Universal Data Access Components

4.8 (24)
Cross-database connectivity solution

Overall rating

4.8 /5
(24)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.8/5
Ease of Use
4.8/5
Customer Support
4.8/5
Sort by

24 Reviews for UK Users

Tim S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Using for 10 years and has been the most reliable data tier since BDE.

Reviewed on 11/05/2022

We have been able to contact support and gotten a night build change to access Oracle when they changed to allow an off site redundant server configuration.

Pros

The software has built in code to access database servers directly. For example, you can write a single EXE that can access an Oracle database WITHOUT Oracle intalled.
They have the code for OCI built in.
Yes, you can use OCI and OLE DB and ODBC and hit 20 other databases with the same code.
Of course you can access MsSql the same way.
What does this give you?? You can make an Android app that connects direct to a Mssql database over the internet. Maybe you will do REST services later, but quickly make an awesome app.

Cons

I don't like that they didn't give me a job offer.

Ivan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid data access components with good support

Reviewed on 27/04/2022

Using UniDac makes writing multi-user database applications , across a range of databases, quick and easy without sacrificing performance or usability.

Pros

It is straightforward to use, reliable, and gives me access to every feature I need when writing database connected applications, large and small. It plays nice with the other 3rd party components we use such as DevExpress and Fast report etc, and it well documented.

Cons

Some of the dialogues can be a little clunky but the developer is very responsive.

Pedro R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Ranching
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

New to Delphi & Devart..

Reviewed on 14/04/2022

Good...

Pros

Easier than I thought fits... best part works well with Rad Studio.

Cons

for a small company was expensive, considering yearly renewals

Anthony E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Comprehensive data access layer for Pascal languages

Reviewed on 26/04/2022

UniDAC has consistently allowed us to integrate with light and heavy-duty database engines (from SQLite to MongoDB with most of our usage in the PostgreSQL area). It has greatly reduced the effort to market for our products while also saving money by not needing to purchase Delphi Enterprise, Professional is enough thanks to UniDAC.

Pros

Compatibility with both Delphi and Lazarus/FreePascal.
Super-easy to use installer that seems to 'just work' year after year.
Abstraction layer to allow easier swapping between back-end database engines.

Cons

It is called Universal Data Access Components due to the large number of providers which is both a good thing and a bad thing. The negative for our company is that we only use a few providers regularly so the cost can feel burdensome, most notably when the CRM connectors and such were added a few years back. The positive is that without the bundling, we likely wouldn't have tested out such connectors...

Thierry M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A very good product

Reviewed on 26/04/2022

Pros

Simple, easy to use and performant
A very good product for multi SGBDR access

Cons

More documentation about the impact of differents options with differents SGBDR.
For a non-specialist of a particular version of SGBR, it is quite difficult to choose the right option.

Robert W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exellent product

Reviewed on 26/04/2022

Pros

access to all DB in one product with native drivers
very quick access

Cons

i have small problems with direct mode to connect with oracle DB

Murat A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Analiz

Reviewed on 11/05/2022

Pros

Direct Access, Performance, Providers, Using

Cons

I didn't see anything wrong with the usage.

Peter T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy access to all important datasources from Delphi-programs

Reviewed on 14/05/2022

Very good performance of the components, support for the current releases of the database software

Pros

direct access to Oracle and Sqlite and some other databases

Cons

the only feature i miss at Universal Data Access Components is a provider for Paradox-Tables

Oriol M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Data Access from Delphi

Reviewed on 10/05/2022

Pros

Multi database access. I use it in MSSQLServer, MySQL, MariaDB and SQLite

Cons

Documentation from delphi have difficult access.
Examples from web are not always enough.

Marko H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 10/05/2022

Mostly positive. Have some reare random Access violation issues.

Pros

Multi database support and direct conenct without client.

Cons

Some bugs I reported to support. For example:
- Some versions of MS Sql Server had some serious bugs (fixed already)
- Locate for TDateTime doesn work correctly
- Some Access violations on random occasions.

Jesús G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good component set for multiple database connection

Reviewed on 14/04/2022

In stable versions my experience it is good and let me connect to Oracle and Firebird with one component set, containing the features I need.

Pros

Using a common set of components to connect to several databases. Pooling it is also a feature I need.

Cons

Sometimes bug fixes takes much time.
New releases introduce bugs that takes time to solve

Olivier S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Finally a way to properly replace the BDE without relying on shaky OleDB support

Reviewed on 14/04/2022

Pros

It's a solution that allows us to connect to many databases without needing to use drivers that may be missing from the end user computer.
Anyone who worked with Oracle knows how painful it can be to install their data access layer, Unidac allows us to never bother with this again.

Cons

It requires replacing existing components, but it's close enough to them that a simple DFM editing is often enough.

Roberto S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very useful for various DB Architectures

Reviewed on 27/04/2022

We were able to easily migrate from our old Data Access software to UniDAC.

Pros

We especially like the ease of adapting our software to using the different database environments (Interbase/Firebird, Microsoft SQL, etc) that are used by our clients. Also the opportunity to purchase the source code is very helpful .

Cons

There is nothing I do not like. The Software does everything we need in our development environment.

James G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great set of database components

Reviewed on 13/04/2022

I have used this software for many years and it's an essential part of my programming toolbox. I wouldn't be without it, and use it in preference to any other database component suites.

Pros

Installation is simple; using the components is also easy. Documentation is good, and the ability to flip between database platforms by changing connectors is like magic. On the odd occasion I have needed support, the response has been helpful and timely. I have developed against SQL Server, MySQL, SQLite, Access, Oracle and Advantage database platforms with no issues at all. Another great feature is that there are no dlls that have to be distributed with an application.

Cons

There isn't really anything to dislike!

Luca D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool

Reviewed on 14/04/2022

Pros

This product is easy to use, integrates well with my applications, simplifies code writing and speeds it up.

Cons

I found no negatives, since I installed it I have always used it

Helmut H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great help in my Business

Reviewed on 15/04/2022

Pros

Ease of implementation and functionality of the components

Cons

There is no Excel-Component in unidac so I have to use TMS-Software for that purpose.

Stefano B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Everityng ok

Reviewed on 15/04/2022

Pros

Use one connection for all databases and use always it

Cons

Improve a data dictionary and a Er Diagram (like entity dac)

Vicente V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great

Reviewed on 10/04/2022

Pros

Easy to use and to integrate with our software.

Cons

Actually it covers all we need and has continuous improvements.

Eros B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Database CRUD Impressions

Reviewed on 26/04/2022

I use it from years in a client server environment and always without many problems.

Pros

I like the simplicity of confusing access to ODBC database. In particular I use it with the OS/400 ODBC on an iSeries Access system (previously AS/400) and it works fine and quickly.

Cons

I would like to use it with a specific product called Delphi/400 for accessing natively DB/400 database but is not supported by this tool

Nicola N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

simple to use

Reviewed on 14/04/2022

Pros

unidac is very performance data access library

Cons

it' easy to use and it have full option

Thomas L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The easy way to program tools for data management

Reviewed on 14/04/2022

I make many little helpful tools, for managment database typelabel , create QS-Certificat for my customer my customer use as ERP-system Microsoft Dynamics, all Process which cannot be mapped cost-effectively,That is the point then my programs will be used

Pros

Programs need not a driverinstallation ,
the componenten ussing is very easy
you have free choise of database like as slq,mysql,access
and variable change

Cons

I missing special fastreport components as 64-bit version,because this I can not change my Programs to 64-Bit, otherwise I am very satisfied

Eugenio C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Universal DAC

Reviewed on 28/04/2022

overall good but it would be excellent if query response times were much faster

Pros

the simplicity of access from the mobile app

Cons

the too much time it takes to query large tables when I insert the order by clause

Franco A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product!

Reviewed on 22/04/2022

Great component easy to use, does not fail.

Pros

Great stability, no necessary to use external libraries. We don't even need to install a database driver to function. Our deployment made easy.

Cons

Everything works fine, we don't have any cons for now.

Daniel V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Software de acceso a base de datos

Reviewed on 15/04/2022

Lo utilizo en toda la aplicación para el acceso a la base de datos

Pros

Fácil de utilizar, con soporte muy bueno.

Cons

Faltaría poder configurar un punto general para el formato de fecha.