Adobe Animate Reviews

Adobe Animate

4.6 (38)
Write a Review!
Animation and graphic designing software

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(38)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.5/5

95%
recommended this app
Sort by

38 Reviews for UK Users

Nabin
Nabin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Software to develop crisp and interactive 2D animations

Reviewed on 17/08/2021

With Adobe Animate we are able to develop interactive ads for our clients. Such ads have helped out...

With Adobe Animate we are able to develop interactive ads for our clients. Such ads have helped out clients to gain more customer attention, yielding more business revenue.

Pros

Adobe Animate is the industry-leading 2D animation software for creating interactive ads and games for web browsers, AR, and VR devices. It comes free with an Adobe CC subscription, and the user interface is similar to other Adobe software. It features advanced rigging for characters, a rich asset panel with sounds and effects, a wide range of export formats, and great tutorials to get started.

Cons

Requires programming in ActionScript, Javascript, or HTML5 for interactive animation. Animations produced are quite resourceful. Needs to be used in conjunction with Photoshop and Illustrator for better graphics.

Alternatives Considered

Krita and Google Web Designer

Reasons for Choosing Adobe Animate

Adobe Animate comes free with an Adobe CC subscription. Works very well with other Adobe software like Illustrator and Photoshop. It has an easy and familiar userinterface.

Switched From

Krita and Google Web Designer

Reasons for Switching to Adobe Animate

We choose Adobe Animate over other alternatives because it is easy to use and comes free with an Adobe CC subscription.
Sabina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Adobe Animate for Graphic Designer (who also animate)

Reviewed on 08/11/2022

I think Adobe After Effects is better than Adobe Animate. I like using it more.

I think Adobe After Effects is better than Adobe Animate. I like using it more.

Pros

It is seriously made for animation, so there are all the possibilities to work with.

Cons

I am not a big fan of animating characters in it. It just doesn't work properly for me.

Jeremy
Jeremy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Flash Lives on In Animate!

Reviewed on 17/02/2023

Overall, I was able to make some neat animations with Adobe Animate, but I was disappointed with...

Overall, I was able to make some neat animations with Adobe Animate, but I was disappointed with the GUI performance. Still, having Flash experience made this a welcome app to use.

Pros

Coming from a Flash background, it was easy to start animating in Adobe Animate. It's quite obvious just form at how the timeline looks and works, that this is a re-skinning of Flash. Which is fine. And Adobe Animate adds many layers to Adobe Animate, one of the coolest being motion-tracking, which allows you to act out your character on camera, and see your character move in real time! Very cool.

Cons

On my 2019 iMac, Adobe Animate does not function very well. There seems to be some kind of graphics rendering issue with the interface, and it was quite choppy and laggy to work with. This might be just my experience, but all other Adobe CC apps work just fine on my system.

Alternatives Considered

Blender

Reasons for Choosing Adobe Animate

Flash was discontinued, in the extreme.

Reasons for Switching to Adobe Animate

Adobe Animate has a much more familiar interface.
Michael
Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fun, intuitive, classic animation engine

Reviewed on 10/11/2023

Adobe Animate, a.k.a. "The IDE, formerly known as Adobe Flash", was how I cut my teeth as a...

Adobe Animate, a.k.a. "The IDE, formerly known as Adobe Flash", was how I cut my teeth as a professional game developer back in 2007. The timeline made animations and tweens very easy to understand -- I only wish the Unity animation timeline was that intuitive. Adding scripts to individual timeline objects was easy, as was adding a single master script to an entire project as a "document class" -- just imagine that your Animate project was a car, and individual parts of the car were individual objects on the timeline (wheel, engine, alternator, etc.). The document class would be "Car.as" and manage the operation of the entire car. It would have access to smaller classes like "Alternator.as", which you would attach to the individual objects inside the library of your project.

I sometimes still use the art tools of Animate when I want quick vector programming art -- it's easier to use than most programs, including Gimp, and doesn't overburden you with information or options. Of course, paying the monthly fee just for that is expensive.

If you can find a pipeline with which to use this software with your more modern game development needs, do it!

Pros

-The timeline interface is very intuitive
-The art tools are very easy to use for simple art and programmer art
-ActionScript 3 is easy to learn and a great companion language
-Keeps up with the times and exports to multiple formats
-Can connect .swfs to other .swfs like legos, if you know your ActionScript

Cons

-Fewer job opportunities that involve its use today than there were 10-15 years ago
-The tools that involve porting its output to Unity are somewhat buggy
-.swfs are basically obsolete; Animate is mainly used to help former flash programmers transition to other environments

micalen
micalen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Adobe Animate: Premium 2D animation tool

Reviewed on 09/01/2024

Adobe Animate is the perfect 2D animation tool. It runs well and while it make take some time to...

Adobe Animate is the perfect 2D animation tool. It runs well and while it make take some time to learn, it's not as confusing as other software out there.

Pros

Adobe Animate is the go-to software for professional 2D animations. It has a massive amount of features and tools. It is also useful as a graphic designer making it the perfect software to create 2D graphics and then animate them.

Cons

Its price. It is a rather expensive software so not very assessable to beginners but for professionals it's worth it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The most popular 2D animation software

Reviewed on 13/07/2022

I loved working on this software, and gained enough experience from it, I had no difficulty in...

I loved working on this software, and gained enough experience from it, I had no difficulty in learning it because I was using a user interface like it before and anyone who doesn't have any knowledge in animation can learn it easily

Pros

I loved this field of graphics, especially 2D, so after a long search I noticed that everyone advised to use Adobe Animate.
What I liked the most is that the user interface of Adobe Animate is not very different from other Adobe programs that I used to use before, such as Adobe Premiere Pro and After Effects.
In every new release that is published, admire the power of artificial intelligence that is added, because this way, time and effort are saved on users.
Adobe Animate gives powerful features to make images and animations more realistic, including the Motion Editor feature.

Cons

I think the lack of 3D cameras is one of the problems that everyone is looking to see, and the price of the software is very expensive especially for beginners who want to enter this field

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Adobe Animate a great program to do 2D animations.

Reviewed on 17/11/2022

I love Adobe Animate i use Adobe Animate to work with my personal projects and works perfect.

I love Adobe Animate i use Adobe Animate to work with my personal projects and works perfect.

Pros

Adobe Animate has everything you need to work with 2D spaces, works very well on mid-tier PC, you can learn about 2D with this program, the tools adobe animate gives you are perfect to make work so smooth, you can learn about this program so easily because there is a wide community that can help.

Cons

The price of adobe animate is expensive and is a tough decision if you want to spend so much money.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

animate

Reviewed on 24/09/2023

this is a tool that allows me to create vector animations designed on adobe illustrator more easily

this is a tool that allows me to create vector animations designed on adobe illustrator more easily

Pros

it's a must-have tool for vector animation, plus it offers many features for 2D animation, including advanced tools for importing files from other software.

Cons

it presents a lot of tools and functions, so it takes a lot of time to learn how to manipulate these tools and navigate through the different windows

Alternatives Considered

Adobe After Effects

Reasons for Switching to Adobe Animate

due to a range of 2D animation functions
Prathima
Prathima
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good choice for powerful and effective animations.

Reviewed on 28/02/2023

Overall adobe animate has been a really good tool for creating very powerful and well illustrative...

Overall adobe animate has been a really good tool for creating very powerful and well illustrative and appealing animations but its 3d capabilities need to be even more improved.

Pros

The platform support across windows mac and even mobile devices is really too good that i will mention it as the first thing that i liked the most. The animations and transitions, image editing, text overlay, drag and drop all these tools are very effective and help me create really powerful animations.

Cons

I feel the adobe animate is little more resource intensive especially while working with more complex and detailed animations of larger file size. Also i feel the 3d animation capabilities need to be even more enhanced.

Ricardo
Ricardo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

My Favorite software in college!

Reviewed on 18/08/2021

In general, the user experience was very good, I was able to make animations for companies with...

In general, the user experience was very good, I was able to make animations for companies with very positive results. I made presentations, logo animations, banners for web pages and small animated personal projects.

Pros

Out of all the adobe software we used in college, this was definitely my favorite. I learned the basic concepts of animation with this tool, in an easy and practical way. It is an excellent software as a starting point in animation, easy to adapt and very satisfactory initial results.

Cons

Unfortunately, prices in south america does not help beginners. They should look for more accessible prices for countries whose currency is devalued. That would incentivize people to use more.

Amr
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Vector graphics animation Software

Reviewed on 01/05/2022

As an Instructional Designer, I use Adobe Animation in some projects that incorporate short...

As an Instructional Designer, I use Adobe Animation in some projects that incorporate short explainer videos or educational content with storytelling techniques. Adobe Animate allows me to edit and create high-quality animations and graphics while I'm not a professional graphic designer. I follow the embedded product tutorials and the Adobe Animate Behance Community to keep up with best practices regarding my project.

I share my work with teammates/stakeholders for feedback and approvals, all within the Adobe environment. The AI features make it easy to edit and finalize my projects.

Pros

Adobe Animate is a cutting-edge Design/Authoring solution for vector graphics animation. It allows for high-quality content production and has seamless integration with Adobe applications.

The newer versions adopt AI technologies that save users' time and effort working on their projects. It has efficient cloud-based features that facilitate project sharing with Clients/Teammates, enhance teamwork and remote collaboration, and increase overall design team productivity.

Cons

The subscription plans are expensive, whether for a single Adobe Animate license or the Adobe Creative Cloud subscription.

hm
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It's fun to make 2D animation in Adobe Animate

Reviewed on 25/12/2021

My overall experience with Adobe Animate is excellent. As I have worked before with Flash, this...

My overall experience with Adobe Animate is excellent. As I have worked before with Flash, this software is mostly familiar to me. Not only Motion Graphics but also 2D cartoon animation is very easy and enjoyable to most people with a basic knowledge of graphics.

Pros

I like Adobe Animate because it is very easy to operate. Anyone with basic knowledge can learn the animation with Adobe Animate. The frame-by-frame animation in the timeline requires less learning curve. The most functional thing of Adobe Animate is the tweens.

Cons

There is something about this software which needs more improvement. The motion graphics part is pretty basic. So, it should be more advanced.

Anjanette
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Adobe Animate Review

Reviewed on 10/12/2022

Pros

For the past four years, I've been using this software to make animations and graphics. I enjoy using this software because it is simple to use and It's help me to makes my works amazing.

Cons

I didn't run into any issues while using this software. This software is one of the greatest I've ever used. But it will make me excited if they plan to improve it.

Amy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to have fun with this one!

Reviewed on 08/09/2021

For the creative wishing to dapple in animation, this is exactly where you want to start. It is...

For the creative wishing to dapple in animation, this is exactly where you want to start. It is like the
friendly guide showing you the ropes and then letting you have a turn. I made some interesting intros
and animated logos within the first day. It only progressed from there

Pros

You can be brand new at this skill and still create impressive content through Adobe Animate. This
product is so beneficial in instruction and is about as user-friendly as these platforms can get.

Cons

Cost. Worth it? Absolutely. However, thinking outside the box, many of those looking to start out in
animation may not be in a place where this price fits their budget.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

animation app

Reviewed on 13/02/2023

Pros

this app makes animation in easy ways and by default finds every tool inside it like making characters and emotions for cartoons and voicing their characters

Cons

this is very useful for everyone in the field cartoons and animation videos

Sahil
Sahil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Really good tool for creating very interactive and engaging animated content.

Reviewed on 01/03/2023

Overall i feel adobe animate is really great option for animations. The 2D animations are of just...

Overall i feel adobe animate is really great option for animations. The 2D animations are of just very great level. Little more needs to be done on 3d animations too and customer support also, rest all i feel is very good.

Pros

The vector graphic support in the adobe animate is too good and this i would mention on top that i liked the most. Then the interface of animate is also very user friendly and is easy to navigate. The drag drop works very effectively and so the image editing too. In addition there are so many design templates to choose from that it serves all the requirements of different themes.

Cons

I personally feel that the customer support can be even more improved, especially from the services being offered by adobe are already at such a high bar standard. The 3 d animating tools also need to be increased and made more effective.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A fun way to do animations.

Reviewed on 02/11/2021

In general I had a very good experience with this software, it gave me very good results in a short...

In general I had a very good experience with this software, it gave me very good results in a short time of learning how to use it.

Pros

It is a very beginner-friendly software, and has the particularity of being from Adobe, so if you have already used some other Adobe program, it will be much easier to use. It generates excellent animations, and the ease of making them is gratifying.

Cons

Unfortunately, as with all Adobe products, we are talking about very high prices, which in many parts of the world is way too expensive.

Edu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Develop your creativity and create your own animations

Reviewed on 21/08/2023

It has been a good tool to create my animations and develop all our creativity, it allows me to be...

It has been a good tool to create my animations and develop all our creativity, it allows me to be even more professional and resolve my concerns more easily. Thank you for this always high-quality software from the Adobe family.

Pros

You can create a large number of effects without limit, only your creativity is the limit to create new animations.

Cons

For now, I don't have anything against it, it's just too complex to learn all the tools.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Create your own animation now.

Reviewed on 06/05/2022

A rather interesting experience, I took my needs from this program to build some of my own projects.

A rather interesting experience, I took my needs from this program to build some of my own projects.

Pros

One of its strongest features is that it supports the Motion Editor feature and timeline, and all this to get a more realistic and natural image.
A very powerful Deco tool with which I can do different effects for trees, flowers, etc.
In general, 3D effects can be made for a wide range of images and animations.
Animate gives us all the tools needed to make simple and complex animations.

Cons

Add coding to your animations for things like randomness, so you have to know some action scripting.

Mitali
Mitali
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good app for creating very next level great animations.

Reviewed on 03/03/2023

Overall i find adobe animate to be a really good tool for creating very good animations. The...

Overall i find adobe animate to be a really good tool for creating very good animations. The animations and transitions in the app are very rich and diverse.

Pros

The image editing is superb in the adobe animate itself. The video editing with regard to animations is also quite good. There are so many transitions that offers a great choice to choose from. The drag and drop tool also works effectively and is very useful.

Cons

i feel like the interface looks cluttered and can be even more improved. the design templates also need to be even more improved and increased with even more variety.

beta
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Another great software from adobe

Reviewed on 11/12/2022

Overall, Adobe Animate is a powerful and versatile animation software that is well-suited for a...

Overall, Adobe Animate is a powerful and versatile animation software that is well-suited for a wide range of projects. It has a steep learning curve, but the wide range of tools and features make it a great choice for experienced animators.

Pros

One of the biggest advantages of Adobe Animate is its versatility. With a wide range of tools and features, users can create complex animations with a high degree of control over the look and feel of their creations. The software also integrates seamlessly with other Adobe products, such as Photoshop and Illustrator, allowing users to incorporate assets from those programs into their animations.

Cons

However, one potential drawback of Adobe Animate is its learning curve. The software has a lot of features and tools, and it can take some time to learn how to use them effectively. Additionally, the software can be resource-intensive, so users with older computers may experience performance issues.

duncan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good for animation and banner design

Reviewed on 12/01/2023

As with most Adobe products easy to use

As with most Adobe products easy to use

Pros

Easy to use, with excellent built in templates.

Cons

Could do with more help/support for publishing HTML5 for adservers

Jeevesh
Jeevesh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very good choice for creating very effective animations with ease.

Reviewed on 02/03/2023

Overall adobe animate is very helpful in creating very effective animation s with ease. The image...

Overall adobe animate is very helpful in creating very effective animation s with ease. The image editing can be even more improved, rest all is all very good.

Pros

The animations and transitions of adobe animate are very nice. Also there is a lot of variety in them to choose from thus adding the diversity. The text overlay is also very good and can be done with ease. The media import and support to all types of files is also very good. There are also numerous design templates to choose from and thus is very effective.

Cons

I feel that the drag and drop can be even more improved. also the 2d drawing and animations is good but same needs to extended to 3d too.

Deni
Deni
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Bring 2D graphics to life.

Reviewed on 25/11/2022

Well and good, because Adobe Animate is like a modernized version of Flash.

Well and good, because Adobe Animate is like a modernized version of Flash.

Pros

The combination of design software and coding applications that can expand creativity.

Cons

Limitations in terms of function and usability so collaboration from other software is needed.

Chibuike
Chibuike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

My Feedback

Reviewed on 16/11/2022

Pros

I like the ease of making 2d animation and the clean, vector resolution it provides that cannot be unrivalled by any 2d animation I have used in the market.

Cons

It doesn't have assorted formats and features to export my animation.