Final Draft Reviews

Final Draft

Software for creating, editing, and sharing script drafts

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(27)
Value for Money
3.6/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

81%
recommended this app
Sort by

27 Reviews for UK Users

Evelyn
Evelyn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best collaborative writing

Reviewed on 12/08/2021

I have used Final Draft as a student and then on some companies where I worked. On my new job this...

I have used Final Draft as a student and then on some companies where I worked. On my new job this is the software we use for every script and I find it so comfortable and easy to use and to send the new versions. Is great to collaborate specially when developing tv scripts, I like the option to track the changes and the beat cards.

Pros

Final Draft is the best option when you are a professional writer. Even there are other softwares Final Draft is the one if you are working on the film or tv industry as most proffesionals and producers tend to use this one. The new version is great and the options to write along a colleague and see changes on real time is what I love the most.

Cons

I think is a little expensive for the ones that are just starting. Is not that much intuitive you need to learn trough the practice, but anyways there are plenty of tutorials on their site

Alternatives Considered

StudioBinder and Celtx

Reasons for Choosing Final Draft

Final Draft is the software that the industry uses as standar and that makes it easier to collaborate

Switched From

Celtx

Reasons for Switching to Final Draft

Because this is a one payment license and also because it is the standar, also I can use it on my two computers.
Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Essential Software

Reviewed on 23/09/2022

I’ve had a good time using it as I sold a script. Wouldn’t have been possible without it.

I’ve had a good time using it as I sold a script. Wouldn’t have been possible without it.

Pros

Absolutely essential for screenwriting. So once I made the leap and spent the money ($200) it was incredibly easy to write my script. The one time I needed support it was personal and solved my problem

Cons

Just a bit of a learning curve with not much instruction. You have to kind of intuitively figure it out

Juan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Pro way to Go

Reviewed on 26/01/2024

I use Final Draft to work with some productions, especially when having a big budget and team. I...

I use Final Draft to work with some productions, especially when having a big budget and team. I love that I can work my preproduction with ease, using reports, production summaries, script breakdowns, etc.

Pros

My favorite feature is the ability to make production reports.

Cons

I find it expensive over other software when working on low-budget productions.

Trey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

The biggest brand, but not the greatest value

Reviewed on 18/11/2022

I loved what I accomplished with it. Seeing the scripts and really getting a knack for the craft...

I loved what I accomplished with it. Seeing the scripts and really getting a knack for the craft that brought them to life. I was unfortunately rubbed the wrong way by the way my script fell apart and being told the only way to save my work was to buy the incredibly expensive, new version of the software. This led me to a much more cost-effective alternative that I have been incredibly happy with since.

Pros

There was an incredible thrill seeing a software that easily and smoothly formatted my words into industry standard screenplays -- ESPECIALLY after having done it for quite some time manually in a more commonly used word processor. The ease of use and the quality of the final document was a true thrill when I was beginning my career.

Cons

The list is long. Numerous features never worked for reasons that as far as I can tell were due to the compatibility of different software versions. While that might sound reasonable, the updates were frequent and always cost substantial amounts of money (for just an update!). This led to several collaborators having a different version of Final Draft that couldn't communicate with each other. While I understand the need for updates, I do not understand the frequency and the fact that it would knock out certain features such as the writer collaborating feature (which can now be easily replicated with online websites). I also reached a point where my software was working fine, but told that I needed to update it in order to work with my new computer. I went along with this, yet the update completely crashed my software, leading me to find alternative options.

Gregory
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Industry standard

Reviewed on 18/11/2023

Pros

This product is the standard. If you want to work in the business take the time and learn this product inside and out.

Cons

I would like the tagging and scheduling export feature to improve a lot.

Alternatives Considered

Movie Magic Screenwriter
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Once the standard for screenwriting, but now...

Reviewed on 11/02/2021

I find Final Draft fairly easy to use, but given that there are competitors out there that do the...

I find Final Draft fairly easy to use, but given that there are competitors out there that do the same things at a fraction of the cost of Final Draft make it hard to justify purchasing this software

Pros

Final Draft offers ease in writing scripts without having to worry about formatting.

Cons

It’s overpriced, for starters. It’s distinguishing features from comparable competitors aren’t really game changing features, especially in this day and age. For example, it’s collaboration tools for writing partners just isn’t all that compelling when compared to other similar offerings. Having features like this integrated isn’t really a plus here.

Alternatives Considered

Fade In Pro

Reasons for Switching to Final Draft

I didn’t. I went with Fade In Pro because it was just as versatile as Final Draft and cost way less.
Rabee
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The only writing software you need

Reviewed on 01/05/2021

Overall, I would not make a switch to another software. I have tried a couple of free writing...

Overall, I would not make a switch to another software. I have tried a couple of free writing software, and we have to pay about $100 or sometimes a little more for Final Draft but it is the best software out there and makes our life very easy without us having to worry about anything.

Pros

I have tried a couple of screenwriting software, but this is pretty much the industry standard, and for a good reason. The Final Draft allows you to just begin writing as soon as you open it without us having to worry about the format. Not to mention the other features like notes taking and working with different drafts of the same scripts is extremely easy. A very user-friendly software.

Cons

In some of the older versions, the ability to collaborate with other writers to work on the same project together is not very possible. However, they did change that in the recently updated versions. Sometimes, we are constantly required to update in order to enjoy the new features in the updated versions, which can be sometimes very costly. But if we just want a standard writing software that is used industry-wise, then Final Draft does the job very well.

Dan
Dan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Motion Pictures & Film
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Final Draft is the loaded with features for scriptwriting and for moving into production

Reviewed on 28/02/2023

Final Draft is the industry standard for a reason. No plans to change now.

Final Draft is the industry standard for a reason. No plans to change now.

Pros

Final Draft does all of the things it claims to do. It makes screenwriting easy and relatively automatic, once you learn the interface and keyboard shortcuts. It is very deep with tools to help creativity (beat boards, etc), formatting (formatting checkups before printing are a great last-step tool), and organization. Versioning is a must in screenwriting, and FD has a decent scheme for that. The ability to use the Navigator to search by character, scene, and notes is killer. And the REPORTS section is wonderful, with breakdowns by character, dialogue, scenes, etc.

Cons

Volume licensing can be a little cumbersome. FD uses a "customer number" system with annual renewals that, for us, at least, have often come at odd times and with a bit of a process if someone is moving from one computer to another, or moving a license from one user to another.

Bryn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Streamlined Imagination at Your Fingertips

Reviewed on 13/05/2021

Used this personally in film school and then professionally for plays, screenplays, and comics.

Used this personally in film school and then professionally for plays, screenplays, and comics.

Pros

The ease of use and non-existent learning curve of this software makes someone getting into play writing or screenwriting feel entirely comfortable. The intuitive functionality of this software makes writing an absolute dream. When on a roll, having your muse screaming in your ear, it will often be hard to keep up but shortcuts and keystrokes of the software can match any speed serendipity.

Cons

You pay for what you get and that carries with it a high price tag whereby upgrades to newer software isn't included. My advice is to spend money on a community college film/tv writing course and then use that to get an education discount on Final Draft by linking the school email address to your software registration. You will break even with price and have more of a reason to write now that you're forced to in a class.

Margaret
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Final Draft

Reviewed on 03/12/2022

Pros

I love this software. I feel like a expert at it since I use it everyday. It’s industry standard and is easy to use. From beat boards to revision mode, this software has endless uses.

Cons

Sometimes when working with the program, leaving revision mode, or dual dialogue, the program freezes and I have to shut it down. I make sure to save and save often, because the software though great, sometimes feels like it forgets it’s build to do what I’m asking it to do.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Final Draft Review

Reviewed on 03/11/2022

I’ve been using Final Draft for over 15 years. I’m extremely comfortable with using this product to...

I’ve been using Final Draft for over 15 years. I’m extremely comfortable with using this product to a fault that I’m hesitant to switch, even though there are other products that are significantly lower in cost. I feel the products are becoming less consistent and more buggy and being rushed to newer versions without fixing the issues that currently exist and specifically when using the product on a Windows computer.

Pros

I like the software, because it takes very little time to learn, and you can be off and writing, and no time at all. Plus it is the industry standard ScreenWriting software.

Cons

I think the cost does not justify the use any longer. There are several free, if not considerably lower costing screen writing software products that are available on the market today

Vanessa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very Satisfied

Reviewed on 11/11/2022

I use Final Draft every day and like that their website has a lot of tutorials for how to navigate...

I use Final Draft every day and like that their website has a lot of tutorials for how to navigate new features.

Pros

Final Draft 12 has a lot of great new features and learning tools that are easy to use. Importing or converting files from older versions is much better and there are more tools for outlining, etc. It also has a template for single-cam scripts rather than calling them multi-cam or one-hour.

Cons

The price is a bit too high and it could have better "Text" templates.

Mack
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Screenwriting Made Easy

Reviewed on 30/06/2021

My overall experience has been great because at the end of the day, it's how well you write, and...

My overall experience has been great because at the end of the day, it's how well you write, and what you can put out, that wins over the customer service and software issues. I find that once I'm on a plan, Final Draft is the go-to software for screenwriting, and it lasts for some time.

Pros

I liked its ease of use most, thanks to a friendly user interface and fill-in-the-blank feature that finishes headers and character names for you. I also like the layout in that it emphasizes the white on the page, and subconsciously I believe that's a good indicator to the writer to write less, not more. Final Draft also has a number of ancillary features such as notes or trackers to help you progress, which, while not entirely necessary, is always a good thing to have in the backpocket when writing.

Cons

I did not like the customer service and subscription plan for Final Draft. It's hard to get a hold of them--at least it was for me--or get their help in applying older versions of Final Draft that were already paid for to new computers. Final Draft's software updates at too fast a rate for me to keep up and I don't appreciate paying for new plans or adjusting old ones every time they do.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Buggy on Windows machines

Reviewed on 31/03/2021

Despite the weird issues, I'll keep using it. Not only will I use it, I plan to buy an imac mini...

Despite the weird issues, I'll keep using it. Not only will I use it, I plan to buy an imac mini when I have the money so I can use it without all the bug issues. Overall it's good software, just wish they'd work out the issues on Windows.

Pros

It's the industry standard so there are a lot of people to ask for help when I get stuck. There are also a lot of videos online.

Cons

It can be very buggy on windows. Apparently these issues don't happen on the Mac version. For instance, if my friend edits a FD file while using two monitors and sends it to me, the file won't show up because it's on a second monitor that doesn't exist. Talk about a weird bug!

Gentian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best tool for screenwriters

Reviewed on 20/08/2022

When I write in Final Draft, things become easy, I go with the flow of my thoughts, having...

When I write in Final Draft, things become easy, I go with the flow of my thoughts, having fantastic support from a consolidated program, which makes writing a breeze.

Pros

Very easy to use and automated formatting is superb. You have to focus on creating. It’s Final Draft that takes care of the rest. It is the industry represented in words

Cons

The main difficulty resides in using special letters in other languages than English. For instance, the letter “ë” undergoes several modifying tools to be implemented. Even then, it’s only in uppercase.

Samuel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

FINAL DRAFT REVIEW

Reviewed on 13/01/2021

All in all it is the best writing app I have used so far. It's flexible and user friendly interface...

All in all it is the best writing app I have used so far. It's flexible and user friendly interface makes it a very good software.

Pros

Features on final draft are very easy to use. When I first purchased the software it took me less than a day to be conversant with it and its features. Also it allows you to import a screenplay that was typed with another app in a text form. Lastly it gives you the flexibility to work on two or more projects at a time and that helps in revision a project or adaptation.

Cons

However, what I dont like is the fact that it is not available on google play store. It is although available on IOS. Also, the software is expensive. Lastly, it work better on pc's with good specs.

Anthony
Anthony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Industry standard, but lots of room for growth

Reviewed on 06/04/2021

Pros

It has literally everything one needs for film production from outlining to postproduction.

Cons

For a lot of people, it's super buggy and crashes regularly.

Yahia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

[email protected]

Reviewed on 20/06/2023

Pros

Helps you teach screenwriting .It is easy to use and provides importing pdf files very easily with decoding the words inside it and it contains all the terms of the screenwriter

Cons

Not all terms written by a screenwriter are available

Allan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Needs a Grammarly attachment

Reviewed on 02/11/2022

Cons

Needs to have Grammarly type abilities to correct and suggest language that improves final product for final Draft.

Monica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My Final Draft Review

Reviewed on 05/11/2020

There are many different professional templates (for television, novel, musical theatre, etc.) that...

There are many different professional templates (for television, novel, musical theatre, etc.) that can be used depending on the need. Overall it's a great writing app.

Pros

Final Draft is easy to use, it's a great writing app. It automatically fills in the names of characters, which makes things go along smoothly. I like the many different templates to use.

Cons

It's a little expensive. The price of the software is a little high, but it can be installed on two computers which makes collaboration possible. The other issue is the work has to be saved quite frequently.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Not for me

Reviewed on 11/05/2021

It frustrated me to no end. I did not find it very user friendly in the slightest and definitely...

It frustrated me to no end. I did not find it very user friendly in the slightest and definitely could not justify the cost based on my experiences with it.

Pros

Honestly, I can't really think of anything that I truly liked about the software. Maybe the board beats section?

Cons

It was confusing to me to figure out how to use it. I've heard of people using it for books as well as screen scripts so I was hoping it would work for what I needed instead I wanted to beat my head through a wall trying to figure out the simplest tasks.

Pat
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

To me it’s the only show in town!

Reviewed on 26/11/2023

Pros

It’s well known and good. It’s user friendly and somewhat intuitive.

Cons

Cost. Not sure all the “newer versions” are worth the $.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best, easiest screenwriting software

Reviewed on 10/09/2022

Pros

I love Final Draft. Even a novice can begin writing a screenplay almost immediately thanks to Final Draft's intuitive features and ease of use. A must for anyone that wants to try his or her hand at screenwriting.

Cons

It's a little pricey, but worth it if you're going to be a regular user.

Skyler
Skyler
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best screenwriting software - The Industry Standard

Reviewed on 14/02/2022

Pros

Final Draft is easy to use with no learning curve. You can get started screenwriting within minutes. The software is highly intuitive, so that you can focus on your story, rather than wasting time with formatting.
Shortcuts allow you to remain the flow once inspiration strikes. The customer service experience is exceptional and the best I have ever dealt with for any software.

Cons

It is more expensive than other screenwriting software, but you get what you pay for. It is the industry standard and the only thing you need besides a laptop to pursue a screenwriting career.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Final Draft is the best screenwriting program - if it's within your budget.

Reviewed on 11/02/2022

I love using Final Draft. Unfortunately I don't use it enough to validate spending the money for it...

I love using Final Draft. Unfortunately I don't use it enough to validate spending the money for it but it is definitely the best screenwriting program on the market.

Pros

The flawless integration and various exports are the best features. This program makes it so easy to keep tracking of ideas and completed acts.

Cons

The price is least attractive thing here as the program itself works great.