Aiven Kafka

4.6 (67)
Fully managed service with zero vendor lock-in

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(67)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.5/5

99%
recommended this app
Sort by

67 Reviews for UK Users

Filippo D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It has been a game changer in our business

Reviewed on 11/10/2017

It saved us from the hassle to manage Kafka cluster ourselves, with a very fast response customer support

Pros

It provides a working out of the box Kafka with REST API, Schema Registry, and Kafka Connect. It also makes available a very powerful REST API and command line tool to manage the services. Topics ACL and per user certificates are a very good addition for any non-trivial use case.

Cons

Some available settings are not very well documented. Also using Kafka is not the most trivial things in the hearth. Would be good to have more detailed monitoring maybe coupled with InfluxDb that is already available in Aiven

Response from Aiven

Thank you Filippo for your comments.

We¿re glad to hear you have enjoyed using Aiven!

Aiven provides detailed gathering of Kafka telemetry and subsequent visualization through built-in dashboards using Aiven PostgreSQL(TimescaleDB) and Aiven Grafana. Here's some links you might find useful:

Aiven Service Integrations
https://help.aiven.io/services/integrations/getting-started-with-service-integrations

Aiven Kafka - Telemetry and Dashboards
https://aiven.io/blog/gain-visibility-with-kafka-dashboards/

DataDog integration
https://aiven.io/blog/datadog-meets-aiven/

Prometheus integration
https://aiven.io/blog/prometheus-can-now-be-integrated-with-aiven/

Thanks again!

Russell H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Our experiences deploying Kafka with Aiven

Reviewed on 12/08/2019

We are a very new customer but our experience has been good so far. They have taken a lot of headaches out of setting up a Kafka cluster. I am hopeful that this experience will carry over to production as we begin to deliver new projects using Kafka.

Pros

We liked that Aiven offered us a self service portal and is easy to integrate with our existing software stack. We have a number of environments in development requiring Kafka and they are able to offer us the level of flexibility we need.

We are using Terraform in AWS so being able to provision everything using their Terraform provider is also beneficial to us. Setting up a cluster to the point where we are able to monitor it with our existing Prometheus is very easy to do thanks to their external integrations.

Cons

The documentation is lacking in some parts. Trying to set up logging to am external Elasticsearch cluster is difficult if you have your cluster secured with SSL. The terraform documentation is also lacking documentation and expects you to figure it out yourself from reading JSON.

Neeraj G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Good but not excellent

Reviewed on 15/05/2018

1. Kafka easy to maintain and easy to use, easy to scale up

Pros

1. easy UI and scalability.
easy to use kafka features
easy and approachable team and easy to see logs.

Cons

1. documentation is not proper. no steps mentioned anywhere for connectivity of aiven with other cloud or on premise clusters.
2. no troubleshooting steps available
3. very tough to use if face errors, as there is no way to go out as documents are not avilable in detail.

Response from Aiven

Hi Neeraj,

We appreciate your feedback!

Just wanted to let you know that a limited amount (typically 1-2 days worth) of Aiven service logs are provided in the ¿Logs¿ tab for your service in the Aiven console. If you wish logs from a longer duration, you can use Logs Integration offered by Aiven.

More information about this can be found at:
https://help.aiven.io/elasticsearch/getting-started-with-elasticsearch-log-integration

Thanks again!

Manjunath K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Aiven Kafka Monitoring

Reviewed on 08/12/2019

Overall its good to quickly implement kafka for a fast paced environments and migrations.

Pros

Easy to use, Configurable and with a built in setup of monitoring.

Cons

Some of the parameters like consumer lag are not added in the monitoring graphs.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Up and ready in less than 5 minutes!

Reviewed on 26/06/2020

Perfect, I'm able to maintain 5 Kafka Clusters, everywhere, uptodate, without spending lot of time. The time to market is perfect.

Pros

Aiven is prod-ready in 5 minutes... Grab an account, pop your instances, and that's all! Integrated with Datadog, Hot patching, All-in-one (schema registry, kconnect, ...).

Cons

Kafka clusters are quite expensive, but still cheaper than running kafka by yourself

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good managed service

Reviewed on 29/02/2020

Very positive. It is my first experience with a managed Kafka service and I would recommend it over managing a cluster internally.

Pros

I don't have to manage a Kafka cluster. The terraform provider has also proven to be very useful

Cons

We have experienced some issues with data being lost however this was quickly addressed and was put right by Aiven

Oleg P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

My review

Reviewed on 21/05/2019

Kafka is used as queue for our project. We store customer reports in kafka streams

Pros

It's reliable and simple to administer. Support is answering questions in prompt manner.

Cons

Missing some useful features. I was not able to configure Confluent connector.

Aiven Kafka S3 Connector is missing some parameters like max size per file or max time interval per file.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy setup with many cloud providers and excellent support

Reviewed on 27/03/2018

a managed environment without the operational support from internal teams.

Pros

Setup in minutes, uses reliable cloud providers, able to do VPC peering and easy management of the clusters.

Cons

When we have the VPC peering, the cluster is not accessible from the public anymore, it would be nice if there is an option to have the kafka rest endpoint as public even in vpc peering.

Response from Aiven

Thanks for the review.

We¿re glad to hear your experience with Aiven has been good.

About the feature you requested, it is currently available. Please contact Aiven support if you need this feature.

Thank you again!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Seamless and full featured.

Reviewed on 16/10/2017

Pros

Seamless deploys of kafka without the burden of opsing it yourself. Up to date with the latest kafka and offers one click schema registry deploys as well.

Cons

More documentation of the web console please! Would love to more easily see the kafka configuration generated for the config specified via the UI.

Alex D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Deploying Kafka doesn't need to be a Kafkaesque nightmare: Aiven can help you

Reviewed on 04/09/2018

Very positive!

Pros

- Simple interface
- Concepts are based on familiar devOps technologies, like manifestos in Kubernetes etc.

Cons

Not much to complain. It's been smooth, apart from having to read documentation and play with some tutorials.

Martino V.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good, if a bit limited and expensive.

Reviewed on 07/11/2017

no more downtime!

Pros

It works, it is reliable. The UI is pretty good, although doesn't work in Firefox very well :'(
All in all, a good way to run kafka for some use cases.

Oh my god there's a limit on the characters for the review? you're really making me work hard for that tshirt!

Cons

Expensive, especially to increase storage. That is limiting, especially if you want to use Kafka for infinite durable, HA storage, which IMO is a very interesting use case.

Some configs (e.g. `min.insync.replicas` = 1) are not ideal (see above). Changing them is hard (i'm told) and requires restarting the brokers, which cannot be done through the UI.

Basically I wish the usecase of kafka-as-db had better support. As it stands, it's not really an option.

Response from Aiven

Hi Martino,

Thanks for the review!

Regarding customizing Kafka settings (e.g. `min.insync.replicas` = 1), Aiven now provides the ability to set some advanced Kafka (broker-side) configuration settings. This can be accomplished via the Aiven commandline client (https://github.com/aiven/aiven-client).

Here¿s an example of how to set this parameter in newer versions of Kafka.

$ avn service types -v
$ avn service update myservice -c ¿kafka_rest_config.producer_acks=2¿
# `kafka_rest_config.producer_acks¿ The number of acknowledgments the producer requires the leader to have received before considering a request complete. If set to 'all' or '-1', the leader will wait for the full set of in-sync replicas to acknowledge the record.

Hope this helps and thank you again!

Mohamed O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

FOR THE MANY NOT THE FEW!

Reviewed on 09/04/2020

Pros

Honestly, it took me a while to get the hang of Kafka, I came from database background and I found it a bit of a steep learning curve, given we introduced schema registry as part of our initial implementation. As the business adoption grew I got forced into joining the round and I think the speed of Kafka is its biggest Pro.

Cons

I think the UI could be improved, The schema view on the UI is also a little different from the avro format.
dark mode would be nice!

Christopher S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Good product with some annoying wrinkles

Reviewed on 04/10/2019

I enjoy using Aiven Kafka. Hosted Kafka Connect with the option to use custom connectors and transformers would be great.

Pros

Aiven Kafka is generally very stable, especially now that Kafka itself is becoming more mature

Cons

The security model has been very broken. Making an API call to get a certificate and being given a list of all the certificates in the project is simply wrong.
Also, the UI does not always contain the same information that is output by the standard Kafka command line tooling.

David C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Was able to get started very quickly and pushing data to a new Kafka cluster within minutes.

Reviewed on 11/10/2017

Pros

The ability to specify a specific data center in Azure to ensure it is as close as possible to the rest of our applications. How easy it is to configure in the dashboard.

Cons

Options for extended retention periods. We had thoughts of using Kafka data retention as our source of all historical data, but the limited retention periods were problematic. Perhaps an option to specify longer, or hook it into our own storage.

Response from Aiven

Thank you for your honest feedback David.

First, we'd like to apologize for not making it readily apparent that we do have this feature available.

Second, here is our help article on the available options to extend your retention periods:

http://help.aiven.io/kafka/kafka-data-retention

Third, we are currently working on a process to ensure that our clients stay abreast of the features available to them so stay tuned!

Thanks again!

Jesse C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

A relatively easy to use solution to the Kafka/Zookeeper problem

Reviewed on 15/02/2018

Pros

It's super simple to set up and do some basic monitoring. The fact that I could spin up a kafka cluster in minutes with a click of a button instead of spend hours or days setting one up in kubernetes is amazing

Cons

I with the web console had more utilities for things like testing and modifying offsets. More metrics about the state of kafka would be nice too

Response from Aiven

Hello Jesse,

We appreciate your feedback!

First, resetting consumer group offsets can be accomplished per Aiven help documentation:
https://help.aiven.io/kafka/getting-started/viewing-and-resetting-consumer-group-offsets

Second, Aiven provides detailed gathering of Kafka telemetry and subsequent visualization through built-in dashboards using Aiven PostgreSQL(TimescaleDB) and Aiven Grafana. Here's some links you might find useful:

Aiven Service Integrations
https://help.aiven.io/services/integrations/getting-started-with-service-integrations

Aiven Kafka - Telemetry and Dashboards
https://aiven.io/blog/gain-visibility-with-kafka-dashboards/

DataDog integration
https://aiven.io/blog/datadog-meets-aiven/

Prometheus integration
https://aiven.io/blog/prometheus-can-now-be-integrated-with-aiven/

Thanks again and we hope you find this helpful!

Patrick C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Intuitive Data Platform

Reviewed on 30/07/2019

Creating a data platform for tracking user interaction events as well as creating pub-sub architecture for service communication.

Pros

The UI/UX makes it extremely simple to setup new clusters and makes it extremely clear as to what you're spinning up, it's state, etc. Integration between services is also very intuitive.

Cons

I know it's a best practice beyond SSL/HTTPS, but enforcing basic auth is a bit of a pain when you're first starting a proof-of-concept. And believe it or not adding basic auth credential providers in some languages/packages isn't as clear as it should be.

Priyabrata J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Done PoC with Aiven.Experience was too good

Reviewed on 08/11/2018

We were planning to move event-driven architecture and also looking for a service provider which will manage the Kafka Infra. We found Aiven is one of the best players in the market.

Definitely, I would like to highlight their response to any of our queries and very good support. The man behind this achievement(PoC with Aiven Kafka) is PREM.

Pros

It's easy to use. Allow us to focus on our application logic instead of managing Kafka Infra. Good UI to use Kafka service.

Cons

I hope It would be better if add more monitoring tool as well as partition balancing.

Response from Aiven

Hello Priyabrata,

Thank you for your review! We¿re happy to hear you¿ve enjoyed your experience so far.

Regarding your comment on monitoring tools and partition balancing, topic rebalancing is a task that is taken care of for your by Aiven back-end monitoring and operations system. Monitoring for Aiven Kafka can be setup by using Service Integrations by following the blogs and documentation.

Here's some links you might find useful:

Aiven Service Integrations
https://help.aiven.io/services/integrations/getting-started-with-service-integrations

Aiven Kafka - Telemetry and Dashboards
https://aiven.io/blog/gain-visibility-with-kafka-dashboards/

DataDog integration
https://aiven.io/blog/datadog-meets-aiven/

Prometheus integration
https://aiven.io/blog/prometheus-can-now-be-integrated-with-aiven/

Thanks again!

Clarence L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

It's works

Reviewed on 19/03/2020

Pros

Save us having to manage parts our own infrastructure. I started out as a front-ender and now having to do more and more dev ops. It's nice to have more of our infrastructure managed by someone else we feel trust towards.

Cons

Haven't come across anything Aiven specific that's been a pain.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great service

Reviewed on 04/09/2018

Pros

Fantastic support who answers questions swiftly. Easy to use and to setup users/ACL's.

Cons

Not reactive UI to monitor the Kafka topic. Logs can be improved as well.

Response from Aiven

Hello,

Thank you for your honest feedback. It¿s great to hear you have enjoyed using Aiven.

Just wanted to let know that Aiven now provides Logs Integration via Elasticsearch which enables you to store and search many months worth of Aiven Kafka service logs.

You can find more information from this help article about log integrations: https://help.aiven.io/elasticsearch/getting-started-with-elasticsearch-log-integration

Thank you!

Shijiyas T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Need to give more support to C#

Reviewed on 27/07/2019

Its good. But,I am using KAFKA as a mediator between my admin panel and API.So,using KAFKA is slowing down my process to a small amount.

Pros

I am getting a better stability on my results and able to track more clearly.Also,KAFKA helps me in scaling my API and Admin panel

Cons

KAFKA support for IIS hosting/C# is very poor that i had to migrate my whole project to dotnet core to avoid this

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Using Kafka as a persistent queue for large amount data

Reviewed on 12/10/2017

It helped us build a scalable real-time analytics platform.

Pros

Scale well to handle large loads, resilient. Customer support from Aiven is reactive and competent, a pleasure to work with them.

Cons

Configuration is a bit difficult, there's a learning curve. In particular understanding the concepts of Kafka, the impact of configuration parameters, in order to have a setting corresponding to the need take some time. Fortunately, the Aiven team is able to help with helpful advices.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Using Kafka for messaging between many microservices belonging to different teams

Reviewed on 05/03/2018

Pros

No need for us to deal with setting up and running our own clusters. All that difficult work is done for us and we can get on with delivering useful functionality.

Cons

Sometimes useful information is hidden and hard to get hold of. Sometimes changes have occurred in Kafka without us expecting them. That said, the Aiven team are responsive to improvement suggestions so as issues occur they tend to get dealt with and the product improves.

Marcos M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Kafka improvements

Reviewed on 26/07/2019

Pros

- Flexible
- Easy to Use
- Modern
- Velocity

Cons

- Price
- Support at Brazil
- Roadmap and product developments

Ruben P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Aiven Kafka review

Reviewed on 01/11/2019

So far so good

Pros

Ease of use, good documentation, API, Terraform integration, aiven-client

Cons

Handling SSL handshake integrations, basically

Arathi G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing - fully hosted Managed Kafka for Enterprises

Reviewed on 22/10/2018

We were been exploring Aiven Kafka - as a streaming platform for our application, and we found it to be apt for our use case.
We explored every aspect of Kafka, plus the integration with Aiven InfluxDB back to our hosted Graphing. With ease anybody can get this integrated, I commend them for their UI for the great user experience, Anybody can learn quickly & get it integrated.

I was been amazed for their zero downtime - while we upgrade servers from one set of hardware configuration to another & WITH NO DATA LOSS!!!

Keep up the good work!

Pros

Fully hosted & managed
Amazing support services
Availability across globe across various cloud service providers
Most reliable & Highly available services
REST service Integration
Low cost compared to other Managed Kafka providers

Cons

Well, none I think for now. You guys are doing great!!