IBM Db2

4.4 (45)
Flexible data management platform

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(45)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

93%
recommended this app
Sort by

45 Reviews for UK Users

Luis alexis R.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

In My professional life I have used DB2 on the AS / 400 and e_Series platform for more than 15...

Reviewed on 27/06/2018

Implementing in record time allowing operating different system projects in the companies where I worked, you can be quiet because the data of the companies are based on a robust database eliminated the level of distress, allows access to your level of user user security to the system users allowing them to elaborate the data of the database in an excel sheet for example.

Pros

Easy database Implementation easy administration can be managed from any station the level of specialization is much lower than any other database, robust and recovery by indexes, interconnects with other databases such as Sql Server and allows data sharing in Immediately, its level of robustness and integrity is unique.

Cons

Proprietary database, requires a lot of Hardware for its good performance and its costs are high.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

29/5000 Extremely stable and safe

Reviewed on 02/06/2020

Over 10 years using DB2 I can affirm that it is a very secure bank, with updates that bring new features, high compaction power and geographic contingency features gave us the security to work with SAP.

Pros

DB2 HAS A SERIES OF TOOLS THAT ARE DIFFERENTIAL, BUT HIGHLIGHTING THE CAPACITY OF SELF-MANAGEMENT (PARAMETERIZATION) AND DATA COMPACTION. ARE STRONG POINTS TO CONSIDER.

Cons

The acquisition cost can be a hindrance in the acquisition negotiations.
Support is also a weakness for the cost, forcing the use of DB2 communities for troubleshooting.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL Server and Oracle Database

Reasons for Switching to IBM Db2

For its ease of management and for being included in the commercial proposal, training and support at an attractive price.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

IBM D2

Reviewed on 01/02/2019

I would recommend use of DB2 in modern tech advancements. Light weight DB like MySQL, postgres are much better.

Pros

Db2 was used in our mainframe application. it accepts standard sql syntax. can handle large amount of data.

Cons

As data grows in production environment, it becomes slow. Thread hung and application performance degrades. Also it's costly.

Sean Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Heavy and expensive, but good at what it does

Reviewed on 17/03/2021

Pros

Db2 scales very well AFTER a certain point. Support is excellent, it's easy to get stood up once you have a feel for what you're doing.

Cons

Scaling: for instance it won't run on small machines too well. This becomes important if you're running a local copy for development or testing. There is a free Community Edition to play with, but can't take advantage of tons of ram or CPU, but good for POC.

Jeremias E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My DB2 Experience

Reviewed on 29/05/2019

Learning a fully functional database or DBMS may require an educational institution to buy licensed software to be installed in the laboratory. IBM DB2 Express-C is a free closed- source software that a student can use. Even a student could download and have the personal copy of the application as he learns database during the course.

Pros

IBM DB2 gives a start up point for a student to learn databases. All the features a DBMS have are provided by DB2. The product supports almost any front-end application that requires database. All the drivers are provided as you setup a connection to an application.

IBM DB2 is not limited in learning SQL scripts. You may initiate also database back up and security, XML, stored procedures, and user-defined functions.

Cons

IBM DB2 is a high-secured database server. You may be lost in the installation process if you missed one of its steps. If you experience failed installation, uninstalling it may not fully do the trick. You need to delete folders or directories it has created during installation.

Warwick B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best database software in the marketplace

Reviewed on 18/10/2021

This tool is effectively and efficiently being used in some specific departments of our organization. Overall, it is a great tool that has been really beneficial for our company. I find the customer support of IBM Db2 the best product support team as whenever we have questions they just respond to them in the quickest way.

Pros

I have been using this product in our company for a long time as Database-as-a-Service on our cloud for different requirements such as storing and even manipulating data safely with timely availability. This product has been providing services that help in storing and running all the problems in order to evaluate the data. This tool allows us to modify the processing speed of our company’s data just to enhance the overall user experience. Moreover, I am a frequent user of this tool and having great experience of this tool.

Cons

I felt there is a storage capacity problem which sometimes makes it difficult to check the effectiveness of the entire database.

Richard E.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

db2 is the great IBM database manager

Reviewed on 07/05/2018

I learned how to cluster distributed databases, the use of IBM products, they are very powerful

Pros

It is very easy to install, use, it can be used for small and large projects, there is a lot of documentation about DB2, and the support they offer is very good, as long as you have a good license.
I use it mainly for the execution of databases distributed in a banking project, its performance is very good

Cons

the bad thing that I see, is that you have to acquire a business license to use your maximum potential, apart from that there is also use IBM hardware, otherwise many conflicts are created

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

The reliable RDMS for Legacy systems

Reviewed on 19/12/2021

Pros

Use it if you are using a Mainframe OS.
The navigation is not too complex considering a minimalistic UI.

Cons

The query speed and result retrieval is a pain point. May be they can introduce an instant results UI page on the Mainframes.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A powerful relational database

Reviewed on 11/11/2021

Overall satisfied, used in couple of my projects, even with AS400.

Pros

Easy to integrate with any API with minimal configuration

Cons

Searching large amount of data might take time, indexing strategy could be better

Debarpan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Relational Database Management System solution from IBM

Reviewed on 12/04/2022

IBM DB2 ensured the development of a scalable database solution to cater to the data processing and data cleansing requirements. The query processing performance was fast with minimal disruptions. Debugging was efficient with good community support. A number of drivers are available to connect to external applications.

Pros

Scalable database to store large scale organisation data
Robust application
Data security & reliability - ensure strict data compliance
Easy to get started - getting started is simple with minimal expert intervention required
Excellent community support - resolution of bugs, suggestions, ideas available

Cons

Analytics capabilities have to be improved

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Proven for enterprise workloads

Reviewed on 16/04/2019

Have used DB2 as a Relational Database (RDBMS) for the past 10 years, primarily to support SAP based enterprise workloads. IBM's development of DB2 has been fuelled by one of its largest customers - SAP. As such this review will be biased towards SAP. I started with DB2 7.5 on IBM's flagship AIX Operating System, and it has come a long way. These days AIX is dead (unfortunately), and IBM's Power platform is leveraging Linux. DB2 of course supports the big-endian based Power platforms, and the little-endian based x86 platforms that run both Linux and Windows.

DB2 is very versatile as a database, and supports most features that enterprise-based databases like Oracle support. It really is a matter of choice. DB2 administrators are obviously not as easy to find as Oracle's, but so long as the DBA's have good knowledge they can be cross-trained easily.

Pros

- ACID compliant like any good RDBMS (Oracle, MSSQL, SAP HANA)
- Runs well and scales well on IBM's Power-based platform, and commodity x86 hardware running Linux/Windows
- Various editions to suit customer needs and requirements. For example the Developer Edition is fully featured and is completely free for developers to use, or all the way to Enterprise Edition for state-of-the-art functionality (In-Memory based Columnar Tables thru its BLU functionality, High-Availability, Disaster Recovery etc. to prevent Single-Points-of-Failure). Rivals the existing enterprise RDBMS's

Cons

- Even though there is a GUI for point-and-click administration (IBM Data Studio), to really flex the database's features and functionality command-line tools are required (like Oracle :-)

Steven C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Db2 in financial services

Reviewed on 19/11/2020

Straightforward to install and manage. Solid deployments but features can be behind. This is acceptable in our organisation, but may not be desirable in cutting edge companies.

Pros

In my employed role we use DB2 for warehousing, marts and as simple data stores. It is an integral part of back and metadata for Cognos and DataStage. It was simple to install and by default comes as self managed.
We also deploy this for hosting customer data and integration with net backup, ha solutions and job scheduling is industry standard.

Cons

Vendor can be a little hard to work with on issues, getting the required information can be a drawn out process when trying to fix a live issue. This has improved over the years and support is more flexible in investigating while reports are generated. Functionality is competitive, but bleeding edge features (NoSql) can lag behind others.

Shashank V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best RDBMS Software

Reviewed on 28/03/2019

My experience using this RDBMS software is very good as retrieving of data from the database is very fast. We can execute complex queries in a smooth way. I actually wanted to store XML data inside the database in case of any B2B transactions that I need to store for further processing. DB2 database has the capability to store XML data and store some large files in regards to that transaction details.

Pros

1) DB2 is very cheap, easy to install. We don't have to worry about license costs as they wouldn't be more than that in Oracle.
2) It can run on any OS like windows, Linux, Mac.
3) We can use DB2 along with XML data also.
4) The retrieving of data from the db2 database is very fast which is actually a very good feature.
5) Can store large files in the database in an easy way.
6) We can store the data in different locations across the data and the data can be accessed from different locations in a faster way.
7) Index feature is available in DB2 to identify a unique table out of thousands of tables in DB2 database.

Cons

I didn't find any flaws using this software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Robust database engine, but takes quite a bit of getting use to.

Reviewed on 17/02/2018

This database engine is robust, with many tools and features.
Easily upgraded.
Minimal maintenance needed after it is up and running.
Able to use either the command line interface or GUI to access and manipulate databases.

Pros

This database engine is robust, with many tools and features.
Easily upgraded.
Minimal maintenance needed after it is up and running.
Able to use either the command line interface or GUI to access and manipulate databases.

Cons

Documentation needs to be more extensive, as you have to pay for customer support.
Takes quite a bit of getting use to, as syntax varies greatly from other DBMSs.

Mehak A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A very secure, stable and DB with great performance.

Reviewed on 31/12/2020

We used it for projects that have a huge database and complex queries, the experience was great as the ability to handle complex queries reduced the load on our application.

Pros

It's fairly easy to set up and offers a lot of functionality, it's very easy to connect to most of the UI tools and framework. The security features make it ideal for banking applications. It is such a powerful tool that optimized requested works super fast.

Cons

The only issue I think is its price, Db2 is quite costly as compared to its competitors, it does offer a great selection of feature so that also can be overlooked.

Lynda C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DB2 for you!

Reviewed on 08/08/2019

On the rare occasions I have had to open a ticket with IBM I have had received great help in a timely fashion.

Pros

I have worked with DB2 as a database manager for over 30 years. It is a great product, robust, lots of flexibility, ever improving and rock solid.

Cons

Sometimes the number of options are overwhelming but the number of options is part of what makes DB2 great. Like so many things in life, it cuts both ways.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product, easy to install and use. Been using it for 6 years in different projects.

Reviewed on 07/05/2018

Pros

Installation is very easy and when installed it's ease of use, very convenient. It's also very easy to connect to other tools like DBVisualizer which gives another way of viewing the tables and info.

Cons

They need to improve the help online to find some commands, and the explanation on the commands as well.

Lukasz P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Stable and reliable ! Simply - It work s , even better that You expected

Reviewed on 12/07/2017

Stability , performance , reliability

Pros

This product is very stable , it can be fully trusted . It's optimisation is perfect - every request can be optimised smoothly and without user interactions

Cons

Price - it could be better - but You know that Your money were well spend . Also support could be more active

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

IBM DB2 user since several months

Reviewed on 27/11/2018

We load all the sales data into DB2 system and will derive analytics on top of it. I can recommand if you have lot of budget to put on database managemnet.

Pros

1) DB2 has extensive functionality, has a lot of built-in features. robust database software
2) easy to use, and MPP systems which make the system to process data parallel.
3) DB2 SQL is anscii standard so migration to/from other databases would be easy.

Cons

1) expensive compared to other solutions available in market.
2) Few of the DB2 specific syntaxes are non convertable when we move to other databases.

Senthamizhselvan E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

IBM db2

Reviewed on 17/01/2019

Pros

This can hold n number of records and easy to access it via online application and updated using the informatica

Cons

The application looks and query are bit complicated compared to SQL

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

DB2

Reviewed on 05/01/2019

DB2 has kept me working for 30+ years.

Pros

DB2 is very versatile, and can be used to drive the processing in your software.

Cons

Too many abends using the product, and too hard to diagnose.

Moises r. F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful database.

Reviewed on 29/05/2019

Pros

Our card system is in ibm db2 database and super powerful and never the instance has presented problems.

Cons

Sometimes not all applications are compatible with this database.

Nazeer S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the most used DBs

Reviewed on 30/01/2017

DB2 is one of the most used DBs. It is based on Mainframe technology. It easily integrates with IBM BPM, IBM Datapower very well. Task Scheduler component of DB2 allows for statistics gathering and reorganization of indexes and tables without user interaction. DB2 has comprehensive suite of security features such as authentication, authorization, trusted context, auditing, encryption, and fine-grain controls.

Cons

Pricing is little high

Srinivas K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

IBM DB2 review

Reviewed on 14/12/2020

Awesome

Pros

Ease of use functionality security high value DB2 functions

Cons

Proprietary sql, complexity, works only on ibm systems

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

DB2 is solid as a rock

Reviewed on 05/02/2019

I'm happy with db2 , IBM is doing a good job release by release powering the software .

Pros

DB2 is solid as a rock. I'm using it from several years and with last release 11.1 it's been also easiest to be set up from newbie admin. DB2 is the classical server you will setup and you fill find again after years.

Cons

It's not economic and needs some education to be used in production environment.