GitHub

4.8 (4,754)
Social coding & collaborative development platform

Overall rating

4.8 /5
(4,754)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

4754 Reviews for UK Users

Imad B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Leading Hosting Software Platform

Reviewed on 29/04/2022

I'm not too much using GitHub but his year and the previous was the first time I used as a process not just being discovering before !
After that I recognize that GitHub is the leading platform in Software management code, why ?
Because Has a massive active users with huge code base and diverse software sharing process.

Pros

It's really easy and powerful to maintain and get productive every day process

Cons

Lean process and rich tools to manage the project

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Is not a switch but is just being around and still GitHub my main tool to manage my code !

Switched From

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Because has a large base and so powerful from all sides, for me is not the platform, I'm concerning about Git software tool to manage the code and being share online. Really work fast and every moment I enjoy my experience with it, and for sure how it is immersive because had a large communities code share and it's really useful.
Santosh B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Developer Tool - GitHub

Reviewed on 13/05/2022

- The overall experience with GitHub is excellent and very satisfactory. The tool has many good features provided OOB for many customers to get go from the initial setup itself.

Pros

- The most important feature that we use at a very critical phase is the version control, creating pull requests for the developers to review the code base continuously, for continuous integration and continuous deployments for merging code and deploying code to production
- The tool is very easy to use and navigate without any prior experience
- The tool has very good support team to resolve any issues in the process
- The tool is very widely used by enterprise companies in the market to manage the code base

Cons

- The pricing could be more reasonable as compared to the other tools in the market
- The UI can be more intuitive for the users to work with
- The tool can include more features in the tool that could be used by many customers instead of building custom API's and having issues in the workflows.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

- The pricing was less when compared to the other tool we choose. It did not had other integrations we are looking for.
Ngozi P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Review of Github

Reviewed on 12/05/2022

Expert

Pros

I like that github helps for easy collaboration across several teams and also help in version control.Github also have more integration and support compared to other product.

Cons

I haven't seen anything I don't like about Github yet

Tsitsi hazel S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitHub Collaboration Review

Reviewed on 04/04/2022

It is a secure, scalable and reliable tool used to effectively manage version-control of any software, ideal for various types of code. GitHub has a wide range of capabilities and security measures.

Pros

Users can manage their time more efficiently by doing code versioning and code review.

Multiple developers can stay in sync with each other and can develop their software products in collaboration with one another.

Open Source software products can be created, accessed and improved publicly and developers can contribute to the Open Source project from anywhere in the world.

GitHub can be used as a resume as it helps with visibility and reputation building for developers by allowing recruiters to view their interesting projects when applying for job opportunities.

Cons

The intial learning curve can be tricky for new users. Onboarding requires a bit of detail and practise with regards to cloning repositories, creating a fork/ branch, pushing changes to code and raising pull requests when getting started, but once this process is well understood, the product is easy to use.

Alternatives Considered

Slack

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub is more widely preferred and used by software developers globally, uses less bandwidth and provides visibility of projects for future version improvements and for recruitment.
Dakota M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple, easy, and reliable.

Reviewed on 31/05/2022

Our overall experience with GitHub has been amazing we needed a easy and free source control solution and GitHub was that. It has grown with us as our needs have expanded to incorporate a CI/CD pipeline. GitHub has handled every challenge we've had a long the way.

Pros

GitHub required almost no changes to our dev environments to integrate it. We develop mobile applications for android, so most of the functionality for GitHub was already easily accessible to us within our ide. For web development, we used GitHub Desktop which made viewing changes and pushing commits incredibly simple.

Cons

Since GitHub is built to use git commands, some functionality can be impossible to use without knowing the command line. This isn't a massive issue since most commands have already been documented well online, but you will most likely have at least a few uncomfortable command line interactions especially when trying to rollback changes.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Familiarity and name drew us to GitHub. The features provided made us stay.
Abhirup B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best solution for hosting source codes for personal and private projects

Reviewed on 08/05/2022

My overall experience with the product is excellent. The software is easy to use and sufficient for the average user. Though, there are a few shortcomings in monitoring usage effectively.

Pros

GitHub is straightforward to use. Where you can start using the tool within 15 mins, it works well with Git bash and has many 3rd party tools supporting it. The best part about GitHub is that private accounts are free of charge. GitHub is also straightforward to integrate into automation script execution flows.

Cons

Git Hub does not provide adequate tools for managers to monitor usage or enforce access control.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

BitBucket quotation was costlier than GitHub.

Switched From

Bitbucket
Tiffany T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Our Company Loves GitHub!

Reviewed on 23/06/2022

Great experience with GitHub.

Pros

Our entire company uses GitHub to some capacity and it has been great. In terms of product management, it keeps everyone in sync and organized even across teams. We love the ability to be able to customize the software to our liking. It's extremely easy to use.

Cons

Because our company uses it for both product management and development, certain boards can get overwhelming. Overall, I don't have many negative things to say about this software.

Md abu K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best platform to grow & share your tech skills

Reviewed on 10/05/2022

It has been offering the student a free premium option for their whole studentship period. Therefore, our students can gain knowledge & also share their software & codings among the other coders out there. Additionally, the Github student pack offers a lot of external popular software that helps our students both in academics as well as in building their careers.

Pros

This platform has been a blessing for our students & also for my career.

Cons

This tool is perfect at its position but pretty expensive to acquire a Github pro badge.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Github is more student-friendly than other options.
Arun S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Awesome tool for SCM (Source code management)

Reviewed on 29/04/2022

A developer friendly tool which is a must for each developer. Supports all possible languages. Helps a lots in code merging and reviewing.

Pros

Developers can work on multiple projects at the same time. Supports CICD pipeline seamlessly. Data is stored on the cloud, so no need to worry about data backup.

Cons

Adding more space for data, Previewing HTML documents and Having a Jupyter app

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Github is universally trusted and provides seamless CI-CD pipeline integration.
Shivam A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy Code Management of Github

Reviewed on 03/05/2022

Pros

Easy and quick Source Code sharing, issue tracking and version control.
Good user permission and tracking for modifications done

Cons

A bit steep learning curve for some freshers as clear learning manual not easily available

Meraz H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Must have for all Development Endevours

Reviewed on 27/05/2022

It is a safe, scalable, and trustworthy technology that can successfully handle the version control of any program, making it appropriate for a wide variety of code. GitHub is equipped with a comprehensive set of features and safety precautions. We have aggressively elucidated a lot on the manner that standard getting resources are not really helpful when trying to find a solid engineer. Top designers don't hunt effectively for new opportunities and don't use regular work sheets or LinkedIn. It is recommended that you search in certain locations for high-end technological expertise. How exactly does one go about locating a designer in this day and age? On the stages where the IT people group gathers to collaborate, exchange coding techniques, and learn from one another, you will find programming engineers.

Pros

Setting up and getting started with Github is quite simple. When you begin a new repository, you will be guided through the process of effortlessly adding your source code from your computer to your repository using a few simple instructions. It also has a large number of other capabilities, such as task management, problem management, interaction with DevOps for deployment, static hosting of websites, and a great deal of more functionality. Additionally, it has a high level of extendability and enables you to integrate a large number of market-sourced components. You have the option of keeping your source code private or making it available to the public.

Cons

Some time for me Because GitHub was developed without a simple user interface, verifying even the smallest and easiest things, such as a date, requires you to hover over another date in order to give you the exact hour and time of a commit per se. Because of things like these, using GitHub may be challenging for those who are just starting out with the program, but it becomes easier the more you work with it.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Bitbucket is too expensive.
Ava H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wireless
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful tool for developers and to be able to carry out a wide variety of projects as a team.

Reviewed on 30/05/2022

It has been a great step for the development of my personal and commercial projects, because I can work hand in hand with my colleagues, being able to carry out projects from scratch either in private or public repositories, assigning tasks, being able to follow them, exchange ideas and even solve problems in the code in a short period of time. In addition, when working together with other colleagues, it is much easier to complete projects on time and deliver successful projects.

Pros

There are several aspects that I like about GitHub as a software developer, having this high potential tool at hand makes it much easier to carry out projects of great value, since in one place it is possible to carry out the entire process necessary for a clean code.I like that it allows to be able to manage in a more reasonable way the time of development of versions and the time that is needed for the review of the code, because by being able to allow access to whoever you want to be able to solve any problem in the code, it makes it easier for them to solved in the shortest possible time. Not only does it guarantee a clean code but it also allows synchronizing the development of the code, that is, different tasks can be assigned to several members so that the progress of the project is rapid. A valuable feature of this tool is that it makes it possible to get the original code and even make changes without having to worry that the other team members will not have the updated version, this saves time and avoids overwriting the code which can be a great benefit error. In addition, assigning tasks allows the project to be much more fluid and that the workflow does not fall on a single person and the best thing is that it is simple to track progress. For example, assigning tasks gives me and my team to have better coordination and be able to advance in each task quickly.

Cons

GitHub is an ideal tool for developers and programmers and even students since it allows you to work in private or public repositories, being able to interact with other developers, however, before being able to use each of its functions smoothly, you need time to fully understand it said software, this is because its learning curve can be somewhat high and more so if you are a beginner.

Fábio S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub for devs and for security reviews

Reviewed on 25/04/2022

Overall, GitHub offers all main features of git in a user friendly website.
Everything can be done through the interface, including creating your own static site.

Pros

GitHub is the most well known git implementation.
For security reviews, GitHub offers many solid information regarding source code commits. It is easy to search for a new source code change on both command line and GUI, making it easier to detect new changes and potential vulnerable code.
It also is easy to understand what was changed to the source code after a security fix, allowing for easy comprehension of the implementation.

Cons

Since it is an implementation of git, the learning curve of more complex commands and features is very steep.
The average user will only use the basic features (like git clone, which downloads a copy of the repository to the local machine, or git pull/git commit, which will publish the changes to the remote repository), but when trying to use the more complex features (like merging, purging code, reverting a state) it can be time consuming to learn.

Elian B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Github Review

Reviewed on 29/03/2022

My experience with Github has been awesome and it continues to be like so. Is very handy and I use it on my daily routine.

Pros

I mostly like the ease of use and in the same time the big hand that Github gives me and my colleagues every day to
accomplish our daily tasks and be coordinated with each other.

Cons

To be honest I think that Github is the best code hosting platform and is very hard to find any disadvantage. I use it every day and I am happy.

Alternatives Considered

Jira and ClickUp

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Bitbucket was inly focused in versioning and code hosting and did not provide all those functionalities that Github offers.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Ease of use and the possibility to do a lot of things like project management, task planning, versioning, collaboration, review etc.
Emil H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An assortment of undertakings for associating with GitHub

Reviewed on 23/03/2022

We have proactively expounded a lot on the way that to track down a solid engineer, normal obtaining assets are not exceptionally supportive: top designers don't look effectively for new positions and don't utilize ordinary work sheets or LinkedIn. You should utilize specific destinations to track down top tech ability. So how might one track down a designer nowadays?

Programming engineers can be found on the stages where the IT people group shares coding tips, works together and gains from one another.

Pros

Administrator takes your code and changes it into a powerful, dispersed pipeline. You can keep on utilizing your current devices, dialects, foundation, and contents.

Official forms a rich DAG structure, however such that regards positive designing and doesn't repress it. You can utilize Prefect's useful API to change scripts with insignificant snares; or you can get to the conceded computational diagram straightforwardly; or any blend thereof. It depends on you.

Cons

GitHub is dead-easy to use in the fundamental list of capabilities. The arrangement is negligible and all forming observes guidelines and so forth We had no issues setting up access for different clients and when private archives opened up even in the complementary plan it was an easy decision.

Githubs Actions region large assistance - when set up appropriately and can assist with computerizing errands like sending more than a few servers. It is an exceptionally useful asset, however perhaps more convoluted to arrangement then in other comparative products.

Dandre D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Essential to every developer

Reviewed on 10/03/2022

Overall great experience, for bot myself and my team.

Pros

Github is secure, promotes collaboration and is free for the most part. The core features of git is free and for further more "niche" features you can get enterprise. Github is great to go and check how you dependencies work in projects that you use and to see anything from issues to versions related to the source code

Cons

One (I want to say annoying) thing is that all the repositories is stored in one place. I would love to just be able to separate personal projects with fun projects and shared projects with the use of a folder structure.
Also difficult to get a hold of GitHub documentation, i found myself learning trough Youtube videos instead of practicing from a document page (I am sure there is but i could not find it)

Alternatives Considered

Azure DevOps Services

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Licenses are expensive and limits the number of members in our team.

Switched From

Azure DevOps Services

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Free to use. Secure and popular.
Jakub H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Github Action solves automation issues

Reviewed on 04/03/2022

Generally it is ok. The usage is simple. Connection 3rd party apps to GitHub works well but not out of the box. Sometimes there was an encoding issue when using 3rd party apps to push changes - but they were probably client issues rather then GitHubs.

Pros

GitHub is dead-simple to use in the basic feature set. The setup is minimal and all versioning follows standards etc. We had no issues setting up access for other users and once private repositories became available even in the free tier it was a no-brainer.
Githubs Actions area big help - when set up properly and can help automate tasks such as deployment over several servers. It is a very powerful tool, but maybe more complicated to setup then in other similar produts.

Cons

The product management additions seemed as a good idea first, but rendered unusable (for us) since it people (devs) tend to use one app for versioning in command line and other apps for tracking and reporting. Comically joining them was not well received.
The GitHub desktop app can cause authentification issues for non experienced users.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

GitHub seems to be used by a broader userbase. We wanted to fit in easier. Plus the private repos became available in free tier. Until then BitBucket was the better choice. GitHub actions help a lot in CI/CD.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Userbase and pricing (can be free) for organizations.
Charles boampong K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best project management tool for software developers.

Reviewed on 26/02/2022

We're currently building an advanced Learner Management System and the workflow and collaboration via GitHub is so rewarding.

Pros

Our team of web developers live in different geographical locations but GitHub offers us the best environment to meet, collaborate and manage projects. It offers modern tools that help developers to work remotely and yet be more effective and productive than if they were to work in one physical location. It is the number 1 platform that I'd recommend for every web/software developer.
The ability to track all the changes you make during the lifecycle of any project and it's flexibility to allow other team members to make their contributions to the project is so cool.

Cons

Not any that's affecting our projects yet.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Someone recommended GitHub to us because of the few hitches that we were experiencing that time.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

It appeared to have more positive reviews.
Masoud D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Secure, innovative and feature rich, a competitor to all other providers

Reviewed on 22/02/2022

I cannot imagine working without GitHub, to be honest. I appreciate that there are many other alternatives these days but GitHub to me is the industry standard that makes developer jobs a lot easier and manageable.

Pros

When you think about source code management you'd think of GitHub straight away. The security is taken seriously on GitHub and the CLI has made using it super simple and convenient from the comfort of your terminal. The offering of integrations with different DevOps tools is a must-have these days that you'd get out of the box with GitHub. Another important factor that makes GitHub stand out is its reliability which in the entire time that I've used it has always been available and has never been down.
GitHub has not stopped innovating new features and improving their services after all these years and it's amazing to see that they offer a new feature frequently.

Cons

I'd love to see a feature-rich mobile app from GitHub to allow managing the repositories easier and more practical on small screen devices.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

I believe GitHub is more reputable between developers and more reliable compared to other competitors.
Amitava S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Goto Source control for software developers

Reviewed on 16/02/2022

Pros

I've been using GitHub for more than 10 years. It is the goto hosted Git service for my personal and enterprise SCM platform. It has pretty much everything you need for software development starting from source code management to issue tracking, project management, build tools (Actions) and online code editor. I also use GitHub CoPilot which is great productivity tool saving at least 30% of my development time every day.

Cons

There are no complains really! I love everything about GitHub.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I find GitHub much better product, better offerings in terms of features and user experience.

Switched From

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Better offerings, free plan is less limiting and better and faster UI.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub - the industry standard but could use some interface help

Reviewed on 02/02/2022

Overall it's made our work so much easier I can't even explain. Back when we used Subversion for code management, version control was a total disaster. Now we use Git and GH for managing our entirely cloud-based infrastructure, and it's a dream. Git works smoothly with GH, and GH makes our code available wherever we need it: AWS, Slack, wherever. GH is kind of like putting your code on wireless headphones -- now you can walk around wherever you need it, and it's there with you.

Pros

GitHub is the industry default for code management with Git. If you use Git, you probably already know and use GitHub to keep your various repos safe and in the cloud. It integrates with absolutely every DevOps tool and system under the sun. And probably also the text editor you are working in. And probably also the communication tool you are using -- Jira, Slack, whatever. All of them talk to GitHub. Its help pages are the best in the business too. And it seemingly never goes down. We depend on it the way we depend upon electricity being in the wall socket.

Cons

Unfortunately, the UI on GitHub is far from ideal. I use GH every single day, yet I still often find myself struggling to figure out where to find what I KNOW is in there. The Go to File button -- not sure why that is always hard to find. How to pull up a list of all the commits for a particular branch? Why is it that tiny little 'commits' button? It's like there are 3 or 4 different subnavs on the site -- each of which has its own logic, but it's not intuitive which one you should be looking at to figure out what you're supposed to be clicking on. It feels like somebody with real UI chops could figure out how to help GitHub take all the awesome features they have unleashed and put them into a more sensible layout. I hate feeling stupid, yet I often do when looking to find something in GH.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Once we moved to Git, it was obvious that GitHub was the place to be. Back in those days it was the only real option.

Switched From

Apache Subversion

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

It felt (and still feels) like these other products are aimed at niche markets that have very particular needs. What we want is something that is powerful, simple, just works, and can integrate wherever we want it. GitHub has solved that for us since day one.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

If home is where your code is, Github is my home

Reviewed on 28/01/2022

I have used GitHub personally and professionally for over a decade. I use it primarily for work, but I have also used it to contribute to open source projects in my free time. I have found many amazing projects that I use regularly in my work and in my programming related hobbies.

Pros

Git hub gives you options to manage your code. I like that I can use the command line to interact with git, but I can also use the GitHub desktop application, or the plugin for my IDE of choice: Atom, or the plugin for my colleagues' IDE of choice: VS Code, or any number of other apps.
The pull request merge workflow is also wonderful in that it allows code inspection and comparison.
Minor edits can even be made on the GitHub website and will become part of the regular git history.
GitHub actions allow us to do things like run unit tests and check a test build before approving code for merging to the main branch.
My absolute favorite part about GitHub is that it allows me to collaborate and contribute to projects that are not directly under my organization's control, but part of the open source community.

Cons

Honestly, there is not much I dislike about GitHub. My biggest complaints about it are more related to the choices my organization has made around using GitHub. I would like to use GitHub for issue tracking and project management, but we have contracts with other paid tools that offer roughly the same functionality.

If I had one request for a better user experience it would be to improve the quality and capability to search for code within a specific repository. The feature exists, but it feels primitive and very basic. I want to be able to search through version history and have better search matches (instead of fuzzy matches). Better search tools would make GitHub even more useful.

Luis carlos C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I can't see myself working without it

Reviewed on 13/12/2021

I've used GitHub for more than 8 years now. It is my old reliable tool for source control and almost anyone that uses it will probably have the same opinion.

Pros

GitHub is probably the single most important tool in our development team. Everything you can think about source control tools it does it and does it well. We have a lot of integrations hooked to it, so it also helps us with more than source control. Besides of that, it is easy to use and being almost universal at this point it means we usually don't have to train new developers on how to use it.

Cons

Nitpicking here, but the mobile version might improve a bit. I know code review is something you usually don't do on a phone, but some emergency happens from time to time and you just need to approve / request something and those little interactions could be easier. Still, that's the only thing and it is incredibly far from being a deal breaker.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub is easier to deploy across the organization. Plus, almost everybody already knows how to use it, so it saves a lot of time on adapting to it.
Fayeba S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best source controller

Reviewed on 20/11/2021

We use Github to keep up with our private stage code storehouses, that our group utilizes, just as our open source repos to fabricate the local area, which is a main consideration for us picking Github. In contrast to different contenders, Github has zeroed in on its center contribution of source code the executives and simple joint effort, and along these lines, stayed away from superfluous stage weight. For groups where keeping awake to date with the open source world is a need or a benefit, Github is undoubtedly awesome, given moving issues and repos are incredibly instructive. Local area support is likewise much better with Github

Pros

Commonality is the principal word that rings a bell, for a little, quick yield group. We needed to zero in on conveyance, not the cycle and Github gave what we really wanted - source code the board, cooperation, project the executives the most straightforward, and the least expensive. While its rivals like Bitbucket have tried to focus on the undertaking business sector and spotlight for enormous scope corporate tasks, Github is significantly more little group amicable as there's no additional stuff of sorting out the stage, and rather, we can simply zero in on doing what we came to do. Github activities fit our assemble needs genuinely well, and coordination with arrangements like Netlify for CI-CD was a breeze. Venture the executives is basic and simple. The open source well disposed guideline helps in simple admittance to new and coming code content lined up with our inclinations to investigate and use in our own applications and items, something that needs other SCM items

Cons

A reliable documentation framework like Confluence would be truly useful. As groups develop bigger, they shift to elective arrangements since Github needs more usefulness to oversee assignments and code across the bigger group, which can be changed by getting highlights and working on existing ones. Incorporation backing can be extended rather than keeping it restricted to inhouse items.

Jorge M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best choice for version control for small and large projects

Reviewed on 20/11/2021

It has been great software to be honest I will highly suggest it since it's very accessible to anyone, they offer a lot of plans and pricings.

Pros

There are some key features that makes GitHub a great tool for version control. In the first place all the process of having control over branches setting permissions and the vast options for configuration in the repository you have are great. It has one of the best pull request section, it allows for commenting more than one line which is great for making comments. As well GitHub have integrated great tools like the pipelines we can create to have continuos integration.

Cons

Some time for me GitHub has been built without an intuitive UI and checking even the smallest and easiest thing like a date you need to hover over another date to tell you the complete hour and time of a commit per say. So this kind of stuff makes GitHub sometimes difficult for new joiners of the software but as you get to use it more.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

GitHub is more widely used around the software development. It has made giant leaps to catch up to Atlassian integrations like creating tickets inside of github and stuff like that.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

It provided the overall best experience and pricing.