SingleStore

4.5 (31)
Database management solution

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(31)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

97%
recommended this app

31 Reviews for UK Users

Sujay K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Checked - One solution for Streaming Analytics on Big Data

Reviewed on 27/12/2019

Pros

- Super simple, we implemented the whole of our customer-facing streaming analytics data store in a 2-day hackathon
- Natively integrates with AWS & other services (we are a multi-petabyte S3 shop with huge Kafka clusters)
- Since most of it is SQL, anyone can hit the ground running in no-time, an ultra-low barrier to entry
- We saw a sub-second response on a test case with 1000 concurrent heavy API calls (scanning billions of rows across many tables + window functions etc) along with applying RBAC functionalities on the fly
- Incredibly fast out of the box, basic performance tuning will suffice 95% of use cases
- Fantastic partners to work with, super helpful, we have access to their core engineering team, +100 on Customer engagement!

Cons

In my humble opinion, it solved a very unique hard problem for us elegantly (without having to compromise on any architectural or data principles). Problem of streaming analytics on high-velocity high volume data sets with sub-second API responses can be a handful. For me, this along with other use-cases they mention is their core strength. So anything beyond these capabilities is a "Nice to have" for me. Their roadmap covers most of what the community is asking - hot back-up's, better UI, modelling etc.

Brandon V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Thoughts on MemSQL

Reviewed on 18/10/2019

Our primary use case for MemSQL is an enterprise data lake, which will also serve as a staging area for MemSQL data warehouses. They are currently being developed and are not in production yet. We're learning things as we go, but in general, development is going well and we're satisfied with the product.

Pros

I appreciate that MemSQL is a distributed database that runs on commodity hardware and can be scaled out as opposed to some fixed, vendor-maintained appliances like Teradata. Columnstore is a valuable feature.

Cons

The product is not fully mature. Although it uses the MySQL protocol, it does not always work with MySQL-compliant products. Some administrative functions such as incremental, point-in-time, and object-specific backups and restore are lacking. MemSQL is making progress in these areas, but it still has room to grow.

Response from MemSQL

Thanks for your feedback. We work hard every day to close any feature gaps between MemSQL and the older, legacy databases. Incremental Backup lands in version 7.0, and point-in-time restore is being actively developed, and is slated to land next year.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

MemSQL : Needs Time to Mature

Reviewed on 10/09/2019

This is a good software but needs to mature more for an enterprise level

Pros

Similar to existing RDBMS
Supports join
In Box implementation with Spark
Salable & manageable with memSQL ops

Cons

Security Features
Consistency
Overflow on Disk

Mohammad sufiyan A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SUPERSONIC DB - SUPERB

Reviewed on 10/10/2019

I'll rate it at a full star. Having worked with almost all the databases, I can simply say it aces every database that I worked. The Transformation capabilities in LOAD command is something I have not seen anywhere which helps a lot along with capturing errors and rejects in the LOAD command.

Pros

Super fast and would have give a fair bit of competition to CONCORD Aircraft:). But seriously it is the Database of the new generation with huge potential for both On Premise and Cloud. High compatibility, resilience, scalability are some superb features to work on with it. Highly recommended to any Organization wanting to get rid of the Old fashioned drag on DBs.

Cons

I don't have any particular dislikes, but would love to see its own Client interface, inbuilt Data Modelling capabilities and a superb front end which can help potentially any Developers or Programmers to start the development from Day 1.
Secondly I would also like to see a proper Blogging web portal to help developers resolve their queries, issues faster.

Response from MemSQL

Supersonic is a great description. Thank you. Have you tried MemSQL Studio, the web-based SQL editor and cluster monitor?

Manisha S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very fast

Reviewed on 05/09/2019

Pros

fast response, perfect for real time apps

Cons

documentation isnot too clear about what sits in memory and what on disk. even though all our tables were made to reside on disk, we were getting lots of usage alerts, took for ever to resolve.

Joel N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best in memory SQL offering available

Reviewed on 04/10/2019

MemSQL has helped us enable significant business value through a simplified data lake system.
Large amounts of IOT data (trillions of rows) can be queried in milliseconds.
In addition business databases with processes (running on similar hardware) that took hours to run and now running sub-second on MemSQL.
The path to get to where we are was not easy, but MemSQL was alongside us all the way.

Pros

1. Amazing Performance.
2. ANSI and PL SQL compatibility. Enables easy transition from traditional databases to MemSQL.
3. Highly and easily Scalable
4. Easy to setup, easy to work with.
5. Great support.

Cons

Lack of Incremental backups,
No Failback of replications.
Lack of transaction logging.
Lack of recoverable snapshots.
(All these are near term upcoming features in MemSQL though)

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB

Reasons for Choosing SingleStore

Performance

Switched From

Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to SingleStore

Simple, Legacy compatible, performance
Udayakumar S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good inMemory DB but not great Customer Support

Reviewed on 11/09/2019

Overall we like the products but some important features are lacking.

Pros

I like the way how it solves both being an In-memroy DB and Relational at the same time .. most of the In-Memory products are not relational. Query Response time are good.

Cons

Not Good customer support, Even for PROD-Sev1 issues it's difficult to get on-call representative support.
Lacking Two way DB replication for DataCenters.

Response from MemSQL

I'd love to learn more about your support experience and escalate your concern so we can better serve users in the future. Can you reach out to [email protected] so we can learn more?

Ahmad Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Distributed RDBMS Ever!

Reviewed on 18/10/2019

So far MemSQL was able to handle all types of workloads we applied to it, executing blazing fast queries against tables with real-time data ingestion.
Some of the features we use and are extremely helpful are json support and full-text search, which allowed us to ingest millions of documents every day and run sophisticated dashboards against them

Pros

1. Lightening speed queries
2. High speed, high throughput, real-time data ingestion and queries. Thanks to the pipelines
3. Scale out very easily with no limit
4. In-memory tables for high OLTP workloads, and on-disk columnar storage for OLAP workloads
5. Short learning curve. drop-in replacement to the famous MySQL DB
6. Full-text search
7. Free edition is available

Cons

I really can't think of much here. I advise MemSQL to accelerate adding features to the MemSQL studio

Ivan V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Horizontally scalable relational database

Reviewed on 04/10/2019

- online segmentation of users
- monitoring
- data science

Pros

- horizontally scalable relational database
- huge performance win comparing to on-prem alternatives
- easy to setup on k8s
- easy to connect to kafka

Cons

- cross data center replication requires manual intervention on failover

Kai S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great replacement for Hadoop for a fraction of the cost

Reviewed on 09/10/2019

We needed freshly aggregated stats for our realtime bidding logs. Hadoop Hive was taking over 2 hours to perform the aggregation. After migration to MemSQL we were able to aggregate the stats within 20 minutes.

Pros

Deployment was quick and painless. Works well with existing SQL-based data pipelines. We replaced our expensive and difficult-to-maintain Hadoop cluster with MemSQL and a fraction of the cost.

Cons

There were some stability issues early on with the product, however, the support team was proactive in addressing our issues and providing fixes in later releases. Synchronization with an external MySQL meta-database is not straightforward, and we had to build our own custom synchronization scripts.

Response from MemSQL

So glad you're getting such exceptional performance.

Sanjaya kumar S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent

Reviewed on 04/10/2019

Excellent working with Memsql database. We are within our SLA.

Pros

Fast query processing and child agg and master agg works super

Cons

Memsql ops does not work real time some times.

Todd Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

memsql

Reviewed on 04/10/2019

good

Pros

Performance is good and it is a relational database

Cons

support is limited. there are not too many tutorial/forum etc.

Alternatives Considered

PostgreSQL

Reasons for Choosing SingleStore

Performance

Reasons for Switching to SingleStore

Reputation
Adrian A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

i dont need the gift card :)

Reviewed on 10/09/2019

R&D, installation, administration, new features R&D

Pros

fast, reliable, stable, works perfect on Linux
replication is fast and too easy to set up :)

Cons

geez ... I really don't know.
I am really thinking of something I don't like but nothing comes to mind.
I have been doing administration for ... a few good years now.

Tencza S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Software and Support

Reviewed on 10/09/2019

We use memsql for our DB solution for cDVR. Your support personal have been very responsive and helped us resolve our issues. Ranging from a SEV1 to a SEV3 issue.

Pros

Ease of use
Ease of troubleshooting and upgrading
Supporting

Cons

We have had issues with Aggregators/Leafs failing over

Response from MemSQL

I'm so glad you've had such a positive experience with support.

Prasad M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Memsql is very good for big data development

Reviewed on 04/10/2019

it was a excellent experience. We were able to build big data pipelines fast.

Pros

fastest in memory database. We have observed that it is very fast with queries,

Cons

should be able to keep more data in memory and do not break.

Praveen N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great product. Could be better at performance

Reviewed on 04/10/2019

Overall experience has been good and with good engineering principles, I'm sure MemSQL can overcome the performance challenges and can be a force to reckon with.

Pros

good product with good core competencies - scalable SQL database designed for transactional and analytical workloads, consistency durability etc

Cons

Performance challenges for in-Memory Database.

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB and Couchbase Server

Reasons for Switching to SingleStore

Price points and durability
Jung K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best of the both world, row and col

Reviewed on 04/10/2019

Performance justifies expensive license cost

Pros

You can seamlessly join both row and columnar tables and query across it

Cons

Deployment script is bit challenging and need more custom works

Dana V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great performacne improvment and great team to work with

Reviewed on 09/10/2019

Pros

The performance of this db its is amazing. The team assigned to our project did a great work by migrating a huge system in a short period of time

Cons

Since it is a new system that we are implementing as of now...I do not have "dislike".

Shane T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MemSQL-6 Administrator Training

Reviewed on 10/09/2019

MemSQL solves our DBMS need for fast updates to storage, alert on comp nodes and IP delivery.

Pros

When synchronizing permissions to child aggregators, only non-root users are affected.
It has real-time processing features, and a child aggregator can be set as master if necessary.

Cons

If a leaf fails it takes the Matser Aggregator 10 seconds to promote the slave partitions from paired leaf.

Vihari G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MemSQL

Reviewed on 18/09/2019

Amazing learning experience working with MemSQL, user friendly and easy to learn and understand. Made our lives much easier.

Pros

Performance and fairly easy to understand.

Cons

None actually. But sometimes support tickets take some time to be resolved but apart from that everything is great.

Sathwik S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Security & Investigations
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Gets the job done

Reviewed on 10/09/2019

The on-boarding was very smooth. The sales team is always ready to answer any question you have and they don't hesitate to involve their Engineers if you ask for more technical details.

Pros

If you are looking for something for real time analytics/dashboard this is the go-to option. We tried out lot of other technologies/tools and nothing seemed to be meeting the expectations when it comes to concurrent loads and data latency.

Cons

No Support for directly reading out of S3 files.

Response from MemSQL

A Quickstart tutorial for pulling data directly out of S3 files is at https://docs.memsql.com/v6.8/concepts/pipelines/s3-pipelines-quickstart/ How can we make this documentation more discoverable?

Udaneshwara M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent and user friendly

Reviewed on 10/10/2019

Pros

Fast Accessing and data fetch and reliable

Cons

none.. don't have any con's as of now...

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MemSQL distributed DBMS

Reviewed on 12/10/2019

hardware are needed according to cluster requirements

Pros

faster and scalable .. it runs as a distributed cluster thats why it is faster

Cons

it is not free ...and not popular among users although it is useful

Omer B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 05/09/2019

Pros

The similarity to mySql and the ocerall quickness of the queries

Cons

Slow queries with temp table.
Need to change every query in mysql that contain temp table to subQuery.

Response from MemSQL

I'm so glad you're enjoying the speed of MemSQL. Temp table performance is unexpected. Can you reach out to [email protected] so we can learn more about your scenario and help you achieve amazing results here too?

Madhuri K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Stream fast and Easy to Maintain.

Reviewed on 04/10/2019

Fast for large Streaming applications and easy to setup pipelines

Pros

1. Ease of Installation
2. Upgrade procedures which support both offline and online.
3. Easy to deploy on to any cloud

Cons

The leaf node is associated with a id which binds it to hardware