Snowflake

4.7 (39)
Cloud data platform for tech professionals and businesses

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(39)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

97%
recommended this app

39 Reviews for UK Users

Daniel K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Snowflake has been a game changer

Reviewed on 23/11/2021

Snowflake has been a game changer for us. It has enable all kinds of new architectures due to it's fast and low-cost performance. It has eliminated the need for so many maintenance tasks that used to be such a hassle.

Pros

Snowflake is super fast, requires virtually no maintenance (no logs, indexes, tuning, etc.) and the pay per use price model scales perfectly with cyclical workloads which are common in data warehouse applications.

Cons

It does not natively support any real constraints such as uniqueness or referential integrity which requires the user to explicitly check all these things via stored procedures. The SQL worksheet GUI still has remove to improve but they have been rapidly enhancing it. It's not too uncommon to have brief outages but they are usually resolved within a few hours.

Todd G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Snowflake, Unique just like Us

Reviewed on 31/10/2019

My overall experience with Snowflake has been a pleasurable one. Though there have been some frustrations at times I have learned and overcome and become a better programmer, and SQL developer for it. I feel like Snowflake is an old friend now.

Pros

The thing that I like most about this software is really if you can think it you can do it with Snowflake. I mean as long as it deals with data. I first started at my company using oracle and I didn't stick with that for long because we adopted snowflake. When we started using snowflake my knowledge of SQL just jumped sky high. Instead of just selecting from tables, I was using cte's and partitions and all of that fun stuff. Snowflake made it super easy to understand and learn. The ability it has to handle the amount of columns that it does is amazing.

Cons

There is a little bit of a learning curve to get the hang of it. But on the surface it is just like any other sql language and you just have to figure out the different quirks that it has. I wish it could give data instantaneously and read my mind on what I want but that is pretty much impossible so I'm going to stick with what I have.

Tanika S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Save your Data

Reviewed on 16/07/2020

I really like the fact that i can store my data in snowflake and use that to create visualizations in tableau.

Pros

1 - I like the way it stores the big data.
2 - Convenient to connect with tableau for visualizations.

Cons

1 - Costly if data is too big
2 - You can't own the data, you have to depend on the Data Engineering team.

Theresa A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Cloud-Based Relational Database

Reviewed on 13/01/2022

Pros

The convenience of a single data lake that can be sectioned off in any way needed paired with a pricing model that encourages a high volume of data storage and ease of use make Snowflake an enjoyable tool to navigate. They've developed a solid community for knowledge sharing and have experienced, competent staff.

Cons

It can take a minute to remember which admin account needs to be used for performing specific actions. Sometimes pressure may be felt to save multiple queries and run them close together rather than sporadically to minimize computation costs, although after the first minute these are billed by the second and the pressure lessens.

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Redshift

Reasons for Switching to Snowflake

Snowflake rated with higher ease of use for the end user and the pricing plan and capacity made the most sense for a small to mid-sized operation looking to continue growing.
Mithun G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Scalable Datawarehouse in Cloud

Reviewed on 23/06/2021

Pros

Snowflake separation of Storage and Compute is a very important feature. It helps to segregate the compute based on the user groups. Some Reporting users might require high compute whereas others might not.

The fact that we can automatically scale up and scale down based on the need helps to save cost but still achieving the business needs.

Cons

The costing is a little on the higher side. Also, there should be more AI ML packages in Snowflake like there is in other cloud platforms - GCP, AWS, Azure, etc

Nathan patrick T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

A Promising Solution Marred by Poor Support and Pricing Structure

Reviewed on 30/04/2020

From the tech support side, some of the engineers did not know the product well. It took several conversations to resolve simple issues.

Pros

The ability to load data in using tools like Alteryx is a major plus. Snowflake also integrated well with our data science platform. The management of users and access was very simple to use and understand.

Cons

Building out incremental loading was difficult and did not save us time in comparison to our incumbent solution. The pricing structure for usage was nebulous. We did not fully understand the pricing model until that renewal period at the end of the year which included fees that were not mentioned during the sales process.

Mahesh K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Data warehousing and computation as a cloud service

Reviewed on 09/05/2021

This really speeds up your sql computation, since we can use different computation warehouse on a same datasource, which distributes the load, it is a great experience with Snowflake

Pros

This is a cloud database and warehousing service, the syntax of snowflake is like psql,

they have a good community support and good documentations for all the queries,

they are faster than traditional databases, and the are charged separately for compute power and the storage space , which makes it usable in a flexible cost effective manor,

good support team, always respond and try to resolve the issues if any was reported, and also helped us identify any cost saving scope

Cons

The System esoterically shows outage, these type of outages are informed to use by the support team, and they resolve it quickly,

a minute potion of the syntax of sql is slightly different from psql, which makes it hard to migrate the application from different psql service providers

Vishal V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Snowflake - Next generation cloud warehouse

Reviewed on 15/01/2022

Best cloud data warehouse platform at the moment. Love, everything Snowflake has to offer. Easy to build pipelines, data sharing from production to non-prod in seconds, 0-copy cloning in 0-seconds :), amazing time travel, robust security, near real-time data ingestions, flexible compute power, and all possible compliance and certifications we can expect (Hippa/PCI/sox etc) indeed "built for the cloud"

Pros

Snowflake is easy to onboard and adopt, implement, easy to use.

Cons

Limited monitoring capability and data analytics features.

Alternatives Considered

Amazon Redshift

Reasons for Switching to Snowflake

Better pricing and support :)
Shreyansh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review for Snowflake

Reviewed on 22/09/2021

Snowflake is very appropriate assuming your association needs to begin little with negligible speculation, and afterward develop at any speed. It is additionally useful for groups that definitely know SQL from chipping away at another stage, like MS SQL Server. It matches all around well with incorporation errands on account of its local capacity to deal with JSON information, for both import and questioning.

In the event that your instruments can just associate by JDBC (no local Snowflake connector) you might have a few issues with enormous informational collections. This is actually a restriction of utilizing JDBC, not Snowflake, but rather it is something to know about.

Pros

This is a cloud-based application that gives me a safe stage to the simple sharing of information with my customers.

I feel sure to associate with my various colleagues as a result of its high level security and successful programming.

Through this instrument, I am equipped for incorporating, dissecting, and the whole information in an exact structure and with investigation also, because of which I generally have a straightforward thought regarding the information extraction and its exchange from numerous mists.

Cons

Security jobs and access are difficult to comprehend and oversee

Rollout of new components appears to intensely support US West coast, every other person needs to pause

Visual interface doesn't permit you to oversee custom capacities and schedules. For those, it is code as it were. The board of tables and perspectives is visual

Uddipan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Snowflake - The next generation cloud data warehouse

Reviewed on 09/08/2021

It's really great, Snowflake offered a lot of flexibility which parallel cloud-based warehouses could not offer the same. Snowflake can scale both vertically and horizontally to cater all needs.

Pros

Snowflake is very easy to use and scale. It provides helpful features like merge, JSON flattening which are very handy options. Snowflake cloud SQL editor is very fast and helps easy developments.

Cons

It can be a costly solution if optimizations are not planned accordingly.

Manas M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cloud based database and warehousing improves performance and reduces cost

Reviewed on 19/12/2020

its a great experience, our API's have become faster in response time, we stoped worrying about storage size and computation power , now its scalable and decoupled

Pros

This is a fully managed cloud data-warehousing solution , or database as a service, the advantage of this with the traditional server based database is the performance boost, here the warehouse or the computing power and data storage is fully decoupled, this means , you can pay for what you need, your warehouse can be in sleep when its not in use so you save money, you can modify the size of warehouse so you get your performance as you want, and it supports the advance queries like 'copy' into local files and s3 etc ..,

coming to the operations, the snowflake has query history well maintained with importance performance metrics , and they have a good support team who responds quick,

they have a web workbench which stores our query on different tabs with different configurations, they have role based authentication for each elements on database,

they have good documentations and community for an help regarding the queries etc..

Cons

we use to have some outages in the past, which was resolved quick, now a days i don't see those that's a good thing, if you are trying to migrate from a psql to snowflake then some query syntaxes will be different

Andrew K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great SQL interface, especially for novice users

Reviewed on 01/12/2020

Overall it's been very easy to get onboarded and up to speed using snowflake. At my last company, their SQL platform was so complicated I was too intimidated to use it, so I would always have to ask analysts for help getting the data I needed. With Snowflake, I feel that everything I need to do is straightforward, or easy to figure out with some trial & error and reading the documentation. I've even gotten several complete SQL-newbie colleagues to begin using Snowflake and they've had a great experience as well.

Pros

Snowflake's Worksheets interface is easy for SQL novices to figure out because it's simple and straightforward, which is exactly the opposite of many competitors. On other platforms, novices are easily intimidated because of the complexity, but Snowflake does a great job of keeping it simple and clean. Their documentation is also good, but it's not as novice-friendly as I would like.

Cons

Script error messages could be more specific and helpful with identifying errors and troubleshooting. For example, linking directly to the relevant section of their documentation, based on the type of error. Again, this is something that advanced users probably wouldn't mind too much, but for novice or even intermediate users, this can be the difference between spending a few minutes troubleshooting versus hours of head-scratching.

Matthew C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Impressive product with a promising future

Reviewed on 24/06/2021

Overall, Snowflake has made managing, processing, aggregating and sharing data easier across the organization. It still has some work to do in terms of UI to make the user experience smoother, but the underlying technology at its core is solid and solves many issues with backups, data retention and overall user error in working with data.

Pros

The "Time Travel" aspect of Snowflake, being able to pick a point in time and see the state/contents of nearly any table is astonishing. Very useful and impressive feature.

What is equally as impressive is the overall performance of the platform. I've worked with Oracle, DB2, MySQL, Vertica, Teradata, ParAccel, and others. Maybe not always in the most optimal configurations, but Snowflake's performance has been overall the best in my experience.

Cons

As a newer platform, there are certain convenience elements that Snowflake lacks.

- No auto-complete of object names.
- No "easy" import wizard to import data.
- Some bugs with the browser-based interface (worksheets did not properly save).
- Limited customizations to filter out the tables or objects you don't work with regularly. Always shows full list, oftentimes very large.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Snowflake Boosted up our performances

Reviewed on 23/03/2020

its quite a good experience, and performance is not a issue anymore

Pros

The computation power and storage capacity in decoupled (pay for what you want)
it provides a good query history and query analysis feature,
and also query metadata help's us in understanding the performance issues if any
the support team responds quick and good,
they have a good web UI workbench to work on and it auto stores our work,
the provide a snowflake outage dashboard which can show the down time of snowflake if any

Cons

some syntax's are different from psql, could have been the same so that the migrations wold have been easier
the web UI workbench is bit slow in initial page load time,
some times we face some issues not frequently , but the support team tries to resolve it immediately,
and the support team notifies us if there are any known outages that are about to happen

Emmet M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Skip Redshift, Snowflake scales reliably

Reviewed on 25/08/2020

Snowflake supports both our analytics (dashboards and ad-hoc queries) and machine learning, including PySpark clusters. Our data scientists have found it a pleasure to work with, with rich analytics query support. The cloud-based technical architecture provides significant advantages over other offerings, including the critical ability to segment usage patterns and scale reliably.

Pros

We switched from Redshift to Snowflake for two primary reasons: 1. Snowflake's virtual warehouses allow scaling reliably, whereas Redshift becomes unstable; 2. First-class JSON support.
Having switched to Snowflake, data warehouse administration has gone from nightmare to almost nothing. We continue to scale our data and analytics, and Snowflake handles it easily.

Cons

Snowflake's approach to sales and support is a blend of on-demand cloud offering and enterprise tool. They could improve certain aspects, such as simplifying the set up of Snowpipe to stream data from AWS. But these are minor features involved in initial setup.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Did a proof of concept for my company comparing Snowflake to other databases that we use.

Reviewed on 26/12/2017

Pros

The three features of many great features that stand out are:

-The REAL separation of compute and storage gives the ultimate flexibility. You can match workloads to the proper level of compute without having one workload collide with another. You can optimize what you spend by only using what you need with the ability to change the size of your compute multiple times a day and the ability to stop and resume compute nodes easily.

-No other database I have ever used can handle concurrency like Snowflake. Additional clusters are automatically spun up if a query is queued

-There is no tuning that needs to be done as this is a data warehouse as a service. No other database comes close to the Snowflake performance without additional tuning. I can put in some time and tune my Oracle, Teradata or HANA database to get similar or slightly better performance but the level of DBA needed to do this is costly. This is especially helpful when the query patterns to be run against the database are unknown.

Cons

One of the positives above can also be a negative. Snowflake is a service and not software that you can run in your own data center or your own cloud VPC. This CON can be overcome with end to end encryption where you own the key and other Snowflake features.

Vandit D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fast, Secure easy transition from sql

Reviewed on 29/07/2021

Overall the speed is ready incredible and I don't mind opening the csv and getting my results.
Would've loved to have the option to view multiple outputs.

Pros

Processing is very fast, as someone who switched over from Microsoft Sql server this works very fast and has the same documentation.
The documentation library is also very helpful and the forums are always readily available to compare commands from SSMS vs Snowflake

Cons

It doesn't let you customize column order after the results have been generated.
It also downloads a csv everytime you want see the output which just creates more work.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Snowflake - Speed in the Cloud!

Reviewed on 20/11/2019

Maintaining on-premise database systems is expensive and maintenance heavy. Moving to a cloud database like Snowflake cuts down costs and is easy to maintain also. Since Snowflake supports a variety of flat file formats as sources, it becomes easier to bulk load data as flat files in storage spaces like AWS S3. Migrating data from cloud storage to Snowflake becomes much more easier.

Pros

Snowflake is a database and a storage warehouse on the cloud. Since it's scalable on demand, retrieving data through Snowflake Warehouses is lighting fast. All the computing power required to run the SQL queries are taken care by the Warehouse size we choose. If a query is taking too long to run a quick switch to a bigger warehouse does wonders. Migrating and loading data into Snowflake is a breeze too via Snowflake Stages and COPY TO commands.

Cons

Snowflake doesn't enforce constraints, especially primary keys. So, care should be taken while doing INSERTs and UPSERTs to maintain data integrity. This lack of this feature is understandable since it's projected more as a storage warehouse.

Vipul C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Vipul Chona - Snowflake Review

Reviewed on 03/09/2021

Pros

very easy to integrate with all our other tools

Cons

Honestly having a tough time coming up with what I like lease. Maybe some of the UI

Alternatives Considered

Google Cloud Platform and Amazon S3
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Snowflake is an affordable solution that enables analysts and non-technical folk to build DWs.

Reviewed on 12/03/2018

We have a lean team of data engineers and as a result cannot automate as many data sources as we'd like. In the interim, our analysts utilize Snowflake to incorporate data into our multifaceted reports.

Pros

We use Snowflake to capture some of our larger third party data exports that won't fit into Google Sheets. The process of uploading data is straightforward and keeps our business reporting streamlined despite lean engineering resources on our end.

There is a SQL interface to make modifications to data before final exports and data viz.

Cons

The UI is clunky and not the most intuitive. The error messages could be more detailed and expanded.

The support for Mac seems to be more limited. Encountered issues with data produced via Mac and support took months to fully resolve.

Dan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Gambling & Casinos
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Snowflake Review

Reviewed on 30/09/2019

We required a cloud based, scaleable data warehouse to replace our on-premise MS SQL stack. So far Snowflake has proved to be the right choice

Pros

Web UI
Virtual Warehouses
Secure Product
Auto-Scaling
S3 integration
Public Cloud Hosting
Forward thinking vendor

Cons

Would be good if there was a RESTful API interface with ability to query tables returning JSON format

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent enterprise product for scaled data analytics

Reviewed on 10/09/2021

Pros

Snowflake Marketplace is well thought out and the data connector fabric is easy to understand and implement

Cons

Initial upfront documentation was a little difficult to navigate but once we got a hang of it, setting up everything else was relatively simple

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fast, sleek, sexy

Reviewed on 07/07/2020

Grabbing data from our data warehouse is 10x more effective and way faster than it used to be. Snowflake is awesome.

Pros

Snowflake is a FAST alternative to a software like microsoft sql server. The data is well organized in the cloud, which allows you to pull from it quickly. SQL queries that used to take 20 minutes now only take 10 seconds. The interface is user-friendly and looks great.

Cons

There are a couple of nuances that you need to know when you start using Snowflake. If you have someone to help you learn the few things that are unique about writing code with snowflake, you won't have a problem.

Edwin Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It gets the job done

Reviewed on 23/07/2021

Pros

Fast and reliable data warehouse. It cost effective and scalable that fits in our business model

Cons

The visualisation feature. Maybe it is still in early stage and still lots of room for improvement

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Taking Cloud Data Warehousing To Another Level

Reviewed on 20/04/2021

I love Snowflake as they have made data warehousing a very easy activity. Having the ability to use SQL to query huge data sets is revolutionary.

Pros

Big Data with Simple SQL - it is amazing how easy this product is to use but still as the horsepower to process billions of rows of data without a sweat. The separation of storage-compute and cloud provider agnostic environment support is the best.

Cons

Snowflake is expensive if used "incorrectly". Users need to be extremely skilled to be able to reduce cost on the platform and use virtual WHs appropriately.