Logi Symphony

4.5 (260)
Write a Review!
Platform for creating rich, embedded analytics applications.

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(260)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.6/5

93%
recommended this app
Sort by

260 Reviews for UK Users

Muhammad
Muhammad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best Business Reporting Tool

Reviewed on 20/12/2020

Great product and highly recommended. Those who have been working with financial institutes or the...

Great product and highly recommended. Those who have been working with financial institutes or the GRC domain can make the most out of this tool in terms of addressing the reporting requirements of their customers.

Pros

Izenda is one of the best tools when it comes to customizing reports for business users. The design layout is easy to understand and very user friendly. Users can simply drag and drop and create their own report within minutes. Highly recommended tool.

Cons

Design layout needs to be a little bit more expanded and colors can be more effective which allows users to navigate more effectively.

Buck
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dundas BI Earned Our Decision

Reviewed on 30/08/2019

We have years of data that need mined. This requires the stakeholders to play with the data. We...

We have years of data that need mined. This requires the stakeholders to play with the data. We can give them all the metrics we can define, but when a user gets the chance to turn the data on its side and inside out, and then when they can bounce it around between each other, mark it up and change the visualizations on demand, it allows them to work from intuition. We are striving to help our users work from intuition, as well as from logic, to make observations; and, Dundas BI offers the ability to feed intuition.

Pros

Dundas BI is a solid platform: it's more than a tool. With solid row-level security, a hefty selection of visualizations and the opportunity to present our user base with the ability to play with data, they won our vote. We compared them against: Tableau, Sisense, Domo and iDashboards. These comparative products had strengths as well, but when we made our decision, it was because Dundas gives our end users great control over visualizing what they see without unnecessary programming as well as our ability to use native SQL views we've already written with no need for modification. This in tandem with row-level security that we control at the data level made a perfect fit for our organization.

Cons

I like to get up and going intuitively. There wasn't a quick-start guide on how to create your first dashboard: it was pieces of learning. Having now gone through the majority of their 100-level and 200-level courses and having created a number of assets, I can see why Dundas wants you to do their training...but for heavy programming go-getters, I wish there had been a quick document to start. They did, however, respond amazingly as they hit my demands for learning head on and answered my questions rapidly, even assigning me access to a technician for a few days while I was in crunch mode.

DANNY
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good Value, but not the best

Reviewed on 20/06/2019

Overall, the product is working as intended. Like anything else, as you get more comfortable with...

Overall, the product is working as intended. Like anything else, as you get more comfortable with it & start to learn the quirks it becomes a little like second nature.

Pros

The initial attraction to the software was the look. It's slick & clean & making visualizations is snappy & they look good with little tuning. That was a big selling point. The platform is built so that you can customize based on your needs & that's huge. Plus, the cost was a fraction of the largest competitor we reviewed.

Cons

Customer Service can be a bit choppy. You can't "call in" for an answer, unless it's a quick one, if you need help troubleshooting something while you're in the thick of it - sorry, you need to schedule the time when things go wrong. There were other issues with being sold different licenses than what we used in our trial, with no clear understanding of the separation until after the fact. Debugging data errors, if you're working with alot of data can be a NIGHTMARE.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau and Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Switching to Logi Symphony

Cost vs Features.
Dan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exago works for SaaS companies looking to integrate Ad Hoc Reporting

Reviewed on 09/09/2020

Our experience has been uniformly positive, from sales, to implementation, to ongoing support.

Our experience has been uniformly positive, from sales, to implementation, to ongoing support.

Pros

We implemented Exago as an Ad Hoc Reporting tool for our customers, to go beyond the built-in reports we already provide. Exago gives them the flexibility to build their own quick ("Express") reports, create advanced and highly formatted reports, create dashboards, charts, and pivots, and to schedule reports to be automatically generated and mailed to a specified group of people. It was straightforward to integrate it with our platform, give customers a filtered view of just their own data, and customize the product for our specific needs. We evaluated a number of competing products and Exago was the winner for features, integration, and pricing.

Cons

Many of the products in this category are true Business Intelligence platforms, designed to be used by professionals in large corporate or organizational settings. But our customers are regular people, often volunteers, without professional training in complex software. The help is generally good and there are lots of video tutorials. But it would be nice if Exago had more wizards to step users through setting up a more complex report.

Blake
Blake
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Was Great Now Just Good -- 2+ Years of Decline

Reviewed on 18/02/2021

Logi has been a great tool for the success of my company. Logi has changed quite a bit over the 10...

Logi has been a great tool for the success of my company. Logi has changed quite a bit over the 10 years I've worked with the product. Since be purchased by a few years ago the change has not been for the better. Stable relationships in the software industry are hard to come by, but those existed with Logi for a long time. Now turnover seems to be high. The quality of the product has decreased and new features have been slow. A lot of new products have come and gone and the Logi ecosystem (Info, Self Service, Predict, etc.) is confusing as ever.

My faith in Logi is at an all-time low, but luckily the product remains solid. For a new user, the company may be fine. As a longtime user comparing the past to present leaves me disappointed.

Pros

The Logi Info platform allows for quick time to market. My team can create a brand new report in a matter of days where other solutions would take weeks. Logi Info places nicely with 3rd party frameworks and libraries.

Cons

The investment in the Info platform seems to be declining. There used to be new features on a regular basis, but now the product is pretty stagnant.

Steve
Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Logi Info - Going down the drain

Reviewed on 03/10/2018

Payroll, HR, A/R, Analytics, Business Intelligence, Reducing Overtime, reducing expense, etc.

Payroll, HR, A/R, Analytics, Business Intelligence, Reducing Overtime, reducing expense, etc.

Pros

I have 4 years of experience using the tool. Used to love it when they had good support. But, they have changed support models. They used to help you over the phone. Now that love is gone. If you need a hint or tip, you will need to submit a ticket, wait 8 hours, and get a response by mail. Normally, that response will only open up another problem, so you'll need to wait again for another email response.

Cons

I do not like their new support model. You cannot develop fast enough to make it worth it. You just spend your weeks, waiting in a queue for an answer to be partially answered via email. I am very frustrated with this software at the moment!

Kris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dundas BI - If you don't have it, get it...

Reviewed on 02/11/2016

We have been a partner with Dundas BI for almost two years, since the initial release of the...

We have been a partner with Dundas BI for almost two years, since the initial release of the product. We were searching for a BI offering to present to our clients and stumbled upon Dundas almost by accident. Good thing we did. In hindsight, choosing any product other than Dundas BI would have been the wrong choice. The architecture of Dundas BI uses HTML5, CSS and JavaScript - no legacy technology here. The product is can be deployed on-premise or in the cloud, includes multi-tenant functionality, includes out-of-the-box connectors to an array of data sources, allows for ETL in the application, gives developers granular control over most design elements, the dashboard features are almost limitless and the support team is outstanding.

Pros

Flexibility and functionality.

Cons

I'll never fully exploit the capabilities of the software - it's simply too massive.

Joel
Joel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Fair overview of Dundas BI

Reviewed on 11/03/2023

It helps us during times for taking decisions since we embark on data-driven actions.

It helps us during times for taking decisions since we embark on data-driven actions.

Pros

I really love the enhanced security features of Dunda BI. I can easily set up authentication for my users and choose who can have access to either view or edit.

Cons

Dundas BI is a great tool but sometimes I find it too overwhelming because it has a lot of advanced features that other Business Intelligence tools do not have and that leads to a high learning curve

Andy
Andy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool for your BI toolbox

Reviewed on 10/04/2017

We have been using Dundas BI for over a year now and everyone loves it. The visuals look good,are...

We have been using Dundas BI for over a year now and everyone loves it. The visuals look good,are very customizable and the data loads quickly. We utilize this tool embedded in SharePoint using a SharePoint WebPart, as well as in our custom apps utilizing an iFrame.

Pros

Quick time to market - drag and drop excel sheet for instant analysis, connect to SQL (including SSAS) easily for quick browsing of data. The tool can be customized to meet our needs.

Cons

No out of the box funnel chart - I really had to think about a con, I couldn't think of anything I don't like about Dunas BI

David
David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple to use but infinitely customisable

Reviewed on 05/03/2021

Pros

Easy to achieve what we need and there is the possibility to do anything

Cons

A bit of a learning curve initially and sometimes there are so many options it's difficult to find.

Aditya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Dundas BI Dashboarding / visualization review after using it for 3+ years

Reviewed on 22/06/2022

Overall the experience is mixed but I would say when you compare it with its peers and when you...

Overall the experience is mixed but I would say when you compare it with its peers and when you look at the cost and other factors like features which the tool provides it is very useful and can be considered for your BI and reporting. It supports almost all the features of a basic BI tool.

Pros

Dundas is a powerful BI tool . We have migrated our reports to Dundas . It has powerful Dash boarding capabilities. I personally like layering feature in dashboard, it makes life easier to show hide stuffs. Also the exporting feature to PPT and PDF is also helpful for our users to present the dashboard to their up-line team. It is also cost effective as compared to the other major players/tools in the BI space. Security feature using custom attribute is also a very useful and powerful feature.

Cons

I believe we have limited support material available online for Dundas in the web. We have to rely only on the cube community or the support team of Dundas which sometimes make life difficult if you are stuck. We also struggled to build or Cube in the form of star schema model which is basic for any warehousing / BI requirement and we could not figure out a way as the cube brings everything in a form of process result which is ONE de-normalized table and star schema model fails in that approach.

Gary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful, High-quality Reporting Solution that is Designed for the End User

Reviewed on 23/03/2017

Three years ago, we set out to find a reporting solution that could replace SQL Server Reporting...

Three years ago, we set out to find a reporting solution that could replace SQL Server Reporting Services. We had a long list of requirements, among them:
• A Web Based Report Designer
• Easy to Create Basic Reports with Little to No Training
• Advanced Functionality that would Satisfy our Advanced Users
• Licensing that working with an onsite and SaaS deployment model
• A Clean Modern Looking User Interface
• Ability to White Label
• Ability to Secure the Scope of the Accessible Tables and Data
• Ability to Integrate with our Security Model and Dynamic Table Relationships
• Ability to have a Distributed Execution Model for our SaaS solution that Maintained Data Isolation and Security

Exago and one other reporting solution were short listed and went into an evaluation phase. During this 2-month process, we did POC integrations, tested the performance of the solution, security, APIs, and called on technical support. We found that Exago was faster to implement and easier to use. In one of our tests, we sent out a link to both products and asked all our employees to create a report within both products, without any training on either. We found that everyone created a report in Exago, but we had a high percentage of people that could not in the competing product. Additionally, the reports made in Exago we generally built with more complexity in them, due to the ease of use. Their support was extremely responsive. So much so, that we thought that it may just be because we were in the sales cycle. I am happy to say, that is not the case. Exago is just very customer focused and has a knowledgeable support staff that is always looking out for the client.

Pros

• Ease of Use
• Flexibility of Product
• Performance
• Data Security
• Ease of Implementation
• Product Support
• Commitment to Security
• Pricing Model
• Commitment to Client Success from the Top Down

Cons

Error Messages when using it in a Distributed Model can be a Challenge
• Brought up on last support call and they have committed to improving

Ravi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dundas BI: Cost-effective BI Solution

Reviewed on 12/03/2021

It's a great tool for visualizations, dashboards. It supports connections to virtually every kind...

It's a great tool for visualizations, dashboards. It supports connections to virtually every kind of dataset.

Pros

Dundas BI is very intuitive to use because of the modern UI. Also, the customer support is just amazing. On top of that, it is very cost-effective as compared to other BI solutions in the market if you are looking for catering to a large base of users.

Cons

As with perhaps any other BI solution, there is a bit of a learning curve. In addition to that, in case you find any bugs/issues, you have to wait for the fix till the next major (annual) release.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Izenda Embedded BI - gives true Ad-Hoc reporting to your user base.

Reviewed on 05/08/2016

As a provider of bespoke software solutions I first started to look at Izenda about 7 years ago as...

As a provider of bespoke software solutions I first started to look at Izenda about 7 years ago as a means to provide true Ad-Hoc reporting and to get away from having to develop reports in SSRS. Izenda gives the power of report creation and management back to the user base and will free your IT staff from having to create custom or numerous versions of reports for your clients. You can create a core base set of reports that best suite your solution and let your clients develop / expand them further. I like that it has a lot of base functionality but can also be "customized" to bend to all sorts of requirements and needs. Over the years I have seen quite a few and some of these have then been added back into the product. Not many Vendors would allow that or be so flexible.

Pros

Izenda allows seamless white label integration for non-technical users but also allows technical users to customize all areas to provide a powerful solution that matches their core solution. It pushes the reporting burden away from IT and into the hands of the user and allows for complex reporting in a simple to use UI experience.

Cons

The documentation whilst getting better still needs to be kept more up to date

Jatin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to customize and user friendly GUI

Reviewed on 31/01/2020

Overall I definitely would like to recommend Dundas BI as a BI tool for organization. within a sort...

Overall I definitely would like to recommend Dundas BI as a BI tool for organization. within a sort time of period you can easily create your own reports or dashboard.

Pros

Dundas BI easy to customize and very friendly GUI. you can easily navigate to ETL process, Scheduling job, admin activity, configuration, user security and roles.

Most important thing is very well visualization options, flexibility, stability and multi tenancy licenses.

Customer Support is really very good.

Cons

Required better folder structure to manage data cubes, matric Set and dashboard.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Choosing Logi Symphony

Because of Multi tenancy license structure in Dundas BI and better customer support.
Brett
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exago is the real deal

Reviewed on 14/02/2017

We have been using Exago for a few years now as an integrated part of our product - and it's a...

We have been using Exago for a few years now as an integrated part of our product - and it's a solid reporting tool. I have years of experience working with Crystal, and SSRS, Telerik... and hands down, this is a much more pleasant environment to build reports in! The UI is fantastic, the features are solid, and it is obvious that Exago cares about it's customers, providing outstanding support, training, and staying with us every step of the way. They have consistently delivered a solid reporting experience for our users, and are continuously improving the product as well, providing value as time moves on.

A class act, any way you look at it.

Pros

Express design view makes drag/drop reports a reality.
Web-based report designer
Extendable to meet complex reporting needs
Integration options for making Exago a seamless part of the product
Great training sessions for admins and End users
Outstanding support

Cons

Grouping could be improved
Missing ability to define variables without using custom functions
Cross tab reports can be daunting for new users

Sara-Anne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful BI and Reporting Tool

Reviewed on 01/02/2021

Pros

Exago has many features that showcase our data into meaningful visualizations and analytics for our clients. We use Exago for both standard reports in our product and custom reports. We've found Exago to be a robust reporting tool that meets the needs of both our company and our clients.

Cons

There are a few features that could be more user intuitive when creating custom reports and filtering. However, we have found Exago's customer support to be responsive and their documentation is extensive.

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Flexible, Customizable, and a Great Investment Return

Reviewed on 24/06/2019

The staff and support have been excellent. The software is flexible enough to meet our needs.

The staff and support have been excellent. The software is flexible enough to meet our needs.

Pros

Flexibility and Customization
Ability to connect multiple data sources
Ability to setup security groups and have auditing capability
Customer support is excellent

Cons

It does take some time to setup initially, but the flexibility more than makes up for it

Alternatives Considered

Sisense , Qlik Sense and Tableau

Reasons for Switching to Logi Symphony

See Pros above
Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Exago tool is great

Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Overall great experience with Exago's tool. The staff is patient and very helpful. Sometimes the...

Overall great experience with Exago's tool. The staff is patient and very helpful. Sometimes the logic gets complex quickly and not always able to get what we want easily. We are dependent on our integration choices we made back in 2008 so we have been not able to use some of the newer functions. The recommendation is to keep up to date as much as you can or you'll fall behind.

Email reports to users is a great feature.

We support 100's of users and clients around the world.

Pros

- Ease of Use
- Customer Support
- Reporting Options
- always looking to improve the product
- Love the output options, dashboards, graphs, drill-down reports, cross tab.

Cons

- sometimes complex logic
- most of the time our data does not match northwind model so samples are hard to turn into relevant business cases.
- Integration is sometimes tricky and mostly with our dev team.

Mohammad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great BI tool

Reviewed on 07/09/2016

We have chosen Dundas BI because of its flexibility and the ability to integrate with wide range of...

We have chosen Dundas BI because of its flexibility and the ability to integrate with wide range of data sources, the open API platform that allows to do non-traditional integrations with our in-house systems.
Dundas support team are always on time to solve any issues or to provide any suggestions and java scripts to help our issues.

Pros

Flexibility to do whatever you want, Open API and known scripting languages like HTML5 and JS where 99% of your word can be accomplished through drag and drop including preparing the connections to database, you can do all the task which usually have to be done through SQL language by using Dundas and only drag and drop like join, sort , filter, union, aggregation and more.

Cons

The tool doesn't support the 3D Charts even it is clear that 3D charts are not professional.

Mohammad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Flexibility in design,

Reviewed on 06/09/2016

I am developer and implementer of Dundas BI. I rememered how we choosed dundas from 10s of options...

I am developer and implementer of Dundas BI. I rememered how we choosed dundas from 10s of options for to many aspects like flexibility to do whatever you want , variety of data sources and the open API. Moreover, the price od dundas is reasonable comparing to the features that it provides and cheaper comparing to other products in the market.
Later on, our requirements increased but dundas BI was flexible enought so we did all them. In dundas BI, think what to do rather than how to do it or if it is doable or not.
One year later, dundas become the central portal for every department including Executives ,IT, sales, and marketing. By giving other departments small training on dundas bi, they started to build their reports and dashboards, our role was to prepare the connection to databases and the data cubes only.
Dundas Support team are great and reply to any query withen same day. I liked their support because they are ready to help in building java scripts that solve or do my requests or to to provide solutions to issues which were sometimes related to OS or the database.

Pros

Flexibility in design, variety of charts and data sources, open API and the great dundas support

Cons

No 3D charts even it is clear to me that 3D is not professional but some people just like to see it.

Tanvir
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Logi is Great

Reviewed on 22/10/2019

Great experience and success with delivering enterprise wide reports/dashboards

Great experience and success with delivering enterprise wide reports/dashboards

Pros

Cohesive experience, branding and customizable

Cons

Steep Learning curve to implement the product

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for Switching to Logi Symphony

Licensing cost
Shaun
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Great product Overall

Great product Overall

Pros

The software is very flexible and allows customizations.

Cons

Not a large user base for people to assist with app code

Alternatives Considered

SAP Crystal Reports

Reasons for Switching to Logi Symphony

Customization
Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dundas Developer for the last 3 years

Reviewed on 12/10/2015

Pros

1. Data Visualisation is what Dundas do, and do well at; as opposed to many BI vendors, who offer a broader range of functionality but end up being a jack of all trades, and a master of none.
2. It's a difficult balance for a product to be easy to use, as well as being flexible. It's subjective, but I feel that they have the balance right.
3. I can't speak highly enough about the support team.

Cons

1. Exports to Powerpoint, etc... are needed.
2. Ability to work off line, with everything nicely cached. I agree the benefit will diminish over the years, but other products, like Microstrategy, do. Senior managers like this.
3. A better way to add comments; something like Cognos.
4. More an issue with the previous Dundas product, and though rare, but we had a couple of cases where newer versions could often resolve one issue raised, but result in something else no longer working, which made us look a rather silly. With new versions, don't assume anything, and test thoroughly again.
5. Greater presence in Europe.

Harriet
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful product, excellent customer support

Reviewed on 28/02/2017

Exago is the ad-hoc reporting engine for our IT business management software product. We have over...

Exago is the ad-hoc reporting engine for our IT business management software product. We have over 7000 customers. Some have created just a few reports, others have created hundreds.

From a user perspective, Exago integrates nicely with our product. Exago's styling extensibility enables us to give our reporting module the same look and feel as the rest of the application. Our customers can quickly build simple reports or use Exago's formula capability to build complex ones. They love the ability to schedule reports to automatically run at different time intervals.

Since we provide our own dashboards, we haven't exposed Exago dashboards to our customers, so I can't comment on that functionality.

Exago's customer support is very responsive. We've worked closely with support and development staff to diagnose some complex issues and have been happy with the attention and time they've dedicated.

Pros

- Slight learning curve, but then it's easy to create straightforward reports
- Ability to schedule reports
- Ability to handle multiple languages, numeric, date, and time formats

Cons

- We don't have control of the code. Unlike the rest of our application, we can't implement new features or release fixes as often as we'd like.
- Error handling - error messages can be vague.