Astah Professional Reviews

Astah Professional

Project documentation tool

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(26)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.6/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

26 Reviews for UK Users

Crystal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing modeling tool!

Reviewed on 29/02/2024

Pros

When searching for a new modeling tool, we came across Astah Professional. We were skeptical of the features and so elected to try the free trial. Boy are we glad we did! We went ahead an purchased multiple licenses because the product does everything it says and then some! It is by far the easiest, most helpful modeling tool we've come across, and has made our diagramming much smoother and more efficient. Any questions we've had have been promptly answered by the support team, and they are always very courteous and informative. Definitely worth the price!

Cons

There is nothing that is a deal breaker for us. In terms of preference, it would be nice for operation parameters to have initial values as an option, but the type modifier works well enough for our purposes.

Danny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Why Astah after all these other modeling tools?

Reviewed on 19/10/2022

My overall experience with Astah has been very good over the years and I will continue to use the...

My overall experience with Astah has been very good over the years and I will continue to use the tool in coming years.

Pros

Today, when using a modeling tool, my primary concern regards the usability of the tool. If I need to model something quickly then I want to be able to get my ideas onto a canvas quickly and easily. The last thing that I want to do is to wrestle with the tool as my ideas and thoughts float away.The installability of the tool is really good as well as I never have any issues with updates/upgrades and they are always welcome as I know the vendor always adds some new feature that I didn't know that I needed.

Cons

One of my biggest complaints about Astah has been its lack of good and reliable reverse engineering, specifically with C++. Another feature that I wish was improved is the sharing of models and I don't believe that the current feature is good enough.

Alternatives Considered

Enterprise Architect

Reasons for Switching to Astah Professional

Usability has been the primary quality that Astah has proved above the others.
Cynthia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for teaching

Reviewed on 07/02/2024

A decent tool for the money and has all the various UML diagrams.

A decent tool for the money and has all the various UML diagrams.

Pros

They offer a 1 year free license to students.

Cons

Some of the labeling on the different components in the diagram is confusing.

Jeffrey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Astah for Education

Reviewed on 18/12/2023

Pros

There are free student licenses which help using course-based materials for teaching software engineering. The interface is intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

The amount of information that can be displayed is great- sometimes it can be overwhelming for larger diagrams to tune the display to what you need.

Response from Change Vision

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad the free student licenses and intuitive interface meet your needs in teaching software engineering.

For managing information display in larger diagrams, you might find the visibility settings useful. These can be adjusted per project in [Tools] → [System Properties] → [Initial Visibility], or for individual diagrams via the [Initial Visibility] tab in the left-bottom pane.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Astah pro review

Reviewed on 30/10/2023

Very good. I work nearly full day with Astah since the creation of Jude

Very good. I work nearly full day with Astah since the creation of Jude

Pros

Adherence to UML method. Look & feel. real referential between diagrams

Cons

Some bugs on large files
Search (see above)
not possible to adapt models to other methods (TOGAF, BPMN...)
no link between activities & lanes in activity diagrams and other UML components (actors...)

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An asset at many levels

Reviewed on 30/01/2023

I have grown to rely on it heavily, both when working out a complex software or database structure...

I have grown to rely on it heavily, both when working out a complex software or database structure and when explaining it to others.When I recently left a situation where I was employed to re-start my own consultancy business, Astah was one of the first products I decided to buy on my own account. It has already helped me to secure a substantial contract.

Pros

Having used Astah for many years in both team-based contexts and individually, it has always been both easy to use and easy to deploy.I selected it over others both because of its flexibility in use and its adherence to UML modelling conventions. It offers an exactly appropriate amount of helpful guidance for less experienced users and has a highly flexible backbone, which lets experienced modelers use it in appropriate ways for a wide range of projects.

Cons

Most of the slight reservations I had with earlier version have been addressed. They related more to the on-screen presentation controls like font controls. Most of the designs I work on as a software architect need to be made visually attractive as well as rigorously modeled, and in earlier version I had to do some post-processing to achieve that. Now, though, it's easy.

George
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Astah Professional is outstanding

Reviewed on 09/08/2023

I use Astah for use case and sequence diagrams for the most part. Both of these diagrams should be...

I use Astah for use case and sequence diagrams for the most part. Both of these diagrams should be imported into Astah from spreadsheets, but that powerful import facility does not exist.

Pros

The colorful and easy to create UML diagrams, especially the sequence diagrams, convey detailed information in a very effective way.

Cons

The import facility is not very robust, meaning that almost everything must be manually entered into the UML model. When most of the system data is already managed in large spreadsheets, it would be helpful to tailor the spreadsheet data and then import it directly into Astah, where Astah would create the objects along with their attributes and relationships and then auto generate the appropriate diagram.

Response from Change Vision

Thank you for your feedback!

You may already know this but you can create objects and attributes by pasting texts from Clipboard. (Not relationships though.)
https://astah.net/support/astah-pro/user-guide/diagram-editor/#from-clipboard

In your case,
You can copy all the texts that will become Lifeline names in the spreadsheet, then paste them on the Sequence diagram. Then you will have all the Lifelines at once.

Or,
1. Create a Class diagram, copy texts to clipboard that will become Class names.
2. Paste them on Class diagram, then you will have all the Classes with the pasted text as their names.
3. Copy texts to clipboard that will become their attributes/operations.
4. Select a Class on the diagram that you want to add attributes/operations, then paste the copied text
5. Now Attributes/Operations will be added to the Class
6. Create a Sequence diagram, drag all the Classes from the tree to the Sequence diagram
7. Now you will have Lifelines with dragged Classes as base classes.

Artur
Artur
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The best software to create UML diagrams

Reviewed on 10/07/2023

Pros

Good features to create UML diagrams, easy to use.

Cons

Expensive if you don't receive your income in dollars.

Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

使いやすいモデリングツール

Reviewed on 22/10/2022

仕事の都合でOSS (Open Source Software)であるモデリングツールを探すことがよくありますが,機能と使いやすさから結局astahに戻ってきてしまいます.多くの人に使ってもらう機会が...

仕事の都合でOSS (Open Source Software)であるモデリングツールを探すことがよくありますが,機能と使いやすさから結局astahに戻ってきてしまいます.多くの人に使ってもらう機会があるときに,導入もしやすく,使い勝手の良さから他の選択肢がありません.そう思えるだけの優れた使いやすさを提供してくれています.商用ですので仕方が無いと思いますが,開発したプラグイン等を無料で多くの人が使えるような環境整備をしてくれると有り難いと感じます.

Pros

・モデルを直感的にきれいに描け,格段に使いやすい.・APIを用いたJavaプログラムを通じてモデルの情報にアクセスでき,様々に活用できる.・プラグインを通じてエディタを容易に拡張できる.以上の3拍子が揃った高品質なツールは他では見られません.また,時間はかかりましたが,開発者に要望した機能を実現してくれました.ユーザに寄り添った保守をしてくれると思います.そして,ライセンス体系が充実しており,安価に多くの人に使ってもらえるようなライセンスもあります.

Cons

・現状のAPI・プラグインでも十分に役立つレベルにあると思いますが,全てのモデル情報が読み書きでき,Javaランタイムの進化に対応できるように開発・実行環境の改善を継続して欲しいです.・開発したプラグイン等を他者に無料で試用してもらえるような環境が提供されると,作り甲斐が増すと思います.

Alternatives Considered

Christoph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Astah Professional im Unterrich

Reviewed on 19/10/2022

Pros

Erstellen aller Diagrammtypen wie Klassendiagramme, Sequenzdiagramme, Objektdiagramme, Anwendungsfalldiagramme und ER-Diagramme

Cons

Ein Plugin für Eclipse mit der einfachen Integration der Diagramme in ein Projekt.

Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

ソフトウェア開発の設計フェーズでクラス図、シーケンス図の作成に使用しています。

Reviewed on 21/10/2022

プログラムの設計で自分の考えをまとめるだけでなく、チームメンバーにすばやく理解していただくのに大変役立っています。ライセンス管理の大変さはありますが、それ以上にとても大きな開発効率アップの効果が得られ...

プログラムの設計で自分の考えをまとめるだけでなく、チームメンバーにすばやく理解していただくのに大変役立っています。ライセンス管理の大変さはありますが、それ以上にとても大きな開発効率アップの効果が得られました。

Pros

クラス図、シーケンス図を直感的に作成しやすいです。見やすさもあるため、設計レビューでクラス図、シーケンス図を共有してチームメンバーにすばやく理解していただくのに役立っています。プログラム開発以外の用途でも何らかの図を作成したいときによく使用します。

Cons

ユーザーライセンス(社員向け)とノードカウントライセンス(請負などの外部の協力者向け)の2形態で使用していますが、ライセンス管理が大変です。チームで使用する場合、どうしてもライセンス管理者を立てる必要があります。ライセンス管理者はライセンス形態について理解し、適宜メンバーにライセンスを割り当てたり、ライセンス期間を更新する必要があります。チームメンバーの入れ替わりが高頻度な場合はライセンス管理者に少々負担がかかります。どのような構成のメンバーで使用するのかによっておすすめのライセンス形態1つがわかるような情報がホームページなどに掲載されていれば大変参考になると思います。

Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

チーム内のコミュニケーションツール

Reviewed on 31/10/2022

Pros

クラス図、シーケンス図をよく使います。チーム内で設計の共通認識をとるのに最適なツールだと思います。マインドマップは、打ち合わせ時などにはメモとして残して、後から頭の整理をするのにとても重宝しています。

Cons

同時に複数人でモデルの編集ができるとうれしいなと思います。また、GitHubなどで、履歴の管理ができるようになるとうれしいです。

Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

初学者でも使いやすいモデリング学習ツール

Reviewed on 21/10/2022

umlやer図、ロバストネス分析など、システム開発におけるモデリングをシームレスに統合して行えるとても有意義なツール。これほど幅広い記法に対応しながら、使いやすいモデリングツールを他に知らない。自分は...

umlやer図、ロバストネス分析など、システム開発におけるモデリングをシームレスに統合して行えるとても有意義なツール。これほど幅広い記法に対応しながら、使いやすいモデリングツールを他に知らない。自分は学習者向けに利用しているが、モデリングツールとしては使いやすいので初学者でも取り組みやすい。

Pros

umlのダイアグラムだけでなく、ER図やロバストネス分析など、幅広いモデリングに対応しながらも、これだけ使いやすいツールは見当たらない。umlやer図など、記法に関する知識は必要だが、学習した記法を演習として作成するには初学者でも使いやすいツール。使いやすいからと言って単なる学習ツールに留まるのではなく、スケルトンコードの生成やsql ddlの生成など実用性も十分に備えており、開発現場でも十分に実用できるツール。

Cons

複数メンバーでの同時編集ができない点。最近のGoogleDocsやOffice365などのように、Web場などで複数メンバーがリアルタイムに編集できるようになれば素晴らしい。実装の苦労を顧みずに指摘すれば。

Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

UMLツールのデファクタスタンダード

Reviewed on 21/10/2022

レビューのテキストボックスに半角英数を入れるとエラーになります。アプリも不具合多く、テストが不足していると思います。

レビューのテキストボックスに半角英数を入れるとエラーになります。アプリも不具合多く、テストが不足していると思います。

Pros

協力会社等、社外にUML作成を依頼した場合、astahで作成されている場合が多い。qwertyキーボードや、MS Officeと同じで、特に使い勝手が良いわけではないが、皆が使っており、互換性の問題が発生する以上、他への移行は考えづらい。

Cons

単純な図を開くだけでも動作が重く時間がかかる。ライセンス情報が紙で来るため、配布が大変に面倒。時々アプリケーションがクラッシュする。

Overall rating
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

手軽で且つ直感的に必要十分な機能が利用できます

Reviewed on 21/11/2022

Pros

手軽で且つ直感的に必要十分な機能が利用できます。また、利用者も多く、とりあえずastahを入れておけば他の設計者の作成した設計書を改修できるケースが多い。

Cons

ポンチ絵等、任意の作図をしようと思った際には使いにくいツール。サポートしていない機能なので仕方ないとは思うが、作図関連はまとめて管理できるようになるとより良くなると思う。

Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

データモデリング

Reviewed on 21/10/2022

作業標準化に適している。

作業標準化に適している。

Pros

データモデリングで使用でき、間違ったリレーションなどが引けないようになっているので、正しいモデルが書ける。

Cons

UIが直感的にわかりにくいため、使いにくい。

Alternatives Considered

Reasons for Switching to Astah Professional

価格
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

軽快なモデリングを望むなら最適なツール

Reviewed on 21/10/2022

マインドマップによる議事録と課題の整理。クラス図によるデータ定義。

マインドマップによる議事録と課題の整理。クラス図によるデータ定義。

Pros

ツールを起動したらすぐにモデルを作成できる。UMLツールにありがちな事細かな設定画面が現れず、モデル作成に没頭できる。画面の左上がなく無限の広がりの中でモデルを作成できる自由度はほかツールでは得られない。

Cons

バージョン管理システムに対応していないこと。変更管理はコピーを保存するしかないが、比較は問題なくできる。

Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

直感的に使用可能なモデリングツール

Reviewed on 15/05/2023

Pros

モデリングの言語について、知識がない人でも直感的に使用ができるモデリングツールです。Microsoft社製のツールにもオブジェクトコピーすることができる機能について、資料作成時にも非常に重宝するものとなっています。

Cons

同時編集の補助機能はありますが、プロジェクトファイルを複数人で同時編集ができるようになればうれしいと思います。

Volker
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Gutes UML State Machine Tool

Reviewed on 09/02/2023

Übersichtliches Tool welches unsere Bedürfnisse (UML State Machines) sehr gut bedient.

Übersichtliches Tool welches unsere Bedürfnisse (UML State Machines) sehr gut bedient.

Pros

Einfache Erstellung von UML State Machines für SinelaboreRT.Übersichtliche Funktionen.

Cons

Es wäre schön wenn es eine einfache Möglichkeit geben würde C-Source Code in den States und Transitions eingeben zu können mit der gebräuchlichen Formatierung.

Sho
Sho
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

思考支援機能を備えたモデリングツール

Reviewed on 31/10/2022

マインドマップを主に活用しており、複数の図を管理できることから、過去のサービスアイデア・デザインを Astah 上に蓄積でき、それらを振り返ったり、過去の他サービスアイデアを形を変えて活かしたりと機能...

マインドマップを主に活用しており、複数の図を管理できることから、過去のサービスアイデア・デザインを Astah 上に蓄積でき、それらを振り返ったり、過去の他サービスアイデアを形を変えて活かしたりと機能している。

Pros

UMLモデリングに閉じず、ソフトウェア設計・開発に関わる機能を豊富に提供している点。サービスアイデア・デザインに使えるマインドマップエディタとして。データベース設計の際のER図エディタとしてなど。記事執筆の際のアウトラインエディタとしてなど。

Cons

Figma のような SaaS の感覚で Web ブラウザ上で扱えない点。

Tobias
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Das meiste gut, eine Schlüsselfunktion fehlt

Reviewed on 24/01/2024

Pros

Möglichkeit verschiedene Modellierungsarten in einer Software darzustellen und zu bearbeiten.

Cons

Absolute Insellösung. Schaubilder lassen sich mehr schlecht als recht in andere Formate umwandeln/exportieren.

teo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

buen soporte compras y tecnico

Reviewed on 11/07/2023

buena en general

buena en general

Pros

la rapida respuesta en la compra y generacion de key

Cons

no tenemos ninguna incidencia con la compra de las licencias

Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

直感的にすぐに使える

Reviewed on 25/10/2022

開発でバリバリ使っているわけでは無いが、アクティビティ図やデータフロー図を良く利用し、プロセスの設計や整理に使用している。

開発でバリバリ使っているわけでは無いが、アクティビティ図やデータフロー図を良く利用し、プロセスの設計や整理に使用している。

Pros

記載のルールを自動的にサポートしてくれるところ。またツールを使用するために知らないといけないような製品独自の用語が無く、作画の基礎を知っていればほぼ自在に使うことが出来るところ。

Cons

テキストのレイアウトに苦労する。また削除キーだけでモデル上からも削除してくれないのが使い勝手が逆に悪い。

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

設計書の標準化にツールを一本化

Reviewed on 24/10/2022

Pros

社内(部内)での上流設計作業時のドキュメンテーションに関して、以前はエクセルベースでまとめていたので、書式、内容もバラバラでした。Astahは設計業務にかかわる多種の図表の表現に対応しているので、書式・内容を標準化するのに、非常に役立っています。

Cons

細かいところでは、色々あったかもしれません。バージョンアップで結構改善されているので、今のところ不満はありません。

Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

DFDを作成するために使っているが、ER図の操作性が向上すれば、かなり用途が広がる

Reviewed on 23/10/2022

DFD作図ツールとしてはこの価格帯ではこの製品一択だと思います。考える時間が邪魔されない。

DFD作図ツールとしてはこの価格帯ではこの製品一択だと思います。考える時間が邪魔されない。

Pros

DFDを作成するには最適なツールと思われます。

Cons

DFDに密接に関連する、データディクショナリ、ミニ仕様書を関連付けて作成することができない。データディクショナリ、ミニ仕様書が作ることができれば、最高の設計ツールとなりうる。ER図の操作性がいま一つ、A5:SQLに軍配が上がる。