VEGAS Pro

4.6 (142)
Write a Review!
Integrated video and audio editing software

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(142)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

92%
recommended this app
Sort by

142 Reviews for UK Users

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome video editing software

Reviewed on 19/07/2022

Although it is a wonderful and simple program, for beginners it has a big obstacle because of the...

Although it is a wonderful and simple program, for beginners it has a big obstacle because of the difficulty of the user interface, because I used to use more professional programs such as Adobe Premiere and After Effects and professionals in general, it will be very easy for them

Pros

Sony Vegas Pro is a very useful program that we often need to use in our projects, as it can be used to edit video clips, and the program is characterized by the fact that it can create or modify videos in very high quality up to 4k and 2k.
The program is characterized by an easy, comfortable and coordinated interface in terms of the tools that are used compared to other editing programs, and Sony Vegas contains a wide range of effects that make a simple video a professional work.
One of the beautiful features in it is the availability of video editing tools and audio editing tools in one program, and this is great for those who want high resolution in the image and sound at the same time.
Vegas is characterized by the ease of using some tools and commands in the editing and video editing operations, such as the processes of dividing events and restoring deleted parts, the ease of using the drag and drop method on the same track or from one track to another, as well as the ease of accelerating and slowing down speeds.
One of the things that I used a lot in most of my videos is adding transitions and effects, the ability to draw masks, add 3D effects, cancel video shakes, provide multiple styles in writing, formatting and moving texts, and add motion blur.

Cons

One of the most common problems with Sony Vegas Pro and its recent decline in popularity is the delay in downloading new versions and new features, users are looking forward to new and powerful features to make their work easier in terms of the power of artificial intelligence to save time and effort

Roya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Modernization of Local Programming: A Brief Insight on Ten Years with Vegas Pro

Reviewed on 19/08/2020

I have been using Vegas Pro in an official capacity since 2011, with history using it as early as...

I have been using Vegas Pro in an official capacity since 2011, with history using it as early as 2008, currently on Version 016 (Build 0352) as of typing: This software has served as the only resource that I and many of those who make up my production team use to produce our local programming, due to its noticeably easy User Interface and extreme ability to be enhanced through Third Party extensions to help keep a user on the same build for many years before having to do a major upgrade; its constant performance and stability improvements with each version and future generations of CPUs, GPUs, and RAM assures that it will continue to see ever more use as it becomes easier and faster to produce even the heaviest of workloads.
Although it is plagued with a plethora of Glitches and Crashes that get fixed as the software matures and CPU/GPU Driver updates arrive, Vegas Pro is significantly more affordable and accessible than Adobe's suite of software and other relevant competition, having far more community support than most other platforms; optimized for Intel and AMD's modern era Sixteen+ Core CPUs and AMD's Vega II GPUs, anybody can build a High End Desktop for less than 2000$ USD and see effective results with Vegas Pro for many years to come, media producers such as myself can develop local programming without having to upgrade an HEDT system for a good while and we'll still get the most out of the software, it is ageless and will continue to deliver a powerful impact.

Pros

~ Significant levels of Ease of Access for multiple media file types of many ages and forms.
~ Expansive resource set to allow for more Extensions, Special Effects, and Scene Transitions to help mature and evolve the software's capabilities.
~ Support for High Framerate footage and countless forms of Colour Profiles.
~ Usable on virtually every possible Desktop or Laptop hardware combination over the past matter of decades.

Cons

~ The Digital Version does not come with an expansive Instruction Manual to understand how to use every effect, specifically in regards to Third Party resources that can be added during the life of the application's run.
~ Massive amounts of inexplicable Glitches and Crashes (though many can be fixed through manual tweaking and official Bugfix builds).
~ Occasional Requirement to reinstall QuickTime after select major firmware updates of Windows.
~ Critical issues with RAM consumption (specifically Committed Memory) when using media assets of a certain codec or a resolution that is significantly higher than the Project Size.
~ Heavy dependency on OpenCL favours AMD's Compute~based Graphics Cards over Nvidia's Graphics~based cards (though this may be beneficial for PC builders on a tighter budget).

Clayton
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

MOV container files will not work in Vegas Pro

Reviewed on 19/06/2020

Not great, and it does not work on my newer devices which all use .mov containers. DaVinci Resolve...

Not great, and it does not work on my newer devices which all use .mov containers. DaVinci Resolve free version works much better which is a big surprise.

Pros

I do like fx features and the workflow, but none of my new camera gear will work in it anymore.

Cons

Why does Magix think .mov files are obsolete and always related to Quicktime which they are doing away with? It is my understanding that .mov is just a container, and codec can vary in containers. For instance, my new Atomos Ninja V recorder uses .mov containers with DNxHR codex. Does not work in Vegas but it works without any problems in the free version of DaVinci Resolve. Same thing with 2 of my new action action cameras that also use the .mov container, but it works great in DaVinci Resolve. Vegas Pro also does not have Prores support. What can I actually use Vegas Pro 17 for? Does not work at all for my Atomos Recorder or action cams. I can do a couple tweaks for my Atomos with the DNxHR codex installed separately, but I can't get video on action cameras. I regret spending the money on Vegas Pro 17 now.

Tiago
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An Unmatched Editing Experience

Reviewed on 09/05/2023

Having utilized Sony Vegas extensively for an extended period, I can confidently say that it is a...

Having utilized Sony Vegas extensively for an extended period, I can confidently say that it is a powerful and reliable editing tool. Its comprehensive editing suite, intuitive interface, and efficient rendering capabilities have consistently facilitated my creative endeavors. While there is a learning curve involved, the software's user-friendly design helps streamline the editing process once you become familiar with its intricacies.

Pros

Sony Vegas offers a vast array of editing tools and features that cater to both beginners and professionals. From basic trimming and cutting to advanced effects, transitions, and color grading, it provides an extensive range of options to enhance and transform your footage. The software's interface is designed with user-friendliness in mind. Navigating through the timeline, adding effects, and adjusting parameters are all made straightforward, allowing users to focus on their creativity rather than getting lost in complex menus. Sony Vegas has excellent compatibility with various video and audio formats, making it versatile and adaptable to different project requirements. Whether you're working with MP4, AVI, or even high-resolution formats like 4K, Sony Vegas handles them effortlessly.

Cons

While Sony Vegas has a user-friendly interface, mastering its extensive features can take time. The learning curve might be steep for beginners or those transitioning from other editing software. However, with dedication and practice, users can unlock the software's true potential.

Gary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Motion Pictures & Film
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Vegas Pro 20

Reviewed on 18/02/2023

Incredible. I am a musician/composer and sound effects designer, and I work with video and music a...

Incredible. I am a musician/composer and sound effects designer, and I work with video and music a lot. So it's nice to have all my niches use ONE editor/brand. Whether I'm working on audio, or audio and video, Vegas Pro is invaluable as a powerful tool to get through any type project that comes up. I honestly believe that of all the editors, Vegas has to be the best choice for intuitive design. The interface for Vegas is very logical and intuitive. Perfect for those of us who are artists.

Pros

Overall ease of use. All the important features are easy to find and use, and there's plenty of features that go levels deeper when you need them.

Cons

This might be an issue I would suggest gets resolved. And that is the compatibility between past projects from former versions of Vegas... for example, Vegas 11 to Vegas 20. I wish they had a way to open older versions of Vegas without major snags. Some kine of an interface that converted say... a project from Vegas 11 (or other) to the current version 20. I say this because I have project that are on going... and sometimes it would be nice to just import older edits to current projects.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

I created over 300 videos on this software over the course of 4 years - Amazing experience

Reviewed on 20/09/2022

Amazing. I used this software daily for years, I know it so well.

Amazing. I used this software daily for years, I know it so well.

Pros

I love how easy and approachable Vegas Pro is. I mostly used Vegas Pro 12, using it almost daily. I was pretty much always working on a project in Vegas Pro. It is much easier to get into than Adobe Premier Pro and After Effects. It's a great alternative to Final Cut Pro if you don't have a Mac!

Cons

I experienced several crash issues in the past, though I am sure they have dealt with many of those problems in recent updates. Other than that, no compaints!

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Premiere Pro

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

Easier to get into.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Coming along way and best at what it does

Reviewed on 07/05/2022

Works great with any windows PC i have thrown at it. Highly optimized hardware!! very efficient for...

Works great with any windows PC i have thrown at it. Highly optimized hardware!! very efficient for my use case

Pros

Vegas Pro is an all round NLE with great hardware optimization which has worked well with most of my PCs. I always enjoy its fast loading straight to the timeline. The window layout can are easy to customize and can be docked anywhere with also the ability to view various windows with an external monitor thus giving me enough working space.

Cons

The main challenge i have experienced is with having to cut out clips on the timeline. I am more used to pick the specific part using a source monitor by just dragging in a segment to the timeline using the in and out points.

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Video for Graphic Designers

Reviewed on 22/04/2021

Overall, I am very pleased with Vegas and will continue to use this for the forseeable future.

Overall, I am very pleased with Vegas and will continue to use this for the forseeable future.

Pros

Vegas is, by far, the easiest to use video editing software I have come across in 20+ years working in graphic design. The layers function is immediately familiar to anyone that has used an adobe product and the tools are super easy to use and naviagate.

Cons

Vegas tends to bother you with special offers and such at nearly every startup of the software. X'ing out of those can become a nuisance.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Awesome video editing program!

Reviewed on 10/10/2021

In general, it is a very friendly program for someone who is just starting out in the editing...

In general, it is a very friendly program for someone who is just starting out in the editing world, or if you need it to quickly edit a video.

Pros

It is a very easy to use program, it has a very intuitive interface. Practically it can be used without tutorials, it also has a very large variety of editing tools.It is a very stable program, very few times it has crashed.

Cons

For very few things it is necessary to use external programs.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

VEGAS Pro the best video editor

Reviewed on 09/10/2022

I love VEGAS Pro i often use it to work my video projects and works fine

I love VEGAS Pro i often use it to work my video projects and works fine

Pros

Works excellent, excellent for any type of edits, have a lot of features that makes the editing of a video so easy

Cons

At the start is hard to learn, rendering is a little slow even if you have a mid tier computer, can be a little tedious if you're new in video editing

Hossamudin
Hossamudin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

A good video editor, but not the best

Reviewed on 09/05/2022

Not bad as a start

Not bad as a start

Pros

I used it back in the days when I started learning video editing. I created few gaming videos that my friends liked a lot. So, I liked how it is possible to create high quality, creative, gaming videos.

Cons

Well, I hated so much the too many hours I had to spend to learn it... maybe the latest updates made it easier, but It was kinda hard to advance.

Alternatives Considered

PowerDirector

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

I'm not sure back then I didn't compare, I just saw few good reviews about it, so i started to learn vegas.
Batrisyia Qiestina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Vegas Pro Review

Reviewed on 17/02/2022

Straightforward yet strong UI. Huge loads of choices. Advances, impacts. Best utilized for making...

Straightforward yet strong UI. Huge loads of choices. Advances, impacts. Best utilized for making video related stuff. Moreover you can deal with numerous layers simultaneously.

Pros

Vegas Pro handles all way of source materials, including a wide assortment of video designs, still photographs in a wide assortment of configurations, and so forth It handles them all in a reliable way and results everything in a steady way. Other video altering programs we've utilized in the past regularly disliked blending various sources. It likewise accompanies many progress impacts, video channels, sound impacts, sound channels, and so on Nearly all that you want to do proficient quality video and sound is underlying. With a couple of minimal expense additional items, you can do significantly more.

Cons

VEGAS Pro doesn't consume numerous PC assets when the individual is altering the video and making sound alters, how much RAM it consumes is exceptionally insignificant, in any case, one of the fundamental issues that happen in VEGAS Pro is that it has an intense usage while delivering the video. The delivering of the video is fundamentally applying every one of the changes to the video and changing it over to a steady quality, notwithstanding, this cycle requires roughly 2 hours or max, everything relies upon how lengthy the video is.

Freddie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Indie Filmmaker's Best Option

Reviewed on 16/03/2020

Aside from the duration of the rendering, this is the best software out there.

Aside from the duration of the rendering, this is the best software out there.

Pros

Sony Vegas is one of those products that only gets better with each function you discover. From magic spells to invisibility cloak to the Infinity Snap, Vegas Pro does it all. Tutorials are so easy to find on many platforms. It's simple enough for even an amateur to understand. It can render in a variety of formats.

Cons

The rendering capacity depends on the computer. Even offline, the rendering can take hours for a two minute video.

João
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Vegas Pro: A gateway tool

Reviewed on 05/07/2023

For my usage, which was pretty simple editing of video and audio, with some effects on top, it did...

For my usage, which was pretty simple editing of video and audio, with some effects on top, it did the job just like I wanted it, but I was well aware of its limitations.

Pros

Vegas Pro is easy to pick up and use, and it is fairly intuitive for its most basic features, and learning to use the more advanced suite of tools is not very hard, which makes this a great tool for beginners.

Cons

Other programs do a much better job at the most complicated tasks of video editing and effects. This is the place where Vegas Pro lags behind other more established alternatives.

Zulfa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Vegas Pro, a very fantastic video editor tool

Reviewed on 04/10/2021

Vegas Pro is probably one of the best video editing software I use, while it seems complicated, but...

Vegas Pro is probably one of the best video editing software I use, while it seems complicated, but it doesn't take long for me to learn about the apps, it gives so many options to make videos interesting, it also supports the use of the green screen effect, whether you want to make funny game moments video, music videos, film, or just meme, guide video, and much more!
This software can do all that,

Pros

Quite easy to use, great interface, lot's of effect even on stock, Capable of using green screen effect

Cons

Sometimes crash, it needs quite a lots of RAM.

Jason
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 13/06/2021

I use it o make videos for Facebook and Youtube for our church. It is very easy to use. It has all...

I use it o make videos for Facebook and Youtube for our church. It is very easy to use. It has all the features that others have -- without being tied into a certain operating system or resource demands.

Pros

I have been using Vegas since it was Vegas 10. It has consistently gotten better with each successive generation. It converts and renders all the video that I need it to.

Cons

Importing live video is somewhat of an issue. It could integrate with daw software better as well. Magix should look at a subscription-based service instead of having to buy outright for upgrades.

Gift
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Video Editor

Reviewed on 19/04/2022

For an inexpensive and available editing software, I always use this for its ease of use and...

For an inexpensive and available editing software, I always use this for its ease of use and accessibility. It is what I use rather than other expensive software that only recognizes a certain type of computer.

Pros

It was easy to use from purchase with all the templates at hand. The visual layout isn't crowded and the tools for editing are understandable from the get go.

Cons

Sometimes crashes for a laptop edit with big size files of videos but the best thing is it saves from the last point of editing.

Fabio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

one of the simplest video and audio editors

Reviewed on 27/03/2020

Pros

I used it very often in the past when I started editing videos. Very simple to use, not complicated compared to the competition, and to start editing videos it is perfect. Even today I use it for editing and audio production, preferring it to other software

Cons

it is not as professional as other software, but to start with it has everything you need, in fact at the beginning it is a better software than others

Melanie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Epic softwear for everyone

Reviewed on 11/06/2021

It makes my videos look extremely professional. I love how easy it is to use and it saves back ups...

It makes my videos look extremely professional. I love how easy it is to use and it saves back ups without any questions. That has saved my project a lot.

Pros

-Easy to use
-User friendly
-Backs up projects with no questions
-Has many specials effects to use
-Has many different formats to export

Cons

-Expensive
-Can crash
-Can take a while to render
-So much stuff it can be hard to pick what to use

charles
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

vegas review

Reviewed on 30/09/2022

Pros

this video editing software is affordable. it is easy to use because it does not require any special knowledge to use it

Cons

the software has no drawbacks in my opinion

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use for non-video makers

Reviewed on 18/11/2019

Let's start with I am not a great video editor, in reality I know very little. And when I tried I...

Let's start with I am not a great video editor, in reality I know very little. And when I tried I was surprised on how fast I learned it and understood its most important features in a fast pace. So if you are like me and you do not need a software with more features than you are going to use (Adobe Premiere) go with Sony Vegas and you will be more than happy with it!

Pros

I like how easy is to use the timeline and its features with great user interface.

Cons

Does not have as many features/is not as powerful as Adobe Premiere

EDWARD
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazingly great product for easy editing

Reviewed on 18/05/2021

I have had a very positive experience with Vegas Pro. While it is very expensive, I still believe...

I have had a very positive experience with Vegas Pro. While it is very expensive, I still believe it is the best video editing tool on the market right now.

Pros

I absolutely love Vegas Pro, and I always recommend it to my friends over other products like Premier Pro since I like how Vegas Pro feels like I can do everything on it and I don't need a bunch of other platforms to help me do the one job, like I feel with Adobe products.

Cons

The price is very expensive for Vegas Pro, so I always try to get it whenever I find it on a steep discount. The initial price offering makes it a little unattractive in my opinion.

Juan José
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best tool for video editing

Reviewed on 12/08/2021

My experience with VEGAS pro has been very positive, I have edited very good videos that leave...

My experience with VEGAS pro has been very positive, I have edited very good videos that leave everyone impressed.

Pros

VEGAS pro is very easy to learn how to use, at first it seems a bit complex but the truth is that it is very easy to learn how to use each tool or shortcut on the keyboard. It offers users excellent tools to edit videos in a professional way. What I love most about this software is that we can choose the format and quality we want to have our edited video.

Cons

The only thing I don't like so much is the cost, I think it's a bit expensive.

Amberlynn Amor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Friendly Video Editing Software

Reviewed on 14/08/2021

It has the features I need in order to make the project I am making more appealing, and because I...

It has the features I need in order to make the project I am making more appealing, and because I find it user friendly, I am able to finish my task with ease.

Pros

The most simplest transition and effects makes a great impact already on the video editing that I had done, it is indeed user friendly and already recommend this software to my friends, it really helps me to be able to finish the task of video editing quite fast.

Cons

The Video Event FX is useful but I always had a hard time navigating it.

Holly
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

VEGAS Pro Review

Reviewed on 16/02/2020

My overall experience with VEGAS Pro has been positive. I highly recommend it.

My overall experience with VEGAS Pro has been positive. I highly recommend it.

Pros

I liked that I could create videos such as AMVs with VEGAS Pro.

Cons

Honestly, there was nothing that I didn't like least about this software.