Apache Cassandra

4.2 (27)
Open-source NoSQL database

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(27)
Value for Money
4.5/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support
3.7/5

85%
recommended this app
Sort by

27 Reviews for UK Users

Jatin G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Awesome No SQL DB

Reviewed on 27/11/2019

Pros

The is awesome tool for No SQL DB requirements. We use this to store transactions so that we can reprocess in case something goes down.

Cons

The Queries are little tough and most of the features of sql queries are not supported.

Debasis M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

cassandra review

Reviewed on 09/06/2019

Pros

I like it scales very easily when we see increase it traffic

Cons

Cassandra does not support joins so it is difficult to use as complex OLTP system

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB
Vinicius S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Review for Apache Cassandra

Reviewed on 06/04/2022

Allow users to process large volumes of data, in a scalable and reliable way. It's a fast NoSQL distributed database.

Pros

Easy to download, install, deploy and use.

Cons

Need heavy efforts for training new users.

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB

Reasons for Switching to Apache Cassandra

Costs and vast documentation.
Peter J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Timeseries Database

Reviewed on 09/02/2021

Looks good on paper but has been very costly in terms of required resources to finally manage the load.
Training material is limited and people with real experience are scarce.

Pros

Opensource license provides an easy cost entry point
Programmatic support for our purpose was very good.

Cons

There is only one commercial version of this product and licensing is high.
It can consume far more resources to handle the workload you give it than spec data suggests

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB

Reasons for Switching to Apache Cassandra

It was selected as the best fit on paper however without a real world run off between the two we missed some apparent weaknesses
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A promising and powerful NoSQL database.

Reviewed on 28/01/2018

Pros

It is great for the right workload; with heavy writes and eventual consistency, it is a leader in the NoSQL space. I recommend Datastax for support using and supporting it.

Cons

Maintaining a cluster and an ops center server (for backups and monitoring) can get quite pricey. The learning curve of maintaining a cluster is a bit long.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

lightning fast key store

Reviewed on 05/11/2018

we needed to build a scalable object store with high write load (write is the main pattern of usage)

Pros

csql syntax is powerful
lightning fast read/writes
smart client to reduce hops to the correct node
easy to install

Cons

cluster management complexity
problematic node recovery

Mallikarjuna D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Review on Cassandra

Reviewed on 12/09/2020

I would strongly recommend this software for using distributing systems

Pros

As a user I would like it handle big data workflows across multiple nodes without any single point of failure .and it’s acting like a distributor among all the clusters

Cons

It have a capability when nodes goes down read and write request will be stored in other node with in network

Gaurav Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

good option from NoSql family database

Reviewed on 15/01/2019

Just very good NoSql database in scenarios where you have to deal with large and hig velocity data in real time.

Pros

Cassandra is good choice from NoSql database when you need to store data which is coming at high velocity. As write operation in cassandra is very fast so it make it reliable to use it for real time scenarios where you have to process and modify the data in real time. And as Cassandra is built using Java, so it is easy to integrate this with other Java base tools like Spark, Hadoop etc.

Cons

Only cons for me is that it’s unpredictable performance because cassandra has lots of asynchronous jobs and other background job which are not in control. In such cases, troubleshooting some issue is big problem.

Deepak kumar S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quite good NoSql family Database

Reviewed on 13/01/2019

good and reliable NoSql family database .

Pros

As everything is designed for a specific problem to solve. Cassandra has it's own use cases where it perform very much reliably and efficiently. This is good when you have to capture high velocity traffic and need to do operation over it. Also, it offers other lots of great like very high writing speed, easy integration with other JVM based service/tool like spark, hadoop etc.

Cons

it has a quite bit hard of learning as you will have to setup the cluster for maintenance and all. And Cassandra is specific to use cases you just can't use it for other.

Dilip G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Easy to learn this NO SQL database, and self explanatory of most of the things.

Reviewed on 28/04/2018

We are in the need of to use NO SQL database, and we thought Cassandra would be best choice to our needs.

Pros

Easy to install and connect from applications. User friendly to navigate the data with utility comes with it.

Cons

Most of the things are self explanatory, took very less time to use the product and integrate with applications.

Piyush J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Cassandra Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Reviewed on 11/10/2016

I had used Cassandra in my academic projects which were related to cloud computing. I used it for a few projects on Salesforce where multi tenancy features are implemented. In such scenarios Cassandra was one the best choices for NoSql. Although we have used RDMS, the performance while using Cassandra was better.

I have simulated a few real time running apps like Facebook and Uber where I have used RDMS and Cassandra, and checked the performance using Jmeter. It clearly shows that Cassandra boosts the performance over RDMS. One thing I find difficult in Cassandra is following the documents, which are not so understandable.

Pros

Undoubtedly performance is an important reason
We have not encountered a single point of failure
Scalability of Cassandra is good which is the most important for the companies where demand is scaling day by day.

Cons

Cassandra has a wide range of asynchronous jobs and background tasks that are not scheduled by the client, the execution can be eccentric.
Because Cassandra is a key-value store, doing things like SUM, MIN, MAX, AVG and other aggregations are incredibly resource intensive if even possible to accomplish.
I think querying options for retrieving data is very limited.

Alpeshkumar G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cassandra : Zenith of Open Source NoSQL

Reviewed on 14/12/2016

We have quite complex requirements of tracing Buses/Truck of African cities of Rwanda for real-time reporting of schedule, breakdown, Traffic management of City using Apache Cassandra. Our team chose Cassandra for quite few reason. Open Source, Fault Tolerance, High Availability, Scalability, and Reliability of software components.

I am happy that our team has chosen the right software for delivering complex software Solutions for Our Connected Vehicle Platform. We used it for real-time transactions and analytics.

PROs: Fault Tolerance, Availability, and Superb Performance.

CONs: It's not good for managing your Application processing. Its NoSQL DB requires lot of different understanding and NoSQL comes with its own issue so it shifts from traditional thinking process of RDBMS. Cassandra required very big learning curve which adds to the cost but benefits out weight this learning cost.

Eyamir U.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

It has been a pleasant and rewarding experience for the management of data in the cloud and...

Reviewed on 04/05/2018

It was very useful to me when I had to develop an application that needed a relational database and a non relational database that was going to be in the cloud, it was very useful and easy to use, as well as it did not give me problems for its use.

Pros

It has been a pleasant and profitable experience for the handling of data in the cloud and totally free, the handling of the data oriented to column families, tolerant to failures, since it replicates the data automatically to multiple nodes; When a node fails it can be replaced without any period of inactivity. allows replicas to multiple data centers; data storage type column family. The latest version of CQL3 that made the instructions similar to SQL with what breaks with the mental shock at the time of programming. It really does an efficient handling of data in the cloud.

Cons

The fact of having the data stored column by column allows us to return the rows more quickly, but when inserting, updating or deleting a record, it must be done in more than one location; for this reason, this type of database is not recommended for OLTP-type, transaction-oriented and high-concurrency systems.

Gabriel m. M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

It was good, until we hit GC

Reviewed on 01/07/2018

We were able to offload tables from our MySQL to NoSQL.

Pros

It was the best NoSQL solution for our organization. decent performance and cross-Datacenter replication.

Cons

It's written in JAVA. GC was killing us. at some point we had a server on GC for 30 min every 15 min.
we had to add more and more servers to deal with the situation. DataStax's PHP driver was using the first server available as a 'Contact point' when it was on GC, the second server on the list was hit and sometimes caused to crash; as result - we had a domino effect and an entire cluster would have crashed. (that, btw, was fixed and now Contact point is random).

There is a better alternative ***SCYLLADB****
Since we moved to Scylla - we were able to reduce the amount of servers by 75%.
Performance and stability is magnificent. client side hasn't changed - running with the same drivers.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Cassandra

Reviewed on 12/02/2019

Pros

CASSANDRA is easy to use, easy to search objects based on key space values

Cons

Cassandra needs to improve their architecture and also provide more training videos

Neha V.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Ease of use with highly available , fault tolerant , distributed database

Reviewed on 13/03/2018

Pros

(1) It is highly available , also, replication around nodes is super fast
(2) It is fault tolerant inherently by design
(3) It is a distributed database, suitable for handling huge volumnes

Cons

Row level inconsistency sometimes poses problems with usage in Cassandra. This means when the same row is inserted and updated at the same time, there can be consistency issues with it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Columnar Nosql Database - Cassandra

Reviewed on 10/10/2020

Overall it has been a wonderful experience using Cassandra with very low/none downtime to High availability and partition tolerance behavior

Pros

- High availability as no master slave concept
- Partition tolerance of the system
- Replication across multi data centers

Cons

- Upgrade to a higher version is non-trivial and requires a lot of testing and evaluation
- Cqlsh query results not formatted well which creates confusion in reading

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

High quality NoSQL database more closely related to relational DBs than alternatives

Reviewed on 05/12/2018

Pros

Compared to MongoDB, another NoSQL database, Cassandra's commands are more closely related to SQL and are consequently more approachable to SQL experts. As a NoSQL database, developers are not weighed down with designing and modifying schemas.

Cons

Compared to MongoDB, Cassandra is less flexible and resembles relational databases more than MongoDB does.

Abhisha B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Intuitive for SQL user

Reviewed on 27/07/2019

Pros

The query language cql is quite intuitive specially for sql users. Setup is also very easy since they have extensive documentation. Cassandra also provides very good and easy to use APIs that can be easily integrated in any application.

Cons

It is a column oriented storage format which takes some time to get used specially for sql users.

Chirag J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good for any data project

Reviewed on 04/12/2018

If you are starting a data intensive project it is a very good datastore for the computing needs

Pros

It is very easy to get started with Cassandra because of the vast community of developers and resources available. It is flexible for any course project or production application

Cons

Configuring it to work with Tableau on a Macbook Pro is not that easy.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Bigdata noSql database

Reviewed on 16/12/2018

Pros

Apache cassandra is a good noSql database tool that can handle large data set effectively. It is great for distributed database design.

Cons

Learning curve for this tool can be high.

Gregory M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It is a powerful database manager noSql

Reviewed on 30/03/2018

Pros

It is spectacular for web applications that handle a large amount of data, the level of data processing is very fast.

Cons

The learning curve is very strong when you have worked with SQL. The change from SQL to noSQL is somewhat strong.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

If something seems too good to be true it probably is.

Reviewed on 24/03/2018

Pros

An easy way to share data across multiple clusters. A proper columnar data store, with some novel quorum modes.

Cons

No matter how it's configured it's impossible to have really durable data.

Having fault tolerant synchronous modes is useless if a node can die because it ran out of journal space. This should never happen! If a node can't write it's journal it should freeze, not the loose consistency of its local data ( I'm talking about corruption here not the loss of consistency with the other nodes).

Columnar formatting and retrieval are actually really inefficient.

Data formats in anything other than simple storage are bloated and inefficient.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Nosql db

Reviewed on 07/02/2019

Pros

Open source distributed and high performance.

Cons

Only can query with the key predefined.

Santiago D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

We use it on our team to provide cache functionalities with high success.

Reviewed on 15/08/2017

Amazing performance and great value.

Pros

The amount of features and bang-for-buck ratio is really great. Perfomance is really good too. The fact that it's a descentralized architecture also means uptime is great.

Cons

It may not be the easiest product to learn about and become proficient, but by no means should it be called inaccessible.