Amazon EC2 Reviews

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(161)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

93%
recommended this app
Sort by

161 Reviews for UK Users

Darian
Darian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review of Amazon EC2

Reviewed on 19/05/2022

Overall I think EC2 is a good product especially if cost is not as important. The ability to...

Overall I think EC2 is a good product especially if cost is not as important. The ability to configure everything through the cloud plus the reliability of AWS is very hard to beat.

Pros

We like how quick it is to setup and clone instances with EC2. When doing development it is fairly easy to spin up test instances for little cost. Speaking of cost, since EC2 has so many options/tiers it is quite simple to choose a plan/tier that minimizes our costs but maximizes our output. The security aspect of EC2 is also very intuitive requiring that we have keys to access any particular server. This is an upgrade compared to when we had everything locally.

Cons

This is not built out of the box but we have had the situation come up where we wanted to start and stop an instance on a schedule. EC2 does not have a built in solution to handle both of these steps. Although I mentioned the flexibility of the configurations, the cost still is quite high especially coming from a local solution. However from our perspective it was worth it for the other features it provides.

Abdullah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Journey With Amazon EC2

Reviewed on 20/05/2021

It is a good platform and with better computing power, connectivity, features, and customer support.

It is a good platform and with better computing power, connectivity, features, and customer support.

Pros

To be honest Amazon EC2 is better than Google's Cloud Computing Engine. It has more range of server region support, SMTP port support, Customer Support, Faster Connectivity, and Low latency.

Cons

It is not easy to use. If you are a new person to this world. It will give you a hard time deploying a server. Not well documented.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good quality machine with room for improvement.

Reviewed on 12/04/2019

Pros

Pretty easy to use. Wide documentation is available in case you get stuck somewhere. And good quality machines.

Cons

For some reason, the p3.16xlarge (8 tesla v100 GPUs) machine is outperformed by p3.8xlarge machine (4 tesla v100 GPUs) (tested on multiple GPU supported model). I was using it for ML training and p3.8xlarge was taking 27 to 28 seconds for an epoch where p3.16xlarge was taking 31 to 32 seconds for an epoch even though it is a larger machine !!!!!! It has twice computing power on paper but that does not reflect in actual performance. I am not sure what might be the reason but paying twice but slower machine does not make any sence. I hope they will fix this soon.

Muhammad Aamer
Muhammad Aamer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Amazon EC2 is a great option in cloud computing

Reviewed on 29/11/2023

My overall experience with EC2 is literally awesome why? because i used it for my webapps that i...

My overall experience with EC2 is literally awesome why? because i used it for my webapps that i created with django and i got no issue at all the installation and configuration is easy establishing a remote connection is easy i used it for running my python scripts and i connected it with amazon RDS and i got nooo issue at all i am very happy and i recommend EC2 to all of you try to use it's free version atleast

Pros

I like EC2 for the features like i can create instance of any OS (Windows, Linux) more over it gives you a one year free trial and you can use it from you local machine connecting through many sources i usually used the putty

Cons

the one thing that i like the least about EC2 is that machine you get with free trial is very basic and slow so if you need a free trail and you want to test your script od piece of software that is a bit more resources consuming you may not be able to use it

Francis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

AWS EC2 review

Reviewed on 20/06/2020

Easy to launch an EC2 instance into different subnets and regions

Easy to launch an EC2 instance into different subnets and regions

Pros

A very user friendly interface. easy to navigate and setup

Cons

The free tier eligible instance is just 1gb ram. cant really do much with it

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Azure

Reasons for Switching to Amazon EC2

It seema to have the most user friendly dashboard
Adebayo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Your Personal Server in the Cloud

Reviewed on 30/06/2021

Overall, Amazon EC2 was amazing both for learning the ropes of the AWS universe and for testing,...

Overall, Amazon EC2 was amazing both for learning the ropes of the AWS universe and for testing, and/or deployment of a new application in the cloud without going through the hurdle of buying and setting up a physical server

Pros

The ease of being able to spin up a server with a few clicks and under 5 minutes puts Amazon EC2 as the go to instance during testing and deployment of an application. You can basically scale horizontally or vertically as required which is more preferable when compared to on prem

Cons

You need to be well vast in computer security and a few basic concepts about a server to be able to properly configure the instance. Else, you run the risk of exposing your data if not setup correctly

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Azure

Reasons for Switching to Amazon EC2

The learning curve for Amazon was quite easier and it has a huge community following it.
Maha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazon EC2: Simplified Server Deployment in the Cloud

Reviewed on 30/08/2023

Can't imagine configuring all these server deployments and publishing them online to be used by...

Can't imagine configuring all these server deployments and publishing them online to be used by clients instantaneously without the cloud IaaS services provided by Amazon EC2.

Pros

I implemented several server scripts on EC2 Virtual Machines of the M4 instance profile. Using SSH and remote desktop it feels like working on a local server. Dynamic IP management makes advertising cloud servers to the outside world a very simplified task. I tested applications servers (Apache, Apache Tomcat, IIS, Glassfish, etc) on top of the EC2 cloud as well as database servers such as MySQL and DB2. The system is as "elastic" as advertised with a true pay-as-you-go model. That was the main inception behind realizing an actual "utility-computing" based cloud system by Amazon.

Cons

The security configuration consisting of generating the private/public keys are not that simply packaged for the beginner developer. But many improvement have been made on this front by Amazon.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great tool for cloud computing

Reviewed on 09/06/2023

EC2 has accelerate our journey towards cloud computing by enabling us to provision and tear down...

EC2 has accelerate our journey towards cloud computing by enabling us to provision and tear down infrastructure as needed.

Pros

pay as you go pricing, High I/O and GPU compute based instances, Elastic IP addresses, Pause and resume instances

Cons

AWS being leaders in cloud computing, don't see much missing features but they can improve on better training materials for beginners of EC2 service.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Azure

Reasons for Switching to Amazon EC2

Better product features
Ana Rafaela
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful tool not friendly at all

Reviewed on 25/10/2023

Pros

Offers a remarkable level of customization, making it a fantastic choice for tailoring your computing resources to your exact needs. With a wide variety of pre-configured operating systems available, setting up your environment is a breeze. This platform is particularly sysadmin-friendly, providing the tools and flexibility needed to manage and optimize your system efficiently. It's like having an all-in-one solution at your fingertips

Cons

The documentation provided can be somewhat lacking, which can make it challenging for users, especially newcomers, to navigate the platform effectively. Additionally, the pricing structure and advertising could benefit from more transparency and clarity to help users better understand the costs involved. Lastly, setting up monitoring can be a bit complex, and streamlining this process could make it more user-friendly. Despite these issues, EC2 still provides robust cloud computing capabilities for those willing to navigate these challenges

Donny
Donny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for helping in data visualization!

Reviewed on 22/06/2023

Our overall experience has been good and we plan to use Amazon EC2 into the future!

Our overall experience has been good and we plan to use Amazon EC2 into the future!

Pros

It is easy to use out of the box and can be set up quickly.

Cons

So far it has been great and we have limited issues.

Eric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

AWS EC2 is probably not what you want.

Reviewed on 06/01/2022

Of my experience with many other providers like Oracle Cloud, Liquid Web, Azure, Linode, Digital...

Of my experience with many other providers like Oracle Cloud, Liquid Web, Azure, Linode, Digital Ocean, AWS is by far the most frustrating and one of the most expensive. I only use AWS when I have a client that demands it or is already locked into it. I never ever recommend it.

Pros

AWS has good name recognition. If you're an IT Service provider, or if you own a company for which you want to get funding, name-dropping AWS could give you some additional credibility.

AWS has every feature you could hope for in an IaaS system.

Cons

AWS has every feature you could hope for in an IaaS system. I've very rarely seen any organization or application that needs anywhere close to what AWS offers. Most people use EC2, Lambda, Database services, Kubernetes services, and maybe Kafka. But most less expensive, and less complicated providers have all of these features too.

As a user, you have to set up all of the underlying infrastructure like network groups, overly complicated (but not better) security configurations, etc. Most of the work setting up an environment on AWS is setting up things you don't really need.

You'll receive bills from AWS and chances are, it will be considerably more than you estimated, and you'll have to spend considerable time finding where the cost is coming from, and changes are, you'll have a lot of trouble shutting down the unneeded items.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quick to use and cost efficient

Reviewed on 15/04/2022

Overall, Amazon EC2 gives us a cost-efficient method of deploying apps and services we need both...

Overall, Amazon EC2 gives us a cost-efficient method of deploying apps and services we need both for internal and customer-facing apps.

Pros

I like the on-demand features of Amazon EC2. It's very easy to spin up a powerful VM, scale it up or down, and switch it off when not in use. It gives us a very easy way to provision computing capacity as our need comes.

Cons

I think it'll be nice to have some VM operations to be doable in the AWS console, like installing SSH keys, etc. These are readily available in Google Cloud console, in comparison.

Caroline
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple access and no maintenance cost

Reviewed on 30/05/2019

Amazon EC2 has made it possible to carry out the implementation of services or applications in the...

Amazon EC2 has made it possible to carry out the implementation of services or applications in the cloud, thus saving time and money and being able to please any customer with their needs and all for a really fair price.

Pros

This Amazon tool is really useful since it has great advantages that is why I like it for several reasons being the main one that is extremely flexible, easy to use, easy to access, requires no maintenance and only pays for what is used, account with an interface that is very intuitive in addition to that in case of having doubts about it provides tutorials or a really compressible documentation so there is no way of not being able to understand its use, also it can be customized to cover each one of the needs that search the user thus being able to host any application, or web service of business or personal interest.

Cons

This tool works very well so finding faults as such is difficult, the only drawback is that locating a support team directly can be complicated but it is not impossible.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Cloud VM that can be used.

Reviewed on 25/08/2022

My overall experience is very good I would definitly recommend using EC2 to any user whether its a...

My overall experience is very good I would definitly recommend using EC2 to any user whether its a beginner or experienced person anyone can use it ease.

Pros

I liked Elastice Load Balancer the most cause if there an issue with server the ELB takes care of Auto scaling the server.

Cons

There is as such no thing that I least liked I genuinely like EC2 that why I use it myself and also in my company.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazon EC2

Reviewed on 24/08/2018

Pros

Servers of almost any size in minutes.
Change the specs up or down, in seconds with no penalties.
Geographically redundant

Cons

It seems like EC2,and AWS in general, is geared to be used ONLY by developers. A lot of their tools and utilities can only be used via cli or api.

While i understand most of it is to aid in development of applications of many varieties, there are a few basic tasks ive come across that should have been fairly simple to do, nut i had to write an entire program myself to make it work.

Not everyone who uses AWS services are coders. Make it a bit easier for the rest of us.

Documentation can also be a bit spotty, but its pretty good overall.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very convenient, saves a lot of time and money

Reviewed on 05/09/2015

My company has switched to EC2 for a variety of our servers. Being able to offload the infrastructur...

My company has switched to EC2 for a variety of our servers. Being able to offload the infrastructure work to AWS saves us a lot of time and hassle with our IT department, and It has been incredibly convenient to be able to template servers with a single click, and bring up additional boxes for testing or debugging, and just delete them whenever we're done. In fact, with no real training on the product, I was able to get a full stack of servers up and running in under an hour. Doing this in house sometimes takes weeks of meetings and back and forth between departments.

Pros

Low cost, highly customizable to any configuration. A variety of operating systems are averrable and can be bought up at the click of a button. Third party software is also available through amazon marketplace, and most tools can be licensed through AWS and even come preinstalled and preconfigured on EC2 images. It makes building a scalable, high availability architecture an almost trivial task.

Cons

Monitoring - AWS offers cloud watch monitoring for EC2 instances, but we still found ourselves reaching out to a third party vendor for a true APM solution for the software running on our EC2 instances. It would be great if we could define what makes our app available to an end user and get reports with an availability percentage and aped score at the end of each month to hand to a client and ensure them that we're meeting our SLA. Right now, we have to go to New Relic for this, which is quite expensive.

Tanuj
Tanuj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best webservice solution for cloud compute capacity

Reviewed on 14/03/2022

We use Amazon EC2 to host our services on the cloud platform to ensure thay they are highly...

We use Amazon EC2 to host our services on the cloud platform to ensure thay they are highly available and are scaled up or down automatically without worrying too much. We also use the Amazon S3 storage which is a great add on to use with the cloud compute platform.

Pros

Amazon EC2 is a market leader in the cloud industry to provide compute capacity. You can host webservices on the Amazon EC2 cloud and pay as per what you use. It is the best solution as you don't have to think about maintaining servers and spend on web services hosting infrastructure. Also Amazon EC2 handles the security aspects of the hosted services via access controls. A lot of webservices written in different programming languages can be hosted on this platform.

Cons

There are no limitations for this product. They are a market leader and their services are highly configurable.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Scale with Amazon EC2

Reviewed on 18/03/2022

Pros

1. Ease of Use
2. Scalability
3. Availability of wide range of linux and window distributions
4. Quick and Easy spin of virtual servers
5. Support of all the major development languages
6. Spin up the server as per need and save cost on your requirement
7. Resize your instances based on changes in the requirement
8. Flexible Pricing Options.
9. Secure and Reliable in or out of network accessibility
10. Snapshot of Instances can be saved on S3 storage in case you need to use it later.
and many more...!!

Cons

Learning curve is there, apart from there nothing is bad about Amazon EC2 services.

vaibhav
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazon EC2: Best VM out there!

Reviewed on 21/06/2022

Pros

I love how we can easily customize the virtual machine and how good amazon's customer service is. Our company uses it as a VM and we also run our products on it. It is very good and also has specific compliance with respect to micro industry such as ours.(medical)

Cons

Little complex to use at first, but you eventually get the hang of it. I also feel the payment dashboard should be more simpler.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simple cloud virtual machine hosting

Reviewed on 03/10/2019

EC2 has provided me with excellent, low-cost VM hosting in the cloud for many years

EC2 has provided me with excellent, low-cost VM hosting in the cloud for many years

Pros

EC2 is a game-changing technology that enables you to rapidly spin up a virtual machine in the cloud at very low cost

Cons

Compared to newer on-demand hosting options, the EC2 model is less flexible

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Azure

Reasons for Choosing Amazon EC2

Easy to spin up new virtual machines on-demand and scale-out rapidly
Harshul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great cloud platform for virtualization

Reviewed on 28/02/2023

Overall, EC2 is very good cloud platform. It's simple setup and easy to deploy OS on server. EC2 is...

Overall, EC2 is very good cloud platform. It's simple setup and easy to deploy OS on server. EC2 is popular cloud service and reduce the infrastructure costs.

Pros

- Easy to use and deployment- Easily install any OS in EC2 - Create budget alert- Amazon provide 1 year free tier for new year- EC2 provide good featue like auto scaling, load balancer and data backup- Transfer snapshot backup from one account to another account- Good customer support

Cons

- EC2 is charges for data transfer- It's little bit complex to manager for new user

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best IaaS

Reviewed on 06/03/2019

I use it for my personal projects. I host all my websites on it.
We also use it at work. All of...

I use it for my personal projects. I host all my websites on it.
We also use it at work. All of our company's servers are on AWS.

Pros

1. The ease of use. With in few clicks and configurations, you get a server up and running.
2. Stability. I have never seen a down time/failure of any of my EC2 instances.
3. Saving of money. You only pay what you need and you can easily configure what you need. Saves ton of money.

Cons

There is nothing I can say I do not like. Everything of EC2 has been working great.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great scalability and less maintenance costs

Reviewed on 27/02/2019

Pros

Amazon EC2 provides full control of virtual servers to you and it is very suitable if your application process very large amount of data. EC2 provides great scalability which does not cause any connection problems while scaling. It has great documentation and API. I have never faced any instance failure and efforts of maintenance is very less against dedicated servers.

Cons

I think Amazon should add console access directly.

Dhavan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best AWS service for IaaS in cloud

Reviewed on 22/06/2023

With EC2 I have an overall good experience. It is very easy and simple to manage resources. It is...

With EC2 I have an overall good experience. It is very easy and simple to manage resources. It is also providing a high level of security.

Pros

I like the way EC2 provide flexibility to choose different kind of instances based on the requirement. It also provide flexibility to configure it as well as take it down automatically based on need

Cons

I can't think of anything which I don't like

Rajshekhar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Suitable option to develop and deploy your applications faster

Reviewed on 07/05/2022

It is very helpful service. Many organisations I have worked with have been using this.

It is very helpful service. Many organisations I have worked with have been using this.

Pros

It provides a variety of options to create machines with different type of configurations. It is safe, secure and scalable. I started using this service to learn some features.

Cons

Some time, my machine stayed open and I did not know about it. After some time I got a mail with certain amount of bill. I was using a free service with limited hours. AWS should have alerted me if I was going over the limit.