XMind

4.5 (117)
Write a Review!
Unleash creativity, boost efficiency, map minds.

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(117)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
3.9/5

93%
recommended this app
Sort by

117 Reviews for UK Users

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

XMind is more than just a mind mapping tool. It's everything I need in a productivity tool.

Reviewed on 02/10/2018

XMind is very good tool with self explanatory UI. With the complete set of templates for various...

XMind is very good tool with self explanatory UI. With the complete set of templates for various requirements, presentation mode to have a brainstorm session with the team, gantt chart mode for project management (just like Microsoft Project), embedding picture/audio/attachment in the node, export to pdf or image, It really helps me to complete my daily job in gathering requirements, discussion with the team, brainstorming, presentation and project management.
I only wish that the mobile version is provided without subscription fee when we have purchased the desktop version.

Pros

This application runs cross platforms. It works on my Mac, Windows machine also mobile devices. It has different kind of templates (mind map, org chart, logic chart, design, presentation mode, gantt chart mode for project management).
What I like the most is I can also use it as a brainstorming tool for the development work as I can drop the node freely anywhere by clicking on the empty space. I can also easily add the flexible connection arrow between nodes. It also provide the export functionality to different type of files such as image, PDF and html.

Cons

The performance of the startup is very slow. It may take minutes sometime to load the application. Because of this, everytime I start my computer, I need to make sure I open the application to have it standby all the time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very useful mind mapping visualisation

Reviewed on 29/09/2020

Really very good. Professional results with very little effort and it's easy to master the basics.

Really very good. Professional results with very little effort and it's easy to master the basics.

Pros

I used this when I was teaching to graphically illustrate the connections between branches of thought or to provide an easy to digest summary of key ideas under a given heading. My needs were simple and basic, but I cannot count how many students I recommended this to as a way to visually connect complex ideas. I've recommended it to staff, too, because of the ease of use. It's a fairly low angle learning curve, quite intuitive to use and quickly produces results that can be printed out easily.

Cons

There was nothing I didn't like for what I was doing. Highly recommended for teaching and students needing a way to neatly visualise.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

It is not task manager

Reviewed on 24/04/2019

I like it, design new processes is easy and transparent.

I like it, design new processes is easy and transparent.

Pros

User friendly application with drag and drop feature. Better for process mapping or design of process.

Cons

I have to use it as project management application and really this application is strong in another areas.

Andy
Andy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mind Mapping Made Easy

Reviewed on 14/12/2017

I've tried a variety of mind mapping products and none of them hold a candle to Xmind. Part of a...

I've tried a variety of mind mapping products and none of them hold a candle to Xmind. Part of a very specific niche of software, Xmind's most powerful attribute is its simplicity. It doesn't try to do too much and what it does it does very well!!

Pros

I've used XMind for the better part of 5 years and it works exactly as intended. I've used it for everything from setting up website information architecture to mapping out org charts for the business. It's super intuitive and easy to use, with built in templates to help make development a snap. There are a variety of uses and XMind does a great job of illustrating the possibilities through their templates and tutorials.

Cons

XMind features 'drag and drop' technology that allows users to rearrange secondary and tertiary items as needed after creation. While a great concept in theory, the functionality can be a bit clunky at times, not allowing the user to drop the item in the desired location. The user interface makes building and modifying mind maps easy but it isn't the most attractive thing to look at - it could use a refresh and some modernization.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Beautiful and useful mind mapping tool

Reviewed on 20/04/2019

Pros

XMind lets you create powerful mindmaps. Default styles for the templates are pretty beautiful, and the software is easy to use. You can use different layouts to show different information (not only classical mindmaps, but org chart and lists too), and even combine them. You can save the maps locally or in the cloud. There are now two versions of the software, a buyable one that does not look like it will have lots of updates, and the subscription one.

Cons

The software can be slow sometimes if you use big files or have a medium-old computer. The mobile apps are not as intuitive as the desktop apps, but that is something to expect du to the device limitations.

Volodymyr
Volodymyr
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mind Mapping Tool as it should be

Reviewed on 15/08/2018

XMind is great mindmapping tool that gets the job done nice and clean.

XMind is great mindmapping tool that gets the job done nice and clean.

Pros

Mindmapping is nice and easy way to keep your brain fit and ready for unconventional action. However, it is often challenging to capture the brainstorming flow in an adequate manner. XMind makes this a lot easier.

In terms of User Experience, XMind is as good as it gets with this kind of tools. You don't need to spend a lot of time wondering how to make your mind map - everything is on the surface.

I really like the Presentation Mode. It is very useful in cases when you need to present a bunch of complicated concepts, explain the connections and tie them together without losing anyone.

Cons

XMind can be slow at times and it can crawl and drag if your file is too big. Sometimes d&d files make a mess if you miss the mark.
The biggest problem with XMind comes with free versions as there are certain functional limitations. But it is more of a problem for those who don't use XMind as frequently as I am.

Juan
Juan
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent tool for mind mapping

Reviewed on 07/12/2017

An easy tool to present ideas using more of an image format in a collaborative way.

An easy tool to present ideas using more of an image format in a collaborative way.

Pros

The free version is feature rich and can get you going right away, the built-in templates are great starting points.

The fact that the free version is available makes it easy to send files to share and not worry about someone being able to open it since there is a free version.

The paid version adds a slew of functionality and the ability to export the file into various formats.

Cons

Not too many cons here as the tool is feature rich, larger files can take a bit to load and print options are not the greatest but I see this as more of a tool for sharing on computers.

Simisara
Simisara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the most versatile tool to create quick mindmaps

Reviewed on 20/11/2020

Good tool in the price range offered.
They have a trial version too.
Ability to add notes via audio...

Good tool in the price range offered.
They have a trial version too.
Ability to add notes via audio upload and hyperlink so that notes can be added to each nodes.

Pros

Easy to use with quick drag-drop options
Prebuilt template to choose from
Ability to share via various means like file upload, public link, etc.

Cons

When relationships are to be defined it auto populates another floating topic which has to be manually deleted, which makes it a bit slow to work with initially.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple mind maps for everyone

Reviewed on 09/09/2020

XMind allows me to get my thoughts on a particular topic down onto the page quickly and easily

XMind allows me to get my thoughts on a particular topic down onto the page quickly and easily

Pros

I love how simple the user interface is in XMind, once you've learned a few simple principles, it makes it very simple to get your ideas quickly onto the page

Cons

There's nothing I really don't like. The only minor nitpick I have with it is that when you open the application, it defaults to creating a new mind map, when most of the time, I just want to open and edit an existing mind map.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great replacement at an excellent price!

Reviewed on 22/04/2019

Pros

I have been an avid user of mind mapping software for more than a decade ,however, ever since I moved over to mac I have not found a great replacement for Mind Manager (which I used on Windows). After trying several other options I recently tried XMind and I am incredibly happy with the experience - it ticks all the boxes I wanted and also ticked a few that I did not know I needed until now. Some of the good points are easy and quick visual mind mapping. It also allows clear and visual relationships, groupings and icons.
The price is amazing at only a few dollar per month. The experience of onboarding was also very simple.

Cons

At this point I do not have anything negative to say about XMind - excellent software at a great price.

Ricky
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mind mapping & Organizing At It’s Best!

Reviewed on 05/02/2020

Overall XMind has allowed to plan out my goals and strategize various campaigns with ease. Before...

Overall XMind has allowed to plan out my goals and strategize various campaigns with ease. Before using this software I would just keep ideas and plans in my head or write them down in an assortment of note books and loose paper. This approach worked for a while until I started misplacing and losing critical documents. Using XMind gives me the luxury of having all my rough ideas, plans, and strategies stored digitally on my computer, which I then can backup to various different sources for an added layer of protection.

Pros

What I liked most about this software is it’s ability for me to take my thoughts & ideas and organize them visually in way that makes achieving my personal or project goals and objectives more structured and easy to follow.

Cons

What I liked least about this software is the overall look and feel of the earlier versions that I was implementing before finally updating my software package. In my opinion the graphic user interface was very dated and reminded me of software programs released in the early 2000’s.

Edo
Edo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic software for mind maps, diagrams and simple info-graphic solutions

Reviewed on 21/09/2017

This software can be used by any sized company. User interface is simple, clean and easy to...

This software can be used by any sized company. User interface is simple, clean and easy to understand and master it in short period of time. Plenty of options give opportunity for different level of design (from simple diagrams to relatively challenging info-graphics).

Pros

This version of XMIND (v8 update 4) is a fantastic solution for:
- mind mapping,
- diagrams of different kind,
- info-graphics
User interface is a nice, clean with adequate number of icons (options) in toolbars (horizontal and vertical) and only one menu bar . Most of options are always available during work and can be accessed immediately when needed. And there are plenty of options.
OUTLINE - is full of options, with different filters.
TOPIC FORMAT - many options are available (there is place to improve)
CLIP ART / ICON FINDER - plenty of media to choose from
MARKERS - are made nicely, with several options to choose from
THEMES - are nice (there is place to improve)
NOTES - are linked to topics, nice feature
COMMENTS - are similar to notes but with time when inserted, also linked to topic
TASK INFO - sometimes can be of use.

Cons

This program, on my PC (WIN10, 4 Gb RAM), is very slow in some operations, especially loading. Cloud operations can be better defined.

Alejandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best program to portray your ideas

Reviewed on 13/01/2022

An Amazing tool to create mindmaps for your professional but also personal goals/projects. Very...

An Amazing tool to create mindmaps for your professional but also personal goals/projects. Very useful mainly for team project management.

Pros

All the team can have access to the same mindmap and work there at the same time. The way to present the ideas make the tool approachable, intuitive and legible.

Cons

It takes time to open the files, sometimes freezes for quite a long time or is slow uploading some URL's, files, etc.

Jorden
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Mind Mapping Tool for Brainstorming and Organizing Ideas!

Reviewed on 30/06/2018

Pros

XMind is simple, intuitive and easy to use. It has a lot of features that will let your mind map look and feel the way you want it to. You have access to pre-installed themes which can make your maps look really neat.

You can have xmind stored locally on your computer or the cloud. I like how they give you the option to do so.

I love how they have included a Gnatt view which can let you see start and end dates, priority and progress of the tasks.

You have the ability to export the mind maps to other formats but only for the paid versions.

Cons

Xmind has a free version and paid version. With the free version, you are limited to a few ways you can export the mind map. Which is expected as the paid version should give you all the features and the free should just give you a taste of what it can do.

I think navigating around the mind map could be a little easier as I have seen other tools like MindMeister be able to navigate easier. Not a deal breaker at all though.

Joshua
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great mindmapping tool that I now cant live without

Reviewed on 12/03/2019

I regularly recommend this software to anyone who will listen.

I regularly recommend this software to anyone who will listen.

Pros

It is super quick and easy to start and built out a mind map and with the new Zen version you can create even better looking versions of mind maps which can be client facing.

Cons

Making it easier to add custom images and icons would be a nice addition

Vincent Po
Vincent Po
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Favourite mind-mapping tool

Reviewed on 23/06/2019

Overall satisfied with Xmind, my go-to mind-mapping tool.

Overall satisfied with Xmind, my go-to mind-mapping tool.

Pros

I used to use Freemind (Xmind is a fork of Freemind) and Xmind is the mind-mapping tool I keep going back to, despite all the cloud-based mind-mapping apps, I still prefer Xmind (I don't use Xmind's cloud service though).
I use mind-mapping very frequently and Xmind is still my favourite go-to mind-mapping tool.

Cons

Would love to see a free cloud-based version of this (vs only a desktop app).

Ken
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

Clean and Intuitive

Reviewed on 30/04/2018

Pros

I'm using XMind on my new iMac and it's great. I use Mac because I like how the operating system and hardware stays out of my, so I can complete my work. XMind follows this philosophy of minimalism design with maximum functionality. There is also a "zen mode" which is full screen with no menus. I quickly figured the most basic functions and keystrokes without a tutorial or guide. Minimal and intuitive!

Cons

The cost is kind of high for a mind mapping tool. After all, I'm not sure how much I will use the software on a daily basis to warrant subscribing every six months. But then again, when I factor in my time, and the incalculable value of 'getting things done'. It seems to be well worth it.

Pawan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Best of the many mind-mapping tools used

Reviewed on 11/02/2021

Pros

I've used many mind-mapping tools before I settled upon XMind. The fact that it was easier to use that another tool I had used in the past, and that it could convert my previous mind-maps into the XMind format was the reason I stuck to this tool.

Cons

I'm not sure if this is a "con" but it would be nice if mind-map formats could be used across tools, similar to the ODF standard. This would make it easier to evaluate tools using the same mind-map instead of recreating one from scratch.

Simon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Mapping Tool

Reviewed on 21/01/2020

Great for quick, good looking maps. A breeze to use and pick up

Great for quick, good looking maps. A breeze to use and pick up

Pros

Visually pleasing and a very nice UI feel. The keys are intuitive and you can quickly and easily create some beautiful maps

Cons

As you go down the layers in your map, it does lack the ability to customize the deeper level maps look and feel. Beyond 3 tier is probably a no-go.

Vincent
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Efficient mind mapping tool

Reviewed on 12/02/2022

Everytime we need to explore solutions and feature, xmind offers the best for this.

Everytime we need to explore solutions and feature, xmind offers the best for this.

Pros

Compared to freemind, xmind has a better look and field

Cons

I'm using the free version, never test the pro version. live collaboration might be a good improvment if not available

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent tool for Mind mapping

Reviewed on 23/08/2019

Pros

Mind mapping brings a lot of clarity in the thought process and Xmind does a wonderful job of using mind maps. They have a lot of templates that can be used as well.

Cons

Not much. The software is very nice indeed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Effective Mind-Map App

Reviewed on 28/08/2019

Allowing me to map out my ideas in flow and make plans for the future.

Allowing me to map out my ideas in flow and make plans for the future.

Pros

I love that it's so simple to use. Not only does it not take up much space but it has a very simple to use interface. The learning curve is minimal as it takes less than 20 minutes to understand how it works. There is also a very good export feature which allows for easy export to PNG, Word, Text, PDF as well as other social network using the Zen network. I love that there is also support for the mobile apps so that one can work while on the go. The pricing is effective as there are separate desktop and mobile apps, though it's preferrable to go for the desktop+mobile package as it costs just a bit more than the desktop subscription.

Cons

It was not as colourful as I expected. The activation process was a bit cumbersome.

Tim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Keeping the overview

Reviewed on 14/07/2021

I use XMind to visualise more complex issues or problems according to the MECE principle and to...

I use XMind to visualise more complex issues or problems according to the MECE principle and to share them with others.

Pros

With XMind, I am able to visualise even complex issues in a structured and comprehensible way. Even when I look at a diagram that I created a long time ago, I can quickly understand the information again.

Cons

When creating mind maps, the arrangement of the shapes is sometimes a little suboptimal. This causes additional effort due to the manual reorganisation.

Rev Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great mind mapping software

Reviewed on 14/11/2018

Have been using in consulting work to map out processes that are going in several directions at...

Have been using in consulting work to map out processes that are going in several directions at once. Helps those whe are visionary yet work alone to bring others on board with processes that both parties can understand. Helps many entrepreneurs to work at the speed ot their thoughts when presenting. I love working with it to break down what seem to be complicated issues, only because they have no way to break down "stream of consciousness" explanations of problems.

Pros

If you don't register the trial you can use it for as long as you need. Much better than a 15-day trial that many others give you. Many times 2 weeks does not give you much time. It is great mind mapping software!

Cons

It is limited in its flex ability. Not able to make the maps as fluid as some programs. In many ways it makes maps like everyone else does, it just does it better.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

This is wonderful tool to help with Project Management

Reviewed on 14/03/2018

This is a great tool for Project Managers. You can get started easily and get things done quickly.

This is a great tool for Project Managers. You can get started easily and get things done quickly.

Pros

I have used this software to develop WBS and SOW mind maps. I have used some of the included templates for the SOW and the cause and effect (Ishikawa diagram). The software is easy to use and there is not a huge learning curve. You can just jump right in and get things done.

Cons

I think it would be great to get a mobile app for this software. It would help to get some work done while out on the road.