MindNode

Web-based mind mapping software

Overall rating

4.8 /5
(15)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

93%
recommended this app
Sort by

15 Reviews for UK Users

Luciano
Luciano
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The ideal mind mapping tool for Apple users

Reviewed on 02/12/2021

The overall experience is very good. Those who use and appreciate the Apple ecosystem will...

The overall experience is very good. Those who use and appreciate the Apple ecosystem will certainly find themselves at ease and very comfortable in its use, thanks to a particular attention to detail, graphics and resources made available.

Pros

Transforming nodes into tasks is essential to me. I can also sync lists, research deadlines, or weekend plans with the Apple Reminders app and tick off done activities.

Cons

I would have bought MindNode Plus with my eyes closed if it wasn't a subscription tool. Although the monthly cost is very advantageous, I would prefer to purchase a lifetime license.

Ben
Ben
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Crucial for Mac-based information workers.

Reviewed on 27/05/2023

and easyMy overall experience with MindNode has been incredibly positive. It has become a crucial...

and easyMy overall experience with MindNode has been incredibly positive. It has become a crucial part of my workflow, helping me to manage tasks, write, plan projects, design training courses, and produce learning materials. MindNode makes mind mapping fun and easy, allowing me to quickly and easily create visually appealing diagrams that help me to organize my thoughts and ideas. I highly recommend MindNode to anyone looking for an effective and enjoyable way to organize their thoughts and ideas.

Pros

MindNode is an incredibly powerful and easy to use mind mapping tool. It is incredibly easy to use, with a simple and intuitive interface that makes it easy to quickly enter data and create beautiful mind maps. It also has powerful features that allow you to export your mind maps into great looking documents, as well as standard file formats which can be easily converted via Pandoc into great looking LaTeX documents. It is also incredibly fast when it comes to data entry, allowing you to quickly and easily enter data and create beautiful mind maps. All in all, MindNode is an incredibly powerful and easy to use mind mapping tool that gets out of your way and allows you to quickly and easily create beautiful mind maps.

Cons

MindNode lacks live collaboration features, which would make it easier to work on mind maps with a team. Additionally, there are no built-in themes for expressing the progression of ideas in a mind map, which can be a limitation for this use case. Finally, there is no native integration with Pandoc for more flexible export options, such as LaTeX Beamer. While it's possible to do this manually, one needs to be a technical user.

Sam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Good for a free trial, you can buy something better

Reviewed on 16/03/2021

I had an okay experience with it. I won't be shouting from the rooftops about this tool. Ask be for...

I had an okay experience with it. I won't be shouting from the rooftops about this tool. Ask be for a better recommendation and I've got one for you...

Pros

Great intro into mind mapping tools. I would recommend it for someone who wants a simple no frills interface.

Cons

It is a bit too basic and 'too pretty' for me. I was looking for something with more features and functionality. This feels a little like 'style over substance.'

Nir
Nir
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My go-to braindump tool for years, and for years to come

Reviewed on 17/03/2022

Mindnode helps me organize my private sphere at work or in my personal life. However it does not...

Mindnode helps me organize my private sphere at work or in my personal life. However it does not allow much collaboration with others.

Pros

Mindnode is easy to use and syncs flawlessly across devices. It is beautiful to look at an easy to navigate.
It's easier than linear note-taking. If I have to write a paragraph or essay I usually start with mindnode.
Same goes for project planning.

Cons

1. They could provide more icons and templates.
2. Copying and pasting to other platforms is problematic. Font sizes, tabs, indentation, etc. I wish there was a way to "copy as X" so it's easier to paste elsewhere.
3. The iCloud sync sometimes leaves me high and dry when in flight mode. I thought that the file was downloaded but then realize it's still up in the cloud, when I'm up in the air and no way to sync. Wish there was an easy way to prepare for that.
4. Is it time to grow beyond mind mapping to full on diagramming and collaboration?

Luca
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

One of best mindmapping tool

Reviewed on 05/12/2022

Pros

the tool is very ease of use and updated continuosly.

Cons

the tool has some missing functionality compared other similar tools

Alternatives Considered

XMind
François
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cannot live without this!

Reviewed on 25/01/2022

I have been using this tools for several years now. I have tried a few different software but...

I have been using this tools for several years now. I have tried a few different software but always came back to this one. Very affordable and multipurpose.
iIt Works across all my devices though the cloud.
This is always my first step when planning any project and it allows me to modify very easily the plans.

Pros

Very easy to use.
Clear and unencumbered design
easy to export as pdf
Possibility to use library of drawings
Work across all my devices

Cons

More organic feel and look might be interesting in the future

Maddie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Gets ideas out of my head and onto the screen

Reviewed on 16/07/2021

As mentioned, mindnode helps me organise my thoughts, and that's a wonderful thing!
My overall...

As mentioned, mindnode helps me organise my thoughts, and that's a wonderful thing!
My overall experience is a very pleasant one, though I would love a mobile option to be able to add things as I think of them

Pros

I'm a very ADHD person, and am constantly making lists.
Mindnode makes it that much easier to organise my scattered mess of thoughts into something cohesive that at least I can understand later on.
Good interface, nice colours and themes, and a simple UX make for a pleasant experience.

Cons

The price I suppose. I'm not currently working but have become terribly reliant on the software at this point as mentioned in the pros above.
Other than that, I can't think of anything.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing mind mapping app

Reviewed on 03/10/2022

Fabulous!!!

Fabulous!!!

Pros

It’s super easy to use and navigate. Helps keep your mind maps organized. For those of us who are creative but like to/need to have our creativity focused on a topic, it’s very helpful. You can add and delete with ease, change colors, etc. I strongly recommend this.

Cons

It’s only available on Apple operating systems. I could really use it at work where I have to use a PC.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mind mapping made easy

Reviewed on 12/06/2021

A helpful tool when trying to connect various thoughts or tasks.

A helpful tool when trying to connect various thoughts or tasks.

Pros

Mindnode allowed me to take the thoughts I had and put them down on a screen. After putting them down, I was able to reorganize them into helpful, clear groupings.

Cons

After finishing a mind map, printing in a readable format is difficult. Especially if it is a larger mind map. Formating is also tricky, in trying to make sure that each sub-level is at the same spacing.

Adriani Maria
Adriani Maria
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I really like using MindNode, because besides being easy to use, it is very versatile.

Reviewed on 02/10/2020

I have been enchanted, more and more with this software, because I discover new features and...

I have been enchanted, more and more with this software, because I discover new features and utilities.

Pros

What I liked most about this software were concept maps.

Cons

I didn't find anything that I didn't like about this software.

Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cheap and Beautiful

Reviewed on 23/08/2022

Really really love this software! The UI is great and the price is right!

Really really love this software! The UI is great and the price is right!

Pros

Compared to some other similar programs, this software is priced great and looks great!

Cons

Wish certain formatting functions were a little easier to manage.

Mor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool for the Apple ecosystem

Reviewed on 19/10/2022

Overall this is a great tool and I can highly recommend it to spice up your note taking.

Overall this is a great tool and I can highly recommend it to spice up your note taking.

Pros

UI and UX are superior to many similar tools (and I have tested many). This makes mindnode one of the best in class.

Cons

Unfortunately no multi platform support. This means that I can't share with Android users, and use it mostly for private note taking and planning.

Miguel
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Your mind in one page

Reviewed on 09/02/2021

Smooth, simple, fast learning curve, ultra intuitive and a pleasure to use - Beautifull

Smooth, simple, fast learning curve, ultra intuitive and a pleasure to use - Beautifull

Pros

With MindNode I can dump my brain into a map that makes sense and allows me to act upon what is important without loosing sight of the big picture. And is very easy to do that, very intuitive to map your mind.

Cons

Perhaps allowing me some customizations but those are very specific to what I do so it should be no concern to most.

Aaliyah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Good Software

Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Pros

It's easy to use and visually appealing. I love the colour usage and you're able to use it for everyday things.

Cons

A lot of features are iOS only. As a non-apple user, that's very unappealing to me.

Aleksander
Aleksander
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Really good

Reviewed on 26/08/2022

Pros

I use it to mindmap and brainstorm ideas for new projects

Cons

Its not free but well worth the price...