Sitefinity

Digital experience management for marketers

Overall rating

3.4 /5
(29)
Value for Money
3.5/5
Features
3.7/5
Ease of Use
3.6/5
Customer Support
3.2/5

52%
recommended this app
Sort by

29 Reviews for UK Users

Jerry
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sitefinity is a strong CMS with very scaleable capabilities.

Reviewed on 14/02/2018

It manages our site content very well, and provides the level of analytics we need.

It manages our site content very well, and provides the level of analytics we need.

Pros

Sitefinity has strengths surrounding template management, document management, and page creation. The drag-and-drop capabilities are very useful, and are easy to brand with HTML and CSS. Our team uses this CMS for both of our corporate websites, and use multi-site management to switch from each site. If you are managing multiple websites, this is a great feature.

Cons

Publishing pages, and making significant changes to the website can often slow it down for a couple of minutes, or take some time to initialize. Not a big deal, but visitors during that time will be greeted with a "Initializing" message.

Ali
Ali
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Professional cloud base CMS deploy from Azure

Reviewed on 15/02/2021

This is a good CMS for someone who is new to the site or companies who needs a professional site...

This is a good CMS for someone who is new to the site or companies who needs a professional site and does not know where to start and who needs professional and committed support. Because as someone who has been active in the field of IT and internet business consulting for more than 14 years, setting up a website is a separate issue, and maintaining and developing it is another issue and you should always have an IT expert and support team by your side. Sitefinity can be one of your best options.

Pros

It's so professional and easy to use Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS) CMS with professional team support. No need to constantly update or maintain files and backups. All you need is them on a secure cloud under Microsoft Azure. If you are a content author or webmaster this platform simplifies your tasks for updating content, managing files, and maintaining the site, and is smart automation under the cloud.

Cons

Features are good by default, some unnecessary parts may be disabled, it is better so that unnecessary JavaScript code does not slow down the site.

Alternatives Considered

Solodev CMS, HubSpot CMS Hub and WordPress

Reasons for Choosing Sitefinity

Looking for a CMS platform with good PAAS cloud features for our customers.

Reasons for Switching to Sitefinity

It's easy to learn and run via Azure Marketplace. Great responsive support.
Herbert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

"A good software to use and affordable to buy for anyone."

Reviewed on 15/06/2022

The built-in widgets make the tool demanding among many users and offer a wide range of content...

The built-in widgets make the tool demanding among many users and offer a wide range of content services. Thus, it is useful for blogs, websites, social media, and many more. The software collaborates with multiple numbers of platforms like the Marketo and HubSpot etc. hence, it is considered a straightforward tool with easy-to-use keys and a simple dashboard style. Many users find it non-functional but a maximum number of people find it functional in many ways. The best thing is reasonable pricing and appropriate features that make this tool more premium than freemium. Thus, it is a good software to use and affordable to buy for anyone.

Pros

The best thing about this system is that it supports many functions with a convenient user interface. So, the system comes with the best backend features and makes the site more appealing to the audience. Furthermore, the tool comes with built-in CRM and API services which are quite attractive. The software has loaded features that help you in many ways.

Cons

The most unwanted thing about this tool is that the developers don't offer recent updates. Thus, the tool is lagging and becomes clingy many times while operating. The software doesn't provide drag plus drops features offering multiple bugs while processing. The pathetic functionality with poor customer support makes this software less demanding. Moreover, the software comes with a poor documentation process and the adaptation is a bit difficult using this tool. Therefore, the creators should make it more functional and productive for adding more value.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Full Featured Mature CMS

Reviewed on 17/09/2019

Sitefinity is a fairly lightweight .NET based CMS which means that you can customize it just about...

Sitefinity is a fairly lightweight .NET based CMS which means that you can customize it just about however you need. That is for better or worse.

Pros

Compared to other .NET based CMS we looked at: Very low learning curve, able to get up and running quickly. Updates come quickly and with features and fixes from the community. Able to handle thousands of pages.

Cons

Some features are finnicky especially during upgrades. Backend interface isn't yet consistent, but that is improving. Caching options are lacking.

Alternatives Considered

Content Hub
Dave
Dave
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent value for the money

Reviewed on 07/08/2018

We switched to the Sitefinity platform in 2012 and really like this very affordable proprietary...

We switched to the Sitefinity platform in 2012 and really like this very affordable proprietary solution that is simple to maintain.

Pros

I went from being the only person inputting content onto our website to an admin that was able to show product managers how to easily input their own content. As a result, we have many more web pages than ever before.

Cons

A few weird little glitches with their "MVC" content widgets.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Sitefinity, as CMSs go, doesn't really offer anything that makes it worth the cost of a license

Reviewed on 23/07/2019

Sitefinity is not necessarily "the worst CMS ever" but it definitely doesn't make my top 3. If this...

Sitefinity is not necessarily "the worst CMS ever" but it definitely doesn't make my top 3. If this were an open-source CMS and, therefore, had more community support I think it could really go far. The jab on it being based on Microsoft languages is mostly just a personal schtick.

Pros

While I'm not really a fan of most of Sitefinity I do rather enjoy that most of the time it is pretty easy to use with straight forward drag and drop style editing.

Cons

Sitefinity is lacking a strong community with actual helpful/timely answers, their documentation on their site is very difficult to find anything unless you are a power user, some of the options/settings are nowhere near where you would expect them to be, there is a license fee for a CMS that is easily free/open-source from other names out there, and the whole thing is written on Microsoft technologies which I guess you could say is a pro to some. When I've come across a bug or issue using the editor I have no clue how to resolve it because of these cons and it results in simple tasks taking way longer than needed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Content and Website hosting with lots of features but very expensive

Reviewed on 03/11/2018

Pros

We switched to Sitefinity for our website hosting. The transition was seamless and it offers a lot of features including ecommerce and check-out purchasing. Easy to edit some web pages and a nice design template. Our website looks very modern and slick.

Cons

The price is the main issue. We ended up not using many of the features we thought we needed for Sitefinity so the price wasn't worth it for us. But overall, a very expensive solution compared to WordPress. Their page builders aren't as easy as wordpress. Their content block features make it difficult for non-web developers to build webpages.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Drag, Drop and Build Your New Site

Reviewed on 26/04/2019

I'm satisfied with my experience with Sitefinity. The support team has always been very useful and...

I'm satisfied with my experience with Sitefinity. The support team has always been very useful and responds within a reasonable amount of time.

Pros

For the most part, this software is easy to use . There are plenty of page templates to get you started and the drag and drop feature makes it easy to build the structure of your pages. You can make edits at a page level, or a template level. If several pages require the same edit, it can be easily fixed on the template level.

Cons

There are so many issues with getting logged out and pages being unintentionally locked. It's a real pain if you don't have admin permissioning and are unable to unlock pages on demand. While the locked page issue can be annoying, it does help prevent unwanted changes from being saved or pushed live.

Tanner
Tanner
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great, easy to use landing page platform

Reviewed on 05/03/2018

Pros

Easy to create and maintain templates. Editor is easy for anyone to use, even if they have no experience in HTML. Good file and folder structure for organizing landing pages into groups.

Cons

Image and media management structure could be refined - lots of manual work to organize and sort through file trees if you have lots of media that you're hosting.

John
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Security problems which you pay to correct.

Reviewed on 01/02/2018

Pros

Better Content Management System than we used to have, but that wasn't a high bar.

Cons

Customer Service is awful. They found severe security problems recently and "the highest levels of management" decided that their customers must bear the cost of upgrading to a more secure version.

The ability to manage blogs on your website is very poor.

If you're using marketing software with your website like HubSpot, good luck getting the linkage to work with Sitefinity.

Will
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Enterprise Level CMS

Reviewed on 27/06/2019

Sitefinity is a powerful CMS that is built for extensibility without sacrificing the ease of use...

Sitefinity is a powerful CMS that is built for extensibility without sacrificing the ease of use content editors want and need. Great out of box starting point with an intuitive drag and drop page and template designer. There a vast assortment of built in widgets allowing non-developers the means to create blogs, news, custom dynamic content, site search, navigations, and the list goes on and on. Content authors can also easy create custom page layouts and visualize how pages will look while editing them.

Sitefinity has extremely granular permissions allowing specific widgets and content within a page to be locked down to specific users/groups if needed. Like most features in Sitefinity, it isn’t a requirement to use this but it’s there if you need it and easy to configure.

Custom workflows for content approvals can be optionally configured to setup approval gates to ensure the quality of content changes prior to publish.

From a developer perspective, Sitefinity Is architected with extensibility in mind. Custom widgets can be easily introduced and made to blend it with the native out of box widgets. Sitefinity also offers deep hooks into almost every feature and process in the pipeline.

Pros

Easy to use and develop for.
Highly extensible for developers.
Many built in integrations for third party systems.
Granular permissions.
Ability to sync content across instances.
Many many many more features.

Cons

Upgrades in the past could be difficult but with the newer releases this has become much easier.

Lisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful, Adaptable and Simple to broaden CMS!

Reviewed on 03/06/2022

Sitefinity permits advertisers a simple to utilize the stage to make little to medium-level changes...

Sitefinity permits advertisers a simple to utilize the stage to make little to medium-level changes to your site thanks to its WYSIWYG intuitive altering for website pages. Contingent upon your solace level with HTML you can likewise add code blocks that are useful to rapidly test something out.

Pros

Sitefinity's best component is its capacity balance customization and out of the crate capacities while building or moving a site. They likewise offer extraordinary help which is presented in a couple of level choices. The effortlessness with which I can perform errands in the backend. The point of interaction is moderate and smooth. I can accomplish the vast majority of the capacities with a basic intuition. The most amazing aspect of the CMS is the degree of control I can have on the availability of the backend modules.

Cons

There aren't however many pre-upheld outsider connectors as other CRMs, as WordPress for instance has a broad rundown of applications you can undoubtedly coordinate. A large portion of your apparatuses should be incorporated with the assistance of improvement assets.

Finn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Sitefinity Best Supporting Enterprise Solution !

Reviewed on 01/07/2022

The most appealing thing about this software is the editing format, model, and images plus...

The most appealing thing about this software is the editing format, model, and images plus documents. Another premium functionality is the NET-based CMS platform which makes it possible for the user to customize specifications. Sitefinity is good for those who like to play with bulky features and can easily understand the complex dashboard UI. Additionally, it'll help in building the best website and blogging platform for content writers. The content creators will love the diverse nature of this tool.

Pros

The strong backend interface and uniform module will make its aura around the audience. Additionally, it helps efficiently to edit several pages and manage the media content promptly. This is a fully-featured packed version with boosted API and premium CRM features. You will get plenty of extra widgets and can build all types of content.

Cons

You will get to know its use with the real videos giving its demo. The developers have not imputed any sample guide here. Moreover, the usability of webpage images is prohibited here. Thus, there is very little space to work with this software.

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An excellent CMS choice using .Net and Windows based system

Reviewed on 07/02/2020

It is a great CMS tool using .Net technology;
Great performance, especially now having the option...

It is a great CMS tool using .Net technology;
Great performance, especially now having the option of PaaS in Azure;
Lightweight in terms of setup and running it;

Pros

An entirely web-based authoring interface with rich features/functionalities;
Drag-and-drop capabilities for managing complex layouts;
Ability to provide predefined templates for pages - Master and secondary levels, etc.;
Support for page templates sharing between websites;

Cons

The toolboxes for customized components sometimes very trick for trouble shouting;
Adding new templates/layouts with drop in components are not easy

Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Complex, confusing, old-fashioned

Reviewed on 12/04/2017

In the modern age of lean-yet-extensible software, Sitefinity seems to me like a relic of an age...

In the modern age of lean-yet-extensible software, Sitefinity seems to me like a relic of an age that software developers collectively decided should disappear. I was asked to develop a Sitefinity extension for a client's website, and the experience has been a consistently miserable one from start to finish.

First of all, I find it hard to understand the value proposition of a closed-source, statically compiled CMS in an age of high-quality, open-source CMSes with plenty of developer support. Debugging is hard, licensing is hard(-ish), redeployment is hard. If Sitefinity offered features or a developer experience that was better than, say, WordPress (not a hard bar to hit; WordPress is pretty frustrating too), it could justify its costly licenses.

Sitefinity feels overengineered; there are far too many features for the casual user, and necessary developer features are often buried behind confusing and baroque admin menus. This complexity comes at a cost; it's hard to manage and develop for a Sitefinity site. Large design firms can afford to become experts in Sitefinity, I'm sure, and create a justification for their continued involvement in a website project by continuing to manage the application's complexity for their clients. But I'd rather build a website on something simple that helps me deliver business value to my clients, and doesn't require my involvement for simple, day-to-day operations. This seems like much better use of my time and my client's budget.

This overengineering also impacts performance. Application startup is painfully slow, and page loads aren't all that snappy either.

I know there are many people who absolutely love Sitefinity, but I can't figure out what the fuss is all about.

Cons

Complexity, complexity, complexity.

Hyacinth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Museums & Institutions
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

While it is easy to use, the functionality of it is not very good and hard to change.

Reviewed on 05/03/2018

It's been a pretty easy CMS to navigate so that is definitely a benefit.

It's been a pretty easy CMS to navigate so that is definitely a benefit.

Pros

I like that it is pretty easy to use the CMS. It's pretty easy to learn. I didn't have any formal training on the platform and pretty much taught myself how to use it. So, that is definitely a plus.

Cons

I don't like that the functionality of the software is so strict. I think the customer service could definitely be better. And, I feel the quality matches the value.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

I would check into other opportunities

Reviewed on 06/10/2017

Pros

The software allows you to set up various user levels and access. It is also easy to clone pages and edit text.

Cons

The site structure is very limiting. There is little to no support. Once the site is setup, you better like it because to change it is very difficult. It's outdated and not nearly as good as other options out there.

Naden
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

World Class Product Sitefinity 9.*

Reviewed on 04/02/2017

It's modularity is one of the best features, a lot of mobile responsive capabilities, builtin web...

It's modularity is one of the best features, a lot of mobile responsive capabilities, builtin web api that exposes your services without an extra line of code. very user friendly and well documented, customer support is the best I ever had if you have a license, and okay if you don't have a license.

Pros

Ease of use, developer friendly, admin friendly, user friendly, modularity, mobile ready, scalable, builtin multilanguage support, secury, user management, quick development.

Cons

not the best price for small budget

David
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

User friendly and great for customers while being flexible to setup for developers

Reviewed on 09/04/2018

Pros

I love the custom modules and the flexibility they offer to create a very user friendly experience for my customers!

Cons

What I like least about this software is the lack of out of the box features and the relatively small and underwhelming marketplace for add ons.

Dipali
Overall rating
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I have used Sitefinity in the past and it's a good web content management system. It's...

Reviewed on 20/09/2017

Pros

- If you are good at HTML, you can code on your own to make your site customizable
- Good tool for SEO
- Pricing is not mentioned on the website so if I have to go back to using it, I'd have to request a quote
- Found it extremely easy to create new pages, add images etc.
- Used it while working for a tech-company, hence, it was important for us to use a good CMS.

Cons

- If you mess up the HTML by a simple copy+paste action, you have to fix it before you can continue adding content
- There were a few issues with image naming convention (images would get replaced) which later had to be fixed manually by our tech team.

Hyacinth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Sitefinity Review

Reviewed on 11/09/2018

I've used Sitefinity for over five years now. While it is easy to navigate and use, it is very...

I've used Sitefinity for over five years now. While it is easy to navigate and use, it is very structured. I wish it offered more opportunities to cater content just for mobile users.

Pros

The CMS is pretty easy to navigate and use.

Cons

I wish the software was more mobile friendly.

Gayan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

A good CMS to begin

Reviewed on 05/07/2021

Not bad for a basic content website or web application.

Not bad for a basic content website or web application.

Pros

Sitefinity requires some level of development skills to deliver a good customizable website. Overall it has most of the features and capabilities expected on a typical CMS. I would like to suggest this for beginners or projects that are tight with .NET technologies.

Cons

Doesn't have many features out of the box. You need some level of development skills to produce a customizable site.

Linda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best CMS software available

Reviewed on 05/01/2017

I have used Sitefinity for two large corporate websites, for B2B and B2C. Their software is very...

I have used Sitefinity for two large corporate websites, for B2B and B2C. Their software is very easy to use and is a good value for the cost.

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

none

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

One that I recommend trying out

Reviewed on 24/03/2019

Being a new user, I was looking for a way to better organize, personalize and dynamically edit...

Being a new user, I was looking for a way to better organize, personalize and dynamically edit content within a new platform, and I have been able to accomplish many of these goals in this program. I am still in the process of learning about some of the newer features of the program; I found that what I've been able to learn so far has significantly helped me and my coworkers understand how to navigate through the program.

Pros

The features inside the program make it simple to organize folders, map out all sections of my website, and organize published content according to name and when content was last modified.

Cons

I haven't been able to get many thorough answers to some questions I've had about integrating web templates; after looking over some content on their help site I wasn't satisfied with the information that was made available.

Massimo
Massimo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Stuck in 1999

Reviewed on 25/03/2019

Plagued with bugs. I wish we used other software but our other apps are too tied into Sitefinity to...

Plagued with bugs. I wish we used other software but our other apps are too tied into Sitefinity to currently change.

Pros

The best thing about Sitefinity is that it works well with all of the other applications we use. It is secure between applications as well.

Cons

Built for developers. Not easy to use for non-developer users. Also lots of bugs. Receive an "error code 0" often