MySQL

4.6 (2,050)
One database service for transactions, analytics, and ML

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(2,050)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

2050 Reviews for UK Users

Adam
Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful FOSS RDBMS

Reviewed on 11/03/2021

My experience with MySQL has been positive. I haven't found an application that it wasn't suited...

My experience with MySQL has been positive. I haven't found an application that it wasn't suited for yet. It has allowed us to move the majority of our systems off of Windows servers onsite to the cloud. Additionally it's compatible with ArouraDB which allows us to safe money with non production sites.

Pros

I've used both Microsoft SQL Server and Oracle and what I liked most about MySQL, aside from my personal preference for it's syntax, is that it runs well on all platforms and is easy to setup and maintain. MSSQL limits you to Windows servers and while Oracle will run on various platforms it is difficult to setup and maintain.

Cons

What I like least about MySQL is that backing up and restoring databases is a pain. You basically have to dump the database to a text file that contains every SQL statement needed to recreate the database. I also feel like the MySQL dataconnector for .NET Core isn't well developed or supported. Also MSSQL and Oracle have more ease of use functions when programming.

Torikul
Torikul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MySQL is the world's most popular free open source database

Reviewed on 23/09/2021

It's simply perfect that was able to fulfil my needs. Basically, I use the MySQL database for web...

It's simply perfect that was able to fulfil my needs. Basically, I use the MySQL database for web development purposes, It was so helpful for me so far. My overall experience is really remarkable with the MySQL database.

Pros

MySQL is so easy to use and comfortable, even a lot suitable for the WordPress platforms. I like how this database has organized everything, backup process, data replacement, adding or deleting tables, find out the important data even query. If I want to do something, I can write some code as commands and all done. This database supports a query language too.

Cons

There are no cons I've noticed with the MySQL database. But I think it should be easier because newbies will get confused while using and learning MySQL. With little knowledge, you can't manage and control the MySQL database.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Almost all my sites run on MySQL

Reviewed on 30/04/2019

I hardly think about MySQL because that is how it functions - quietly and in the background 24/7....

I hardly think about MySQL because that is how it functions - quietly and in the background 24/7. But MySQL is an totally ESSENTIAL part of my online presence, as my websites would immediately cease functioning without MySQL. It is that important! While it does its job most of time, if there are errors in MySQL for whatever reason, then to repair the problem can become a bit expensive. Apart from this small risk, MySQL is one of those "must-have" software if you run any independently hosted websites online.

Pros

MySQL is the standard database software used by virtually all the PHP-based scripts for database creation and functioning. It is a standard add-on software for most webhosts as part of the cPanel plan. As long as you are not hacked, the database software works quietly in the background 24/7 and delivers your website to the world. As an "add-on" software it is free in that sense (or may be part of my monthly hosting fees), but this is a trivial point. MySQL is like a set-and-forget kind of software, and indispensable to nearly all webmasters.

Cons

The database is not very efficient, and this often leads to errors, if some script overloads it or if your website is hacked and compromised. If there is too much traffic, things also can break down.

As anything database related is hard to repair, it is best to get an expert on MySQL, who can be expensive, to fix any issues in the database. Many additional plugins create further tables or rows in MySQL which remain there for life even if the plugin is removed later on. This leads to bloat in the database.

Enrico
Enrico
Overall rating
  • Industry: Translation & Localization
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Quick and easy database management solution

Reviewed on 16/01/2024

We set up a MySQL database to store and query data from our application, which writes daily to the...

We set up a MySQL database to store and query data from our application, which writes daily to the DB. We never had any issue with it, which is just great.

Pros

MySQL consistently delivers exceptional performance, making it an ideal choice for a wide range of applications, from small-scale projects to large enterprise systems. Its optimized query execution, indexing mechanisms, and caching strategies contribute to efficient data retrieval and manipulation.

Cons

Fine-tuning settings for optimal performance can require in-depth knowledge, and improper configurations may impact system stability.

Joel
Joel
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The simple way to manage data

Reviewed on 30/05/2023

Pros

In first time it's open source and it capacity of large amount of data management

Cons

Cluster creation is not simple to manage

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Incompatibility on somes features and hosting problem

Switched From

MariaDB

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Simplicity
Jose Miguel
Jose Miguel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Can't go wrong with MySQL (for PHP or Java projects)

Reviewed on 16/12/2019

So far, its been good. MySQL is an easy to use and configure Database, with a huge community and...

So far, its been good. MySQL is an easy to use and configure Database, with a huge community and resources.

Pros

The infinite documentation for any OS/Language combination to develop with MySQL is astonishing.
You just need to go to google and search your question regarding a problem or a best practice with MySQL and you will find it, for sure.
Installation is a breeze in any OS I installed on. Just a few clicks and you are done. If you got lost (hardly), google it and have your answer.

Cons

You still need to work with plain text files for advanced configurations.
Stability its been improved with each release, but hurts performance by little.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server and PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Documentation and Community its the best for an Open Source RDBMS
Ramon
Ramon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

FLEXIBLE DATABASE

Reviewed on 02/08/2019

We have a financial application and the database used is mysql, we have many simultaneous requests

We have a financial application and the database used is mysql, we have many simultaneous requests

Pros

Main database, with numerous configuration possibilities, from login type, to different backups and exportation;

Cons

Simple tasks such as INSERT, SELECT, UPDATE, and DELETE are easy to understand, but replication and other tasks require a little more dedication.

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB and PostgreSQL

Switched From

MongoDB

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Unindexed databases like mongo are sometimes not as effective, it is necessary to analyze the task. In the situation in which it was compared, you could not use it. It was chosen from postgres, because of the familiarity of the programmers.
Abdul Wahab
Abdul Wahab
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MySQL-AWKT

Reviewed on 28/12/2020

I am saving disk space. I am experiencing fast database server. I am experiencing the compatibility...

I am saving disk space. I am experiencing fast database server. I am experiencing the compatibility with multiple operating systems.

Pros

I like most the speed of MySQL and capability to support multiple kind of operating systems on various machines

Cons

I don't find anything to dislike in MySQL till yet in my throughout experience.

Raj
Raj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Database Management using MySQL

Reviewed on 25/10/2022

Pros

Database queries are easy to understand and write in MySQL. It is widely used as a database management software and thus, has very good community support.

Cons

The time required for query processing is more if the dataset is very large. Sometimes the error messages prompted by MySQL are difficult to understand.

Fernando Manoel
Fernando Manoel
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MySQL is an excellent DBMS

Reviewed on 26/03/2022

my experience with MySQL is very satisfactory

my experience with MySQL is very satisfactory

Pros

In addition to being free, it has excellent community support. It is a very robust and fast-response DBMS.

Cons

There are functionality that can be simplified and merged for higher performance with fewer persistence runs

Alternatives Considered

Aiven for PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

For the strength and support of the community
Austin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MySQL, a Great Free Database Option

Reviewed on 18/07/2019

I created a custom database from scratch that tracks inventory assets for the company of which I am...

I created a custom database from scratch that tracks inventory assets for the company of which I am currently employed. I also created a couple others that track IT tasks and admin activities.

Pros

Easy to use, syntax is easy to remember, database structure can be built quickly and there is a plethora of tools available to help

Cons

Syntax took some learning, syntax errors sometimes unclear as to what the error actually is. Not a problem if using Workbench

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Easier to use and set up. Free and allows for more growth than SQL Server w/o having to pay to upgrade.

Switched From

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

MySQL was free, less resource heavy, and the syntax was slightly easier. Tools were also more user friendly.
Mitul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Robust and easy to implement

Reviewed on 28/10/2019

Robust, easy to use, fast and reliable. Easy to develop stored procedures and triggers

Robust, easy to use, fast and reliable. Easy to develop stored procedures and triggers

Pros

One of the best features of MySQL is that it's easy to configure and start using. I found less of connectivity issues as compared to sql sever or Oracle. Also its platform independent

Cons

Terms used for components and features like schema and database is different than what is used in other dbms. If someone is new and migrating from SQL server or Oracle to this software, they will find the nomenclature a little confusing

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

My application requirement was easily achievable through CMS which was based on WAMP server.

Switched From

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

As mentioned above, my web application was easy to implement using CMS which used WAMP server that had mysql
Dima
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MySQL is the best relational database language out there!

Reviewed on 10/09/2021

In my few years of experience with MySQL I hightly recommend it! It is a very powervul and...

In my few years of experience with MySQL I hightly recommend it! It is a very powervul and versatile tool to manage your data on the server.

Pros

Wow where to start! The two main highlights are the ability to create highly customizable indexed data tables and the ability to query them in incredibly flexible ways!

When one creates a table in MySQL, one has an option to create a primary key which is unique for every record in that table. That can then be used to easily search and reference the data in that table. One can also mark other data columns as indexed and make them unique, for instance the email column. That will prevent duplicate records. And one can reference other tables' primary keys from one table - this is called a foreign key - allowing for one-to-one, one-to-many and many-to-many relationships.

In terms of queries, one of the most powerful tools is the JOIN command. This allows one to append multiple tables to one another, using the foreign key feature. The combinations and the flexibility that this allows is out of this world as you can extract data from any number of tables into a custom table-like result with surgical precision.

If you consider using MySQL, do yourself a favour and study JOIN and how to use it with foreign keys.

Cons

I think the biggest downside to MySQL is that there is quite a learning curve. You need to be good with structuring and organising data in theory/planning first before you approach this database language. It is only a tool, it will not do the design and architecture for you. Once you know what you want, you need to work through some tutorials and code examples to understand how to use MySQL. There are good database managers that use MySQL, suchas DBeaver or HeidiSQL, that will greatly assit you in the process - but you still have to understand how to write custom queries, so take some time to learn the language. If you don't have the time, consider maybe MS Excel or MS Access - less flexibility, but also a smaller learning curve.

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

MS Access is a very expensive software and MySQL is free of charge via installation packages, such as WAMP or XAMPP.

Switched From

Microsoft Access

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

MySQL is relational while MongoDB is non-relational. When working with larger and more complex data, the concept of indexing and foreign keys becomes indispensable and this is something that non-relational MongoDB does not offer.
Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

From small php pages to big data

Reviewed on 16/02/2021

We are using mysql in many installations. From very small php sites to big data stuff - it's always...

We are using mysql in many installations. From very small php sites to big data stuff - it's always the same database engine!

Pros

It's so easy to setup. Just install via package manager and you are up and running. If you need more features, just customize the setup files. Replication, Backup, all is working out of the box.

Cons

Creating a database and adding a new user must be done in sql. For this step an installer/menu would be great since I've to do this very often.

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Setup is so much easier than oracle.

Switched From

Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Mysql is the default database of so many php frameworks.
Toby
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

You're better with postgres

Reviewed on 05/07/2021

I'm grateful to mysql as it's free - but I feel like it's had it's day as a database, and there's...

I'm grateful to mysql as it's free - but I feel like it's had it's day as a database, and there's better open source options out there.

Pros

Mysql is easy to set up, as things like access controls are generally very simple. Thought that benefit is quickly lost if you need more complex controls.

There's a couple of nice features about the mysql syntax that I like - e.g. being able to insert and update using the SET command.

Cons

Having using postgres and mysql in parallel on two similar applications, I regularly wish we'd migrated out of mysql years ago. Postgres is a little harder to set up, but then it works. I can't think of a time when I've had to go trawling through internet forums or manuals trying to explain some weird database bug. Mysql on the other hand frequently introduces it's own strange little bugs into the mix, which we've had to work around.

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

I thought it would be easier. In the short term it was, but it was a bad choice.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Strong and Open Source RDBMS

Reviewed on 25/03/2023

In MySql you create the database first, then the tables, and then you add records to the tables...

In MySql you create the database first, then the tables, and then you add records to the tables before you can query them, following the traditional structure of the Relational Database Management System.So it is flexible to operate .

Pros

It is free software and also open-source. It's much faster and lighter than MsSQL. It is extremely easy to use and comprehend. It's easy to set up, use, and run. The structure of the language is remarkably similar to that of English sentences.

Cons

I think some of the error messages are so broad that they cannot accurately describe the issue. Some error messages are more bizarre than the problem itself. At times, it creates a sense of insecurity.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

It's free. Simple to use. Simple to set up. Build a large community. Additionally I'm now exceptionally acquainted with the item, its punctuation and orders.
Bhavik
Bhavik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Great Database for an organisation's need.

Reviewed on 15/09/2019

My overall experience with MySQL is very positive and owing to the high performance and low...

My overall experience with MySQL is very positive and owing to the high performance and low operational cost, I would love to work on MySQL again.

Pros

The best thing about MySQL is that it is Open Source. The total cost of ownership in a production environment is very low and performance wise, it is very high performance database. Also, the support for MySQL over the internet is vast and very helpful.

Cons

The thing I like the least about MySQL is it requires a steep learning curve and one must be familiar with SQL concepts in order to use it efficiently. Also, for complex business logic, it tends to get very hard to handle.

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB and PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

The prior experience with SQL helped us choose MySQL over other products. Also, MySQL has a great transactional support, which was a basic requirement in our case.
Monish
Monish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Will Developed Relational Database System which supports Transactions

Reviewed on 26/04/2020

Had a great experience with Mysql, since it has been the core of transaction systems

Had a great experience with Mysql, since it has been the core of transaction systems

Pros

Mysql is Transactional, you can commit or revert a set of actions in a transaction,
it has well implemented all the Transactional feature such as primary key, foreign keys, indexing etc ...
so we mainly use mysql for data collection from realtime interactions with the end user,
Its Hibernate support gives a edge on realtime interactions,

Mysql provides many type of JDBC/ODBC jars, using which it can be integrated to any type of tools and languages,

Mysql has a desktop application called Mysql Workbench for performing all the operations on mysql, it comes in handy if you don't remember some of the commands (like migrations , dumping, updating row etc ..), also it provides schema visualisations,
tables and its columns are listed which can be dragged into the editor, which makes the mysql to be easily used and reduces the developers time involved in operational work and improves development efficiency,

There are lot of other friendly tools such as WAMP/XAMP etc, which can be used for learning purposes,
and Mysql has a huge community support

Cons

Mysql dose not support data transfer between DB and Distributed file system such as AWS S3, which most of the other databases dose,

We had to use different PSQL database for large non relational data storage, since it is not the intended purpose of Mysql, so we have to maintain two database systems, it wold be better if mysql can give non transactional support as well for large data storage and analytical use case , so that it can be one stop DBS solution for all data actions.

Carlos
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MySQL: free relational database manager

Reviewed on 14/08/2020

MySQL is a free relational database manager. I use it daily to manage data for several web...

MySQL is a free relational database manager. I use it daily to manage data for several web applications (most commonly, by pairing it with PHP). It's fast and versatile enough to meet all my needs in different scenarios and for different types of data (e.g. client databases and many others).

Pros

In my opinion, MySQL has the following main advantages:

1. It's versatile and adapts to different use cases. Although MySQL is most commonly used to manage data for web applications (in what's called LAMP: Linux, Apache, MySQL, PHP), it's really a jack-of-all-trades that one can use in different scenarios.

2. It's rock-solid. MySQL and its featured stability have both passed the test of time; the software was created 25 years ago and it's already in its 8th version.

3. It makes use of current technologies. Although it's "old", MySQL uses current database technologies, like multi-byte characters and different data-handling engines.

4. It's popular. MySQL is in the default repositories of most Linux-based operating systems, and there's plenty of documentation about it.

5. It's free. MySQL offers a fully-functional, free "community" version.

Cons

The way I see it, MySQL has two disadvantages:

1. Depending on the amount of data it handles and on how many clients connect to it, MySQL can use a lot of resources, effectively becoming a server hog and therefore requiring a powerful computer/server.

2. MySQL isn't exactly the easiest software to install and manage; it requires quite some technical knowledge.

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

Familiarity with the software.
Vincent
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fast and reliable relational DBMS

Reviewed on 18/10/2022

Overall postiive experience - it just works once configured correctly. Even easier to use AWS RDS /...

Overall postiive experience - it just works once configured correctly. Even easier to use AWS RDS / Aurora for managed Mysql Instances.

Pros

Flexibility and 1st level support from most application servers via JDBC ODBC connectorsMost cloud providers offer Mysql as SaSS or additions to PaSS offerings - so in terms of reducing costs to run mysql instances, these can be placed under op expenditure.

Cons

Standalone product support can get expensive (from Oracle).Database restore for master/slave replication can get complex with bin log files manual adjustments being required to fully sync replication.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle PeopleSoft and PostgreSQL

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

Application support requirements

Switched From

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

ease and 1st level support by application.
Joseph
Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Agrxis Review on MySQL

Reviewed on 17/05/2023

My experience with MySQL has led me to believe that it is a superb database management system that...

My experience with MySQL has led me to believe that it is a superb database management system that has significantly improved my ability to store and retrieve data. My preferred option for managing massive datasets and sophisticated queries is MySQL because of how simple it is to install and configure, as well as its solid features and great performance. The broad range of services and the strong sense of community support have been crucial in helping me overcome any obstacles I faced. Due to MySQL's adaptability, I am able to effectively manage a wide range of applications, from little side projects to sophisticated business solutions. Because of its dependability, scalability, and extensive security features, I can rest easy knowing that my data is well-protected.

Pros

I am quite amazed by MySQL and the outstanding features it provides. MySQL has played a significant role in my professional development as a database management system by giving me a dependable and effective platform for storing, managing, and retrieving data. My favorite aspects of MySQL are its scalability and robustness. It is able to handle high data quantities with ease, ensuring optimal performance even in demanding settings. MySQL is an excellent option for both small-scale projects and enterprise-level applications due to its simplicity of use and flexibility. Its broad support for a variety of platforms and programming languages enables me to easily include it into my current software ecosystem.

Cons

Even while my overall experience with MySQL has been favorable, there have been a few things that I've found difficult or that could be done better. I thought the complexity of managing and establishing replication setups was one area that needed improvement. In some cases, setting up and maintaining replication in MySQL requires complex setups and a thorough understanding of the architecture.

Carlos Aogusto
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent database management system

Reviewed on 16/04/2018

I am a developer of systems under web environment, and in many opportunities I use the MySQL...

I am a developer of systems under web environment, and in many opportunities I use the MySQL database manager, it is a fundamental tool in my team for a long time.

Pros

MySQL is open source software that allows anyone to use it and modify it. Anyone can download the MySQL source code and use it without paying. Anyone interested can study the source code and adjust it to their needs.

MySQl is a relational, multi-threaded and multi-user database system with more than six million installations and is widely used in web applications, such as Drupal or phpBB, on platforms (Linux / Windows-Apache-MySQL-PHP / Perl / Python)

Its popularity as a web application is mostly related to PHP, which usually appears in combination with MySQL.

This database manager is one of the best in terms of performance since the speed of opreciones is very good.

You can be executed in low-resource machines since the consumption of requirements for its execution is very low.

It supports several opertative systems and is very easy to install and configure.

There are a number of good quality software tools that provide management and development workspace functions. MySQL Workbench and TOAD for MySQL are good examples.

Being open source there is a large amount of help on the Internet and this should help to reduce, in a production environment, incident handling times. Also, a lot of information so that your development team can read.

Cons

A large percentage of MySQL utilities are not documented.

The support for triggers is basic so there are certain limitations in what can be done with them.

By handling referential integrity with non-transactional MyISAM tables.
It does not treat them differently from the rest of the fields.

Privileges for a table are not automatically deleted when a table is deleted.

A REVOKE command must be explicitly used to remove privileges from a table.

Kwabena
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Feature rich and easy to use database management system

Reviewed on 01/04/2023

My experience with MySQL has been amazing.

My experience with MySQL has been amazing.

Pros

MySQL is easy to install and configure. You can quickly set it up in no time.

Cons

So far for our usage, we are satisfied with the features.

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL and Oracle Database

Reasons for Choosing MySQL

It was not cost effective for our usage

Switched From

Microsoft SQL Server

Reasons for Switching to MySQL

It was simple to setup and use.
Aníbal
Aníbal
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

MySQL is very fast and powerful for small and medium projects

Reviewed on 07/07/2018

I have had many benefits of Mysql, my first mysql for professional use, I have installed many...

I have had many benefits of Mysql, my first mysql for professional use, I have installed many systems using Mysql from content managers to web applications made to measure, I have grown with mysql for many years using it both to work in companies and for particular jobs for companies. clients I have won the congratulations of my bosses as well as promotions and congratulations from my client for certain jobs

Pros

Mysql has been my favorite database since I started programming, it's easy to install, it's simple to find an application that connects to the database and do the administration in graphical mode, many content managers and e-commerce stores use mysql by default and has helped me carry out several projects, I like that most hosting providers have MySQL support at no additional cost. It is free this is important to reduce the costs in the projects. Mysql is certainly fast and light, the installation requirements are minimal and with few resources, I have used it in Windows and Linux without any problem in both, but the host operating system has never been a limitation and I use it in a Linux environment every time it's possible. Something I like a lot is the documentation that there is of all kinds, which helps the administration and the development of new applications.

Cons

I think that mysql needs to improve in terms of the variety of data types in other databases. I find more complex types of data that are sometimes necessary, another point that should be improved is the power of the procedures that I consider limited compared to those of others. Other brands. Since Oracle bought mysql, the community is not sure about the future of this software, so it has created mistrust in me and I do not like this.

Akhil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple review of MySQL

Reviewed on 10/05/2022

I use MySQL in numerous individual activities, similar to my computerized house project. It was a...

I use MySQL in numerous individual activities, similar to my computerized house project. It was a generally excellent decision, I'm content with this. Over the long haul you need to realize when to utilize specific information base programming, however when in doubt of thumb, MySQL totally can deal with anything with a few design and the cost is unbelievable.

Pros

Whenever one makes a table in MySQL, one has a choice to make an essential key which is one of a kind for each record in that table. That can then be utilized to look and reference the information in that table without any problem. One can likewise stamp different information sections as ordered and make them one of a kind, for example the email segment. That will forestall copy records. Furthermore, one can reference other tables' essential keys from one table - this is known as an unfamiliar key - taking into consideration coordinated, one-to-numerous and many-to-numerous connections. It is extremely simple to learn and utilize. It is extremely simple to introduce, arrange and make due. The grammar is extremely indistinguishable from similar we use sentences in English. Holding huge information in tables is able. It is without best data set with big business level elements.

Cons

First and greatest cons is that MySQL isn't reasonable for huge measure of information. It generally experienced despite everything experience issues performing complex joins. Data set might get debased under certain situations when critical choices is performed same time as different clients perform clumps of supplements/refreshes. With immense information, I had confronted information misfortune and inappropriate information recovery yet it is exceptionally uncommon and sensible.