DBeaver

4.4 (39)
Work with data in a professional way.

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(39)
Value for Money
4.7/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

97%
recommended this app
Sort by

39 Reviews for UK Users

Diego S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The swiss army knife of database manager

Reviewed on 06/05/2021

I just love DBeaver so much that i recommend it to all the people that ask for a database manager. It makes my life easier and working with it is fun and easy!! My life as data scientist is much easier with this tool around!

Pros

It has so many features that I find very useful, for example the query editor with output and object explorer is fabulous. But the most impressive feature is its connectivity to almost any database engine, from a SQLite to a Postgres database or Microsoft sql. Also there is a build in feature to manage the table schemas and data model to change data types and modify or add relationships!! I forgot also to mention the performance monitoring this is great to see how is the database performing. Dbeaver is a full feature database manager.

Cons

Not much, only that if you open two instances of the same app it shows an error of the driver being in use, but there is no need for doing this.

Charmy S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great database management tool!

Reviewed on 20/04/2022

Best in the market for database management and schema maintenance. Easy to use.

Pros

Satisfied enough with DBeaver. Helpful enough for editing database and can easily develop production deployment scripts. I have used the free version and has proved to be extremely useful and works very well. Satisfied with the tool and helps save a lot of time.

Additionally, another compelling advantage of using DBeaver is auto-completion of keywords and formatting at the time of writing queries. You can even easily connect to Snowflake and other servers. in case of any queries, we can easily contact the community.

Cons

At times, it may happen that exact errors are not provided in the queries. No export feature available.

Hector A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Best OpenSource DBMS

Reviewed on 31/03/2021

As a database developer is really complete, open-source, and relatively easy to use, has its issues, but if you wait for your OS (Especially MacOS) to be officially supported is a great tool for the job, really complete.

Pros

Is really complete, support several database engines, from Oracle to MariaDB, Supports Packages On MariaDB using Oracle Syntax (The only one I used supporting this), It can generate ER Diagrams of the tables on a database, easy to add new connections since it downloads the drivers by itself.

Cons

Kinda buggy especially when a new OS is released, had a lot of problems when BigSur came out, they released fixes every couple of weeks, and now is fully compatible with big sur, I wish it had an option to export the ERD diagrams as UMLs to be used with Visual Paradigm and other diagramming software.

Masoud D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Free cross-platform database management tool that is on par with expensive alternatives

Reviewed on 11/04/2022

Pros

It supports connecting to a huge number of database engines which makes it very useful as it reduces your dependency on multiple tools to achieve the same goal.
The query result pane is very user-friendly and feature-rich too as it allows you to filter results, store them in different formats, generate queries based on them and a lot more in a single pane while meeting the user-friendliness goals.
The auto-completion is just fantastic as it always suggests the best and the most relevant results.
Creating projects is also supported which makes DBeaver a must-have for database developers and database administrators.
The updates are frequent enough to deal with the bugs and reported issues and also to add new features to this amazing database management tool.

Cons

The default shortcuts could be improved to match the more mainstream tools on the market but as you can edit and customise them, I don't see a huge problem here.

Giovanni P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

very good tool for manage different databases

Reviewed on 16/07/2021

A very good tool for managing different environments and database languages, it allows you to organize the connections in an efficient way, quickly identifying which environment you are working on, it has points of improvement but one of the best tools that I have tried for the database.

Pros

It is a fairly easy to understand graphic tool that allows you to connect to almost any database language. It has multiple functionalities such as query plan that allows you to know the execution time of your queries.
Allows you to customize the different environments that you set in the connections allowing you to identify which one you are working on.
It also has multiple export results, allowing you to import it from a csv to a simple plain text file.

Cons

Some of its many features are only available for certain database languages, thus reducing the experience you may have with some languages such as SYBASE, which for example does not support a query plan for this language.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best tool for Postgresql

Reviewed on 31/05/2022

Pros

Easily connect to postgresql servers and query is faster. It has good number of options to connect and edit the query,

Cons

There is alot of options in the settings but they are too complex to understand, hence it's not much useful as they are hidden in the plain sight for the new users

Bipashyana P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Coolest SQL tool

Reviewed on 31/05/2022

Everyday devlopment changes and quick interactions with all rdbms

Pros

It helped to integrate my all different type of rdbms .
Single place to work with all servers.easy to setup procedure and functions.
Object er diagrams.

Cons

Still everything looks fine.since this is a free software in its class.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best SQL Tool

Reviewed on 10/05/2022

It helped me for all of my daily activities and working with all RDBMS on a single GUI/Platform.The experience so far is quite helpful in every way.

Pros

The feature to add any kind of RDBMS and get the best features available out there . For Free.!
The ER diagram is the best representation and the easy to see all the objects.

Cons

Did not came across any cons since its free to use.!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easily view your local db

Reviewed on 26/05/2022

Pros

I wanted some database viewer that's easy to setup and view/edit my local environment data for different purposes like testing, and this software did just that.

Cons

The UI could be improved on especially the icons because some of them are confusing and I always have to hover over them to see what they do.

Ryan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

DBeaver made me feel a lot more official as a SQL developer

Reviewed on 09/06/2022

It has been really good at helping me get a quick look at the databases that I query frequently. Often I will build my query in DBeaver and then integrate the query into production elsewhere

Pros

I like that it is really organized. I have tried using other ODBC software but this is the first one that felt like there was serious thought that went into its development.

Cons

It takes a really long time to open up.

Andy B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Multiplatform Database Tool

Reviewed on 29/04/2021

Pros

Great database tool that lets you connect and manage PostgreSQL databases and many others (MySql, Oracle, SqlServer etc. ). I've tested a lot of PostgreSQL tools and this is the most reliable and most fully featured one I've tried. Supports transactions, parameters for queries, exports, imports and more.

Cons

Some updates have been buggy, but they fix it quickly. I usually wait 10 days now before installing an update.

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Choosing DBeaver

Couldn't get the PostgreSQL installer to work on my new laptop.

Switched From

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Switching to DBeaver

Had a good installer and just worked out of the box.
Rakesh R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

an application that's 100 percentage developer friendly

Reviewed on 07/03/2021

This tool will help to mitigate most of the production database issues in a quick time and found it to be one of the most reliable and staple tool.

Pros

complex operations such as setting relations, key words primary keys.. these things can be easily done with dbeaver and there is a space in this tool which allow you to run separate queries as sections or instances and also save and categories all the queries so that you could use it in future and the connection setup is also good based on other applications which you have to go through complex steps and all
and if you wanna edit the schema of a particular table all the functions are available in it with specific instructions so that you won't get stuck in between.
and if you are stuck somewhere there are plenty of forum's with which you could find instant helps and all

Cons

user interface isn't that much of an engaging type,would have been better if they improve the UI

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

DBeaver is a great universal database manager

Reviewed on 10/07/2021

When you need to quickly look in a database / table,especially when it is not the RDBMS that you are using most of the time, DBeaver is great. It's eclipse based so familiar to java developers. The easy of making a connection (wizard / guided) allows everyone to work with it.

Pros

DBeaver is really a great tool to work with. I am using the community version and the way it allows for making connections to databases is great. Whenever you want to make a connection it for instance, will download driver when needed. The support for RDBMS is great and even H2 (a flat file dbms) is supported which is great. It allows for server connections to H2 as well as regular. A lot of RDBMS are supported. Even LDAP can be connected to. The ERD functionality is helpful in showing relationship between databases.

Cons

Not that much not to like. The only database i did not see (and that i know) is IMS DB (from the 1960) but in theory that should also be possible since there is a JDBC for that database. Working with the data en executing queries and commands take a little effort but that is about it.

Ben H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Free App For Managing Databases

Reviewed on 06/07/2021

Overall, I have found DBeaver to be a valuable part of my daily work flow. It is updated regularly and bugs are fixed quickly. I would recommend DBeaver to anyone looking for a simple, easy to use DB editor.

Pros

I love the ease of use of DBeaver. I use it on a daily basis to manage several MariaDB databases. It works great on Kubuntu and has become my goto tool for database management. It remembers tabs for my next session, has an easy SQL editor with autocompletion and is straight forward to run through a proxy.

Cons

On occasion, I have had problems creating both MySql events and procedures using Dbeaver. In both cases I have had to resort to the MySql command prompt and then confirm through DBeaver. A minor annoyance as these are unusual use cases for me.

Neha F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dbeaver - Free, easy to connect across multi platforms

Reviewed on 11/03/2022

Pros

connecting across multi platforms, open source. Love the auto complete feature, makes it easy and time saving to query multiple columns without having to remember the metadata

Cons

Real time errors, dbeaver invalidates the working database having to re open the application. UI could be better and intuitive

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server
Sabareesh K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

DBeaver - One Data Management Solution for multiple databases

Reviewed on 20/11/2021

We are using DBeaver for last 2 years and the whole Engineering team easily adapted this tool to connect multiple databases

Pros

We can easily use this software to connect any database solutions. We are currently using to connect Postgres, Yellowbrick and VoltDB where the jdbc drivers can be automatically download from the driver location. Even the Hadoop connect also supported using this tool which is really awesome

Cons

Sometimes we are feeling the software will get stuck when we are querying for larger dataset especially when we are using this for the analytics querries. Performance tuning should be taken care.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Dbeaver review by D Analyst and Engineering

Reviewed on 01/07/2021

Pros

The most I liked about this software was Cloud engineering.

Cons

The least I liked about this software was the features.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great DBMS tool for many platforms

Reviewed on 23/01/2022

A nice free DB tool for multiple platform. You can do all the sql operations you want to do simply in DBeaver.

Pros

I've been using free version of dbeaver since 2018. First of all, it is very good that the product is multiplatform. I can easily use it on my windows, ubuntu and macbook m1 devices. SQL editor is successfully designed. Software receives frequent updates. It is also nice that the free version of this product is opensource project.

Cons

Sometimes import, export data and may be causing the problem. Also UI may seem a bit confusing for first-timers.

Mickey V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Perfect tool for daily data pulls

Reviewed on 12/07/2021

Pros

DBeaver saves all your work in the exact state that you left it before closing. This makes it very convenient to pick up where you left when you start a new day of work. Only when queries themselves are altered does it ask you to specifically save your work.

Cons

Some expertise on database management is requirement if one would like to use this software. That makes it a less popular choice for people that only need to do simple queries on a daily base to get their work done.

Mariana R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Most powerful querying database software I ever used

Reviewed on 12/06/2021

I enjoy every moment I use the software sometimes I feel like a professional doing my queries!! The best thing is that the User interface helps a lot with generating SQL: most interactable objects have a “generate SQL” Wizard that does as it says converts any filtering or selection you are doing to a nice SQL query that you can use then on your Editor, what can be more powerful than that!!?? I am learning SQL just by using it!

Pros

I love how easy is to setup the database connection, some other features are hard to come by but most of the features I use as just data analysis are easy to use. I love how tables can be seen as an interactive excel table and to be able to apply filters without having to write SQL at all!! Dbeaver is a very easy to learn for non-technical people.

Cons

There is so many thing that can be done with the software that I wish there was a analyst view or some limited version so I don’t risk on doing something wrong to the databases, something I don’t use that much but I don’t like how the software seems overcrowded of features.

Rabinson G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Database Management

Reviewed on 24/02/2021

Pros

Quick and easy setup for database connections. The script editor is quite handy for complex queries.

Cons

For importing or export it prompt some weird configuration which I don't understand why and also I could solve that config problem so I could use that feautere.

Jorge C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy and intuitive tool

Reviewed on 01/06/2021

I am very happy with the software, is one of my principal tools for a quick look up of a relationship in a data model or a simple query.

Pros

All in all, softwares I could try, this one is the most easy and intuitive of all of them. The installation is very easy and don't takes too much space.

Cons

It has some issues when you place a query and when the filters on a database active

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Pretty robust but there are better alternatives

Reviewed on 08/02/2021

I used this for almost a year before switching to MySQL. Overall i prefer that over this software.

Pros

The availability for Ubuntu has been a lifesaver. I usually use another piece of software for writing queries but theyre not available for Ubuntu. The UI and the easy navigation is quite helpful

Cons

If there was a better filtering system implemented, i wouldve recommended this to every DB users. That wouldve made life a lot easier

Nemanja P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple and reliable

Reviewed on 08/09/2021

Pros

Checking SQL codes was never easier for me since I started using DBeaver.

Cons

Could grow and add some new features, since the existing ones are not really advanced.

Mahonri G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Railroad Manufacture
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Free and extensive Database tool

Reviewed on 19/05/2021

After I personalized and customized the environment and preferences it was very easy to work with this database administration tool. It also helps you when you encounter errors in your coding, it gives you very useful hints.

Pros

I like this SQL software application because is free and very extensive. It's easy to use once you set the environment down and all customize the way you want to work. I also like that it supports a variety of databases especially PostgreSQL

Cons

The only thing I think of it's the actual setting up, it could be a hassle. Also, if you are working with multiple databases, you have to set as default the one you want to work on every time you close and open DBeaver