BlackBerry Protect

4.6 (60)
Threat detection and endpoint protection platform

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(60)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

88%
recommended this app

60 reviews

Cameron R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best hands down

Reviewed on 10/05/2019

Cylance bridges the gap that other antivirus fail to. No more on demand scanning and periodic scanning of your PC. Cylance runs in the background like your PCs own personal security team. It is always scanning to make sure your completely protected at all times.

Pros

I like the fact that is does antivirus different from all of the rest. It makes you feel so much more protected than with other solutions. Because of this our computers are the most protected things in the office and it has prevented an unlimited number of attacks for us

Cons

There isnt anything I dislike about it this product

Sebastien E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Comprehensice enterprise protection

Reviewed on 23/05/2019

Pros

Seems very effective so far. I like being able to manage and monitor suspicious activity or whitelist for all the machines that I admin. Not too intrusive and resource friendly

Cons

Took a little while to tune in order to not block too many things. Some apps required help from support and took a few days to figure out why they were blocked.

David M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An antivirus solution that just works without getting in your way

Reviewed on 06/06/2018

A well protected workstation! No viruses, trojans, exploits, or other threats in the network I use at work.

Pros

CylanceProtect performs its work so silently you almost forget it is there. I have been using it for a year and have only got two warnings so far: one for an old file from a temp folder that had not been picked up by the previous antivirus, and a false positive (CCleaner.exe, oddly).

CylanceProtect features a "proactive defense" model, as opposed to the reactive one of other solutions, that pretty much "clean up the mess" once the damage is done.

With a proactive model, when it is working as intended, you just don't notice anything as threats are eliminated before they hit you. A welcome change of method after having used so many bloated, hit-or-miss antivirus solutions before.

So, in a nutshell, main pros: ease-of-use and efficacy.

Cons

Not much to dislike, except for the fact that it detected CCleaner as a threat by mistake. Guess it has to do with the way CCleaner works, with its far-reaching system tools. Perhaps Cylance does not want to share space with another system protection tool? Let's pretend it was just a false positive and nothing else.

Also, being an endpoint solution, some users might be put off by the way it installs over your corporate network. But I am sure that would be a small demographic anyway.

Todd M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Finally, a smart AV!

Reviewed on 18/09/2018

Cylance has done a much better job of protecting our endpoints than our previous AV. We didn't know how much better it was until we realized just how much malware was slipping through our previous AV. It also doesn't stress our endpoints like our previous AV did when it would run scans and make some of our endpoints become sluggish until the scan was done. Very efficient, very effective antivirus!

Pros

Cylance is simple to use and does a fantastic job of protecting our endpoints! The behavior-based engine is much more accurate and responsive than traditional signature-based antivirus. By taking a look at how an application acts, it can stop it from running without the need of a diffinition. The interface is easy to see what's going on on your endpoints. As well as make changes such as whitelisting applications or globally blocking a file.

Cons

WHen you first set it up in your environment you will need to whitelist many of your requred applications as they can get blocked at first run.

Aaron L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Antivirus

Reviewed on 20/11/2018

Keeping network and computers protected throughout

Pros

Easy to manage and have not seen as many infections come through. Keeps out a lot of unwanted programs out

Cons

It blocks a lot of admin tools and there are a lot of config settings on admin side but this also is useful

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great enterprise endpoint security solution

Reviewed on 27/05/2018

Pros

CylancePROTECT is cloud managed and eases the administration tasks when having hundreds or thousands of assets to configure/check.

Cons

There is nothing remarkable to say here at this moment. Maybe the notifications might be improved when something happens and needs your attention.

Kelly speers I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cylance Protect with Optics for security

Reviewed on 16/07/2019

we have been very impressed with Cylance and will continue to recommend and use.

Pros

The software is lightweight and does not bog the system down.

Cons

there was a bit of a learning curve but the support was great at helping us out.

Jasmina L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Antivirus

Reviewed on 18/12/2018

Allowed us to better protect network and computers from threats

Pros

It does not allow in many threats to network/computers if you deploy to all PC's

Cons

There are many settings to be configured when setting up admin side

Robert G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Effective, maybe a little too aggressive out of the box.

Reviewed on 22/09/2020

Our compliance team has been happy, and the coverage is comforting to the security management. It's proven effective (if a little overbearing) in our environment with fairly minimal disruption to end-users after some tuning.

Pros

Whitelisting stuff is fairly straightforward, it does appear to be a comprehensive "advanced anti-malware" solution. I appreciate the robust reporting available. The configuration capabilities are good, as we need them relatively frequently (see Cons)

Cons

Out of the box, there were a ton of false positives. It interfered with some MS Azure monitoring tools, SolarWinds, and decided to brick SQL Management Studio for a few users.

Christopher K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User review

Reviewed on 06/11/2018

Pros

utilizes minimal resources on my machine, easy to use to scan documents, install and maintenance is easy

Cons

sometimes hard to tell if it is working, sometimes it blocks needed software and it is pain to allow it through

Delys C.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

quiet in regards to the safety of my equipment

Reviewed on 25/06/2018

tranquility security and protection at low cost

Pros

ease at the time of download constant maintenance in security and protection of equipment protecting them from constant threats of viruses, accessible and competitive value

Cons

In fact, my experience has been of total satisfaction until now we have had the protection offered by the software without presenting any flaw

Joevanne V.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Limited solution

Reviewed on 10/10/2017

Pros

Great machine learning capabilities that protect from some threats. This solution does a great job at using mathematic algorithms to protect.

Cons

The solution is limited in terms of the protection provided. They are building the solution to include items such as application whitelisting but it still needs work.

Diana B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

We do not have to worry about ransomware with this product anymore.

Reviewed on 27/06/2017

Pros

It will find 0 day threats and is cloud based, doesn't have to have to be connected to the internet.

Cons

Have not found a good way to distribute to non-domain users, other than that there are not any cons.

Ed A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Cylance offers a bold new way to think about AV and malware protection. Amazing

Reviewed on 01/06/2017

Great approach and concept. No need to constant connection is great

Pros

I like that their is no need for regular connected updates of the software, av files or other data files. Great approach to protection.

Cons

It is hard to grasp that the Cylance approach is as effective as the traditional approach. Also, I have not seen the pricing model

Chris S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great protection and effective

Reviewed on 08/04/2021

Overall, I am very pleased and this software seems to work great. I do wish there were some more EDR capabilities with this software however.

Pros

With Cylance I feel that my organization is safely protected against all threats and we have never had an issue in three plus years using this. It is very easy to install and has a very small footprint which makes it nice for our PCs.

Cons

Creating policies and exclusions is a bit clunky but once you figure it out it's okay. It can also have many false positives which are easily maintained through the portal.

Alternatives Considered

Malwarebytes Endpoint Protection

Reasons for Choosing BlackBerry Protect

We were seeking a next-gen antivirus for our organization.

Reasons for Switching to BlackBerry Protect

We wanted to utilize the new technology such as AI contained within new antivirus software.
Jonathan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cylance is one of the best malware protection tools for small businesses

Reviewed on 31/05/2019

Cylance ensures that each endpoint is fully protected and allows easy whitelisting for anything it gets too grabby with.

Pros

Cylance is very, very thorough in regards to what kinds of applications are allowed to exist and execute on your endpoints. Not only does it ensure files are secure, it also monitors processes to make sure they don't run rogue and start executing dangerous code that would cause problems, such as a Stack Pivot.

Cons

It can sometimes be a bit overzealous, quarantining legitimate tools and files that seem suspicious just because it's not in their database or otherwise "PUP"

Sean B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great AntiVirus product that takes some configuration

Reviewed on 28/03/2019

Cylance has been a great product for us. It's done a great job catching potentially malicious programs and processes. The oversight with the console is also very useful.

Pros

Cylance protect is a great next gen antivirus product. The console is really easy to use and the device policies are highly configurable.

Cons

The device policies are highly configurable but the options are not terribly straight forward. The process for putting in waivers for memory protection and execution control is a bit confusing.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Robust Endpoint Security

Reviewed on 06/02/2019

Pros

Software was easy to deploy while meeting or exceeding detection rates in competing products.

Cons

"AI" features relatively new to scene. As-yet unproven over long term use.

Ross W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Constant false positives.

Reviewed on 02/05/2019

Pros

It provides decent security and has caught some issues.

Cons

False positives for this AV solution are through the roof, tons more than competing solutions. Makes day to day administration difficult.

Salah eddin A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A good protection is one that doesn't hinder your work

Reviewed on 13/12/2018

Pros

Cylane is quite silent, it can be demanding for some moments on memory, but most of the time you won't notice it's there, which as a developer is something I highly like.

Cons

If you have it, it's probably due to your company requiring a security software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good program to have on network

Reviewed on 30/04/2019

Very easy to use but needs customization, and there are some kinks to go through

Pros

Company got hit with Ransomware
Servers and systems that had this, were protected

Cons

Systems that did not have this go infected with Ransomware

John B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very good product. Easy to use. Tad expensive but worth it.

Reviewed on 08/09/2017

Pros

Management is web based and easy to control\waive for users.
Updates are easy to push with no issues reported over the last year.

Cons

Cylance is more $$ but worth it for the protection, it provides and ease of use.
They are coming out with a home version but not fully there. It would be nice to have this offered for home users.

Tejas G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great AI based product for threat protection.

Reviewed on 02/10/2018

This endpoint protection might help to prevent a zero day attack because of its machine learning approach and ability of artificial intelligence which is a big thing as no other threat protection product can do that

Pros

The best part is it works independent of signatures! It is capable of detecting and quarantining malware's in open as well as isolate networks without continues signature updates. Its compatible with Windows and Mac OS.

Cons

At the time I was doing vulnerability scan during which I was trying to gain the root access of particular host, the Cylance threat prevention which was running on that host, failed to detect the root access and did not block the scan which is not good as other endpoint protections like Symantec could have been be able to do.

Brendan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

CylanceProtect was great. Blackberry Protect? Not so much.

Reviewed on 11/11/2020

Pros

CylanceProtect was by all accounts, the best endpoint protection on the market. It provided outstanding protection for all our Windows and Mac endpoints.

Cons

Since Blackberry bought them in 2019, the "merging" of the two companies has been clumsy. The Cylance website dashboard was clean and somewhat easy to use. The Blackberry website looks like it was designed by someone who still uses a Blackberry mobile phone. Mac OS Big Sur is being released this week, and the endpoint client for it (that really should have been released with Catalina) is still not available. False positives for Adobe CS updates seem endless. I'll be looking at alternative options when our licensing expires next summer.

Alternatives Considered

Falcon

Reasons for Choosing BlackBerry Protect

Wanted more advanced UI endpoint security.

Reasons for Switching to BlackBerry Protect

Simplicity and class-leading reputation.
Craig R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Does a good job

Reviewed on 10/08/2021

Positive. We are getting more formalized about security in our company, and BlackBerry Cylance is a good partner in this effort.

Pros

I feel our systems are well protected with BlackBerry (formerly Cylance) Protect (and Optics).

Cons

The setup is a little complex (policies, zones, rules, etc.), but is not really unlike other similar products.