SQLite

4.4 (96)
Open-source database engine to store and modify data

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(96)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
3.7/5

92%
recommended this app
Sort by

96 Reviews for UK Users

Manuel eduardo M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A complete and productive database manager

Reviewed on 17/06/2022

As a student, I have used SQLite in several projects, in which my experience has been good. Thanks to its interface, understanding all its specific functions was not so difficult for me and at the same time working with its tools is an effective and fast process.

Pros

Access to databases created in SQLite is fast and easy, because it works as its own independent server. Its connection and management with computer and mobile applications is one of the best, its interface is quite simple and easy to use for the user.

Cons

It seems to me the most complete program in its field of work, so I don't see any cons about this program.

Jonathan alexander C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

An excellent database for mobile projects

Reviewed on 01/06/2022

I have used this database for the development of mobile application projects and for the prototyping of web pages, which makes it a very good database, easy and agile when manipulating data

Pros

What I like most about this product or database is how easy it is to integrate with mobile projects in the creation of applications and its easy portability, as well as performance, agility and little space in its implementation that makes it unique when it comes to of mobile application projects

Cons

That for very large projects it is not so robust handling so many transaction threads

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL, MySQL and MariaDB

Reasons for Switching to SQLite

Because of how easy it can be to have it within the application and above all because it can be portable
Chaya W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

SQLite - compatability at it's best level

Reviewed on 03/04/2019

SQLite has become more and more popular among the users because of its easy installation and easy accessing . As it is compatible with most of the programming languages and its light weight it is more popular among mobile application developers

Pros

SQLite is a light weighted data base which could be embedded with any software. Due to the light weightage of the product the data base is more popular In mobile application development. With it’s light weight it is also fast. SQLite is almost 35% faster than any other file system. SQLite is easy to use and there is not special installation or configurations needed to be done in order to use the product. All user have to do is download the libraries and run them in the computer. It is compatible which is why the product can be used with many programming languages with out any issues. Users are given a chance to extend their data base in future by adding new tables or new columns to the existing tables which is a great help for the ongoing projects.

Cons

SQLite is not a multi-user platform where the users can handle concurrent writes. There for SQLite is not good for intensive applications with rapid data logging. If the system has concurrent transactions where lot of users keep accessing the same set of data simultaneously then SQLite is not a good choice for the project. SQLite data bases are restricted to maximum of 2GB in most of the cases.

Barış T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Database easily with SQLite

Reviewed on 06/06/2022

I used this application to learn database systems. I transferred the excel data I had, created tables, and transferred this data to the external environment with an external connection.

Pros

The application is very easy to use. The interface is simple and user friendly. The convenience of the download process is amazing. Very little space on the computer

Cons

There is nothing wrong with the application, it is suitable for learning purposes.

Stephen O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect database tool for embedded software

Reviewed on 22/03/2019

I work a lot with SQLite as it is the primary medium of local storage in Android devices (and by extension, Android applications) which I work with on a daily basis, and SQLite is just perfect for the purpose it serves on these devices. It's lightweight so you don't have to worry most times about how much of the user's storage space your database is going to take up.

There's not much difference between the standard SQL commands and those used in SQLite, and many have reported that SQLite is a good starting and training resource for SQL in general.

Pros

Doesn't need a separate server.
Lightweight and portable.
Integrates most of the commands, functions and syntax of other SQL software.
Optimized for use on devices that need to store data locally.
Large user base and community (support).

Cons

All operations are locked to a single process, so it's not suitable for large scale database operations (which is not what you should be doing locally on a device anyway).

Anderson M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy to become a problem

Reviewed on 08/11/2018

On a Windows Forms app we used to query services thousand times for data that does not change so frequently. We also had to store some business information (imagine as storing a wizard progress) and that used to be handled using TXT files (and it was a mess). We changed to SQLite and it worked almost like a charm but as the app grew and we decided to create an architecture similar to Google Chrome (multiple processes) it became a major problem for all of them to both read and write at it (we had to create a proxy app to write).

Pros

Integrates nicely with .NET (specially Windows Forms) applications, it's really easy to use (specially if you're already familiar with SQL Server) and deployment is really easy (copy/paste required files).

Cons

It's locking architecture enables only a single process to write at a time so building a more complex application may cause hard-to-solve problems.

Ramindu D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The best solution for small, pre-packaged databases

Reviewed on 26/11/2019

We included SQLite alongside web and mobile applications where a small database was needed with minimum latency. Most commonly, this use case involved storing dynamic configuration values and user preferences.

Pros

SQLite is a great database solution when you have a small database that you need to package alongside an application, for example a database that stores user preferences. As it is local to the application, it bypasses issues you would have with other, larger database servers in terms of network latency. Its conformity (in the large part) to MySQL syntax and features make it easy to use as well.

Cons

While SQLite's lack of scaling features is forgivable (that wasn't what it was built for after all) some SQL features that are not implemented make it a hassle to write queries to SQLite databases in some instances.

Mahonri G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Railroad Manufacture
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Self-contained

Reviewed on 31/12/2021

Reliable

Pros

This software is fast, reliable, and very useful for small and big projects. It's user-friendly and fast to learn. I like that it is an open-source SQL database engine. SQLite is very convenient because is an embedded and lightweight database engine and its tools are very easy to use.

Cons

SQLite is not a fit for large applications, it has its limitations. One of the reasons is that when you run a large amount of data, the speed of the queries could be slow

Varun P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Smooth and Reliable DBMS

Reviewed on 26/04/2022

My overall experience has been smooth and SQLite has satisfied most of my needs. It's a lite, easy to use and robust for everyday needs. The support community is fantastic and you can find solution to most problems there.

Pros

SQLite is quite easy to install and get started. This makes it one of the best DBM tools for beginners. It's open source and free to install and runs on a server-less environment. The syntax is quite similar to any other SQL database management system.

Cons

The competition wins when it comes to scalability and is not suited for projects that will expand.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great lightweight database for simple use cases

Reviewed on 06/06/2022

Overall, SQLite allows us to build tools more rapidly. We've had a productive overall experience with SQLite.

Pros

I like how easy it is to use SQLite. It allows us to have a database backend without the usual set up and configuration steps needed for more complex RDBMS.

Cons

I don't really have anything I dislike about SQLite. It does its job well on its intended use cases.

Gareth N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A standard for testing

Reviewed on 14/09/2019

SQLite allows us to setup and test all our database structures, it's quick and easy to get going and it stays out of your way. Most of the time you'll forget that it's even part of your tech stack.

Pros

I like that SQLite for the most part stays out of your way. As soon as you have your desired config set up, you can transfer it with ease to most other projects and it just works. We use SQLite for testing purposes as it speeds up the entire process. You can either spin a local instance up or have it run in-memory to speed up your tests. The fact that it's usage is so ubiquitous, finding help or answers online isn't an issue at all.

Cons

If I had to fault it at something, there is an edge case with how it builds your database structure, especially with how it handles foreign keys. It's easily handled by adjusting your test setup structure. That's the only hiccup we ever had and resolved with ease.

Thang N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reliable and battle tested database engine

Reviewed on 09/12/2019

I had been using it for Windows, iOS, backend and Android for many purposes. The support for sqlite always straight forward. I would recommend sqlite for tasks which not use joins nor store procedures.

Native security is quite weak without supporting encrypt particular table or column.

Pros

Lightweight relational database, works on many platforms and has gain support from popularity in community. The toolkit for developing is great and easy to understand the concept. Integration to mobile is a nicer experience compare to other db engine.

The speed and datasize is good for mobile as well.

Cons

We need to define data structure first before actually implement features, any mismatch in database scheme must be resolved using migration. The locking architecture only allow a single process to write at a time - no high volume transaction - and it isn’t able to scale to hundreds of users nor store large amount of data.

Carlos hugo martin C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Experience with SQLite

Reviewed on 23/05/2021

Describe your general experience with SQLite
It is very useful for me to be able to store information and consume it from different sources without having to implement specific software to do so. Its portability capacity has allowed us to distribute work effectively.

Pros

The few resources you need and its portability. This allows us to use the stored data from any medium.

Cons

That there is no native way to make it multi-user. That there is no native way to merge files from the same database, when they have been modified by different users and platforms.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

No server required, used for standalone application and less configuration

Reviewed on 25/04/2019

We are using SQLite for java and android application. SQLite is use for small and mid level organization as well because its cost affordable for any one. There is no required to back up every time because SQLite make a file for backup .

Pros

SQLite is very faster then other database as performance wise. we are using SQLite for mobile application and desktop application. Mose imp feature i like in SQLite is at the time of deployment on production it not required any space. SQLite is lightweight. select query is very faster in standalone application.

Cons

There is no reporting functionality in SQLite. At the time of multiple insert query perform in queue that its goes slow for some time. There is administration in SQLite,so its very difficult to manage for multiple user.

Tigran K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Nice for small solutions

Reviewed on 21/07/2021

Pretty good for quick tests and development experiments, especially when you like SQL, not great for large production-grade datasets.

Pros

It is serverless, needs no configuration, easy to start working with and use in development, especially when fixing/improving some legacy software. When used correctly, especially with limited amount of data, allows for fast queries.

Cons

It is not built for large-scale applications. Another thing is that it is not easy to predict performance for queries on large amounts of data, even if the user knows how that database is built. It is sometimes easier to design your own (customized) data structure rather than using the standard product.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Database For Smaller Loads

Reviewed on 03/10/2019

This is definitely a great option when we are working on smaller projects that require and embedded database rather than the whole database setup. You quickly get up and running but security is definitely a concern when working on more sensitive work

Pros

It doesn't required installing an extra software.
Provides the essentials in terms of structured query language which is often better than having to use a text file, especially when relations are involved.
It is very cross-platform from mobile, desktop etc which makes life easier.

Cons

When it comes to systems that may have a lot of concurrent actions it, in my experience, often tends to lock up.
It doesn't give much in terms of allowing to tune performance for more complex scenarios.
There is no user management in place thus there are not permissions, it may not be the best option for more sensitive data
Last I checked there was no date data type which means enforcing that date formats conformity is often on the developer's side.

Prince J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Lightweight Relational Database for Small Applications and Websites.

Reviewed on 03/06/2021

We always use SQLite as our database when building software and web application prototypes and when deploying basic websites and apps that are not data-intensive.

Pros

SQLite does not run on a server like MySQL but is part of the end application thus making data storage and retrieval very fast.

Cons

It is not reliable when deploying it with applications with multi-user access to database.
With websites, SQLite can only handle sites with low to medium traffic.

Nera joy C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

A good choice for storing small and local data

Reviewed on 19/06/2018

Pros

I love how SQLite is so portable, and can be used in different platforms. I doesn't need any bulky installation for me to use. It is so lightweight and there is no learning curve when you came from MS SQL.

Cons

Maybe when opening a large sqlite file around 1GB above, it hangs up and sometimes fails to load. But maybe that's my fault because SQLite is not intended for storing large data. Good product anyway.

Mehak A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Free and quick to setup and use.

Reviewed on 28/12/2019

The use-case I used SQLite was fairly simple I had to set up some small application quickly so this was the best possible solution for me.

Pros

The fact that it requires no installation makes it suitable for a quick application setup. It's a very lightweight tool that makes it useable across many systems. SQLite does not require a separate location that can be on the same server location which makes the I/O processing really fast and reliable.

Cons

Due to the lightweight, there ought to be some restrictions one of them is that a large number of concurrent access might let to a system crash. One more issue is that is works with whole DB lock while performing a write operation so all the write operations are sequential.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The perfect landscape to train and test SQL

Reviewed on 06/03/2019

Integrates well with SQL learning tool. Followed many guides in my quest to learn SQL and almost all suggested SQLite. This is mostly for training and testing.

Pros

About as simple as it gets -- as the name suggests. Made learning SQL easy knowing I wouldn't be affecting my own database.

Cons

I truly enjoyed using the product although I never use it anymore. It sits dormant on my computer now that I have a grasp of SQL.

Rahul A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A lightweight relational database management system especially for offline mobile applications...

Reviewed on 18/01/2019

We have used SQLite in developing many mobile apps, mostly Android App and as a database at back end we integrated this light weight DB system. The processing speed of queries is exceptionally fast. All the databases are working well.

Pros

SQLite is object based relational query language which keeps and maintained the whole databases in a very light weight, usually within 500kb to 1mb size, depending on size of databases.

This database system has everything which a standard databases must have like relationships, events, all operations, etc.

SQLite is very helpful in building application for Mobiles which stores databases in locally.

Cons

1. No dedicated server required.
2. Very light weight and easy to follow commands with knowledge.
3. Large community support makes learning this language even more fast and easy
4. Easy to keep backups as the whole database stored in single file.
5. Easy to implement and integrate.

George S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great choice if you use it correctly

Reviewed on 15/08/2019

Pros

SQLite is a fantastic database for resource-constraint systems or for those cases where full-blown SQL client-server system is not required. SQLite has been probably implemented for any platform. It even exists for microcontrollers. When used properly, SQLite makes programmers life easy.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike about SQLite.

Carl H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for simple persistent storage

Reviewed on 28/02/2019

Pros

SQLite is great because it is really easy to interface with a number of languages, my preference being C#. This allows me to create persistent storage for my applications or Unity games. SQLite is also great because it does not require an installation, either on the developers side nor the players side, it is a simple DLL which can be embedded into the application with ease. It also has great support with database management GUIs allowing me to debug the database very quickly.

Cons

Off the top of my head, there are no glaring issues with SQLite. However it is important to know when a system like this is needed as opposed to another simple storage option such as XML/JSON etc.

Pablo S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My Own Experience working with SQLite

Reviewed on 30/09/2019

My overall experience using SQLite is good, but it is based on small projects, always working locally and with little information.

If you are thinking of working on large-volume information projects, I recommend other applications related to somewhat better, more visual databases, and with more functions to generate code and store queries or procedures.

Pros

The best thing about SQLite is undoubtedly that you can work with it for free.

In addition with SQLite we can perform any type of query that we would perform with another program.

Cons

What I like least about SQLite is undoubtedly nothing visual.

The way to work with SQLite is through the console, and this may seem silly, and when you are accustomed it may not matter, but for people who begin to familiarize themselves with database environments, it is really useful for tables, and which is done with them, be fully visible. When displaying results by console, unless you print them in an external table, such as an Excel workbook, it will be quite complicated to see and analyze large results (Tables over 10k rows for example)

Luis miguel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool to have lightweight data bases.

Reviewed on 30/08/2019

I was a part of team developing micro-services in python, and we used SQL Lite to store persistent information on each microservice. It is a great option because the setup it's really simple.

Pros

* Really easy to install.
* It has compatibility with different operating systems.
* It can be used in many programming languages.
* The command line is easy to use.

Cons

* It's a light weight database if you are trying to save too much data you will face some problems.