XMind

Unleash creativity, boost efficiency, map minds.

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(115)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
3.9/5

93%
recommended this app
Sort by

115 Reviews for UK Users

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very useful mind mapping visualisation

Reviewed on 29/09/2020

Really very good. Professional results with very little effort and it's easy to master the basics.

Really very good. Professional results with very little effort and it's easy to master the basics.

Pros

I used this when I was teaching to graphically illustrate the connections between branches of thought or to provide an easy to digest summary of key ideas under a given heading. My needs were simple and basic, but I cannot count how many students I recommended this to as a way to visually connect complex ideas. I've recommended it to staff, too, because of the ease of use. It's a fairly low angle learning curve, quite intuitive to use and quickly produces results that can be printed out easily.

Cons

There was nothing I didn't like for what I was doing. Highly recommended for teaching and students needing a way to neatly visualise.

Edo
Edo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic software for mind maps, diagrams and simple info-graphic solutions

Reviewed on 21/09/2017

This software can be used by any sized company. User interface is simple, clean and easy to...

This software can be used by any sized company. User interface is simple, clean and easy to understand and master it in short period of time. Plenty of options give opportunity for different level of design (from simple diagrams to relatively challenging info-graphics).

Pros

This version of XMIND (v8 update 4) is a fantastic solution for:
- mind mapping,
- diagrams of different kind,
- info-graphics
User interface is a nice, clean with adequate number of icons (options) in toolbars (horizontal and vertical) and only one menu bar . Most of options are always available during work and can be accessed immediately when needed. And there are plenty of options.
OUTLINE - is full of options, with different filters.
TOPIC FORMAT - many options are available (there is place to improve)
CLIP ART / ICON FINDER - plenty of media to choose from
MARKERS - are made nicely, with several options to choose from
THEMES - are nice (there is place to improve)
NOTES - are linked to topics, nice feature
COMMENTS - are similar to notes but with time when inserted, also linked to topic
TASK INFO - sometimes can be of use.

Cons

This program, on my PC (WIN10, 4 Gb RAM), is very slow in some operations, especially loading. Cloud operations can be better defined.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

It is not task manager

Reviewed on 24/04/2019

I like it, design new processes is easy and transparent.

I like it, design new processes is easy and transparent.

Pros

User friendly application with drag and drop feature. Better for process mapping or design of process.

Cons

I have to use it as project management application and really this application is strong in another areas.

Aivars
Aivars
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Desktop Xmind is better as Online

Reviewed on 07/09/2022

XMind is a very good, user-friendly application. I would have continued with it. However, the...

XMind is a very good, user-friendly application. I would have continued with it. However, the online offer did its job

Pros

Desktop Xmind was initially free
Understandable, user-friendly interface
Easy to export, import

Cons

Desktop Xmind was initially free, then the online version was pushed
This transition prompted the move to Mind Mapping Software by MindManager

Andy
Andy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mind Mapping Made Easy

Reviewed on 14/12/2017

I've tried a variety of mind mapping products and none of them hold a candle to Xmind. Part of a...

I've tried a variety of mind mapping products and none of them hold a candle to Xmind. Part of a very specific niche of software, Xmind's most powerful attribute is its simplicity. It doesn't try to do too much and what it does it does very well!!

Pros

I've used XMind for the better part of 5 years and it works exactly as intended. I've used it for everything from setting up website information architecture to mapping out org charts for the business. It's super intuitive and easy to use, with built in templates to help make development a snap. There are a variety of uses and XMind does a great job of illustrating the possibilities through their templates and tutorials.

Cons

XMind features 'drag and drop' technology that allows users to rearrange secondary and tertiary items as needed after creation. While a great concept in theory, the functionality can be a bit clunky at times, not allowing the user to drop the item in the desired location. The user interface makes building and modifying mind maps easy but it isn't the most attractive thing to look at - it could use a refresh and some modernization.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Beautiful and useful mind mapping tool

Reviewed on 20/04/2019

Pros

XMind lets you create powerful mindmaps. Default styles for the templates are pretty beautiful, and the software is easy to use. You can use different layouts to show different information (not only classical mindmaps, but org chart and lists too), and even combine them. You can save the maps locally or in the cloud. There are now two versions of the software, a buyable one that does not look like it will have lots of updates, and the subscription one.

Cons

The software can be slow sometimes if you use big files or have a medium-old computer. The mobile apps are not as intuitive as the desktop apps, but that is something to expect du to the device limitations.

Volodymyr
Volodymyr
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mind Mapping Tool as it should be

Reviewed on 15/08/2018

XMind is great mindmapping tool that gets the job done nice and clean.

XMind is great mindmapping tool that gets the job done nice and clean.

Pros

Mindmapping is nice and easy way to keep your brain fit and ready for unconventional action. However, it is often challenging to capture the brainstorming flow in an adequate manner. XMind makes this a lot easier.

In terms of User Experience, XMind is as good as it gets with this kind of tools. You don't need to spend a lot of time wondering how to make your mind map - everything is on the surface.

I really like the Presentation Mode. It is very useful in cases when you need to present a bunch of complicated concepts, explain the connections and tie them together without losing anyone.

Cons

XMind can be slow at times and it can crawl and drag if your file is too big. Sometimes d&d files make a mess if you miss the mark.
The biggest problem with XMind comes with free versions as there are certain functional limitations. But it is more of a problem for those who don't use XMind as frequently as I am.

Juan
Juan
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent tool for mind mapping

Reviewed on 07/12/2017

An easy tool to present ideas using more of an image format in a collaborative way.

An easy tool to present ideas using more of an image format in a collaborative way.

Pros

The free version is feature rich and can get you going right away, the built-in templates are great starting points.

The fact that the free version is available makes it easy to send files to share and not worry about someone being able to open it since there is a free version.

The paid version adds a slew of functionality and the ability to export the file into various formats.

Cons

Not too many cons here as the tool is feature rich, larger files can take a bit to load and print options are not the greatest but I see this as more of a tool for sharing on computers.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple mind maps for everyone

Reviewed on 09/09/2020

XMind allows me to get my thoughts on a particular topic down onto the page quickly and easily

XMind allows me to get my thoughts on a particular topic down onto the page quickly and easily

Pros

I love how simple the user interface is in XMind, once you've learned a few simple principles, it makes it very simple to get your ideas quickly onto the page

Cons

There's nothing I really don't like. The only minor nitpick I have with it is that when you open the application, it defaults to creating a new mind map, when most of the time, I just want to open and edit an existing mind map.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great replacement at an excellent price!

Reviewed on 22/04/2019

Pros

I have been an avid user of mind mapping software for more than a decade ,however, ever since I moved over to mac I have not found a great replacement for Mind Manager (which I used on Windows). After trying several other options I recently tried XMind and I am incredibly happy with the experience - it ticks all the boxes I wanted and also ticked a few that I did not know I needed until now. Some of the good points are easy and quick visual mind mapping. It also allows clear and visual relationships, groupings and icons.
The price is amazing at only a few dollar per month. The experience of onboarding was also very simple.

Cons

At this point I do not have anything negative to say about XMind - excellent software at a great price.

Ricky
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mind mapping & Organizing At It’s Best!

Reviewed on 05/02/2020

Overall XMind has allowed to plan out my goals and strategize various campaigns with ease. Before...

Overall XMind has allowed to plan out my goals and strategize various campaigns with ease. Before using this software I would just keep ideas and plans in my head or write them down in an assortment of note books and loose paper. This approach worked for a while until I started misplacing and losing critical documents. Using XMind gives me the luxury of having all my rough ideas, plans, and strategies stored digitally on my computer, which I then can backup to various different sources for an added layer of protection.

Pros

What I liked most about this software is it’s ability for me to take my thoughts & ideas and organize them visually in way that makes achieving my personal or project goals and objectives more structured and easy to follow.

Cons

What I liked least about this software is the overall look and feel of the earlier versions that I was implementing before finally updating my software package. In my opinion the graphic user interface was very dated and reminded me of software programs released in the early 2000’s.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Performance & Reliability woes

Reviewed on 28/05/2019

Pros

It's a desktop application! This is a boon with the current cult-of-the-cloud (AKA someone else's computer). You can use it offline and navigate&edit quickly with keyboard shortcuts.

Fast to use (until you want to save!)

Cons

Performance is a nightmare. The minute you mind maps have any scale they start to take >1minute to save. I have a high-powered Win 10 machine with 24GB of ram and it makes no noticable difference compared to my laptop. This is a problem if you want to save often as

It crashes. As the mind maps get larger, xmind tends to crash more often which means you get paranoid about loosing work and have to save more often. When it takes 2mins after a CTRL+S it really takes you out of your flow

Newer version are subscription based! Such a shame.

Yogesh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best mind mapping and brainstorming software

Reviewed on 09/09/2022

Pros

XMind is the best mind mapping and brainstorming software. It's very easy to use and can be used for capturing ideas, consolidating information, clarifying complex problems. As a Software Testing professional, Blogger I have found this Software very useful.

Cons

As of today haven't experienced any issues.

Joshua
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great mindmapping tool that I now cant live without

Reviewed on 12/03/2019

I regularly recommend this software to anyone who will listen.

I regularly recommend this software to anyone who will listen.

Pros

It is super quick and easy to start and built out a mind map and with the new Zen version you can create even better looking versions of mind maps which can be client facing.

Cons

Making it easier to add custom images and icons would be a nice addition

Wojciech
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I use XMind to manage information in visual way, to create notes & presentations in many views.

Reviewed on 06/02/2018

time saver, notes keeper, presentations option

time saver, notes keeper, presentations option

Pros

XMind has great options to present information in many, different ways - as timeline, trees, org charts,... If we use task information, we can manage topics with Gantt chart view. It's easy to share documents in many ways. It's easy to develop document with visual elements like icons and images.

Cons

It would be great to see more advanced options in project management controlling area and maybe cooperation with MS Excel as data source.

Waqas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One choice of Mind Mappers

Reviewed on 17/02/2021

XMind is one of the best mind mapping software available in the market. It's user interface is...

XMind is one of the best mind mapping software available in the market. It's user interface is nicely crafted and provide creation of end less possibilities in graphs, trees and many more.

Pros

One of the best and cheapest Mind Mapping Software available on the market. I'm using it to create mind maps to remember things and make plans for future or create plan for on going projects and tasks. I'm using the trail version as it has all the feature to create astonishing mind maps.

Cons

Price for cloud based license is bit high other than that it is one of the best mind mapping software available in the market. Latest XMind 2020 is not available for the desktop but you can by lifetime license for older version XMind 8 Pro in just $129 only.

Clemens
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Mindmaps for free

Reviewed on 09/12/2019

XMind is a perfectly valid choice for gathering ans structuring ideas as long as you can live with...

XMind is a perfectly valid choice for gathering ans structuring ideas as long as you can live with some minor structural restrictions and limited design-freedom.

Pros

I really like the fact that the free version of XMind offers most of the features I wanted. The prefabricated designs are neat and for most people, they'll be entirely sufficient, just like the graphs themselves.

Cons

The possible schemes are limited in their complexity, which is a pity because being able to structure thoughts is what XMind is all about. I don't like to limit my thoughts to a structure the software is able to display, but as it is for free, I'm not sure wether this is actually valid critique. Also, the UI tends to be a little confusing.

Simon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Mapping Tool

Reviewed on 21/01/2020

Great for quick, good looking maps. A breeze to use and pick up

Great for quick, good looking maps. A breeze to use and pick up

Pros

Visually pleasing and a very nice UI feel. The keys are intuitive and you can quickly and easily create some beautiful maps

Cons

As you go down the layers in your map, it does lack the ability to customize the deeper level maps look and feel. Beyond 3 tier is probably a no-go.

Vincent
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Efficient mind mapping tool

Reviewed on 12/02/2022

Everytime we need to explore solutions and feature, xmind offers the best for this.

Everytime we need to explore solutions and feature, xmind offers the best for this.

Pros

Compared to freemind, xmind has a better look and field

Cons

I'm using the free version, never test the pro version. live collaboration might be a good improvment if not available

Iker satish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Mental map your ideas

Reviewed on 31/07/2021

The main tasks that we solve with this software are matching up ideas for the improvement of the...

The main tasks that we solve with this software are matching up ideas for the improvement of the work and getting down the group ideas for the optimization of different tasks.

Pros

What I like the most is the ease of get the ideas from your head to a text or map, being able to separate the main ideas and subtopics in a very simple and practical way just like you want.

Cons

I only have one thing that i don't like about this software that you can't work with your partners in a specific map that could be a good improvement to the software.

Luca
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

one of the best mind mapping tool

Reviewed on 05/12/2022

Pros

many functionalities compared to its competitor

Cons

visual layout not so good compared to other tool

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Moved over to XMind from Mind Meister

Reviewed on 20/12/2018

Pros

The free version has a lot that you can do with unlike Mind Meister. That is the main reason I moved to XMind.

Cons

The size of the software is bloated I felt

Arthur
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I just love the XMind free version, the best Idea Mgmt software ever made

Reviewed on 29/12/2018

Pros

It´s way easier to put your ideas and mind maps together. The interface is very intuitive and you can build big mind maps easier.

Cons

The program is not heavy but eats memory so it´s better to have a good computer or at least a small monitor to use it.

Malcolm
Overall rating
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent Intuitive Mind Mapping Tool

Reviewed on 05/12/2018

Very useful to present a bunch of info to managers and less technical people.
e.g. business...

Very useful to present a bunch of info to managers and less technical people.
e.g. business processes, Areas of responsibility, project elements.
Also very useful to show updated status of projects.

Pros

Very easy to use
Relationships and Boundaries/Summaries very useful to organise groups or show linkages
Icons for priorities / flags / faces etc useful to show task progress / highlight certain points (with legend)
F7 Mapshot
Free version highly functional. Pro version has load of great features, very powerful
Compatible with several other mindmap formats

Cons

Free version cannot export to PDF (only to image , html image or text)
shortcut keys for list input could be improved

Brandi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy Brainstorming Diagrams at your fingertips

Reviewed on 05/12/2016

Xmind has given my organization a free downgraded version of their software to use since we are a...

Xmind has given my organization a free downgraded version of their software to use since we are a charity. I really like the ease of use of this software and how fast you can pull together a simple fishbone or timeline compared to Vision.

Pros

Easy to use; little to no training required to be productive.
Free version available

Cons

Limited design capabilities but its free.