SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Reviews

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence

Self-service business intelligence (BI) platform

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(234)
Value for Money
4.0/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.0/5
Customer Support
4.0/5
Sort by

234 Reviews for UK Users

KADir
KADir
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SAP Business Objects Intelligience

Reviewed on 16/12/2022

SAP Business object is quite usefull follow up tool to track KPIs

SAP Business object is quite usefull follow up tool to track KPIs

Pros

KPI review is showing daily life of performance linked to IOT activities in the Industry 4.0 times

Cons

Due to re-planning of tasks , targets would be change in the operation. Follow up of changes and tracking of trend must be more visible with reasons why target is changed and until when old target was valid.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great tool for report automization, analysis and calculation

Reviewed on 02/03/2019

It's a very powerful tool to download data, however, requires some trainings for users.

It's a very powerful tool to download data, however, requires some trainings for users.

Pros

It's intergrated in Microsoft Excel, so I can use all function of Excel on the data download by SAP Business Object.
Normally we have to go to the web version of the reporting tool and download report one by one, but with SAP business Object (Analysis Office), we can insert the data source one time, format it, do calculation with it (using all other Excel function). The next time when you need to update the data. Just simply refresh data source in your formatted file. All data are refreshed while your calculation/format are still there.
You can even write Excel VBA to load data with Analysis Office. It saves you a lot of time to download all reports based on different filter criterion.

Cons

First, it takes time to load if the data is too bid
Second, there is a limit (55 000 lines) on Excel. You can, of course, change the limit, but not everybody knows how to do it (or allowed to do it)
Thirdly, the prompts are not so well-designed and user-friendly. I normally have to scroll down a lot to find the filter. (imagine you have 10 different sheet, scrolling down will take long time).
Fourthly, VBA and Analysis Office are quite complicated to use and the trouble-shooting is quite annoying.

Aaron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

SAP BusinessObjects for Administrators

Reviewed on 20/08/2019

Pros

The system is able to interface and pull data from a very wide variety of data sources once configured and setup. The reports that come out from the system are very customization and the end users seem able to learn to write them fairly easily.

Cons

The amount of updates and complications of installing, configuring and getting the servers up and running can be time consuming. Updates are also a very tedious process ... these are all normal with a software package this large. The most end-user complaint would be the size of the PDF files, they can be quite large depending on the contents of the reports, which can quickly fill up an inbox.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The CRM (Customer Relationship Management) you need

Reviewed on 10/01/2023

in general SAP is a tool that combines both reliability and performance with a reactive customer...

in general SAP is a tool that combines both reliability and performance with a reactive customer support, wide functional coverage and it is rather scalable

Pros

The publication of certain financial and logistical information is very fast because all the data is available almost in real time.

Cons

Management tool requiring a relatively high learning curve

Alternatives Considered

WordPress
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence - Good Visualization tool for SAP Eco System

Reviewed on 02/12/2022

This tool served really well for ad-hoc reporting scenarios where its WebI component provided some...

This tool served really well for ad-hoc reporting scenarios where its WebI component provided some very easy to use features to create ad-hoc reports on the data sets that were connected to Business Objects. Creating dashboards and other visualizations was fairly easy as well.

Pros

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence connects seamlessly with SAP backend. It can connect very well to SAP BW, SAP ECC etc which is always a challenge for other non SAP tools.

Cons

Connecting to Non SAP databases need some additional efforts.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

SAP BO BI Review

Reviewed on 05/05/2022

This is definitely a good tool for self service analytics and good for data preparation

This is definitely a good tool for self service analytics and good for data preparation

Pros

For an SAP environment, this is best tool for reporting, since it can be connected effectively with SAP

Cons

The connectivity of this tool with non SAP tools is not straight forward or simple

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Front-end

Reviewed on 01/12/2018

Pros

Using BOBJ has been light years better than previous database front-ends that I utilized, it is full of functions andhas a much more user friendly interface.

Cons

Many of the functions are at a more basic level and require you learning their program to be able to nest them together and get the results you're looking for.

Tushar
Tushar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Its has really good BI suite

Reviewed on 31/07/2022

Overall experience is good, main things is all five modules to taken care.

Overall experience is good, main things is all five modules to taken care.

Pros

The Best 5 main modules :

1. Payable Accounts
2.Ledger
3.Cash Management
4.Assets generally Fixed.
5.Receivable Accounts

Cons

It has no such least like thing but, takes more time in database updates.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Nice Way to Interface with Data

Reviewed on 29/07/2018

Pros

SAP Business Objects provides a nice way to interface with data, allowing both power and flexibility through its structure.

Cons

With each new version there seems to be some flaw that needs to be corrected or feature that should be added and at an enterprise level it becomes difficult to continuously deploy the updates.

Olive
Olive
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence review KPI monitoring

Reviewed on 25/09/2022

Pros

At first, the software is looking complicated, but using it very easier after passing an induction

allow exporting data to another tool for further exploitation, good data cleaning and KPI monitoring

easy to set up , handle and customize

Cons

the cost of the license is as high as it cant allow small-scale business to buy and use

Patrick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SAB BO Administration

Reviewed on 14/09/2019

Check every the status of all the services.
Publish and schedule a report
Create a report with...

Check every the status of all the services.
Publish and schedule a report
Create a report with Crystal Report
Create triggers

Pros

Possibility to schedule a report with different parameter and send it by mail to different user.
You can send a report in many format (xlsx, Pdf, etc)
Triggers features when you schedule a report

Cons

Administration is not easy, many services to check every day.
Consume a lot of Memory and CPU.
In case of crash, the reinstallation is very difficult and too long.

Dhruv
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sap business object overall review

Reviewed on 18/10/2016

Sap business object is very ease to use for end user.there are someR very useful and user friendly...

Sap business object is very ease to use for end user.there are someR very useful and user friendly tools which can be operate or handle by end user like web intelligence , explorer, lumira etc.

In other end, there are other functionality and tools like dashboard,design studio , information design tool.

Sap business object is platform independent and robust.

Having great features of drill down,dynamic receipent ,enterprise reciepent.

Pros

Sap business object is very ease to use for end user.there are someR very useful and user friendly tools which can be operate or handle by end user like web intelligence , explorer, lumira etc.

In other end, there are other functionality and tools like dashboard,design studio , information design tool.

Sap business object is platform independent and robust.

Having great features of drill down,dynamic receipent ,enterprise recipient.

Cons

Sap business object , for create the universe need knowldge of database and query and fundametals.

Guido
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The perfect B.I. for mid-size companies

Reviewed on 20/03/2023

It has been used as main reporting tool of the company: all the teams used to receive the automatic...

It has been used as main reporting tool of the company: all the teams used to receive the automatic reports in the morning and all teams had the capability to generate on-demand reports.

Pros

I appreciate above all its flexibility when I need to create ad hoc reports.It's very powerful, even if a bit complicated at the begining, and it really allows business users to drill down into data and get the information they need.

Cons

It requires an adequate training in order to use it at its best.It's a bit complicated, especially to understand all its functionalities and reporting capabilities.

Pawan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good tool for developing reports, but not quite nimble enough

Reviewed on 11/02/2021

Pros

The overall architecture of BO XI (with UDT v14.2.7.3130) is intuitive to understand. Most of my experience, however, has been using it with derived tables for more flexibility in the clinical trial space. This is one of the features that I like because it allows me to not only deliver custom reports but also standardized reports that integrate data from different sources.

Cons

I think that BO's lack of OLAP functionality could use some beefing up. In my company, it's usually BO, Spotfire or Tableau that are used for reporting. If BO had OLAP capabilities, processes within the company that rely heavily on other tools may also change to account for that.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

powerful and customizable analytics

Reviewed on 15/02/2019

Establishing a culture of self service analytics within the organization with initial training and...

Establishing a culture of self service analytics within the organization with initial training and support as and when required.

Pros

SAP business objects is an easy to learn and use analytical tool especially in the context of self service analytics by end users. One is able to re-use the same query and also share the query with other users as well and modify the query at any given time for customization purposes. It is also fast.

Cons

As with any new tool, there is an initial learning curve to get ramped up - however there is fairly good documentation available for this purpose. In addition, need good network bandwidth especially when there are multiple users trying to run queries at the same time

Brittany
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Used as Central Management Console

Reviewed on 12/04/2019

Pros

We use SAP Business Objects in conjunction with Crystal Reports to provide web based links for our employees to run on their own within the constraints of the parameters. I like that it is easy to navigate and sort by file name. The organization of information is clear and straightforward and it is easy to customize how you want to see things.

Cons

I wish there were options to add certain columns to your view. For example if I want to sort by name or last update, I can, no problem. But if i want to get any details on frequency or last time a user ran a report, i have to either go into the settings or run a report.

Mithun
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Cost Effective Simple Reporting Tool

Reviewed on 24/06/2021

Overall I am having a mixed feeling with respect to Business Object Intelligence. I am neither...

Overall I am having a mixed feeling with respect to Business Object Intelligence. I am neither satisfied nor dissatisfied.

Pros

In Business Objects the way you can build Universe and expose that as a self service tool for users to build their own reports gives it a cutting edge compared to other reporting tools. Being a SAP tool the customer support is good and it integrates well with other cloud platforms.

Cons

The look and feel is not that great and it cannot match the dashboard features which are present in other reporting tools like for example Tableau.

Ashmit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Efficient Reporting

Reviewed on 02/01/2018

Pros

Business Objects is one of the most efficient reporting software out there. It is fast, and its UI design makes use of any knowledge use the tool. It has its own server and file management tool which make using this software more productive.

Cons

To report using business objects, you have to have universes those are needed to be developed by your designers. There is a lack of functionality where the user can directly query off from SQL tables. The updates and patches those are rolled out by SAP are very slow.

Irv
Overall rating
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple, fast, and powerful software that has been an amazing asset for my team

Reviewed on 15/08/2017

The main benefit is a great UX interface that makes building queries easy, repeatable, and...

The main benefit is a great UX interface that makes building queries easy, repeatable, and amazingly quick. The ability to run queries in the background as well as scheduled daily/weekly queries is a major selling point as well. You can act as your own data analyst for a small business without having to manually update your reports.

Pros

Much faster than manual queries and data pulls from our internal software
The ability to build off of a saved query expedites all future queries
Features including reoccurring queries and running queries in the background so it does not interfere with your current work

Cons

There is a learning curve to understand how to use the queries, so there is some training involved
Some of the "result objects" do not pull data but that may be our data sources, not the program itself

raphael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Awesome platform to store information

Reviewed on 06/02/2021

I love SAP CRM, its very clear and detailed layout helps me work, however I wish it would stop...

I love SAP CRM, its very clear and detailed layout helps me work, however I wish it would stop crashing and run more effectively.

Pros

This is an Awesome platform to store information. It's easy to use and straightforward, and has information displayed very clearly which helps save lots of time when analyzing information.

Cons

This program often crashes or runs very slowly. Its frustrating at times because as we're trying the work, often times i cannot meet my objectives because the client becomes impatient and leaves.

Laurie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Business Objects embedded capabilities

Reviewed on 09/12/2018

I used Business Objects over nearly 10 years at 2 different corporations and generally was able to...

I used Business Objects over nearly 10 years at 2 different corporations and generally was able to accomplish what I set out to do with it. Customer Service was usually able to point us in the right direction to resolve issues we ran into. I also like the Universe concept that facilitates combining the business and data layer for self-service reporting.

Pros

I liked that it could be embedded with single sign on with a transactional application in a SaaS environment. This enables companies to build the software they have domain knowledge in and take advantage of reporting capabilities that tools like Business Objects has.

Cons

It can sometimes be difficult to work through navigation issues when embedding the software. It requires someone to understand how to get into the toolkit, which has a learning curve.

Shiva
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

This is a very good transaction level analytical took that can be used in enterprises

Reviewed on 18/07/2017

Pros

facilitates self service and is user friendly to write queries with basic training of users thereby reducing reliance on central IT. Also data can be exported to excel/pdf etc.

Cons

This product works well when there is a data warehouse and data is regularly uploaded to the data warehouse so that users can write query and generate data from the query.

Navid
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Enterprises Package

Reviewed on 23/10/2016

SAP Business Objects is a complete package that suits a large enterprises. From designing to...

SAP Business Objects is a complete package that suits a large enterprises. From designing to visualization and delivering real time reports.
This tool is always stands at top.

Pros

Easy to visualize raw data.
Efficient in scheduling
Reporting
Low maintenance
Worth for money

Cons

As other BI tools avaible in the market, this also lacks at some features and functionality

BARBIE
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

versatile program

Reviewed on 04/02/2020

overall it has been a game changer for our company

overall it has been a game changer for our company

Pros

Love how quick and easy it is to use this program . A lot of our major software programs are SAP based and very user friendly

Cons

sometimes the layout of things was a little confusing or too cluttered for my taste. i would probably change the layout

Aubree
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Business Intelligence Solution for all sizes

Reviewed on 18/07/2019

Overall, SAP BusinessObjects offers multidimensional data analysis. This allows you to create...

Overall, SAP BusinessObjects offers multidimensional data analysis. This allows you to create reports on multiple business parameters from multiple external data sources.

Pros

SAP BusinessObjects allows the company to integrate with external systems, such as SIMS Claims and Microsoft Office and combine data from these for business analytics and reporting functions. There is a drag-and-drop interface which allows you to create custom reports using the perimeters you want.

Cons

The drag-and-drop interface is sometimes difficult to use especially when working with a large amount of data. Once you use this program more, it seems to get easier to use.