MySQL

4.6 (1,595)
Database management system for recording and updating data

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(1,595)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

96%
recommended this app

1595 Reviews for UK Users

Shan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Incredible Database Tool For Developers

Reviewed on 20/11/2021

Pros

I have used MySQL for some time now and it has helped me out a lot in terms of data management (For e-commerce, data warehousing, and in many cases).

This tool is a simple and easy-to-use interface that allows me to run my database without too much effort.

They have several different cloud MYSQL managed services.

Highly Recommended

Cons

Overall my experience with this tool went great, but as a suggestion, they need to improve UI especially for the MYSQL program for Windows Desktop.

Barnaby K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Gambling & Casinos
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for small business and large enterprises

Reviewed on 17/12/2021

I've used MySQL for over 20 years on personal websites serving tiny amounts of traffic, through to mission-critical enterprise websites. I've never had any issues except finding out the hard way that tables can crash and if you have no monitoring you won't know about it. It's a great all-round database.

Pros

MySQL is a great all round database, packed with features that suit hobbyists, SMEs and large enterprises. It's easy to set up and start working with out of the box and is also highly customisable.

Cons

It's difficult to find a con. Historically MySQL has lacked some of the features of large enterprise databases but these have gradually been developed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Feel Better with Open Source DB

Reviewed on 08/12/2021

My SQL is the best DB support for PHP development and for develop web based application its a almost recommended DB as MySQL,

Pros

This application is better for the use of software development related DB configurations and this most of advantage is cost reductions means that its free . Its is ready to run on almost operating system without any effect specially Linux systems

Cons

less versions docent support "COMMIT" operation means will be least like because , the comment is to be there on any DB that the requirement of commit is a very basic requirement of every DB, But every Databases are expected to be enlarging only defect i have see that its not able to manage very large databases

César josé R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A very good option for small software development projects

Reviewed on 06/11/2021

To get started in application development, I highly recommend it for its ease of use and how effective it can be for handling data on a small scale.

Of course, MYSQL has to be just a step to later migrate to systems that better manage data on a large scale, such as SQL Server or Oracle.

Pros

Mysql is a good tool to start in the world of software development. It offers a small but powerful product, with effective database management when it comes to bringing us useful information for the business. With a few command lines we can get all the information we need, and its installation and first use is fast and intuitive.

Cons

Although MYSQL works well for small and medium projects, in large-scale projects we can suffer a bit with information and data management, since this tool is not entirely designed to handle large-volume data.

It can handle data in large volume, but the way in which it will do it will not be the most efficient or the most optimal, which can cause a certain lack of speed when deploying our project.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server and MongoDB

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

The ease of use of Mysql made me decide on this specific product in the end.
Parth P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Database Manager : MySQL

Reviewed on 07/12/2021

It is an extraordinary item. It very well may be utilized with many sorts of web applications. In any case, it isn't reasonable for information investigation. We are utilizing it with an IoT-based ERP framework. In the event that in case you choose to move to cloud, prophet offers full help to utilize MySQL as a cloud information base assistance.

Pros

Overall is that it is extremely simple to code in, the coding is exceptionally straight forward.
It's proficiency to hold enormous datasets in type of very much oversaw tables lines and sections structure.
It's not difficult to design and make due. It is an extraordinary answer for an endeavor level DB with less expense.
Proficient utilization of assets at the memory and CPU level
Cross-stage support for various working frameworks

Cons

Absence of documentation for a huge level of MySQL utilities, for instance the part of information replication for specific cases there is no documentation.
Some experience is needed to arrange and tune it to the undertaking prerequisites.
Support for non-social information will be an additional benefit
Security refreshes are not so regular

Juan manuel C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent database administrator

Reviewed on 13/12/2021

My experience is very good, I use it daily and with its manager it is all much easier, I recommend it for small projects

Pros

One of the most used, with a very complete program (Mysql Workbrench). Meets expectations and is very easy to configure, beyond the fact that there are thousands of manuals on the internet

Cons

Scalability drops when you have many records (More than 1 million). Problem that I don't have with other engines like postgres

Zubair A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best relational database

Reviewed on 19/11/2021

MySQL is a great database for smaller companies. It is very robust and secure. It supports many programming languages. It is a reliable database management tool, with a very robust and powerful database engine. It is simple to install, easy to configure and manage.

Pros

MySQL's performance is relatively easy to tune with simple configuration changes. MySQL is widely deployed in most of the servers, desktops and mobiles. MySQL is reliable with backup and restore capabilities. It has several features that are useful for high availability deployments.

Cons

MySQL is a very complete tool that offers a lot of different functionalities and rich in features, but in large projects it can have certain limitations, which can arise from the fact that this is a tool that has not been designed to handle large-volume data.

Asad R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MySQL

Reviewed on 10/12/2021

It was a fantastic experience. There is huge support available for MySQL.

Pros

MySQL is free open source available software. There is a lot of support available by the MySQL community. MySQL GUI tools are also available which make life easy for developers and database administrators.

Cons

MySQL is not efficient to handle big and large data. It can be used for small and mid-level applications.

Winston P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MYSQL help me to work on my projects and keep on a budget

Reviewed on 30/11/2021

Pros

What I like the most about MYSQL is the ease with which it is installed and integrated into your project, that you can use it to work with Visual Studio, PHP or whatever you work with.

Cons

I don't have something in mind that I don't like about this software

Dima V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MySQL is the best relational database language out there!

Reviewed on 10/09/2021

In my few years of experience with MySQL I hightly recommend it! It is a very powervul and versatile tool to manage your data on the server.

Pros

Wow where to start! The two main highlights are the ability to create highly customizable indexed data tables and the ability to query them in incredibly flexible ways!

When one creates a table in MySQL, one has an option to create a primary key which is unique for every record in that table. That can then be used to easily search and reference the data in that table. One can also mark other data columns as indexed and make them unique, for instance the email column. That will prevent duplicate records. And one can reference other tables' primary keys from one table - this is called a foreign key - allowing for one-to-one, one-to-many and many-to-many relationships.

In terms of queries, one of the most powerful tools is the JOIN command. This allows one to append multiple tables to one another, using the foreign key feature. The combinations and the flexibility that this allows is out of this world as you can extract data from any number of tables into a custom table-like result with surgical precision.

If you consider using MySQL, do yourself a favour and study JOIN and how to use it with foreign keys.

Cons

I think the biggest downside to MySQL is that there is quite a learning curve. You need to be good with structuring and organising data in theory/planning first before you approach this database language. It is only a tool, it will not do the design and architecture for you. Once you know what you want, you need to work through some tutorials and code examples to understand how to use MySQL. There are good database managers that use MySQL, suchas DBeaver or HeidiSQL, that will greatly assit you in the process - but you still have to understand how to write custom queries, so take some time to learn the language. If you don't have the time, consider maybe MS Excel or MS Access - less flexibility, but also a smaller learning curve.

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

MS Access is a very expensive software and MySQL is free of charge via installation packages, such as WAMP or XAMPP.

Switched From

Microsoft Access

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

MySQL is relational while MongoDB is non-relational. When working with larger and more complex data, the concept of indexing and foreign keys becomes indispensable and this is something that non-relational MongoDB does not offer.
Chirag S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great database for an SMB

Reviewed on 10/09/2021

MySQL served global operations for multiple SMBs I worked with in my career. It powered public websites as well as internal applications. No matter which well-known programming language you use, MySQL support will be fantastic. Backup and restore was very easy. To monitor MySQL, we used Monyog/Webyog. We used Percona MySQL and used XtraBackup for backup and restore. We also set up replication, which was very easy to do. The cost of operation was only a few hundred dollars a year and we got excellent value out of it.

Pros

Speed. MySQL is fast! Now, fast is a relative term which depends on workloads, database design and more. I work in Small and Medium Businesses space where a couple hundred GB of data in database or less is common. MySQL's performance has been blazing fast in majority of the installs with default or with slight change in configuration.

Cons

Confusion of selection is the least favorite. MySQL Community/Enterprise edition from Oracle is the most common for those who know MySQL. If you are new to MySQL and researching it for your small business, you'll inevitably come cross MySQL from Oracle, MySQL from Percona, MariaDB etc., which makes your selection process harder. I recommend installing MySQL downloaded from Percona. If you want support, Percona provides that too at a reasonable cost.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server, PostgreSQL and MongoDB

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

SQL Server was a fantastic database also. The cost of operation with SQL Server for SMB can be much higher. We, first, shifted our workload to MySQL Enterprise and noticed that Oracle sales and support cycles were administratively burdensome to us because we weren't used to that. In a year, we switched to MySQL Percona (free) and used Percona support (low cost, high value). Our customers didn't even notice the switch and we were able to onboard a lot more customers with no increase in our expenses with MySQL Percona.

Switched From

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

MySQL won out due to its easy of permission setting, configuration, backup/restore and replication. We needed replication. PostgreSQL is an amazing RDBMS but their replication part wasn't as easy. MongoDB was attractive of a proposition but our workload was faster on MySQL than MongoDB in our parallel testing. SQL Server had served us well in the past, so we were considering to keep it as well. Because all of our current and future needs were very covered by MySQL, we chose MySQL.
Aivar K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Balanced solution for most use cases

Reviewed on 27/08/2021

It takes some time to become good at properly configuring it and designing data structures, but once you do, it can handle unbelievable and complex loads.

Pros

Large and experienced community. Any question you have - someone has already asked it and received a good answer.
Unbeatable stability.
Decent performance.
Keeps improving over the years without many breaking changes. You can be almost sure that code written 10, 15 years ago will work in the newest versions.

Cons

Misconfiguration can lead to freezes and crashes, default configs aren't a good choice in most cases.
Takes a long time to restart.
SQL will not perfectly match your project logic - you have to learn to think in SQL if you want to have a data architecture that works well.

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

MySQL has better performance with mixed loads. Postgres administration tools aren't as good as phpMyAdmin.

Switched From

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

I have considered using MongoDB for Node.js projects, as the native data structure makes the development easier, but in my experience, it was too unstable, and performance in complex loads is not a strong suit of NoSQL.
Emiliano P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MySQL has always been one of the best relational databases

Reviewed on 12/05/2021

Many of our relational databases work nowadays with MySQL, we find it easier to maintain than PostgreSQL or other alternatives, as well as it's knowledge more broadly distributed due to it being very beginner friendly for web projects, joined with PHP usually.

Pros

First of all there's a free community version, as well as alternative software like MariaDB and Percona Server which have an open-source approach as well. There are multiple services to manage MySQL like Amazon RDS as well as similar products on GCP or Azure, so it's not entirely required to have expert knowledge to use these databases if you are willing to pay for support.

Cons

The upgrade process for MySQL requires downtime and it's not easy to perform a rollback either (on some cases it's entirely impossible unless you restore a backup). Managed services don't provide a zero-downtime upgrade process either, except for migration all your info and deltas into a new database (which sometimes is not entirely available)

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

We find it easier to maintain than PostgreSQL and also more teammates felt comfortable with this software since they were quite familiar with it and possible debugging on the future.
Aleksandr S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great overall but has some very important caveats.

Reviewed on 23/04/2021

Mysql as any other tools has it's advantages and downsides.
It may be fast, ACID-compatible, it may serve as memory cache.
It has some dark corners and sometimes may hang on complex queries, or even corrupt the data (this is really rare case, but I faced it more than 10 times during my experience).
Consider your scenario carefully.
And always, always, ALWAYS make backups.

Pros

There a whole world of documentation, best practice, books on mysql. It can be found on nearly any cloud, system, paas.
It is really fast (on MyISAM), support transactions (InnoDB), may perform as in-memory cache (memory), or even CSV (never use this one except for testing or reports).
Deploy and set up takes next to no time, it consumes very little resources.
Actually I feel it is hard to write a review on MySql because over decades of extensive usage it become the standard de-facto, even LAMP has (M) for MySQL.
It is a mature if, well known RDBMS with tons of extensions and forks (not sure I may name them here).
It is worth to mention though that MySQL is a default backend storage for a whole number of software.

MySQL is compliant to SQL standard though with some differences. It may require some changes to your codebase but still, they should not be critical. What will really surprise you is that ORDER by lacks "nulls first/last" clause and that collates may surprise you. In a somewhat unpleasant way.

Window functions, virtual tables, temporary tables are here as well and trust me - this is quite important matter, something that is a vital part of any DB.

You will find a lot of web and standalone management tools to work both with server and data, some of them are free, others are not, chose yours.

Cons

First and biggest cons is that MySQL is not suitable for big amount of data. It always had and still have troubles performing complex joins.
Database may get corrupted under some scenarios when significant selections is performed same time as other clients perform batches of inserts/updates (basically, there is a long lasting bug in memory management).
Transactions are available in a single engine InnoDB and it is much slower than MyISAM.
Worst thing is that in scenarios with multitenant databases with somewhat mediocre load MySQL starts to leak memory. This i a known well-issue, and there is no cure at this moment, you have to reboot the database instance. This is simply a disaster.
Performance insight is something that could enjoy some more love.
While Mysql is compatible with most of standard SQL, there are still some hard to explain differences.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server and PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Mysql is still used in some of our projects, but we are on our way to switch to another RDBMS for the reasons I described above.
Mohammad iqbal K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MySQL is lighter and fast database

Reviewed on 25/01/2021

Our application has 2-way interface, data-entry and user / customer interfaces. On one hand it is being used with .Net for data-entry part of application and on other hand being used with PHP for user / customer interface. The .Net part is deployed locally while user / customer interface is deployed on Azure. A in-house developed desktop utility is also being used to transport data from local MySQL server to Azure MySQL database. We are having almost 2M+ transactions in few tables, working well. It helps us to save the licensing cost. It is also being used in our other websites in backend for data storage and retrieval.

Pros

The thing I like most about MySQL is, It is available for multiple operating systems like Windows, Linux, etc. It is free and open-source. It is very lighter in comparison to MsSQL and very fast. It is very easy to learn and use. It is very easy to install, configure and manage. The syntax is very identical to the same we use sentences in English. It is capable to hold large data in tables. It is best free database with enterprise level features. It is supported by almost all popular programming languages. There are numerous 3rd party custom tools available for it.

Cons

With huge data, I had faced data loss and improper data retrieval but it is very rare and manageable. Some of the error messages are so general and unable represent the actual problem. Some error messages are so weird then the actual problem. It gives sense of insecurity at some points.

Fernando D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The well balanced

Reviewed on 30/09/2020

I use MySQL in many personal projects, like my automated house project. It was a very good choice, I'm happy with this. Also, in the past, I have worked with MySQL and PHP in my company's intranet page. It was a good tool, but as the company grows, we need to migrate to another platform. Also, it is important to say that if you use the correct database engine with MySQL, you can have foreign keys and other types of constraints so it is very flexible.

Pros

MySQL is a well balanced product, while it is free to use, it also has many features you can find in corporative solutions, like SQL Server and Oracle. If you ever need help, you will find answers almost everywhere, from their own documentation to stackoverflow and other forums, easily. You will have a very short learning curve with MySQL.

Cons

When you need to deal with great amount of data, like some kind of data warehouse structure or huge amount of measures to analyze, you better go other choices. It starts getting too slow with the same hardware other products will work smoothly. But I guess that is not the purpose for MySQL. In the other hand, if you want it to build a transactional system like an e-commerce platform or even a Blog page, it is a very good choice!

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

I chose it instead of PostgreSQL because the ease of use and plenty of documentation around the internet, with many forums and examples. Both tools have a great community support, but I felt MySQL has more.
Pete N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Scalable software for simple to complex applications

Reviewed on 21/08/2020

I have had a generally good experience with MySQL. The MySQL RDBMS overall is an excellent software platform. I use it for an auction website that I designed. It takes quite a bit of study to learn about things like the column types and proper table structuring but as a layperson (i.e. not a professional programmer) you can learn the software well enough to make proper use of the program.

Pros

MySQL integrated really well with the PHP scripting language. MySQL is what is called a Relational Database Management System (RDBMS). It is a software system that uses the SQL database query language to manipulate data in a database.

MySQL provides for data handling, storing, modifying, and deleting in a tabular format.

You can design your database so that each table has a key to at least one other table and that each table can access data in every one of the other tables in the database (hence the word "relational"). With a properly designed MySQL database you won't have any orphaned rows or tables.

The database queries that use SELECT, UPDATE, or DELETE are simple and straightforward to use with the PHP scripting language.

As an end user, like myself, you don't have to install and maintain this software. The MySQL software comes preinstalled on most server hosting plans meaning the server hosting provider does the installation and maintenance for the software.

Cons

The MySQL reference manual is not clear enough in describing how to utilize many of the features for MySQL. The manual is too technical and apparently is designed for persons with a high level of computer programming or technical knowledge.

The manual is sometimes confusing when seeking to find the proper column type to use (i.e. TEXT, CHAR, VARCHAR, etc.).

The Date and Time functions for MySQL like DATE and DATETIME are hard to understand and difficult to implement.

The table join features are difficult to understand and use.

Carlos F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MySQL: free relational database manager

Reviewed on 14/08/2020

MySQL is a free relational database manager. I use it daily to manage data for several web applications (most commonly, by pairing it with PHP). It's fast and versatile enough to meet all my needs in different scenarios and for different types of data (e.g. client databases and many others).

Pros

In my opinion, MySQL has the following main advantages:

1. It's versatile and adapts to different use cases. Although MySQL is most commonly used to manage data for web applications (in what's called LAMP: Linux, Apache, MySQL, PHP), it's really a jack-of-all-trades that one can use in different scenarios.

2. It's rock-solid. MySQL and its featured stability have both passed the test of time; the software was created 25 years ago and it's already in its 8th version.

3. It makes use of current technologies. Although it's "old", MySQL uses current database technologies, like multi-byte characters and different data-handling engines.

4. It's popular. MySQL is in the default repositories of most Linux-based operating systems, and there's plenty of documentation about it.

5. It's free. MySQL offers a fully-functional, free "community" version.

Cons

The way I see it, MySQL has two disadvantages:

1. Depending on the amount of data it handles and on how many clients connect to it, MySQL can use a lot of resources, effectively becoming a server hog and therefore requiring a powerful computer/server.

2. MySQL isn't exactly the easiest software to install and manage; it requires quite some technical knowledge.

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Familiarity with the software.
Ayesh P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MySQL for Software Developer

Reviewed on 10/08/2020

Overall MySQL is very good data base platform for any one who getting start with programing database software specialy for beginners to get familiar with data base software.Good service and worth for every money you spent on it.Highly Recommended

Pros

MySQL is very fameous data base software.It is a first data base software which I use to develop my first POS system program.It was recommend by my friend and he said that it is very fast and reliable data base program but also it is very simple to understand and work with it.There for I choosed it and he said true.It is very easy to learn and work with it and I simply got familiar with it in a small time.I very like it simplicity and can highly recommend for any one who looking for a data base software to do their software developments.And also MySQL can operate within from many programing languages and I used JAVA to program my software so it need small library to import to the JAVA program and with that it can operate very fastly from using simple codes.MySQL also can operate from many coding IDEA l platforms like Visual Code , NetBeans or InteliJ and it become very helpful feature to make working easy with MySQL.MySQL is the very fast and reliable data base software I ever used and it get well fitted with my programs. There for it helps to work fast your software and there for I think using MYSQL is a good investment for developing a software.

Cons

Mainly MuSQL is my favorite data base software and I havent many drawbacks of it.I think it is better to replace more user ffriendly commands in MySQL library for JAVA.Some times it get tricky to some commands in MySQL from JAVA by using the library.But it is not a big deal.Many Programing softwares are suggest many programing key words ttherefore coding is getting very easy.But when getting to code MySQL commands , some programing platforms were unable to suggest key words and cods ththerefore I think that must be improve more.Considering security I heard that there are many more secured data base software in the feild.So I suggest to improve the security of MySQL data base.

Adonay andres A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Still good after lots of years

Reviewed on 12/06/2020

I've been using MySQL for 12+ years. It was great then and it's great now. Lots of features have been added and query speed has been improved by a lot.
Since it's a software that has been around us for many years, I insist, the backwards compatibility isn't the desired one, all the needed adjustments to datasets generated in old versions (that are still running in production environments) rely on the dba. Would be great if there could be a utility that handles that.

Pros

I like that it has a community edition which allows to get the software for free with community support. In the case of red hat/CEntOS host, a repository settings can be added and the installation is pretty straightforward.
As long as it is correctly setup according to the server resources and expected demand, it runs pretty fast, it is stable and supports lots of connections.

Cons

I feel that it has been starting to loose its backwards compatibility. If you need to use a previous feature, for example, if you want to use the mysql native password, now you need to specify it when creating a user, otherwise, it won't work straightforward with most CMS software. Also, as some datatypes are being improved (which should be a nice to have feature), when migrating to a newer version, restoring a dump can turn into a headache. The users model have also changed, so, if you had a very large users set, you have to do some work to make it work again in newer versions.

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Because the ease in the installation and setup process. Also at some point, MySQL integrated spatial support which was the only reason for us to keep PostgresSQL instances.
Monish K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Will Developed Relational Database System which supports Transactions

Reviewed on 26/04/2020

Had a great experience with Mysql, since it has been the core of transaction systems

Pros

Mysql is Transactional, you can commit or revert a set of actions in a transaction,
it has well implemented all the Transactional feature such as primary key, foreign keys, indexing etc ...
so we mainly use mysql for data collection from realtime interactions with the end user,
Its Hibernate support gives a edge on realtime interactions,

Mysql provides many type of JDBC/ODBC jars, using which it can be integrated to any type of tools and languages,

Mysql has a desktop application called Mysql Workbench for performing all the operations on mysql, it comes in handy if you don't remember some of the commands (like migrations , dumping, updating row etc ..), also it provides schema visualisations,
tables and its columns are listed which can be dragged into the editor, which makes the mysql to be easily used and reduces the developers time involved in operational work and improves development efficiency,

There are lot of other friendly tools such as WAMP/XAMP etc, which can be used for learning purposes,
and Mysql has a huge community support

Cons

Mysql dose not support data transfer between DB and Distributed file system such as AWS S3, which most of the other databases dose,

We had to use different PSQL database for large non relational data storage, since it is not the intended purpose of Mysql, so we have to maintain two database systems, it wold be better if mysql can give non transactional support as well for large data storage and analytical use case , so that it can be one stop DBS solution for all data actions.

Filipe F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MySQL review

Reviewed on 31/01/2020

With MySQL i can sell more software because I can sell cheaper, and the performance is the same than others

Pros

MySQL is a great to database and is very very powerfull
I use it everyday on my work when I develop web applications for my clients
MySQL is reliable and have some great admistration tools with great value
MySQL works very good and uses less system resources than other similar softwares

Cons

MySQL have all that I need to do my work perfect with less cost than others similar softwares
MySQL works great for web applications, with good performance

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

MySQL works great on windows and linux, uses less system resources than other softwares

Switched From

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

With MySQL I have the same performance with less cost
James L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Stellar platform. A bit of a learning curve when downloading to get the right tools.

Reviewed on 08/12/2019

Compared with 20 years of Microsoft SQL database work, the switch to MySQL was far superior. Code level language . Remote administration is vastly superior to Microsoft SQL.

Pros

The platform is stable - always working. Documentation is consistent. Updates are coherent and stable. We use it in 95% of all our projects, and it has been a life saver for our bottom line.

Cons

Choosing the right tool to download was confusing. Obviously written by developers instead of management. I'd suggest a 2-4 step process to help in choosing the right packages. The setup process could use a bit more explanation and be more lucid.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Workflow speed, cost, support, quick learning curve. Support by ISP's is better, cheaper. Online resources are plentiful and free.

Switched From

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

The two primary reasons were: Cost and workflow speed
Ryan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MySQL is hands down the best free database software

Reviewed on 30/10/2019

Overall, MySQL isn't always the right choice, but for startup applications and smaller projects, it's the best. Over time you have to learn when to use certain database software, but as a general rule of thumb, MySQL absolutely can handle anything with some configuration and the price is incredible (free). Personally, I've done research on JSON based databases and they lack structure and make things a pain in the long run, which is why I'm only mentioning MySQL and SQL Server in this review. There are other similar acceptable alternatives such as postgres but I've never had reason to use them over MySQL.

Pros

- If you structure your database correctly, it's very stable
- It's free, and there are MySQL derivatives (MariaDB) that are even more powerful
- The xtradb database engine in MariaDB (a derivative of MySQL) is incredibly fast
- You can do things quickly and have some data integrity risks on small projects, or you can do things properly and have virtually no risk on mission critical applications
- VERY easy to scale and setup database clusters and replication, especially in all of the cloud providers

Cons

- The barrier for entry is too low, causing MySQL and MariaDB to get a bad rep because inexperienced users take advantage of its simplicity
- Performance isn't on par with MSSQL/SQL Server without a ton of configuring

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB, SQLite, PostgreSQL and Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

I don't always choose MySQL over SQL Server, there are definitely cases where one beats the other, but if I had to choose to go with one for the rest of my life, I'd go with MySQL. As for the others, I tend to avoid any NoSQL or JSON based databases for anything other than front-end quick tasks that don't require security and only have one primary key to obtain all data, and in those cases, Firebase is always the victor hands down.
Mitul S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Robust and easy to implement

Reviewed on 28/10/2019

Robust, easy to use, fast and reliable. Easy to develop stored procedures and triggers

Pros

One of the best features of MySQL is that it's easy to configure and start using. I found less of connectivity issues as compared to sql sever or Oracle. Also its platform independent

Cons

Terms used for components and features like schema and database is different than what is used in other dbms. If someone is new and migrating from SQL server or Oracle to this software, they will find the nomenclature a little confusing

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

My application requirement was easily achievable through CMS which was based on WAMP server.

Switched From

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

As mentioned above, my web application was easy to implement using CMS which used WAMP server that had mysql