Microsoft SQL Server Reviews

Microsoft SQL Server

4.6 (1,950)
Write a Review!
Relational database management system for data analytics

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(1,950)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support
4.3/5
Sort by

1950 Reviews for UK Users

Filipe
Filipe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SQL Server review

Reviewed on 10/03/2020

SQL server is great, because i can use the same language same application, and for small customers...

SQL server is great, because i can use the same language same application, and for small customers it uses free option, and only for best performnace or bigger data need to pay for it
Can use it locally on on cloud

Pros

SQL Server is a great system to develop databases with great functionalities like jobs, procedures, functions ans so one

Cons

For me the only think not so good is performance for bigger batabases, but for me between 10GiB and 15GiB works fine

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

SQL server is lot less expensive and have a free option for small aplications or for small customers

Switched From

Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

SQL server is lot less expensive and have a free option for small aplications or for small customers
Jonathan Alexander
Jonathan Alexander
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A robust database engine with high information security standards.

Reviewed on 25/05/2022

At the moment we have no negative features to add to the product

At the moment we have no negative features to add to the product

Pros

How safe this database engine can be, its integration with other technological tools, say, programming languages, infrastructure, datawarehouse and more

Cons

A bit the price, since the enterprise license is a bit expensive

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database and IBM Db2

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

We needed a more robust database engine due to the growth of the company and the processes that are currently being handled, plus the integrations with different platforms.

Switched From

PostgreSQL and MySQL

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

We needed a more robust database engine due to the growth of the company and the processes that are currently being handled, plus the integrations with different platforms.
Sergio R
Sergio R
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good RDBMS

Reviewed on 25/06/2022

Pros

Very easy to implement and integrate with other systems.

Cons

MS SQL Server consumes almost all compute resourses

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

Cost

Switched From

Oracle Database
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SQL server Aka the OG

Reviewed on 16/03/2024

My first machine language and I have fallen in love with it

My first machine language and I have fallen in love with it

Pros

* best source to extract required data
* easy to learn and will get more fun by time you progress in your career

Cons

* Slow for huge data set loading
* intellisense doesn’t work

Mir Fida
Mir Fida
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best database management tool for relational databases

Reviewed on 11/08/2021

I would recommend it to all low-scale and small organizations that are already using MS Office...

I would recommend it to all low-scale and small organizations that are already using MS Office products or subscriptions. Its interface is similar to learn and use like other Microsoft software. Enterprise and large corporates can look into Oracle services if they require specific Oracle-made enterprise functions and features to handle very complex data.

Pros

First and foremost, it has all the features and functionality from the basics to advanced users for relational database management. Can be integrated well with other Microsft software especially Visual Studio code for a smooth development experience. Along with data storage management, professional performance analysis can be performed through GUI server management studio tools like Database Tuning Advisor. Data Analysts will find data extraction and filtration as well as visual & interactive report generation quite beneficial in their routine tasks. Backup and restore from one SQL server to another is fairly simple. Pricing is very reasonable according to the DBMS system and tools that are provided.

Cons

One of the main issues is that licensing price packages are difficult to choose due to confing choices for common users. One other limitation is that a backup made in a newer version of MS SQL server is not compatible with an older version of SQL Server. For large volumes of data records and for complex data it becomes slower to process queries. Taking backup of a very large number of records also takes time. Sometimes difficult to debug syntax errors.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Data Management Platform

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

We decided to use an MS SQL server as it suits our needs in pricing, features, and performance. Also, it is easier to use for development teams that are already using Microsoft products like MS Office. Students should also use it to learn the basics of SQL through a GUI environment. Oracle database service is more expensive due to the fact it handles complex & large-scale enterprise data. We did not require those enterprise features.
Hasan
Hasan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SQL Server

Reviewed on 25/06/2021

Overall experience is just amazing. I have been using it for almost 2 years and it helped my...

Overall experience is just amazing. I have been using it for almost 2 years and it helped my organization a lot during release upgrade and it made database migrations so smooth.

Pros

Microsoft SQL is quite simple to install and configurations are also easy. As it is a relational database management system, it is a perfect tool for data analysts. As it enable users to filter and extract required data in a few seconds. The product comes with a lot of features like Query analyzer, Integration services, Job scheduler and Reporting services as well. Restoration and backup of multiple databases is a great advantage and I found this feature very useful because it helps a lot in restoring databases in case of any disaster. Also, one can easily schedule tasks in job tools section which is also a very helpful feature of this tool.

Cons

Well, it occupies more data storage in order to install database engine as compared to other SQL databases. Also, support is pretty much expensive and requires a lot of maintenance. It consumes too much resources to load and start.

Kudakwashe
Kudakwashe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data Management made so easy with MS SQL Server

Reviewed on 20/03/2020

Pros

For any developer, before first they can this own what their apps are going to be developed in their should think of what server should host their database. I do believe that MS SQL Server is the best on the marketing when comes to data management and administration. The best feature that i really love the most on MS SQL Server is the ability to disable remote execution of your queries and really helps protect data integrity in case your server authentication has been compromised. You can also be rest assured that your data is consistent and accurate at all times. Yes hackers some times can try sql injection but i believe MS SQL Server its the most secure servers around.

Cons

The license key for MS SQL might cost you an arm and a leg but at the end of the day its really worth it when you think of a platform where you are able to develop enterprise apps that secure and helps with Business Intelligence.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

In the case of Oracle DB vs MS SQL Server, MS SQL Server is easy to manage, easy to configure and has a huge community in case when you are stuck with any problem you are guaranteed to get a solution online.
Prabhu
Prabhu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

All time market leader

Reviewed on 29/08/2020

When comes to business critical it can consume the raw data, process it and provide to the user...

When comes to business critical it can consume the raw data, process it and provide to the user understandable format. More than decades, this software providing tremendous help to business to evolve and reach their goals by fetching data from any formate and load it into structured form and with help of powerful Tsql query languge we able to fetch the right data from database. We can also connect with any visualization tool to provide the better UI(Power BI) to users to take right decision.

Pros

1. Optimized storage and querying business critical data.
2. Powerful Tsql Query language.
3. Query execution plan to predict and optimize the data.
4. Query profiler to find out anomaly and query latency.

Cons

1. We need to take care of all patching works.
2. We need to take care of all infrastructure scalability(RAM,HDD and IO etc)
3. Server maintenance and outrage time is high.

Lasha
Lasha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best DB management systems.

Reviewed on 21/01/2020

I've been using SQL Server for a few years and I haven't had any problems with it except for...

I've been using SQL Server for a few years and I haven't had any problems with it except for partitioning. It's very optimized and stable and due to it being free - it's an amazing choice for small and medium enterprises.

Pros

MSSQL comes jam-packed with features. It's standard library is enough to cover the needs of a small enterprise. It is also very stable and can handle large amounts of database exceedingly well. However, my favorite tool is the built-in scripting language - T-SQL. It is very powerful and flexible and lets you do anything you might need.

Cons

SQL Server takes up a lot of computing resource. We have a small data warehouse and yet it takes up over 1 TB. Views are not as useful as in Oracle. For example, partitioning a fact table by multiple columns is impossible without a workaround.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

SQL Server is free and offers all the features we needed. Oracle is overkill for a hospital.
Giorgi
Giorgi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great database system for any purpose

Reviewed on 25/07/2019

We use SQL Server for a data warehouse project in a large bank. It stores thousands of tables and...

We use SQL Server for a data warehouse project in a large bank. It stores thousands of tables and terabytes of data, so it's mandatory for DBMS to run smoothly. SQL server does its job extremely well.

Pros

SQL server is packed with features. It was a very fun job to implement it and using it is even better. Runs well, built-in tools are useful and plenty.

Cons

It takes up quite a bit of resources. Sometimes, tech support isn't very helpful. Otherwise, it's good.

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

Oracle didn't offer the needed stability for working with huge databases.

Switched From

Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

SQL server offers more functionality and stability.
Brenten
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful and Scalable Database Software

Reviewed on 28/10/2020

Storing large quantities of production data to solve quality and efficiency problems has been a big...

Storing large quantities of production data to solve quality and efficiency problems has been a big use for SQL. All of the reporting and power to analyze data has solved countless puzzles for me in my job capacity. I also have done a lot of database administration for our ERP software and the tiles to tune and optimize have always been very helpful.

Pros

One of my favorite things about Microsoft SQL Server is the scalability. Whether you are using the free version for a small program running on a local machine or running an entire factory it is the same basic concept of programming and administration. I really appreciated being able to work to have a database software that could grow and expand when I need it too. Additionally the reporting and automation packages that come with it are super powerful. I would absolutely recommend using Microsoft SQL Server as anyone’s data as software

Cons

The biggest con in my opinion is that some of the more advanced features for big data analysis and high availability are in the top tier pricing which can be hard for smaller companies to afford. Other than that I have never not been able to solve a problem with Microsoft SQL.

Alternatives Considered

MySQL

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

Microsoft SQL had superior options and capabilities.
Masoud
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A database system that you can trust your data with!

Reviewed on 10/03/2022

I believe we rely on Microsoft SQL Server and its great features and performance a lot. It's our...

I believe we rely on Microsoft SQL Server and its great features and performance a lot. It's our first choice in terms of an RDBMS database and I believe it remains as such for a long time.

Pros

I've been using Microsoft SQL Server since version 2000 and I must say that every year the team behind it adds tons of improvements and great new features that keep this software a fantastic competitor in the market.
The database engine is very clever in optimising your queries, giving insights on improvements and dealing with your complex queries.
Microsoft's TSQL is very easy to understand and very easy to grasp even though in recent years the team have introduced more complex query templates but still it stands out impressively amongst the others.
I also love that they have released the full version as a Developer version where you can try all the software's great features without any cost at all!

Cons

The huge cost difference between the Standard and the Enterprise version is a put off as certain features like table partitioning should be part of the Standard version.

Alternatives Considered

MySQL

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

The greater community behind it and the performance difference made us go to Microsoft SQL Server as our first choice.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

best of server

Reviewed on 25/09/2019

I have using this more than 5 years , by comparing with other server platforms sql server te best...

I have using this more than 5 years , by comparing with other server platforms sql server te best of easy use for developers as well as Administrators

Pros

It was easy of access to manage SQL server agent can manage most required part with automate rather than doing manual

And also design with more user friendly compare with others

Cons

While queries of data some times have to convert it to tostring, but I hope its possible to identify and convert automatically, then developers will reduse their codings

Alternatives Considered

MySQL

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

Easy of use.

Switched From

MySQL

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

Easy of use. Huge capacity can be handle by other platforms like sql management studios
tavimbanashe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best database management system

Reviewed on 14/02/2021

Microsoft SQL Server is a great data management, analyzing and reporting tool which helps in day to...

Microsoft SQL Server is a great data management, analyzing and reporting tool which helps in day to day running of a business. The very powerful features it posses makes data analysis easy. The community support makes it easy to do many tasks and above all, the security this tool provides makes it safer than other database management tools

Pros

The ability to store, manage , retrieve and backup large amounts of data without so much hassle. The availability of support on the internet is just amazing. It works well for small sized to big sized companies and the security of these databases is top notch. Since it has recently been integrated with Azure, it will be easier for cloud deployment and cloud support. Can also be used be as a reporting and analyzing tool.

Cons

The cost is a bit high and it requires skill to be able to work with sql. The larger the information on the database usually makes it to slow down in terms of querying it

Gonzalo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for medium and big companies

Reviewed on 21/08/2019

I am using SQL Server for 4 years in a Low, Medium and Big environment, but in low environment i...

I am using SQL Server for 4 years in a Low, Medium and Big environment, but in low environment i have a bad experience using SQL SERVER, Mysql is better in a small busines for cost, and simplicity, but in Big environment SQL SERVER can compete with ORACLE DB.

Pros

Is powerfull
Easy
Complete
Customer Support
Features
interoperatibity

Cons

Have some errors
You need to reset de SQL 1 time at week
Consumes a lot of ram
it needs a Windows Server

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL and MySQL

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

Pricing and Simplicity

Switched From

Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

is a more powerfull alternative to Mysql and is more simple than Oracle Database
Umar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My Database Engine

Reviewed on 18/06/2019

It has been awsome as i am now a good Database developer because of this awsome tool.

It has been awsome as i am now a good Database developer because of this awsome tool.

Pros

I am not DBA but i am using it from more than 3 years from university days and still using SQL in my professional life.
I like everything about from query writing, to testing using SQL profiler.
Most about it is that you can do most thing by using queries and GUI as well.
Its easy to connect and configure with any kind of application with single line of code.
Most thing about it is its prediction while typing and highlighting errors with underline squiggly.

Cons

As a developer i cant find anything that i dont like in it. Its always more than my expectations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very complete Database manager

Reviewed on 09/09/2019

Pros

Even when some people argue that is not the most fastest database for me is the most useful and with more tools than most, almost all databases has store procedure, functions, etc. but one thing that SQL Server has that most don't is the ability to create your own type of data, I mostly prefer to use Table type so I can insert a lot data in one single transition without using a loop condition to validate
The source manager allos to see the type the query and from what machine is been executed

Cons

you need to use the installer every time you need to create a new instance, if the server is down and you restar the services, you need to open the sql magnament to restart the jobs as well

Jamie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The absolute core of our business

Reviewed on 05/09/2019

Our overall experience with SQL Server has been formidable. This is the reason that it has been at...

Our overall experience with SQL Server has been formidable. This is the reason that it has been at the center of our business since we outgrew an Access central database over 20 years ago.

Pros

Installation and upgrading of the software is excellent. The additions of Query Store and other Analytics have drastically changed our ability to monitor the performance of all metrics of our Databases.

Cons

Turn around time from issuing the Purchase Order until the license is released into our Microsoft account was rather slow, when we needed the software, we had to find an alternative solution until our license was released to us.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database

Reasons for Choosing Microsoft SQL Server

It could no longer perform effectively or house the amount of data that we needed.

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

It came down to cost and ease of implementation that drove our purchasing to Microsoft SQL Server over Oracle Database.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect combination of power and intuitiveness

Reviewed on 01/10/2019

I have worked with SQL Server for 20 years now. It is used on the backend of many powerful products...

I have worked with SQL Server for 20 years now. It is used on the backend of many powerful products and also used for small web sites as well. It's very easy to connect to and to link to non-Microsoft database systems. TSQL is very powerful as it has all standard SQL functions as well as its own.

Pros

The express edition, which is free, is more than powerful enough to serve as a back-end for most small/medium sized web sites which is great for small businesses to start and grow.

Cons

Installation of all the features can be a pain. Making sure you have the engine, agent, management studio can be confusing and often come in separate download packages.

Alternatives Considered

MySQL

Reasons for Switching to Microsoft SQL Server

The add ons such as reporting services, integration services and replication is extremely powerful tools that are very easy to learn when you're ready to upgrade to a paid version.
Griffin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SQL Server is the backbone of my life!

Reviewed on 04/02/2019

Overall, my experience with SQL Server is amazing! I am able to store all of our Las Vegas luxury...

Overall, my experience with SQL Server is amazing! I am able to store all of our Las Vegas luxury casino data (gaming, hotel, food & beverage, entertainment, etc.) and query that for information that we then turn into automated or ad-hoc reports. These then go to the operators of the business as well as the executives who analyze the reports and make better decisions daily, weekly, and monthly. The goal is simple: just become better over time...better than you were last year, last month, last week. And SQL Server is the vehicle to empower your organization to find those valuable insights hiding in plain sight to do just that!

Pros

I absolutely LOVE SQL Server. It is my favorite software to use because the possibilities for query-writing are endless. I would say this is the most reliable and flexible of all the database software I have ever used. SQL Server allows you to write in T-SQL (T = transact, SQL = structured query language), which means that you can create variables, use temp tables, and write code in a procedural format that runs akin to a module in other programming languages. We use SQL Server 2008 at work, though I am really loving the new features in the latest version (as of today) SQL Server 2016.

Overall, SQL Server is a platform for creating table schema, storing information, and then writing scripts (queries) to manipulate that data--to find insights that are useful to making better business decisions. The interface is easy to understand, the error-checking is strong (and actually tells you what is wrong). It doesn't hold your hand like other simplified coding languages, but it becomes very reliable and easy to use once you obtain a solid foundation in relational database theory and SQL language.

Cons

Hmm...if I had to speak ill of SQL Server...I would probably say that it is a bit tricky to get up to speed quickly with. There's a lot to it, so to speak, so it's taken me the better part of five years working in the data analytics industry to finally say that I feel I am completely proficient in utilizing the software to its full potential. Topics such as query optimization remain my areas of biggest weakness. I can write a query to pull any kind of desired information; however, the art lies in being able to pull it quickly and with reasonable efficiency. If your query takes more than 15 minutes (or even hours!) to run, it's probably not written correctly and likely poses a major threat to the server you are connecting to (and tying up!) in the process. I would like more information in the software (GUIs, warnings, etc.) regarding poorly-written queries from an execution standpoint.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very reliable, relatively easy-to-use, and reasonably-priced compared to Oracle

Reviewed on 05/10/2017

Our entire product line (IIS-based web applications) relies on SQL Server. Without it, our business...

Our entire product line (IIS-based web applications) relies on SQL Server. Without it, our business wouldn't function at all.

Pros

As a Systems Administrator, MS SQL Server is one of the easiest DBMS you can use from a management perspective. SQL Server Management Studio is a very robust client, and it allows you to configure everything from either the GUI or SQL scripts. No digging into config files, calling apps from command line, etc. User management in SQL server is easy and straight-forward while being EXTREMELY granular. Plus, it easily connects to Active Directory if you so desire.

The software is very reliable. MySQL can have issues during backups, but not SQL Server. Once you get it set up and configured properly (again, not hard to do), you can leave it running for months without encountering problems.

While SQL Server is by no means cheap, compared to the other enterprise-level DBMS like Oracle, it's quite reasonable. MySQL is free, but it's quite limited when you do a feature-by-feature comparison with SQL Server.

If you're on the fence, install an Express instance (up to 10GB databases with some limitations). You won't be disappointed.

Cons

Like a lot of other Microsoft software, the installer is pretty bloated with prerequisites, components, etc. But that's a fairly small nitpick.

I will also say that RAM management in SQL Server isn't perfect. SQL will, as long as it is regularly used, consume all of the RAM you have allocated it. By default, that setting is 2 petabytes of RAM, so it will slow your system to an absolute crawl, consuming everything it can to the detriment of the OS itself. This means you need to manually allocated a reasonable amount of RAM to SQL knowing full-well that it will likely consume this RAM at all times. That's fine for dedicated database servers, but it's not ideal for people running SQL on laptops.

Aside from that, I have very few complaints about SQL Server.

Rony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerhouse of Data Management

Reviewed on 23/06/2023

My overall experience with Microsoft SQL Server has been highly positive. The platform's robustness...

My overall experience with Microsoft SQL Server has been highly positive. The platform's robustness and scalability have empowered us to efficiently manage and analyze our data. The advanced query optimization and indexing capabilities have ensured optimal performance for our applications. The seamless integration with other Microsoft tools and technologies has enhanced our productivity and workflow. While there were some areas for improvement, such as the learning curve and occasional performance issues, Microsoft SQL Server remains a reliable and powerful solution for data management. It has been instrumental in helping us unlock valuable insights and make data-driven decisions.

Pros

Microsoft SQL Server impressed me with its standout features that revolutionized our data management experience. The robustness and scalability of the platform allowed us to handle large volumes of data with ease. The advanced query optimization and indexing capabilities ensured optimal performance and fast retrieval of information. The comprehensive security measures instilled confidence in the protection of our data assets. The seamless integration with other Microsoft tools and technologies enhanced our overall productivity. Microsoft SQL Server has become an indispensable tool, empowering us to effectively store, manage, and analyze our data.

Cons

While Microsoft SQL Server offers powerful data management capabilities, there were a few aspects that left room for improvement. One drawback was the complexity of the platform, which required a steep learning curve and technical expertise. The licensing costs, especially for enterprise editions, might be a limiting factor for smaller organizations. Occasionally, the platform's performance could be affected when handling extremely large datasets. The documentation, while extensive, could benefit from more detailed examples and tutorials for complex scenarios. Despite these limitations, Microsoft SQL Server remains a robust and reliable choice for data management, but addressing these areas for improvement would further enhance its usability.

Aníbal
Aníbal
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

My experience with sql Server has been satisfactory, I have done punctual work.

Reviewed on 07/07/2018

I have worked several times with this software for different reasons I have been able to simplify...

I have worked several times with this software for different reasons I have been able to simplify developments thanks to the Transact-SQL so it has saved me programming time, the services that I have under my responsibility at work are stable, this gives confidence and tranquility for me and for my bosses, I made restorations in record time.

Pros

This software has as its first advantage that it is a Microsoft product and has the full support of the company and the stability of a well-tested product. At the basic level, I find it very efficient, the sql responses are fast and there are almost no service interruptions, which is a point in its favor when I use it, I find the Transact-SQL language that is used very powerful, I was able to assign commercial processes of the application in the database that allows multiple applications to use them and it is not necessary to program these functions in each application, the SQL server administration tools are very well thought to be all in a Microsoft environment, the integration is perfect, they are very intuitive to find new functions, they do not require prior knowledge, what is important to train new staff, another thing that I like about this software is the scalability that can start with a small database and grow, in A past project had transactional tables that inserted millions of records daily. I like security, it is possible to assign specific permissions to different users who perform different activities within the same database, this makes me trust the product.

Cons

The least I like is undoubtedly the cost SQL-Server does not have a good cost-benefit ratio, other brands offer better benefits in this regard, another point is the high consumption of RAM, it is necessary to allocate a large amount of resources for this And to guarantee the quality of the service, until now I have not found a hosting provider that offers me a PHP server with Sql-server. This stopped once a new development for a client was disappointing to me. It is difficult to learn in a particular way, the free versions of this software are very limited and the certifications are expensive, which reduces the interest when it is investigated.

Gabriel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A database for every level of user expertise

Reviewed on 16/01/2021

Regarding to the cost; licenses are cheaper than others. But when analyzing a database you should...

Regarding to the cost; licenses are cheaper than others. But when analyzing a database you should consider many others variables like administration cost, available resources, expertise of the team, company size, available servers, budget, etc...

Pros

SQL Server allows users to setup up a database with different features, from basic database to a complex environment that can include partitions, replication, business intelligence, reporting, etc. Is really simple to deploy on different scenarios like on-premise or cloud. Regarding SQL Language - Transact SQL - it is simpler and easier than other languages. For beginners this could be something positive because of the velocity of the learning curve. The integration with the business process is really easy when working with other Microsoft technologies. Additionally there is an interesting feature called FileTables which allows see the storage as a table. SQL Azure database is something great, an scalable database service that can me managed with Management Studio tool and created in less than a minute.

Cons

Something that could be an improvement to MS SQL is related to the performance monitor. In general all databases require to have a relative high level of expertise to create a good database design. With a simpler performance tool, junior users could create better queries, indexes, model, etc...

Duane
Duane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft SQL Server is the all-around best out there.

Reviewed on 14/10/2021

The best thing about is is that I can write all the business logic in Store Procedures and only...

The best thing about is is that I can write all the business logic in Store Procedures and only have to write code to display and manipulate data sets.

Pros

I started using Microsoft SQL Server in 1999 loaded on a dual 1GH Pentium processor workstation motherboard with the Microsoft NT 4 OS Server. I soon upgraded to Windows 2000 Advanced Server. I wanted see to just what it would do on basically a low end server. I used the same box for the database and the web server running 10 data driven websites. The server was located in my bedroom and connected to the internet via broadband cable. Not the best type of connection for a server.

I would test my websites offsite at work and at friends houses. The pages would load instantly. Imagine the performance on a monster server? The real kicker is with the Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio. Other databases like MySQL and Oracle are also great until you get to the UI part. At the time both of the latter UI's where rather primitive as with MySql or clunky and difficult to use like with Oracle.

Over time, all the databases I mentioned improved but Microsoft SQL Server is still a step ahead.

When it comes to moving a database from one machine to another Microsoft made it easy

Cons

I am totally happy with everything about it.