Oracle Database Reviews

Oracle Database

Discover the Right Database for You

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(457)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

94%
recommended this app
Sort by

457 Reviews for UK Users

Jose
Jose
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why use Oracle Database

Reviewed on 09/08/2018

My experience with Oracle has been as administrator and developer which gives me an overview of the...

My experience with Oracle has been as administrator and developer which gives me an overview of the projects and has allowed me, thanks to the tools it provides, to achieve projects that with other database managers could not have been successfully completed, that is, the multiple tools provided by oracle are very helpful although the examples and the documentation seem scarce

Pros

It is a very powerful database from the point of view of storage and development, I have used oracle in many aspects, as a database engine and for a large amount of data it is perfect because it handles high volume data efficiently, as well It provides the advantage of being able to develop with SQL ansi standard procedures and tasks that automate the management of data, the advantage of being able to run on any platform and with any development tool allows development projects to be carried out in the expected time, compatibility It is your biggest advantage

Cons

As a disadvantage I think that the way to handle the downloads of the connection drivers for the different platforms is a bit tedious since other databases do not require so much protocol to download the drivers. it may be necessary in some cases to document about the new functionalities because the examples provided by the provider are not so clear and / or non-existent

Serhat
Serhat
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Incredibly Fast

Reviewed on 05/07/2023

The features I use most in Oracle database; Writing stored procedure, view, cursor and trigger and...

The features I use most in Oracle database; Writing stored procedure, view, cursor and trigger and calling it from within the software, as well as writing instant queries and generating reports.

Pros

I'm in the banking industry and we have millions of transactions daily. We keep these transactions in the oracle database. Among all this data, we can find, for example, a transaction or customer we want to find, without waiting. An invaluable database tool for complete enterprise companies. The main features that I like the most are that it can process large amounts of data quickly, many users can access the same table or even the same data, and it is very easy to use.

Cons

I've been using it for years and I've never encountered a feature that I don't like at all.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

A database to use if you have always used it and cannot fathom doing things differently

Reviewed on 24/05/2018

I got a working database for my application from this software, but there could be so much more for...

I got a working database for my application from this software, but there could be so much more for that price using modern concepts.

Pros

Oracle Database aligns with the topics you learned in your Intro to Databases class. It has tables, columns, keys, indexes, triggers, and all the things you want to avoid in your modern applications.

Cons

It is big, resource-intensive, expensive, hard to maintain, hard to patch, unreliable, impossible to distribute without an equally cumbersome and expensive add-on, and it keeps your applications mired in the past.

Attila
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DBA for Oracle Database

Reviewed on 17/07/2023

Pros

Having worked with Oracle Database as a DBA, I was satisfied with the functionalities, speed and overall performance of the tool. The multidimensional database enabled to design dynamic reports, and easily organize the data in excel. The sw dealt with large sets of data with an ease and rarely faced any outages / limitations.

Cons

Nothing to highlight here. If you know your database / you can easily navigate, retrieve, edit data. Excel add in also helped to share information with others on a regular / ad-hoc basis..

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Oracle for Non-Profits

Reviewed on 08/11/2023

Pros

Lightweight, pretty easy to use. TNS files make it easy to make sure everyone has the same connections. No real issues.

Cons

Having to use a third party software like TOAD or SQL Developer to access it can be a pain and annoying at times. As well with having a Linux-based backend it can be difficult to find the right DBA.

Tounekti
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why I choose Oracle

Reviewed on 13/09/2023

Pros

I have been using Oracle for almost years now, I really enjoyed the simplicity of use.

Cons

I noticed that Oracle while using specially data warehouse it needs a respected performance.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A data base that we use more than 10 years

Reviewed on 06/12/2023

Overall with Oracle Database i can manage my data with more safety and easy to recall

Overall with Oracle Database i can manage my data with more safety and easy to recall

Pros

What i like most about Oracle Data base is the data base is more secure and easy to recall

Cons

What i did least like from Oracle Database is the prize, because i use this Oracle Database when i buy The Prinergy Software

Bradley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Oracle Database still a super reliable option

Reviewed on 22/06/2023

A super product with a large suite of options for any database related deployments

A super product with a large suite of options for any database related deployments

Pros

The Golden Gate is a great bolt on that we found effective in managing our data replication

Cons

Occasionally bugs are evident but the regular quarterly patch sets keep on top of these

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A solid database

Reviewed on 14/09/2023

Pros

It is a very solid database, with a lot of official and community support and documentation. Very good for those who want to start with database management.

Cons

With all of its features, it can be heavy and complex.

Ashwin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent responsive DB

Reviewed on 20/07/2023

Pros

-vastly used DB in the market for a reason.-Excellent and responsive.-Well supported.

Cons

Nothing much to point out. All seems fine.

Osuavareghe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best instructional RDBMS

Reviewed on 20/10/2020

As a Faculty who has made use of and taught Oracle, Ms SQL, MySQL and Ms Access and Excel, I can...

As a Faculty who has made use of and taught Oracle, Ms SQL, MySQL and Ms Access and Excel, I can boldly tell you that Oracle Database Management Software remains the best and to shock you that's why the biggest organizations in the world makes use of it. One other thing you need to know is that it is most secure DBMS you can ever think of when it comes to data management.

Pros

Oracle DBMS is the best when you talk about large data manipulation SQL/PL-SQL runtime is way beyond its counterparts such as MySQL and MS SQL. Another feature is the availability of support (API) for different programming languages. Programmers can easily develop applications using whether it be mobile apps, web based or other server based applications, Oracle is a sure bet. Oracle's availability, recoverability, performance feature is also an added advantage. The new feature that removes human error of patching and upgrading by automating the process is another key benefit.

Cons

Oracle DBMS may not be the right choice for a small organization just starting if they do not have enough money to purchase its license. Oracle license is really expensive. One other thing is that you will need a highly skilled oracle professional to harness all the benefits Oracle truly provides.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Relational Database Platform in market

Reviewed on 29/01/2019

I used Oracle database for programming application logics for a technician management applications...

I used Oracle database for programming application logics for a technician management applications for a client. I also used Oracle database to support database layer for several of my clients in my career so far.

Pros

I have been using Oracle Database since the version 10g. I have had a chance to work on several other database platforms like Sybase, MS SQL and MySQL. Oracle database comes with tons of features which many of the other databases don't have. I am not sure if i can say that other way round for other databases i have used.
It's quite complicated to learn and definitely complicated to master, but it provides you with enough tools to do complicated tasks quite easily.
You can also code your application programming languages using it's native PL/SQL language. Oracle Database also let's you make calls to Java programs and embed some Java inside the PL/SQL.

Cons

It's costly! It's quite costly if you are using it for small businesses. Some of the very sophisticated features are only available for enterprise version of Oracle Database which is quite costly. Oracle is very price oriented, so be careful about the budget when you chose Oracle Database.

Sukesh
Sukesh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Trending database technique with high level data protection,availability,scalability and cloud

Reviewed on 07/11/2018

I had great experience working on different versions of oracle databases and the technologies like...

I had great experience working on different versions of oracle databases and the technologies like Goldengate,RAC,ASM,OEM,RMAN,DATAPUMP. I highly recommend my friends to learn oracle db administration as it is very useful if chosen as a career.

Pros

Being a oracle database administrator I like to manage and work on unique technologies that are available, like Real application cluster,Golden gate,RMAN, Datapump and its is really challenging at times when we receive performance related issues. It provides high level security on data where we can recover lost data or corrupt data using various technologies like RMAN,DATAPUMP,DATAGUARD,RAC.
ASM makes the database maintenance even more simple while adding new disks into storage or adding datafiles. Goldengate can be used to configure data replication between different vender databases and OEM 12C and above can be used to monitor other vendor databases and OS alerts too.The Cloud enviornment makes it look cooler.

Cons

I don't find any cons as such as but the ORACLE-SUPPORT response is slow sometimes even on high priority issues and we need to raise a call to the manager

Ruban
Ruban
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best RDBMS out there

Reviewed on 16/06/2022

I have used Oracles DB as RDBMS for multiple application and I have formed cluster with RAC. So...

I have used Oracles DB as RDBMS for multiple application and I have formed cluster with RAC. So far I have not faced any issues with the DB. Some of the performance issue while users performs any operation in the app was due to the costly SQL calls like joins.

Pros

Very fast for all the SQL transaction. The performance is good which in turns increases the performance/response time of the application I build on top of it.

Disaster recovery, Master/slave replication and high availability feature which is built besides are very helpful

Cons

RAC and clustering is complex for the beginners. But the practicality of these feature are really useful.

Alternatives Considered

MySQL and Vertica
Carlos David
Carlos David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Industry Leading Database System

Reviewed on 29/08/2022

The Bank for which I am consultant has been using Oracle for ages. If you can rely in such product...

The Bank for which I am consultant has been using Oracle for ages. If you can rely in such product for supporting trillions of financing transactions everyday, you can be sure that you have selected a great deal. I am very pleased with the performance and all the capabilities that Oracle Database has bring to our platforms.

Pros

With Oracle Database you can be sure you are backed up by one of the best RDBS available on the market.
Features like query hints mark the difference with its competitors and can be very important when evaluating the performance of your data source tier.

Oracle Database provides flexibility of data representation and all kinds of tools that help you succeed in your platform development.
Preserving data is the most important thing in every organization.

Cons

Licensing can be quite costly if you take into account that there are very good Open source solutions available out there.

Rachel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A reliable tool to store and access data

Reviewed on 25/02/2021

Oracle is a powerful tool which allows me to organize my data and run daily and weekly procedures...

Oracle is a powerful tool which allows me to organize my data and run daily and weekly procedures in an efficient and trustworthy manner. The integration with external visualization tools such as Spotfire is a crucial component as well. I would highly recommend this product.

Pros

Oracle provides an easy and powerful way to interact with data. Capabilities such as data dictionaries and indexes make it easy to optimize the performance of existing procedures, and the organization of schemas make finding and editing current stored tables and scripts intuitive. I transitioned to using Oracle from MySQL and it has been an easy transition. It also integrates seamlessly with Spotfire to enable dynamic visualizations and enables insight into business decisions.

Cons

The permissions granted to different departments and the access for different schemas can be confusing to navigate. I know that these permissions are enabled as a safety feature, but it is still frustrating to move through the ranks in order to enable certain accesses. The software also crashes occasionally, which was frustrating. If you are working on an already overtaxed system, be aware and save your work often in case of an unexpected closeout.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Robust and reliable

Reviewed on 22/08/2021

Pros

Oracle is a versatile, robust and reliable database. Can be used for a variety of work loads like OLTP and OLAP. Provides options for easy installation and maintenance but can also be tweaked by advanced users.

Cons

License management is complex. If licenses are understood properly and not managed or tracked, it may lead to legal/financial implications.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server and PostgreSQL
Shrish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excerpt on Oracle Database

Reviewed on 18/05/2017

Pros

1. Within the Oracle databases, the application can use multiple schemas.
2. Database tables are assigned to table spaces such that their extent size reflects the size of the table
3.Ability to create all functions and procedures inside Packages [No stand Alone Implementation], and those which define the interface of the package to the outside can be declared in the package header
4. By using Dynamic SQL we've replaced bulky queries by input based optimized queries.
5. Using Oracle's 'Advanced Queuing' we implemented Asynchronous calls in the database enabling us to run processes in the background, when a separate process got executed in the foreground.

Cons

These days capabilities like Oracle are being provided by other open source DB's like Postgres etc at a very nominal cost.

Christopher
Christopher
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Oracle Database Review from an Senior Oracle DBA

Reviewed on 16/01/2019

I have used oracle for Datawarehouse, transactional systems, golden gate replications, among...

I have used oracle for Datawarehouse, transactional systems, golden gate replications, among others. It is the core database of the company I currently work for.

Pros

I have been working as a Database Administrator since 2011, Oracle is by far the best relational database I have used. It works better on unix-like systems, it is very fast, has lots of parameters to tune to your specific needs and it also has a lot of features like partinioning, high availability soluctions like RAC and Dataguard that make this the best database on the market for mission critical systems.

Cons

The online documentation needs improvement, sometimes it is incomplete, there are not enough examples for some features. Customer Support is erratic, sometimes it´s great and sometimes not so much, it depends on the support tech.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Most powerful relational database in market

Reviewed on 16/01/2019

I have worked with Oracle database since almost a decade now. I have implemented small, medium to...

I have worked with Oracle database since almost a decade now. I have implemented small, medium to very large implementations of Oracle database in my career. i have been extremely satisfied with sophisticated features that Oracle database provides.

Pros

I have been working on database technologies since more than a decade now. Oracle database is the most powerful relational database in market with tonnes of features. If you buy enterprise edition of the software, you get features like data guard, Oracle Enterprise Manager for free.

Cons

Oracle database can be overly complicated for someone who has worked with other database vendors like Microsoft or SAP. Also, Oracle database is costly in terms of license price compared to other database options.

chandrika
chandrika
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The best Database available

Reviewed on 02/01/2019

It's biggest and popular software , overall it's great software with so many tools available and...

It's biggest and popular software , overall it's great software with so many tools available and with so many upgradations.

Pros

Well I am Using it from my college days, I have used it for small a project and am using it currently in my organization's project also.

Here I am listing pros :

it's a very robust database as compared to others.
There is a lot of support and documentation available over the internet.
Very secure
Built in Administraion tools and customizable settings.
So many drivers are available as it's one of the oldest database available.

Cons

Cons -
The size of the software is quite heavy.
Expensive
It could be little difficult for a beginner to setup it and go through it.

Steven
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mid-Tier database that competes with other technologies in the same space

Reviewed on 13/12/2020

Great software, a general “supports all” database, but not specialised in any particular element of...

Great software, a general “supports all” database, but not specialised in any particular element of the database world,

Pros

Easy to deploy, we have high usage varying from standard installs to multi instance, rack, replicated high availability and reporting instances. Good performance and competes with our other standard database options if approved.

Cons

Compared to other similar products the options can be overwhelming, but once understood you can easily integrate this into your organisation. GoldenGate for replication makes high availability easy, backups are configurable and quantifiable which satisfies many regulatory requirements.

Neha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Oracle - Robust and Powerful Database

Reviewed on 10/09/2022

We have had an amazing experience so far with this database. In fact, it is used for lot of things...

We have had an amazing experience so far with this database. In fact, it is used for lot of things in our organization. Overall, it's a great database management tool.

Pros

Well-suited for storing and handling large volumes of data. It is fast and efficient and easily scalable. Also, it is one of the best databases from the integration standpoint as it allows one to make REST calls to perform CRUD operations over your tables.

Cons

Oracle Database is not easy to use. It is very complex in nature which restricts the ability of users from non-technical background to use it in a proper manner.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Undoubtedly most sophisticated RDBMS product in market

Reviewed on 26/03/2019

i have been using oracle database since version 10g we have implemented it for web applications ,...

i have been using oracle database since version 10g we have implemented it for web applications , ERP solutions and cloud apps for a A tier organisation. it can handle high transaction volum and lot of features for specific business needs which might not be available in other competitor product in market.

Pros

-oracle database comes in 4 editions: standard,enterprise,personal,express. we have flexibility to use one of the edition on specific needs.
-cloud ready architecture
-strong user community

Cons

- expensive pricing models
- extremely complicated architecture , not easy to acquire complete
- separate costs for additional features like partitioning and performance tuning

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Oracle a must for transnational system

Reviewed on 02/04/2019

Some application can't live without oracle, but many applications are gradually moving to other...

Some application can't live without oracle, but many applications are gradually moving to other databases. I think oracle is needed but we need other new age technological database to also to handle new age petabytes of data.

Pros

ACID property.
Relationship enforcement.
New features in each release.
Oracle replication and goldengate among different system.
robust data integrity and enforcement.
backup, recovery,

Cons

inability to match the speed of the NoSQL in case million/trillion of transactions.
if there are too many changes in applications, oracle is not good.
good for normalization, but data today mostly can come at any format.