SQLite

Open-source database engine to store and modify data

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(116)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
3.6/5

92%
recommended this app
Sort by

116 Reviews for UK Users

Sadia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Lightweight, Easy to integrate

Reviewed on 15/01/2021

Pros

If the application is not an ERP sort of then Sqlite is the best choice, it's easy to integrate and fast if the data is small. Best choice for beginners as well.

Cons

Its performance is really impacted if the data gets large overtime. Not a good choice for applications with many users.

merve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent option for quick and light needs.

Reviewed on 30/10/2022

What I appreciate best about SQLIte is how lightweight it is and how easily it can be used in...

What I appreciate best about SQLIte is how lightweight it is and how easily it can be used in Android applications. It appears to be designed to function on tiny devices with a minimal footprint. It is also open source. Because no server configuration is necessary, installation and setup take very little time.

Pros

SQLite was an excellent choice for us when we wanted to store a database for a basic utility that we were developing. The performance appeared to be excellent, and it was really steady.

Cons

It is not completely functional with all capabilities unless you purchase a professional version, which comes at a cost.

Wechuli
Wechuli
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good but Limited Use

Reviewed on 14/03/2020

I use it to quickly test applications that need some form of data storage without needing to...

I use it to quickly test applications that need some form of data storage without needing to install database software.

Pros

- Very lightweight database products that you can quickly set up to without needing to install complicated tooling so can be used in mobile forms or embedded devices.

Cons

- Does not support the full features of SQL
- SQLite does not have support for multi-client concurrency access and can't be used in applications that need this.
- Validation of data to input fields is limited

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

No server required, used for standalone application and less configuration

Reviewed on 25/04/2019

We are using SQLite for java and android application. SQLite is use for small and mid level...

We are using SQLite for java and android application. SQLite is use for small and mid level organization as well because its cost affordable for any one. There is no required to back up every time because SQLite make a file for backup .

Pros

SQLite is very faster then other database as performance wise. we are using SQLite for mobile application and desktop application. Mose imp feature i like in SQLite is at the time of deployment on production it not required any space. SQLite is lightweight. select query is very faster in standalone application.

Cons

There is no reporting functionality in SQLite. At the time of multiple insert query perform in queue that its goes slow for some time. There is administration in SQLite,so its very difficult to manage for multiple user.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The perfect landscape to train and test SQL

Reviewed on 06/03/2019

Integrates well with SQL learning tool. Followed many guides in my quest to learn SQL and almost...

Integrates well with SQL learning tool. Followed many guides in my quest to learn SQL and almost all suggested SQLite. This is mostly for training and testing.

Pros

About as simple as it gets -- as the name suggests. Made learning SQL easy knowing I wouldn't be affecting my own database.

Cons

I truly enjoyed using the product although I never use it anymore. It sits dormant on my computer now that I have a grasp of SQL.

George
George
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great choice if you use it correctly

Reviewed on 15/08/2019

Pros

SQLite is a fantastic database for resource-constraint systems or for those cases where full-blown SQL client-server system is not required. SQLite has been probably implemented for any platform. It even exists for microcontrollers. When used properly, SQLite makes programmers life easy.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike about SQLite.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Open Source solution for local persistence

Reviewed on 20/04/2019

Pros

It’s lightweight, it complies most simple SQL language, it does not need a server process working and it’s free. These make SQLite a good option to store information locally in your application without running any extra application. For example, you can use it in a wide set of scenarios: mobile apps, embedded apps, or even desktop apps where you do not need intensive data change.

It is Open Source and widely used, what makes it a plus for the community support.

Cons

It is not a good option for heavy load work. The lock mechanism that SQLite uses means that multiprocess applications will have to look for potential concurrency issues. Also it does not have the high end benefits of RDBMS, you can find problems working with big files or intensive use of data.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great lightweight database for simple use cases

Reviewed on 06/06/2022

Overall, SQLite allows us to build tools more rapidly. We've had a productive overall experience...

Overall, SQLite allows us to build tools more rapidly. We've had a productive overall experience with SQLite.

Pros

I like how easy it is to use SQLite. It allows us to have a database backend without the usual set up and configuration steps needed for more complex RDBMS.

Cons

I don't really have anything I dislike about SQLite. It does its job well on its intended use cases.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

You need a small database without problems? the answer is: SQLite

Reviewed on 13/04/2018

Pros

small, easy, no complicated stored procedure. You choose how to use and STOP. SQLite is ok if need a database for your application . No problem with a lot of datas: I've managed SQLite database with Millions of records.

Cons

Use only for storage information. No other features are available: No native stored procedure. So internal procedure are impossible.

John D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SQLite made pulling, manipulating and evaluating data from multi-relational databases a breeze!

Reviewed on 25/07/2018

Ease of accessing data for Ad-Hoc reports.

Ease of accessing data for Ad-Hoc reports.

Pros

Linking SQLite to the internal database was quite simple; setting up authorized users was as well.

Cons

SQLite could be finicky on my company's database, I would sometimes switch over to Sandbox to run quicker queries.

uğur
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good for simple and fast database solutions

Reviewed on 09/11/2022

When I used it to store data for my online project, it exceeded my expectations, and it's been...

When I used it to store data for my online project, it exceeded my expectations, and it's been working great ever since. Now, we can use a server to retrieve data from apps that use SQL and save it on the embedded application.

Pros

This is an excellent tool because it's easy to use with several languages, my favorite of which being C#. We may create persistent storage for our applications using SQLite, which does not need any installation on the developers' end. I also want to emphasize the superior database management.

Cons

This is a lightweight database, so if you try to store too much data, you can run into some problems. The most prevalent issue is that it will significantly affect performance. Another issue is that this functionality isn't always simple, which is related to integration.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Database For Smaller Loads

Reviewed on 03/10/2019

This is definitely a great option when we are working on smaller projects that require and embedded...

This is definitely a great option when we are working on smaller projects that require and embedded database rather than the whole database setup. You quickly get up and running but security is definitely a concern when working on more sensitive work

Pros

It doesn't required installing an extra software.
Provides the essentials in terms of structured query language which is often better than having to use a text file, especially when relations are involved.
It is very cross-platform from mobile, desktop etc which makes life easier.

Cons

When it comes to systems that may have a lot of concurrent actions it, in my experience, often tends to lock up.
It doesn't give much in terms of allowing to tune performance for more complex scenarios.
There is no user management in place thus there are not permissions, it may not be the best option for more sensitive data
Last I checked there was no date data type which means enforcing that date formats conformity is often on the developer's side.

Mehak
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Free and quick to setup and use.

Reviewed on 28/12/2019

The use-case I used SQLite was fairly simple I had to set up some small application quickly so this...

The use-case I used SQLite was fairly simple I had to set up some small application quickly so this was the best possible solution for me.

Pros

The fact that it requires no installation makes it suitable for a quick application setup. It's a very lightweight tool that makes it useable across many systems. SQLite does not require a separate location that can be on the same server location which makes the I/O processing really fast and reliable.

Cons

Due to the lightweight, there ought to be some restrictions one of them is that a large number of concurrent access might let to a system crash. One more issue is that is works with whole DB lock while performing a write operation so all the write operations are sequential.

Mahonri
Overall rating
  • Industry: Railroad Manufacture
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Self-contained

Reviewed on 31/12/2021

Reliable

Reliable

Pros

This software is fast, reliable, and very useful for small and big projects. It's user-friendly and fast to learn. I like that it is an open-source SQL database engine. SQLite is very convenient because is an embedded and lightweight database engine and its tools are very easy to use.

Cons

SQLite is not a fit for large applications, it has its limitations. One of the reasons is that when you run a large amount of data, the speed of the queries could be slow

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A very efficient way to store certain kinds of data.

Reviewed on 02/04/2019

We use it for storing certain data.

We use it for storing certain data.

Pros

You get all the benefits of using sql statements without having to set up a sql server online.

Cons

SQL syntax varies between the different versions of sql so the syntax you are familiar with may or may not be available in sqlite.

Zach
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

fast flexible database with robust features

Reviewed on 11/06/2020

SQLite works great for our specific use case as we prefer performance over HA / concurrency.

SQLite works great for our specific use case as we prefer performance over HA / concurrency.

Pros

Extremely portable and fast ACID store. SQLite is very battle tested and highly performant. There are many bindings for various programming languages which makes it easy to get started with. If you couple SQLite with fast SSD, the performance is incredible (since it's just a file). Backup and restore is super easy and fast.

Cons

SQLite is for a very specific use case and there are no distribution properties or guarantees. Designed to be very simple so not a lot of tuning for SQLite. If you want high availability and concurrency, you may want to look at a different solution.

Ali
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Small, Fast And Efficient RDBMS

Reviewed on 08/05/2019

Pros

SQLite is a great RDBM solution if you need a database for embedded devices, IoT, websites or cache management. It is small, fast and efficient. It doesn't require any setup or administration. It provides easy to use APIs.

Cons

if what you need is a client-server database, it's not for you.

Dennis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Lightweight and easy to use.

Reviewed on 18/04/2019

Perfect for small project and easy to setup.

Perfect for small project and easy to setup.

Pros

It's really well design and easy to connect to database, and best of all it is free.

Cons

It's not really good for large databases it can be quite slow, but perfect for small projects.

barun
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Opnion

Reviewed on 13/01/2023

overall good software.

overall good software.

Pros

Small in size, ready to use and other user loved features such as create, edit, delete databese

Cons

Sometimes interface of the software are difficult to understand.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best relational database system for embedded applications.

Reviewed on 28/09/2019

Bets choice to choose SQL for store data on embedded application instead of connecting Server and...

Bets choice to choose SQL for store data on embedded application instead of connecting Server and get data.

Pros

SQLite support almost ANSI standard SQL, If you know PostgreSQL it is very much easy to adapt SQLite, Best thing it supports ACID properties.Its embedded database software so its faster than client-Server databases.

Cons

As it's a lightweight database software , it works perfect when your database size is smaller , but your Database size is more you can see performance issues.

Denis
Denis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good for studying SQL, small projects and local storage

Reviewed on 24/12/2019

Sometimes I use it as a stand alone application to make queries in the terminal or as a driver/libra...

Sometimes I use it as a stand alone application to make queries in the terminal or as a driver/library that is easily embedded into some of my software.

Pros

Very small footprint and overhead, battle-tested in real-world applications (which indicates that it’s pretty reliable) and well supported by several major companies.
It’s also very good for people learning SQL due to its simplicity.

Cons

Cannot handle very large datasets well. It’s not ideal for concurrently running or distributed software.

Sahil
Sahil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Sqllite

Reviewed on 01/09/2018

I solve my problem in window application to sync the server data and local storage data by adding...

I solve my problem in window application to sync the server data and local storage data by adding local storage entries SqlLite.

Pros

Excellent creation to store relational data in local storage, that is helpful for mobile and desktop application so they do not need server to store the data.

Cons

Product look and feel needs to be change and it should be great if it has intelligence.

Nestor
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

When the small is really big.

Reviewed on 27/06/2018

Pros

It's fast, simple and fun.
The learning curve is very comfortable.
Although it is a small database it is capable of storage up to 2 terabytes of information.

Cons

The tables are not related.
The relationships are logical (We have to program this logic).
There are no DATE type columns.
This hinders operations between DATES.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

SQLite is a good embedded database choice

Reviewed on 29/01/2019

Pros

I like how SQLite offer similar capabilities with full-pledged MSSQL. It runs traditional TSQL and it stays small in file size. It's very convenient to use and have so 3rd party management tools available.

Cons

When the database gets large, say around 2 gigs, loading times can be a bit slow.

Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Awesome server-less database for simple projects

Reviewed on 09/03/2019

Pros

Basically I don't have to install a server to host my databases.

Cons

SQLITE has no graphical interface to view the tables