reviewed on 19/11/2021

In general, my experience with Postgre has been very pleasant.
The systems that I have developed using this software as a data manager have been stable.
When I have had technical problems it has been possible for me to find the solutions within its great community

Pros

its compatibility with previous versions makes development very friendly.
It is also Open source and free, which allows saving costs in the development of systems.
there is a lot of documentation online to find solutions to problems In addition to having a large community

Cons

It's official handler is not friendly.
Installation for begginners is not easy.
configure advanced functions such as replication It is complicated

Alternatives Considered

MySQL and Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Due to what is a software with great performance even though it is free
Jorge M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PostgreSQL - A World Class DBMS that you can have for free

Reviewed on 11/03/2021

I have used PostgreSQL for Windows since 2008 and it has been a pleasure. Some DBs have tables with more than 1 million records and performance seems not to be affected.

Pros

It is free although there are some paid options that include support and special configurations. It is very stable, I have not had any critical situations like data loss. As a ASP.NET developer, it integrates easy using ADO.NET Data Providers for which there are many choices. Concurrency control is included which is very useful for data integrity. Versions for Linux, Mac, Solaris and BSD are available which increases the integration power. A huge number of third party add-ons (paid and free) can be found. PostgreSQL is being continuously improving, there is a well defined plan of maintenance and new versions are coming out regularly.

Cons

I have not found anything against this DMBS product. I have accomplished all of my goals successfully.

Alternatives Considered

MySQL and Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

A professional friend of mine recommended it. Additionally and after doing some research, I found PostgreSQL origins date back to 1970´s as a successor of Ingres developed at University of California Berkley. This definitely called my attention and I decided to try as a first option. I felt in love with PostgreSQL.
Adolfo M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very complete and stable database

Reviewed on 19/06/2020

I have very good experience installing and configuring databases with PostgreSQL.
Once installed and configured it is very stable, almost without errors and one can rest assured that the data is fine

Pros

It is very complete for any type of project or application.
It is stable, easy to use and can handle a lot of structured data.
It is free software and is very well documented
It is very popular and has a very varied community around the project

Cons

Its installation and configuration can be a bit complex at first.
Being free they are not obliged to provide support
Requires specific tuning for each possible scenario

Alternatives Considered

MySQL, Microsoft SQL Server and Oracle Database

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

To handle more data and guarantee its integrity.

Switched From

MySQL

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

For its flexibility for all types of projects, its price, and its stability.
Carlos hugo martin C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Experience with PostgreSQL

Reviewed on 25/12/2021

We have used the database for the implementation of reporters in most cases, seeking to remove the load from the main database.

Pros

It allows me to implement a robust database in a very short time, using a structure very similar to Oracle, in addition to having many tools that allow us to manage the data in the best way.

Cons

There are functionalities that with third-party products can obtain better results.

Alternatives Considered

MariaDB and MySQL

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Data recovery was more performant for us.
Carolyn W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Low-cost alternative to Microsoft SQL Server

Reviewed on 22/11/2021

Pros

Cost saving was the main benefit. We switched for the cost saving and also to stay in synch with our vendor Ellucian.

Cons

The transition period was challenging. In particular, we needed to bring on a temporary staff member to help rewrite our 1000+ reports and dashboards from the Microsoft SQL Server language to PostgreSQL. We used the free (unrelated) tool from SQLines to help with this task: https://sqlines.com/sql-server-to-postgresql. I wish the PGAdmin software had a better built-in search feature, but otherwise it seems to have all the same functionality as SQL Server Management Studio.

Stanislav K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great choice for mostly all of the cases

Reviewed on 16/09/2021

Pros

- easy to install and configuration as a cluster;
- free of charge;
- performant, secure, and reliable in terms of high availability;
- runs under different platforms and has lots of connectors to be used with various languages and frameworks;
- has a great pgAdmin GUI tool for management;

Cons

- could be slow on inserts and updates even on not large tables;
- had compatibility issues in the past when migrating between different versions;
- no online support, sometimes information found on the web could be not relevant to the version you have;

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The right database for 95% of use cases

Reviewed on 01/05/2020

Postgres is there for you whenever you need to store and retrieve simple tabular data. Whether that's your app user's name, email, and settings, or the projects and project content that they've created. As long as you're not dealing with over 10k transactions per second, it's cheap to use and extremely easy to set up. Oh, and it's also not great but just okay for advanced searching such as full-text search.

Pros

- Postgres is just soooo reliable, it's hard to corrupt or lose data unless you go in and manually edit or delete the data.
- Battle-tested ACID transactions to make sure you only update the data when it makes sense to have saved me so much time.
- The SQL interface is easy to use once you've mastered SQL (which it isn't; it's the simplest of all the languages I've learned).
- Newer versions even has support for advanced use cases such as arrays and JSON objects.
- The best thing is that 90% of the backend software developers know Postgres (or MySQL which is pretty dang similar) so help is never too far away!

Cons

The only real reason to not use Postgres is that it is pretty hard to scale. If your software requires over 10k transactions per second, you're gonna have to put in some serious work make Postgres scale. This is where Postgres becomes a pain to optimize. Postgres provides poor support for identifying the queries that are running really slowly. e.g. you have to install a buggy plugin and then query a funky poorly documented table. Trying to do master-slave replication is also quite difficult as you often run into consistency issues and will have to modify app logic. In these cases, it's better to go with NoSQL obviously.

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB and MySQL

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

I picked Postgres over MySQL is not as battle tested and was behind Postgres in terms of JSON object support. I picked Postgres over MongoDB because it's easier to set up, didn't have anyone else on the team that knew how to use it (whereas all 5 of my teammates have Postgres experience), and because Postgres can handle our traffic currently.
Tigran H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PSQL databse.

Reviewed on 08/03/2020

Overall this is good software to use when you in a large applications.

Pros

This is one of the best database software I’ve used. It has a lot of features/functions that are usable for Big projects. One of them I've use is the PSQL vector search that is not widely used but very important feature that built in PSQL, beside that it has a tons of usable functions to do operations inside database and then get the result for example timezone adjusting, manipulation with data, string function and etc.

Cons

Trully telling there should be few cons in this software. I've used this for over 4 years sometimes find to difficult to configure it it linux environments compared with mysql.

Alternatives Considered

SQLite, MySQL and Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

It has a lot of features/functionalities I've mentioned above that Mysql does not have.

Switched From

MySQL
Nairoby D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It's free!

Reviewed on 31/07/2018

In my very particular opinion I feel comfortable working with Postgres for more than 10 years, it is reliable and safe, the best thing is that it is free, which allows you to save on licenses, it is ideal for any type of development. I totally recommend it

Pros

- Free code database manager, which is not used for licensing.
- Easy to install and configure in any operating system.
- Ideal for relational databases.
- It has a large community in which you can share doubts.
- It is stable and reliable, scalable and secure with the correct user management.
- Can work with small and large databases.
- Handles the SQL language.
- Being free software, it is compatible with several graphic tools that help administration and database design. I particularly recommend working with PgAdmin in its latest version for postgres 9.6.6 onwards.
- Easily works as a cluster, can be configured as active-passive or active-active which improves performance
- It allows to perform maintenance, recovery of databases.
- I have tested the installation and use in Windows 7 operating system and Debian version 6 to 8 and works without problems.
- Likewise I have worked in postgres since its version 8.1 to 9.6.6 and a positive change has been noticed and performance improvements, but I insist on the point at which the databases should be fine designed.

Cons

- Many people declare it as slow in insertions and updates compared to others Managers, however, that will depend on how well designed the database is.
- For some, not having support online or with an official help center can be a big disadvantage.
- It is advisable to have command knowledge to work on consoles and terminals to perform a good configuration

Aníbal M.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PostgreSQL is powerful and robust, it fits perfectly in large projects

Reviewed on 07/07/2018

With PostgreSQL I have been able to perform my work satisfactorily on multiple occasions, my bosses and I are happy with the results we have obtained, saving hardware investment costs because we have focused on the database, I hope to have future benefits to the use it in projects for own clients.

Pros

I really like PostgreSQL I have used it several times for large projects in my previous works and in the current one it is used as a database for the web page of the institution, the power of PL / pgSQL is excellent, it allows me to program commercial layers in the database without any problem this improves the response times of the final applications and allows investments in hardware in the database servers instead of in the application, the management of schemes is perfect. It is important to mention that it is free software that implies having a large database without licensing costs. A feature of PostgreSQL is the multiversion concurrency control that allows transactions consistent with time, which provides great performance advantages. PgAdmin is a graphical tool with which I can manage different databases easily and intuitively, execute SQL statements, as well as create backup copies or perform maintenance tasks. Another thing that I like about PostgreSQL is that it is available for many platforms, it is possible to install it from the repositories of the Linux version that I use. It should be noted that the PostgreSQL user community is one of the most active in the market

Cons

There are some things that I do not like about PostgreSQL, permissions allowance per user can be annoying, I have had to work many times on this and it is difficult, it is also relatively slow when I insert and update small databases. The official support does not have telephone or online support, although there are official forums available where users can express their doubts to which other users of the community respond. The syntax of some of your commands or statements may not be intuitive if you do not have a medium level of knowledge in the SQL language. I have had problems migrating from a PostgreSQL version to a higher one. Compatibility is sometimes relative.

Maryury P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Database Manager PostgreSQL

Reviewed on 13/09/2018

In my experience using the software I really liked that it allows adding custom functions developed using different programming languages.
The integrity of the data and the referential integrity of the foreign key are maintained. It has allowed me, in an easy and secure way, the asynchronous replication of the databases for an alternative center in case of disasters.

I did not like it is that when I have any doubt about an error presented in the system where the database is working, I can not clarify it because there is no specific place to which, because and com solve the error.

Pros

PostgreSQL allows to control high concurrency, offering security by domain definitions, who can access the database server, the backup copies of the database can be made completely or only a table, according to the request, restorations and tasks maintenance, in addition to replicate in case of disasters.
It also allows to activate triggers to execute in tables or views in special cases or eventualities.
It has a friendly graphical interface for the administrator, through which they can be done from the creation of the database, to execute query querys and updates of the data, if necessary, you can have details with the status tool of the server referring to the queries that are executed in the DB (if there are locks, duration, etc.).
It allows the development of robust and efficient Databases

Cons

There is no online or telephone support. Only official forums are available where users expose their doubts that other users of the community respond to, ademas it consumes many resources

Mark M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid database that won't break the bank and won't let you down

Reviewed on 15/10/2020

We have never lost data, never paid too much and never looked back. PostgreSQL is at the hear of our organization and our trust has paid off in the long run. Running it on top of a managed stack such as AWS RDS is they way to go as this is the hardest part of using PostgreSQL and you don't want to waste time re-learning what has already been learned. It's worth the cost to use these services in the long run. Rapid prototyping can be done locally and is free so your price to start is always zero!

Pros

PostgreSQL is and always has been one of the most feature rich and solid databases available. Its price / performance / feature set is simply unmatched in the industry today.

Cons

There is a lot of old information on the internet that is no longer relevant to current versions and you must sift through this in some cases to find the modern and elegant solutions. It was touted as "slow" compared to MySQL in the early 2000's and much of that information is wrong due to lack of user experience with the product or no longer the case today.

Alternatives Considered

MySQL and Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Stability and price
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Solid database, but not user (or even admin) friendly

Reviewed on 25/09/2021

Pros

It's a solid database tested over the years by half of the world. Whatever features you need it has it.

Cons

You'll often need to Google for the exact command you need to run, the docs are very dry and the syntax is unconventional.

You'll suffer greatly trying to write code to access the database.

If you want to upgrade, scale, or do anything significant with a large production database you're probably best off hiring a specialized consultant - it's risky and not easy.

Alternatives Considered

MySQL

Switched From

MySQL
Abdelhakim Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best user tailored db experience.

Reviewed on 22/04/2020

I use PostgreSQL with almost every endeavor nowadays. Both at work and with personal projects, it is very robust when used in my research field which is optimization and operations research, but also flexible enough to help me quickly deploy web apps.

Pros

PostgreSQL is by far the most user friendly and most advanced database system out of the top 5 popular choices. It's inherently relational making it easily compatible with ORMs, has many smaller quirks like jsonb storage, the WITH keyword, and a vast amount of data types. It's also one of the most dynamic DBMS as it releases major changes more than once a year, with an ecosystem that consistently adapts to these versions.

Cons

Extensions in pgsql could use a bit of streamlining (extensions like pg_cron or similar), which was a bit complicated to do in with CI. Another concern would be some stability issues with the latest pgAdmin database interface, but in all fairness that isn't directly an issue with pgsql.

Diego C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The database everyone should be using

Reviewed on 21/09/2019

PostgreSQL is an incredibly powerful piece of software that should be the RDBMS in every software project instead of less powerful but more famous alternatives.
Personally it will be my choice for every future project.

Pros

PostgreSQL is so powerful, complete and stable. This should come with no surprise given the long history behind it. At the same time it's incredibly modern and supports new paradigms (like NoSQL, JSON data types) and it's also very simple to familiarize with.

Cons

It's unbelievable how PostgreSQL is not as well-known as one of his competitors (MySQL) notwithstanding the fact that is so much more powerful.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful database

Reviewed on 18/10/2020

Excellent database engine with a lof of features and great overall performance. It has a very huge community so you could get help very easily. I'd recommend to use it.

Pros

Highly recommended. It's the most powerful database engine I ever worked with. It has a lot of features that I used and worked very well: postgis for spatial searches, full-text search, partitions, etc.

Cons

At some point, we start having problems with very slow queries, and after some debugging we discover postgres decided to use the wrong index to perform the query plan. Probably because of bad stats but from time to time the problem happens again.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

PostgreSQL is the best open source database

Reviewed on 30/01/2020

I used another database for a large Brazilian bank. It was not a free database. The migration was excellent.

Pros

PostgreSQL has several advantages. It is lightweight and reliable. Search filters are very easy to understand. People who know the basics of the SQL language can do several queries, since PostgreSQL assembles selects. I can change it within the table itself, so I don't need to do the update command. On top of that, it's free and open source!

Cons

Sometimes the connection to the database drops (internal server error 500), and it is necessary to connect again. When the query has many records, the data return is slow. They are the only negative points of this tool.

Khelvyn C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best database managers for the world.

Reviewed on 14/11/2018

From my point of view postgreSQL I consider it one of the most powerful database managers, since I use it daily, from my role as a database administrator, as well as a web developer, since it allows to manage environments put into production easily, with an acceptable and intuitive configuration.

Pros

1164/5000
-Easy installation and configuration in other environments.
- Pgadmin management interface of the databases, very intuitive and complete with the necessary to a few clicks, I recommend keeping the graphical tool for the stability it offers.
-It has a connection balancer, known as pgpool that allows to manage the cluster structure well.
-Principles of replication between active-active or active-passive servers
Variety of console-level command options for restore or backup tasks and maintenance tasks
-principal manager for developers for the scalability and stability it offers.
-Management of free access, which allows the use of it without any problem, without any cost
-Ideal manager for the management of relational databases
-Allows the management of different versions on the same server with multiple database intentions with different listening ports.

Cons

- Poor documentation
- Functional technicians commonly report a slowness at the BD level, but that depends on how the DB is structured and especially if good database practices are applied

Abbas yusufzai K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Postgre SQL.. Best 2D spatial database tool for geologists.

Reviewed on 05/06/2021

It's a pretty reliable database manager that provides for excellent data management and a very comprehensive security implementation, as well as the installation of procedures that make data integrity easy to maintain.

Pros

One of the advantages of this manager is that it is simple to install and has a free license for various distributions and operating systems. It also allows you to configure the manager according to the team requirements. Other capabilities include the ability to run read-only queries while in recovery mode. pg-Admin, for example, is a graphical application that allows us to simply administer our database. It is a great resource distribution for complex queries, very adjustable, allowing it to be tailored to the needs of individuals who use it, Allows you to limit the number of incoming connections to avoid timeouts caused by developers.

Cons

Indexing is some times very slow. Also database syncing or importing and exporting database is some time a headache. Apart from that, I don't see any major shortcoming in it.

Danilo N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best database ever!

Reviewed on 10/02/2020

Best database management system: plenty of plugins (data visualization, backup, performance, etc), easily expandable, incredibly powerful configuration options.

Pros

PostgreSQL is the most flexible database management system out there. It has a lot of plugins (data visualization, backup, performance, etc), which make it very expandable too, incredibly powerful configuration options, etc. It has almost any type of column that your system will ever need.

Cons

I really don't found any PostgreSQL problem until now, so I would recommend that you use it without any fear.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server and Amazon Aurora

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Price and flexibility, besides the experience working with it.
Arik B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

PostgreSQL as application database

Reviewed on 12/12/2019

We use PostgreSQL as our system database for the software we develop, we find it reliable, robust and with great performance, we use both PHP and C++ to access the dataabse.

Pros

PostgreSQL is a full featured SQL server solution. it is free and open-source, PostgreSQL can be installed on many different platform like Linux, Windows, macOS and other. being open-source if has lots of contribute tools from the open-source community providing wide range solutions, PostgreSQL is also available in the cloud from all the major providers.

Cons

Management is less comfortable and some settings needs to be done in PostgreSQL configuration files, also database schema management tool is not so comfortable, but you can use 3rd party tools for that also

Ashish A.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Open source object-relational database management system for Web Developers

Reviewed on 09/01/2018

Pros

PostgreSQL or simply Postgres implements the SQL and advanced SQL standard very well. It can handle workloads ranging from small web applications to large data warehousing with many parallel users. Postgres provides a easy to use tool called pgAdmin to interact with and manipulate database. It provides support for complex data types like (multi-dimensional) Array, Json, user-defined types. PostgreSQL provides higher number of connections at cheap price. It support all types of indexing for faster retrieval of data. In my company we replaced our database server from MySQL to PostgreSQL because of PostgreSQL higher db connections connections in cheaper price as compared to MYSQL. It is also available free of cost till 10,000 rows on Heroku.

Cons

PostgreSQL query syntax for some complex queries like array, json, string functions and case operator are bit complicated to write . Installation and configuration of PostgreSQL is not as easy as MySQL. Documentation is not as good as compared to MySQL and it is bit harder to search for help regarding some complex queries and database functions on google. Replication is not yet as well implemented as in MySQL.