PostgreSQL

4.6 (331)
Open source relational database management system

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(331)
Value for Money
4.7/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

331 Reviews for UK Users

Rafał M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Postgresql (psql) is a great way to start with "serious" RDBMS

Reviewed on 17/05/2022

Postrgresql was a DB engine for our retail stores cashier system. TCO was 20% compared to Oracle (including hardware and support). Fast, flexible and with great support of programming languages, with API compatibility helped us to run a full scale retail chain (16 offline stores) with real time stock management in our online store.

Pros

+ scalability
+ SQL compilant
+ security
+ open source (free but not without costs)
+ offers more field types than mysql
+ API compatibility
+ low TCO - cheaper than Oracle (but with similar performance)
+ great programming language support (Python, PHP, C++ etc)

Cons

- free (open source) does not mean witout costs. Sometimes it is very hard to find a specialist that can properly handle PG issues
- not present at most of hosting services (but you can always run a virtual machine on AWS EC2)
- less tools for data manipulation/analysis compared to MySQL

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best open-source RDBMS out there

Reviewed on 06/06/2022

Overall, we have a very productive experience with PostgreSQL. Whenever we need a backend database for any of the apps we deploy, we use PostgreSQL. It never fails us.

Pros

I like how easy it is to set up and deploy a PostgreSQL database. It has a rich ecosystem of tools and a great open-source community behind it.

Cons

I don't have anything I dislike about PostgreSQL.

Alternatives Considered

MySQL and MariaDB

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

For some tools we deployed, we naturally needed to scale up and handle more complex workloads. So we changed our backend database.

Switched From

SQLite

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Out of many open-source tools we deploy, PostgreSQL is the most widely supported DB backend among others. So we decided to use PostgreSQL whenever applicable.
Albernes G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

easy to use and understand

Reviewed on 15/03/2018

It can operate on platform specifications, including Linux, Windows, Unix.
Large storage capacity

Good scalability since it is able to adjust to the number of CPU and the amount of available memory optimally, supporting a greater number of simultaneous requests to the database correctly.
It supports the types of data, clauses, functions and commands of standard type SQL92 / SQL99 and extended own of PostgreSQL ..

Pros

its graphic environment and considerable savings in operating costs: PostgreSQL has been designed to have a maintenance and adjustment lower than the products of commercial suppliers, while retaining all the characteristics, stability and performance. Stability and reliability: There have been no drops in the database

Cons

That Compared to MySQL is slower in insertions and updates, since it has intersection headers that do not have MySQL Support online: There are official forums, but there is no mandatory help It consumes more resources than MySQL .

Vin C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fully tried and tested.

Reviewed on 04/04/2022

Really well supported by the open source community.

Pros

Easy to setup development wise (Postgres.app), Very well supported by primsa DB. (orm client).

Cons

Cloud pricing tend to be more expensive vs mysql option.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server, MySQL and SQLite

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Ease of scaling the system, we can easily without too much cost overhead spin up read replicas to increase performance to our clients.
Jonathan alexander C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A robust database engine for your web projects and platforms

Reviewed on 25/05/2022

I have used this database to carry out web projects in the health sector and it has been of great help to manage processes and data in a very efficient way and with the best performance that I have seen.

Pros

What I like most about this database engine is its security, scalability and high performance for the development of platforms and web applications, easy to maintain and manage

Cons

That I did not like the product, its difficult or complex syntax, sometimes the very tedious query error

Shaune G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Postgres for a small database

Reviewed on 14/06/2022

Great product; easy to use with AWS RDS; lots of functionality

Pros

I was new to database management. Postgres is widely used and there are vast resources that help bring me up to date or help me solve problems.

Cons

All database software is hard to use. I also had a problem with PGAdmin after an update and had to switch to a different DBMS.

Dikshyaraj B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best RDBMS of 21st century

Reviewed on 31/05/2022

postgresql is something i use 80% of the day.
The features i have used on same are helped me a lot in terms to develop existing db activities.
The parallel query execution and operations facility is the best thing i love in postgre.

Pros

The functionality and availability of postgresql db can be highly appreciated.
The parallel schema instaces allows user to run paralled different operations on same dbs.
The file/data type supported are almost all types.
The ability to join more tables than any other rdbms is something postgresql stands out in market.

Cons

I did nt find any cons in postgre as compared to other rdbms,i find it the best in market.
If i need to tell a con then i want it to become as fast as SAP-HANA-DB.

Malik W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PostgreSQL

Reviewed on 24/05/2022

Pros

It is a good Software for those who need SQL.

Cons

It can sometimes take a while to compile and have errors like all programming softwares.

Anil C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Database PostgreSQL Platform

Reviewed on 13/06/2022

My team is using PostgreSQL to cover all the database platform to enhance different kind of perspective of developer team.

Pros

PostgreSQL is easy to database platform to use every section of marketing and developer team, it is easy to navigate between section.

Cons

PostgreSQL has different kind of database platform, it is easy to navigate between them but sometimes it is little bit freezing when you want to load the data.

Siddharth S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best data warehouse for a saas product

Reviewed on 05/05/2022

Pros

Easy to integrate with every tool that can be used for product analytics. Provides several types of schemas and user controls that can be used to share data with different types of users.

Cons

Yet to face a single problem with postgres.

Janne M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best overall databases in the market

Reviewed on 29/06/2021

For overall backend database purposes I would currently not choose anything other than PostgreSQL. Widely known, easy to hire talent for, secure and reliable.

Pros

PostgreSQL is well supported by backend frameworks like Django. Getting into the command line of PostgreSQL database isn't necessary that often, but when a must, it works very robustly.

Cons

Not suitable for some data types as well as some of the competition, like time series data, that is becoming more and more important via IoT use cases.

Alternatives Considered

MySQL and MariaDB

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

Generational leap in web development, a new product was launched.

Switched From

MySQL

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Best direct support from backend frameworks such as Django.
Jorge M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PostgreSQL - A World Class DBMS that you can have for free

Reviewed on 11/03/2021

I have used PostgreSQL for Windows since 2008 and it has been a pleasure. Some DBs have tables with more than 1 million records and performance seems not to be affected.

Pros

It is free although there are some paid options that include support and special configurations. It is very stable, I have not had any critical situations like data loss. As a ASP.NET developer, it integrates easy using ADO.NET Data Providers for which there are many choices. Concurrency control is included which is very useful for data integrity. Versions for Linux, Mac, Solaris and BSD are available which increases the integration power. A huge number of third party add-ons (paid and free) can be found. PostgreSQL is being continuously improving, there is a well defined plan of maintenance and new versions are coming out regularly.

Cons

I have not found anything against this DMBS product. I have accomplished all of my goals successfully.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server and MySQL

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

A professional friend of mine recommended it. Additionally and after doing some research, I found PostgreSQL origins date back to 1970´s as a successor of Ingres developed at University of California Berkley. This definitely called my attention and I decided to try as a first option. I felt in love with PostgreSQL.
Adolfo M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very complete and stable database

Reviewed on 19/06/2020

I have very good experience installing and configuring databases with PostgreSQL.
Once installed and configured it is very stable, almost without errors and one can rest assured that the data is fine

Pros

It is very complete for any type of project or application.
It is stable, easy to use and can handle a lot of structured data.
It is free software and is very well documented
It is very popular and has a very varied community around the project

Cons

Its installation and configuration can be a bit complex at first.
Being free they are not obliged to provide support
Requires specific tuning for each possible scenario

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle Database and MySQL

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

To handle more data and guarantee its integrity.

Switched From

MySQL

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

For its flexibility for all types of projects, its price, and its stability.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The right database for 95% of use cases

Reviewed on 01/05/2020

Postgres is there for you whenever you need to store and retrieve simple tabular data. Whether that's your app user's name, email, and settings, or the projects and project content that they've created. As long as you're not dealing with over 10k transactions per second, it's cheap to use and extremely easy to set up. Oh, and it's also not great but just okay for advanced searching such as full-text search.

Pros

- Postgres is just soooo reliable, it's hard to corrupt or lose data unless you go in and manually edit or delete the data.
- Battle-tested ACID transactions to make sure you only update the data when it makes sense to have saved me so much time.
- The SQL interface is easy to use once you've mastered SQL (which it isn't; it's the simplest of all the languages I've learned).
- Newer versions even has support for advanced use cases such as arrays and JSON objects.
- The best thing is that 90% of the backend software developers know Postgres (or MySQL which is pretty dang similar) so help is never too far away!

Cons

The only real reason to not use Postgres is that it is pretty hard to scale. If your software requires over 10k transactions per second, you're gonna have to put in some serious work make Postgres scale. This is where Postgres becomes a pain to optimize. Postgres provides poor support for identifying the queries that are running really slowly. e.g. you have to install a buggy plugin and then query a funky poorly documented table. Trying to do master-slave replication is also quite difficult as you often run into consistency issues and will have to modify app logic. In these cases, it's better to go with NoSQL obviously.

Alternatives Considered

MySQL and MongoDB

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

I picked Postgres over MySQL is not as battle tested and was behind Postgres in terms of JSON object support. I picked Postgres over MongoDB because it's easier to set up, didn't have anyone else on the team that knew how to use it (whereas all 5 of my teammates have Postgres experience), and because Postgres can handle our traffic currently.
Tigran H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PSQL databse.

Reviewed on 08/03/2020

Overall this is good software to use when you in a large applications.

Pros

This is one of the best database software I’ve used. It has a lot of features/functions that are usable for Big projects. One of them I've use is the PSQL vector search that is not widely used but very important feature that built in PSQL, beside that it has a tons of usable functions to do operations inside database and then get the result for example timezone adjusting, manipulation with data, string function and etc.

Cons

Trully telling there should be few cons in this software. I've used this for over 4 years sometimes find to difficult to configure it it linux environments compared with mysql.

Alternatives Considered

SQLite, Microsoft SQL Server and MySQL

Reasons for Choosing PostgreSQL

It has a lot of features/functionalities I've mentioned above that Mysql does not have.

Switched From

MySQL
Nairoby D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It's free!

Reviewed on 31/07/2018

In my very particular opinion I feel comfortable working with Postgres for more than 10 years, it is reliable and safe, the best thing is that it is free, which allows you to save on licenses, it is ideal for any type of development. I totally recommend it

Pros

- Free code database manager, which is not used for licensing.
- Easy to install and configure in any operating system.
- Ideal for relational databases.
- It has a large community in which you can share doubts.
- It is stable and reliable, scalable and secure with the correct user management.
- Can work with small and large databases.
- Handles the SQL language.
- Being free software, it is compatible with several graphic tools that help administration and database design. I particularly recommend working with PgAdmin in its latest version for postgres 9.6.6 onwards.
- Easily works as a cluster, can be configured as active-passive or active-active which improves performance
- It allows to perform maintenance, recovery of databases.
- I have tested the installation and use in Windows 7 operating system and Debian version 6 to 8 and works without problems.
- Likewise I have worked in postgres since its version 8.1 to 9.6.6 and a positive change has been noticed and performance improvements, but I insist on the point at which the databases should be fine designed.

Cons

- Many people declare it as slow in insertions and updates compared to others Managers, however, that will depend on how well designed the database is.
- For some, not having support online or with an official help center can be a big disadvantage.
- It is advisable to have command knowledge to work on consoles and terminals to perform a good configuration

Aníbal M.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PostgreSQL is powerful and robust, it fits perfectly in large projects

Reviewed on 07/07/2018

With PostgreSQL I have been able to perform my work satisfactorily on multiple occasions, my bosses and I are happy with the results we have obtained, saving hardware investment costs because we have focused on the database, I hope to have future benefits to the use it in projects for own clients.

Pros

I really like PostgreSQL I have used it several times for large projects in my previous works and in the current one it is used as a database for the web page of the institution, the power of PL / pgSQL is excellent, it allows me to program commercial layers in the database without any problem this improves the response times of the final applications and allows investments in hardware in the database servers instead of in the application, the management of schemes is perfect. It is important to mention that it is free software that implies having a large database without licensing costs. A feature of PostgreSQL is the multiversion concurrency control that allows transactions consistent with time, which provides great performance advantages. PgAdmin is a graphical tool with which I can manage different databases easily and intuitively, execute SQL statements, as well as create backup copies or perform maintenance tasks. Another thing that I like about PostgreSQL is that it is available for many platforms, it is possible to install it from the repositories of the Linux version that I use. It should be noted that the PostgreSQL user community is one of the most active in the market

Cons

There are some things that I do not like about PostgreSQL, permissions allowance per user can be annoying, I have had to work many times on this and it is difficult, it is also relatively slow when I insert and update small databases. The official support does not have telephone or online support, although there are official forums available where users can express their doubts to which other users of the community respond. The syntax of some of your commands or statements may not be intuitive if you do not have a medium level of knowledge in the SQL language. I have had problems migrating from a PostgreSQL version to a higher one. Compatibility is sometimes relative.

Maryury P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Database Manager PostgreSQL

Reviewed on 13/09/2018

In my experience using the software I really liked that it allows adding custom functions developed using different programming languages.
The integrity of the data and the referential integrity of the foreign key are maintained. It has allowed me, in an easy and secure way, the asynchronous replication of the databases for an alternative center in case of disasters.

I did not like it is that when I have any doubt about an error presented in the system where the database is working, I can not clarify it because there is no specific place to which, because and com solve the error.

Pros

PostgreSQL allows to control high concurrency, offering security by domain definitions, who can access the database server, the backup copies of the database can be made completely or only a table, according to the request, restorations and tasks maintenance, in addition to replicate in case of disasters.
It also allows to activate triggers to execute in tables or views in special cases or eventualities.
It has a friendly graphical interface for the administrator, through which they can be done from the creation of the database, to execute query querys and updates of the data, if necessary, you can have details with the status tool of the server referring to the queries that are executed in the DB (if there are locks, duration, etc.).
It allows the development of robust and efficient Databases

Cons

There is no online or telephone support. Only official forums are available where users expose their doubts that other users of the community respond to, ademas it consumes many resources

Mark M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid database that won't break the bank and won't let you down

Reviewed on 15/10/2020

We have never lost data, never paid too much and never looked back. PostgreSQL is at the hear of our organization and our trust has paid off in the long run. Running it on top of a managed stack such as AWS RDS is they way to go as this is the hardest part of using PostgreSQL and you don't want to waste time re-learning what has already been learned. It's worth the cost to use these services in the long run. Rapid prototyping can be done locally and is free so your price to start is always zero!

Pros

PostgreSQL is and always has been one of the most feature rich and solid databases available. Its price / performance / feature set is simply unmatched in the industry today.

Cons

There is a lot of old information on the internet that is no longer relevant to current versions and you must sift through this in some cases to find the modern and elegant solutions. It was touted as "slow" compared to MySQL in the early 2000's and much of that information is wrong due to lack of user experience with the product or no longer the case today.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server and MySQL

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Stability and price
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Solid database, but not user (or even admin) friendly

Reviewed on 25/09/2021

Pros

It's a solid database tested over the years by half of the world. Whatever features you need it has it.

Cons

You'll often need to Google for the exact command you need to run, the docs are very dry and the syntax is unconventional.

You'll suffer greatly trying to write code to access the database.

If you want to upgrade, scale, or do anything significant with a large production database you're probably best off hiring a specialized consultant - it's risky and not easy.

Alternatives Considered

MySQL

Switched From

MySQL
Diego C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The database everyone should be using

Reviewed on 21/09/2019

PostgreSQL is an incredibly powerful piece of software that should be the RDBMS in every software project instead of less powerful but more famous alternatives.
Personally it will be my choice for every future project.

Pros

PostgreSQL is so powerful, complete and stable. This should come with no surprise given the long history behind it. At the same time it's incredibly modern and supports new paradigms (like NoSQL, JSON data types) and it's also very simple to familiarize with.

Cons

It's unbelievable how PostgreSQL is not as well-known as one of his competitors (MySQL) notwithstanding the fact that is so much more powerful.

Abdelhakim Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best user tailored db experience.

Reviewed on 22/04/2020

I use PostgreSQL with almost every endeavor nowadays. Both at work and with personal projects, it is very robust when used in my research field which is optimization and operations research, but also flexible enough to help me quickly deploy web apps.

Pros

PostgreSQL is by far the most user friendly and most advanced database system out of the top 5 popular choices. It's inherently relational making it easily compatible with ORMs, has many smaller quirks like jsonb storage, the WITH keyword, and a vast amount of data types. It's also one of the most dynamic DBMS as it releases major changes more than once a year, with an ecosystem that consistently adapts to these versions.

Cons

Extensions in pgsql could use a bit of streamlining (extensions like pg_cron or similar), which was a bit complicated to do in with CI. Another concern would be some stability issues with the latest pgAdmin database interface, but in all fairness that isn't directly an issue with pgsql.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful database

Reviewed on 18/10/2020

Excellent database engine with a lof of features and great overall performance. It has a very huge community so you could get help very easily. I'd recommend to use it.

Pros

Highly recommended. It's the most powerful database engine I ever worked with. It has a lot of features that I used and worked very well: postgis for spatial searches, full-text search, partitions, etc.

Cons

At some point, we start having problems with very slow queries, and after some debugging we discover postgres decided to use the wrong index to perform the query plan. Probably because of bad stats but from time to time the problem happens again.

Juan manuel C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Ultimate Database Engine

Reviewed on 20/12/2021

In general, my experience with postgress is more than satisfactory, it is an engine that works very well, it is stable, it allows me to handle large databases with tables of more than a million data without any problem. It has some syntax different from common sql, but they give great functionality (like data parsing)

Pros

Excellent database manager, it has its own program (phAdmin) that gives you a very friendly graphical interface to carry out all kinds of tasks. Postgress is highly scalable and stable, which is why I prefer it over other options

Cons

As against, when the database that is handled is relatively small, when comparing response speeds with other engines, it has a small disadvantage, but its great advantage is noted by having a large database.

Javier S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the BEST Open Source Relational Data Base System

Reviewed on 19/11/2021

In general, my experience with Postgre has been very pleasant.
The systems that I have developed using this software as a data manager have been stable.
When I have had technical problems it has been possible for me to find the solutions within its great community

Pros

its compatibility with previous versions makes development very friendly.
It is also Open source and free, which allows saving costs in the development of systems.
there is a lot of documentation online to find solutions to problems In addition to having a large community

Cons

It's official handler is not friendly.
Installation for begginners is not easy.
configure advanced functions such as replication It is complicated

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server and MySQL

Reasons for Switching to PostgreSQL

Due to what is a software with great performance even though it is free