Aiven for PostgreSQL Reviews

Aiven for PostgreSQL

Scalable, fully managed and full-featured PostgreSQL service

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(71)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Support
4.6/5
Sort by

71 Reviews for UK Users

Charlie
Charlie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best managed PostgreSQL solution I've tried

Reviewed on 27/04/2020

I have always wanted a solution like Aiven; easy-to-use like Heroku, but with far more powerful...

I have always wanted a solution like Aiven; easy-to-use like Heroku, but with far more powerful features and far more affordable.

Pros

- latest version of PostgreSQL available nearly immediately
- great performance
- easy-to-understand UI with enough power to do everything I needed
- straightforward solution, not excessively complicated
- ability to deploy into cloud provider of my choice, no lock-in
- clear pricing
- excellent support

Cons

- not possible to leverage free credits from cloud providers

Alternatives Considered

Amazon RDS, Google Cloud and Heroku
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

An excellent, full-featured database provider

Reviewed on 02/10/2019

Pros

The general ease of operation for:
- Spinning up new databases
- Scaling up
- Scaling down
- Migrating to a different region
- Restoring backups
Is really great. It's amazing how many features you get out of the box.
The plans with redundancy are also cool because you get full access to the slave as a read-only replica, this means you can run heavy select queries without putting load on the main database.
There is a very significant "it just works" factor to it, which is not something I would imagine myself saying about a database provider so easily.

Cons

They are not the cheapest
Monitoring/alerting options were a bit lackluste, but this has improved recently.

Mikko
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

title

Reviewed on 23/08/2018

cool

cool

Cons

Not being able to copy from one gb to another easily or automatically

Response from Aiven

Hi Mikko,

Thank you for your comment. You can find more information about copying entire databases from one service another from: https://help.aiven.io/postgresql/getting-started/migrating-your-existing-postgresql-database-to-aiven

Hope this helps!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good sofware for Database management

Reviewed on 08/03/2023

A good program that saves a lot of time.

A good program that saves a lot of time.

Pros

Good software for automating database operations, has good features to facilitate connections, completely secures data, and offers a free trial.

Cons

Sometimes problems occur in copying operations, this platform needs to be updated to increase work efficiency.

Mathias
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Focus on the productive stuff

Reviewed on 07/04/2019

Extremely esay to use and get started with in seconds. Very helpful support if so be needed and a...

Extremely esay to use and get started with in seconds. Very helpful support if so be needed and a very reliable service.

Pros

It's incredibly easy to spin up a postgreSQL instance and start being productive. Everything from creating a secure password to SSL-certificates are handled automatically. Point in time backups make you confident to use and test without gambling hours of work and for the serious tests and development environments - spin up a replica by forking the database with the press of a button!

Cons

It is a bit expensive if you need more disk space, which isn't unusual when dealing with data and databases.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It's great. Everything just works; setup was effortless; customer service is responsive and...

Reviewed on 18/10/2017

Pros

The best thing are the no-downtime migrations and upgrades. The setup was quick and easy and since then no maintenance has been required. Customer service is great and pro-active. The dashboard works well.

Cons

As far as I can tell there's no way to set a separate billing email.

It would be nice to also see in the dashboard what's taking up most memory and disk space and to be able to set up alerts, such as if there are queries that take too long to execute.

Response from Aiven

Thanks for the review! Great to hear you have had a good experience so far.

Regarding to your comment on setting a separate billing email, field for that has now been made available.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product, really happy about it

Reviewed on 18/12/2019

Pros

- the support provided during the sales cycle
- the exploration of possible options
- the platform is clear and user friendly
- great product, it took us a few hours to migrate from our database on premise to that on Aiven.

Cons

- the fact that we can only have Timescale Open Source features run on Aiven, and not the advanced features.

Alternatives Considered

Google Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Aiven for PostgreSQL

Database as a service, H.A.
Darko
Darko
Overall rating
  • Industry: Gambling & Casinos
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Aiven for PostgreSQL by Darko Britvec

Reviewed on 29/11/2022

I like Aiven and I think I would keep using it for both business and personal projects.

I like Aiven and I think I would keep using it for both business and personal projects.

Pros

I like how easy it is to create and manage Postgres instance using Aiven + it's not that expensive in comparison to other providers.

Cons

I would like to have more insights in query performance.

Márton
Márton
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

So simple and powerfull

Reviewed on 01/09/2018

I am very satisfied with Aiven so far.It eliminated the need for in-house solutions for backup,...

I am very satisfied with Aiven so far.It eliminated the need for in-house solutions for backup, scaling and upgrading a PostgreSQL server.

Pros

I have only used the PostgreSQL service so far and I really like how easy it is to start, fork en upgrade the service.

A great feature, and a must for us, is that you can choose on which cloud provider and location the service should be deployed.

We have been hosting our own PostgreSQL server for years and had to manage upgrades, backup and scaling on our own. And it feels great to finally leave that behind us and start using PostgreSQL as a service.

The support is great to. I have been in contact with the support using the chat feature and have been helped every time.

Cons

The official API client was a bit hard to understand at first.

James
James
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great service

Reviewed on 14/03/2018

The implementation of our business!

The implementation of our business!

Pros

Can't fault Aiven at all, great service, the exact services we require (postgres and elasticsearch) and always more than willing to help

Cons

While it is a managed service you do need to have at least a minimum of knowledge to setup and run the services on offer.

Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Remote replicas to the rescue!

Reviewed on 22/07/2019

We tested and we loved it, the remote replica is a service that takes weight out of our shoulders...

We tested and we loved it, the remote replica is a service that takes weight out of our shoulders in a brilliant and simple way.

Pros

The interface is easy to use and intuitive.

The remote replica option is saving the company time. In the past, it was hard to manage and configure the remote replicas using tools like Bucardo and PostgreSQL in RDS, which does not support binary replication (at least it didn't back then).

The replicas between the remote databases happen almost instantly.

Great support for extensions.

Cons

The chat support takes a long time to answer the questions but when they do, the answers are to the point and helpful.

Alternatives Considered

Amazon RDS

Reasons for Choosing Aiven for PostgreSQL

Remote replicas.

Switched From

Amazon RDS
Bruno
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Aiven PostgreSQL review

Reviewed on 22/07/2019

Pros

Performance is much higher than Amazon RDS

Cons

Failover can take quite a long time.

Alternatives Considered

Amazon RDS

Reasons for Choosing Aiven for PostgreSQL

IOPS

Switched From

Amazon RDS
Mario
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Aiven is very efficent for me, because is very easy use to

Reviewed on 25/10/2017

the serves restores in atumatic in downtime
the backup automatic
facility to see the performance

the serves restores in atumatic in downtime
the backup automatic
facility to see the performance

Pros

graph of metrics
query statics
easy admin of users
the autimatic backups and restores
the upgrades of service plans is a very easy and autimatic
the agents of service desk are very efficent and friendly

Cons

can't watch logs of befores days
aiven dont have a panel to execute querys, i could execute querys without any administrator of postgresql from your platform
cant admin sessions, i could close to sessions without pgadmin

Response from Aiven

Hello Mario,

Thank you for your review. We¿re glad to hear you have enjoyed the ease of use of our managed PostgreSQL.

First, I wanted to let you know that it is now possible to close connections directly from console.

Second, our logs view has been improved; for longer logs retention, we support integration to Elasticsearch, where you can keep logs for unlimited (limited by amount of disk space) time.

Thanks again!

Johannes
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent, well-designed product. Hard to imagine an easier solution to this problem.

Reviewed on 16/10/2017

Pros

The best feature is how easy it is to get up and running. Once you've set up an instance, you literally (in our case) just had to copy-and-paste the database URL into our site's (Django-based) configuration. The fact that scaling the instances is so easy also makes it quite comfortable to just start with a small one and then upgrade it as your needs increase.

Cons

We had one or two cases where the instance was unreachable, even though the dashboard reported that it was up. Considering the price, this is pretty good for over a year of service with no redundancy, though. Also, automatically upgrading the PostgreSQL version is obviously a double-edged sword. An opt-out feature might be helpful. We once started getting some errors when the postgres-server version changed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Aiven is the perfect, no-lock-in DB solution

Reviewed on 01/04/2019

Pros

Aiven makes it trival to move databases between cloud providers. The stickiest thing about any hyperscaler (AWS/Google/Azure) is your data - it's a PAIN to move. Aiven makes changing your cloud provider a literal point and shoot operation, something that could take weeks of planning trying to from RDS to Cloud SQL or the like.

Cons

A little more customization in the pricing would be nice (and the ability to run within a VPC instead of having to peer VPCs), but honestly there's very little I don't like about Aiven.

Nathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Painless PostreSql

Reviewed on 07/01/2020

Overall all of my interactions with the Aiven team have been positive, even if we didn't arrive at...

Overall all of my interactions with the Aiven team have been positive, even if we didn't arrive at a solution the support team is knowledgeable and truly tries to help. As for the system itself it has been pretty rock solid so far. Keep up the good work.

Pros

The confidence I have that the DB will be running, that if there is an update or upgrade I can (from the DB side) simply click a button to deploy it.

Cons

We are currently transitioning most of our app to k8s and the systems just don't seem to work super well with Digital Ocean's current solution. (We don't get VPC's and as such have issue with whitelisting correct IP's as they tend to change)

Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best managed DB so far

Reviewed on 24/10/2019

After we started using Aiven, DB's have been one thing that we don't have to worry about.

After we started using Aiven, DB's have been one thing that we don't have to worry about.

Pros

It was just super simple to start using it. The possibility to deploy the service to the same locations where we host our capacity was crucial for us.

Also as a nice plus, aiven has made their own Terraform provider which we also use to manage our capacity.

Cons

Option to create "Service Accounts" would be really nice. Currently all the API tokens are tied to actual user accounts and that might cause problems at some point.

But other than that there's not much not to like :)

Justin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Works for us

Reviewed on 06/08/2020

We use this product to back our application for all environments. It is a huge improvement over...

We use this product to back our application for all environments. It is a huge improvement over our previous provider who was less expensive, but not nearly as stable or user friendly.

Pros

The ease of deployment and the dashboard are super important to us and these guys seem to have put a lot of thought into building a toolset that works for devs.

Cons

I don't have anything useful to add here.

Efrain
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Using Aiven has been a great experience because it has permitted us to deploy faster database...

Reviewed on 13/10/2017

Deploying database servers it is now really fast for us.

Deploying database servers it is now really fast for us.

Pros

I like that is possible to deploy PostgreSQL within seconds. I also really like that is possible to upgrade to a minor or major version of PostgreSQL without a noticeable downtime. I like the offering of HA services. I like the great customer support.

Cons

That it is not possible to have customizable PostgreSQL logs. On our dedicated servers we customize this logs to show us querys that last longer than 5 seconds, currently this is not possible with Aiven.

Bradley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Bradley uses Aiven

Reviewed on 24/02/2021

It's okay, it doesn't fail which is great, but lacking in tools.

It's okay, it doesn't fail which is great, but lacking in tools.

Pros

Console is easy to navigate. I didn't need a single tutorial to figure out what was where.

Cons

Monitoring, Performance measuring, and optimization tools are pretty non-existent

Sugandi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Overall is more far better than Google cloudsql

Reviewed on 14/03/2019

Good so far, you guys provide mysql as well?

Good so far, you guys provide mysql as well?

Pros

Availability and live migration feature is awesome

Cons

Last time (couple weeks) it still cannot zoom to specific range of time in metric dashboard or i am wrong remember

Alexandre
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 08/06/2021

We are moving all our Postgres workload to aiven. We save lot of time managing and maintaining lots...

We are moving all our Postgres workload to aiven. We save lot of time managing and maintaining lots of PG instances.

Pros

It's efficient: no downtime during migration scale up/down
And easy to use!

Cons

Maybe an "in customer cloud" deployment for small business could be appreciable

Alternatives Considered

Amazon RDS

Reasons for Choosing Aiven for PostgreSQL

To hard to maintain reliably Time consuming Under license now

Reasons for Switching to Aiven for PostgreSQL

For reliability, and pricing
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Works well, has cloud datacenters in many regions.

Reviewed on 26/01/2018

Don't have to host Linux servers for it myself.

Don't have to host Linux servers for it myself.

Pros

Datacenters in multiple regions, multiple PostgreSQL versions. General high level of availability. Support is helpful and pretty fast (located in my timezone.)

Cons

No real cons actually. Had a problem once (which was related to my PG driver etc), the customer support helped me resolve it fairly quickly.

Ev
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

My review

Reviewed on 20/08/2020

Pros

It works. It seems stable. We hope someones is handling all the version updates and patches for us, but we don't get a lot of visibility into that.

Cons

It's expensive and I'm not sure how much value Aiven is providing us. We consider just running Postgres on our own cloud almost every day.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall good, customer support is good, however pricing is not great compared to AWS, logs not...

Reviewed on 13/10/2017

Pros

Ease of use, being able to upgrade, downgrade hardware as needed, great customer support, overall decent interface.

Cons

Hardware versus price is not great, especially compared to AWS, not great logging, seems difficult to customize, no auto scaling.