Visio

4.5 (3,108)
Diagramming, process modeling & data visualization

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(3,108)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

95%
recommended this app
Sort by

3108 Reviews for UK Users

Tharindu
Tharindu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

There's not competition to Visio

Reviewed on 28/07/2021

I regret not having used this software before. Just like many, I thought this to be expensive. But...

I regret not having used this software before. Just like many, I thought this to be expensive. But an hour with the software proved how much time would've been saved had I chose this earlier. Visio offers one of the cleanest interfaces available, and it's a pleasure to work with this software. The rich template library will help anyone get a quick start in any project.

Pros

Visio provides us with an unbelievably smooth user experience when it comes preparing any kind of flow chart, mind map, hierarchy, process diagram, and anything else you could thing of! Also, you get to export your work in pretty much every usable format available. There's almost zero learning curve with this one if you're familiar with basic MS software packages. I can't ever see myself seeking an alternative to this.

Cons

There's nothing to dislike! Anyone who might think that this is expensive will find that this is worth it after the very first use.

Andrew
Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Process Development Tool with layers

Reviewed on 29/07/2019

Visio has helped me take conversations and brainstorming sessions and demonstrate how they would...

Visio has helped me take conversations and brainstorming sessions and demonstrate how they would actually work. So often there is a good intention on trying something new, but it is important to get everyone on the same page. This tool has helped do that.

I have also extensively used Visio as a training tool. I will link the diagrams to other portals and tools that we use, so that the workflow document is something of a link aggregator for all the steps involved. This has made the hand-off from training to implementation much easier.

Pros

I like that I can use Visio to easily demonstrate workflows and process improvement ideas. There is a range of understanding for software like Visio. I do not use it to automate at my place of work, but I use it extensively for visual learners when implementing or discussing new processes, procedures, and ideas. Often I have co-workers take these designs and display them for their team as a physical reminder, others are more intuitive and I work with them to develop interactive workflows (with links, actions, etc.)

Cons

There are some elements to how you design that are not intuitive. I usually spend about 15 minutes with users who download the software to demonstrate how they can make their flows and diagrams. The organization chart is particularly more cumbersome than advertised, but even so, I have users who use it for this purpose. Online resources are sparse as well, and I often am troubleshooting when trying new methods.

Alternatives Considered

Lucidchart

Reasons for Choosing Visio

Functionality with other Office products. We utilize the Office Suite extensively and Visio is a better solution in that regard. It is also easier to train people on an office product, as they are more familiar with it.

Switched From

Lucidchart

Reasons for Switching to Visio

Similar to the description above. We tested Lucidchart and even have people who still prefer to use it because they are comfortable. But ultimately we found more use-cases for the Visio product.
Chaya
Chaya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Visio – professional in diagram drawing

Reviewed on 15/04/2019

Visio is one of the tools which is used by most of the people for drawing diagrams and charts....

Visio is one of the tools which is used by most of the people for drawing diagrams and charts. Because of the easiness in drawing and and professional look of the final product this application is more famous in the industry more specifically in IT industry.

Pros

Visio has become one of the major applications which is used in drawing diagrams in the industry. Visio has become almost an official tool in diagraming as it is vastly used In most of the companies in creating diagrams related to their business plans and projects. There are various types of diagrams provided through the application . So the users can draw any type of a diagram according to their requirement from the given diagram types. Because of the large number of diagram types provide by the application users’ does not need to search different software to draw different diagrams which saves both the time and money of the user. Visio offers different editions like Standard, professional and pro with particularly improved functions per each edition. Also Visio created diagrams can be imported in another similar diagram drawing software and do further modifications. Even the diagrams drawn by some selected software can be opened through Visio and edit them. Visio offers both desktop and online versions for the users which helps the users to use the product whenever they want wheatear they are connected to internet or not.

Cons

Visio is not a platform independent software. So far Visio is only available for windows operating system. It does not supports mac os or Linux or any other operating system. Which has limited the usage of the application only for the users using windows. Though there are different editions users have to pay for each edition with more facilities. And the price need to be payed seems to be unfair considering the same category applications. Though there is a desktop version in Visio it is not constantly updated. Updates are available for the desktop version within few years time period. So it is bit difficult to work with the desktop version.

Ivy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

You're paying to not have to Alt+Tab

Reviewed on 25/01/2024

Overall I do not enjoy the cost of the Visio license compared to what I get. It should just be...

Overall I do not enjoy the cost of the Visio license compared to what I get. It should just be part of the Office suite's base cost.

Pros

Visio is nice in that it is part of the Office suite and thus conforms to the general expectations of the interface that Office users have come to expect since 2007 introduced the ribbon. If you can use any other Office app, you are at least standing on your feet when it comes to starting with Visio.

Cons

The cost of Visio is outrageous when compared to alternatives, both web-based and standalone apps. At its heart a rudimentary vector editor, there is little that Visio does for what 98% of the people who use it that free/cheaper alternatives such as draw.io, visme, etc all do for a fraction of the cost. Given an idea and time anyone should be able to use one of the alternatives and achieve the same output that Visio provides. The only reason to use Visio is if you are forced to stay in the Office environment.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Visio review

Reviewed on 18/06/2023

Visio has great Product functionality when compared to other software and also it has a very good &...

Visio has great Product functionality when compared to other software and also it has a very good & strong user community who we can reach out when in need.

Pros

We have both on-premises license and free cloud A1 license of Visio. We had a nice experience in using this product. Workplace Social Distancing Stencil in Visio is an excellent tool using which we managed this Covid Pandemic. Templates and dynamic gridlines are useful for creating floor plans. You can customize all the icons to suite your requirements.

Cons

Not possible to collaborate. Very year they are increasing the price. Printing the drawings created in Visio is not great.

Alternatives Considered

AutoCAD

Reasons for Choosing Visio

Using Visio software was relatively easy. Microsoft has a clear product roadmap and future vision.Product functionality and performance was good.

Switched From

AutoCAD

Reasons for Switching to Visio

Overall cost is less when compared to other software and it has a strong & large user community whom we can reach out when required.
Jose
Jose
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Visio, a complete and versatile tool for the graphic representation of processes.

Reviewed on 08/12/2022

Without a doubt, Visio has remained a reference tool in process diagramming for service companies,...

Without a doubt, Visio has remained a reference tool in process diagramming for service companies, manufacturing, and in general, for all those organizations that need to represent their operation in diagrams based on standard rules. Since it maintains the concept of design and use of most of the tools developed by Microsoft, we do not need to invest a lot of time and effort in the adoption of the platform.

Pros

The use of the tool is quite simple and it is very easy to become familiar with its way of diagramming. The editor is extremely complete and there are multiple templates that we can use or adapt to our needs. The integration with other office tools allows us to incorporate our diagrams into text documents, presentations and share our designs with the rest of the organization.

Cons

It is an excellent diagramming platform, which has been maintained over time, incorporating innovative integrations with more recent and collaborative applications, which allows it to ensure its validity for much longer.

Muhammad Umair
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Process flow diagram made easy with Visio

Reviewed on 07/09/2023

Deployment of Microsoft visio is quite easy for anybody who knows basic tools of oterh Microsoft...

Deployment of Microsoft visio is quite easy for anybody who knows basic tools of oterh Microsoft Office suite. Is saves time by automatically connecting process flow equipments and events. Furthermore, drag and drop feature of diagrams in a huge canvas chart is highly appreciated.

Pros

Making a process flow diagram along with relevant parameters and labeling them is very convenient with the Microsoft visio. It has a wide and diverse range of built in engineering process diagrams for almost all types of departments like utilities and plants.

Cons

I wish, animation feature of data presentation could be integrated with the visio. Although the most of the work out put from the visio is 2 dimensional, however Microsoft should adapt the 3d export feature for better data visualisation

Sechaba
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Visio - One of the best diagramming tools

Reviewed on 16/11/2023

It's a great diagramming tool. It didn't take me too long to get up and running, and I have been...

It's a great diagramming tool. It didn't take me too long to get up and running, and I have been able to create some great projects with it.

Pros

The ease of use. The importing of third-party stencils is a feature that I really love.

Cons

Nothing, I can't find a fault with Visio

Faris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Experience with Visio

Reviewed on 12/11/2023

I chartted all the Management system quality with it

I chartted all the Management system quality with it

Pros

1. Interface : the easiness to create professional-looking diagrams
2. Versatility : the wide range of templates and shapes
3. Its integration with other Microsoft products

Cons

Cost : Altought it's the best product but comparing with other diagramme softwares it's a bit high

Henrietta
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Visio is great for process mapping!

Reviewed on 28/02/2024

Pros

I use Visio to map out team workflows and compare cross functional activities. It’s a great visual tool that’s easy to use, and the final look is clean and professional

Cons

Visio is a bit difficult to size the working board you are using effectively. Found myself toggling between manual and auto view adjustments

Skyler
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ease of use

Reviewed on 03/01/2023

Used for many years have not been let down. Will always recommend the program

Used for many years have not been let down. Will always recommend the program

Pros

The transferability of "clip art" for my diagrams allow for an accurate depiction of the product we are trying to show.

Cons

Some of the shared programs saved within Visio sometimes do not save properly causing a full start from scratch. 1-2 times out of 10. Still favorable for a great program

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Acrobat Reader

Reasons for Choosing Visio

Visual display

Switched From

Microsoft Excel

Reasons for Switching to Visio

Ease of use for the OS package we currently run
Raphael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Productive and Powerful Visualization Tool

Reviewed on 28/01/2023

Visio is an excellent tool for creating visuals that are both visually appealing and informative....

Visio is an excellent tool for creating visuals that are both visually appealing and informative. It is easy to use and provides a wide range of options for customization. However, it can be expensive and the learning curve can be steep.

Pros

Visio is an incredibly powerful and versatile tool for creating diagrams and visuals. It is easy to use and has a wide variety of options for creating visuals that are visually appealing and informative. The software is intuitive and allows for customization of visuals for specific projects.

Cons

Visio can be expensive and the learning curve can be steep for those who are not familiar with the software. Additionally, it requires a significant amount of time and effort to learn how to use all of the features effectively.

Muhammad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Must Tool to Develop Comprehensive Flowchart

Reviewed on 07/09/2022

To prepare a practical, flexible, easy to make, easy to understand flowchart or organizational...

To prepare a practical, flexible, easy to make, easy to understand flowchart or organizational chart the ultimate choice, in most of cases, will be Microsoft Visio, an innovative way to visualize a business process.
Visio enables to learn about organizational setup, flow of documentation, and procedures alongwith cause and effect diagrams, the more important is that the diagram is self explanatory for presentation purpose.

Pros

Being member of rich and widely used family of Microsoft applications, it is effectively configured and integrated with excel, word, powerpoint, teams, sharepoint, onedrive, etc.
Microsoft Visio enables users to generate a basic to complex diagram or hierarchal modeling. Visio has all necessary features that are required for graphical presentation of a flowchart or organization chart. Apart from built-in features, there are many templates that can be easily modified according to your requirements.

Cons

Visio is not easy for new user particularly using at mobile, if a new user has to provide links by using arrow keys then he/ she will experience it as a tricky task, it not intuitive as well.
Visio does not generate link leading recipient of the link to view diagram at any browser. Visio does not allow arrangement of diagram elements automatically, cropping of image is not allowed, usually arrows do not connect properly. To group or ungroup is not easy task, sometimes auto arrange feature returns errors.

Timothy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Very capable diagramming tool

Reviewed on 01/03/2021

Overall a very feature rich diagramming tool.

Overall sharing / file management was NOT Good....

Overall a very feature rich diagramming tool.

Overall sharing / file management was NOT Good. which was the dealbreaker for me.

Pros

Overall Visio can do everything you need to in regards to diagramming. There are hundreds of shapes icons, tips, tricks etc... I spent 6+ months getting familiar with the program and once you have the hang of it you really can make amazing diagrams and visuals.

I really think you should be on the latest visio as there are older versions which default settings make all your diagrams look very old and outdated. But the newer version of Visio does have better visuals/colors etc which make your diagrams look more modern.

There are lots of keyboard shortcuts which are amazingly helpful, only downside is you have to learn them, which does take time.

Cons

I found Visio is clunky and hard to learn, and some of the features they tout like 'auto-align' I could never find useful. it always messed up the order / arrangement of the diagram.

Also the color themes and fonts tend to make the diagrams look a little outdated. Especially if you are on an older version of Visio. Anything earlier than 2019 I think has default settings which made my diagrams look like they were made in the 90s.

The other thing which was a PAIN is sharing diagrams, it makes it really difficult to keep a source of truth diagram and constantly be exporting it to PDF, always wondering who has the latest version etc... O365 should fix this, but I always found copies getting saved to my local and just exasperating the problem. More than once I had to make the same changes to a diagram cause I misplaced or lost an updated version. That is my biggest pain with visio, and is ultimately why I switched to Lucid Chart.

Mario
Mario
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A Comprehensive Review of Microsoft Visio: Pros, Cons, and Use Cases

Reviewed on 22/12/2022

Improved communication: Visio can be used to create clear and visually appealing diagrams that help...

Improved communication: Visio can be used to create clear and visually appealing diagrams that help to convey complex ideas or processes more effectively. This can be especially useful in meetings or presentations, where visual aids can help to illustrate points more clearly.Increased efficiency: Visio's pre-designed templates and shapes can save time and effort when creating diagrams, and the software's formatting options allow users to customize their diagrams to fit their specific needs.Collaboration: Visio's sharing and collaboration features allow team members to work on diagrams together, even if they are not in the same location. This can help to streamline project workflows and ensure that everyone is on the same page.

Pros

One of the strengths of Visio is its wide range of pre-designed templates and shapes, which make it easy for users to create high-quality diagrams without having to start from scratch. The software also has a range of formatting options, including the ability to customize the appearance of shapes and add text, data, and images to diagrams.Visio also has a number of collaboration features, such as the ability to share diagrams with others and work on them together in real-time. This makes it a useful tool for teams that need to collaborate on projects or presentations.Overall, Visio is a powerful and user-friendly tool that is well-suited for creating professional-quality diagrams and graphics. It is especially useful for those working in fields such as business, engineering, and IT, but can be useful for anyone who needs to communicate complex information visually

Cons

it does have some limitations and potential drawbacks that users should be aware of:Cost: Visio is a paid software, and the cost can be a barrier for some individuals or small businesses. There are free alternatives available, such as Lucidchart and Diagrams.net, that may offer similar capabilities at a lower cost.Complexity: Visio has a large number of features and options, which can be overwhelming for some users. It may take some time to learn how to use all of the features and create high-quality diagrams.Compatibility: Visio is only available for Windows, so users on other platforms (such as Mac or Linux) may need to find alternative tools.Limited import and export options: Visio does not have as many import and export options as some other diagramming tools. This can be a limitation if you need to work with diagrams created in other software or share diagrams with people who use different tools.Lack of real-time collaboration: While Visio does allow users to share diagrams and work on them together, it does not offer real-time collaboration in the same way that some other tools do. This can make it more difficult to work on diagrams with team members in different locations.

muhammad majid
muhammad majid
Overall rating
  • Industry: Commercial Real Estate
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why Visio

Reviewed on 03/05/2023

Visio has several good features that make it a popular choice for creating diagrams and flowcharts:U...

Visio has several good features that make it a popular choice for creating diagrams and flowcharts:User-friendly interface: Visio's interface is intuitive and easy to use, with a wide range of templates and shapes to choose from.Customization options: Visio offers a high level of customization, with users able to create their own shapes, stencils, and templates.Integration with other tools: Visio can integrate with other Microsoft tools such as Excel, SharePoint, and PowerPoint, making it easy to import data and create presentations.Advanced features: Visio offers a range of advanced features such as data linking, shape data, and data graphics, which allow users to create highly detailed and customized diagrams.Collaboration: Visio allows users to collaborate on diagrams in real-time, making it easy to share diagrams with team members and get feedback.Automation: Visio also allows for automation, with users able to create diagrams automatically based on data from external sources like Excel spreadsheets.Overall, Visio is a powerful and flexible tool that offers a wide range of features and customization options for creating professional-looking diagrams and charts.

Pros

Microsoft Visio is a popular diagramming and flowcharting tool that has several benefits for businesses and organizations. Here are some of the key pros of why i am using Visio:Customizable templates: Visio offers a wide range of customizable templates for different types of diagrams and charts, such as organizational charts, network diagrams, and process flows.Collaboration: Visio allows teams to work together on diagrams and share them with others in real time. This makes it easier to get feedback, make changes, and keep everyone on the same page.Integration with other Microsoft tools: Visio can integrate with other Microsoft Office tools like Excel, PowerPoint, and Word, which makes it easy to import data and create presentations.Advanced features: Visio offers a wide range of advanced features, such as data linking, shape data, and data graphics, which allow users to create highly detailed and customized diagrams.Automation: Visio also allows for automation and can generate diagrams automatically based on data from external sources like Excel spreadsheets.Overall, Visio is a versatile and powerful tool that can help businesses and organizations create professional-looking diagrams and charts quickly and easily.

Cons

Some cons of Visio include its high cost, steep learning curve, and limited compatibility with non-Microsoft software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Visio for better work output

Reviewed on 10/09/2022

I utilized this software for the first time in my final year of college and indeed it was a life...

I utilized this software for the first time in my final year of college and indeed it was a life saver. Back then, we had to comply with the requirements of our professor regarding Plant Design. We need to illustrate the process flow diagram of the Butanol Plant we made and one of my colleagues suggested why not try using Visio. I was first hesitant to use it because of the sheer number of features it provides, but by the end of the semester I had managed to create a good plant layout that included the general flow of the process streams, the equipment used and process flow diagram symbols.

Since I now work in the field, I personally prefer utilizing this software while I am working on a project because Visio offers a wealth of capabilities that allow me to clearly display the relationships between my data. The flowchart is something I frequently develop since it is simple to construct diagrams that demonstrate every step of our project. With the aid of Data Visualizer Diagram, I can quickly and easily create a simple flow chart; all I need to do is organize my data. Another thing I regularly create is the Gantt Chart, which shows the project's timetable and allows me to keep track of our progress and identify any areas where we need to move quickly.

Pros

Microsoft Visio is a great tool that I used ever since I was in college. As a quick recap, it is a software that employs several forms of diagrams and is highly beneficial for organizing process flow charts, organizational charts, project timelines, and many other types of diagrams.
Visio has much more sophisticated diagramming capabilities than other tools with which we are all familiar, including Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc. Learning this software as a beginner will require some effort; you must become familiar with all of the features, from the most basic to the most complex controls. Once you become accustomed to using it, the program will improve the quality and organization of your work.

Cons

There is lag time when visuals are imported from Visio to other Microsoft Tools.

Setareh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microsoft Visio is a powerful tool for sketching diagrams and flow charts

Reviewed on 29/04/2023

Overall, I am satisfied with Visio. It is in the right direction. Visio is a top-level tool for...

Overall, I am satisfied with Visio. It is in the right direction. Visio is a top-level tool for boosting productivity while documenting and visualizing data. Misrosoft Visio's visual design is a standout feature, and the software is user-friendly and easy to use.

Pros

I use Visio everyday at work. It made my life easier. I save a lot of time with Visio and I am more productive using this tool. I mainly use visio for data visualization, buidling diagrams, and flow charts. It is very easy to use; I simply and quickly use the drag and drop feature of Visio to create diagrams. I totally recommend it to professionals and researchers. The software is highly customizable; it allows users to customize diagrams down to the smallest detail, including shapes, colors, and patterns. Also, multiple users can collaborate on a single document in real-time.

Cons

I do not see any cons for Visio; however there are two things that can be improved in the software:Microsoft Visio have limited export options when compared to other diagramming software. You can not export the diagrams with any format you may want to. Another thing to mention is that Visio files can become quite large, particularly those containing a lot of detailed diagrams, which can make it difficult to share or save them.

Gordon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the Best Diagramming and Flowchart Tools in the Market

Reviewed on 08/09/2023

Overall, I like the tool. I can't say anything bad about it. To me, it serves it's rightful purpose.

Overall, I like the tool. I can't say anything bad about it. To me, it serves it's rightful purpose.

Pros

- I have used Visio for a while now. I use it when am doing SAP Blueprints for client implementation projects to make the flow chart diagrams of how each business process will be in SAP. After the blueprint documentation, while at the blueprint workshops, it is so easy to explain the blueprint when it has the flow chart diagrams that I have done with Visio. Visio basically makes my work so much easier.- It is also a pretty easy to use tool. I remember that I did not need that much training when I first started using Visio. I think just needed some few pretty short youtube videos to show me around and in no time, I was good to go. - I also think that Visio, being a Microsoft product it comes with alot of credibility and stability, so I have not had any major issue with the application. It just does the job and gives me what I need. - The other thing I like about Visio that I should probably mention is how seamlessly it works with Microsoft word. So some times am able to make edits to Visio diagrams straight from Microsoft word. I find that pretty convenient.

Cons

- Visio is not included int he standard Microsoft office suite/365. It has to be purchased separately - something that might not be affordable to many.- There is also a bit of a learning curve involved if you want to do some pretty advanced stuff with Visio.

Anthony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Ultimate Diagramming Tool for Professional Use

Reviewed on 26/12/2022

Using Visio has been a positive experience overall. The software is very user-friendly, with an...

Using Visio has been a positive experience overall. The software is very user-friendly, with an intuitive interface that makes it easy to create professional-quality diagrams and charts. The wide range of pre-designed shapes and templates makes it easy to get started, and the customization options allow me to tailor my diagrams to fit my specific needs. I have found the compatibility with various file formats and strong integration with other Microsoft products to be very useful, and the ability to access and edit diagrams from any device is a convenient feature. While there have been a few instances where I have had to spend some time learning how to use certain features or functions, the comprehensive set of features and strong documentation have made it relatively easy to get up to speed. Overall, I am very satisfied with my experience using Visio.

Pros

Visio is user-friendly and intuitive, making it easy for users to get started with the software. It has a straightforward interface and a comprehensive set of features that make it simple to create and edit diagrams. It is highly customizable, allowing users to tailor their diagrams to fit their specific needs. It has a wide range of customization options, including the ability to change line styles, text fonts, and fill colors.

Cons

Visio does not have as strong of a community or support network as some other diagramming software, which may make it more difficult to find help or resources when working with the program. Also, Visio is only available for Windows, which may be a limitation for users who prefer to use a different operating system.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Microsoft Visio

Reviewed on 02/01/2019

I have been using Visio since 2002. This is the only program which I used consistently almost every...

I have been using Visio since 2002. This is the only program which I used consistently almost every day. I develop icons, drawings, flow charts and flyers all in Visio. It is not very restrictive but it is quite loose. I have to make my own templates which may also go wrong. But with experience, once gets better with Visio.

Pros

There are a few strong points in MS Visio. First is its ability to work with vectors. It can easily import SVG graphics, edit their individual lines and then being able to export the SVG again. The export can also be done in PDF. This makes the whole experience of working with graphics like icons so easy. There is no need for programs like Illustrator or Inskscape. Another good feature is that Visio contains thousands of symbols from various categories like electrical engineering, mechanics, etc. That is also useful while building the flow charts and diagrams.

Cons

One annoying part in Visio is combining the lines into a single plan so that it can be filled with a color. When you select all of the connected lines and click Join or Combine ( in Operations), the task is done without an error. But then when you try to fill a pattern or color into that area, it does not work, just because it did not really join the lines. I could never find a way to get this resolved. The only way is to keep trying by reconnecting the line again and again.

Isaiah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Terrible products and customer service

Reviewed on 03/09/2019

Do NOT buy Visio products! If you thinking of buying a tv/sound bar or other electronic, I advise...

Do NOT buy Visio products! If you thinking of buying a tv/sound bar or other electronic, I advise you to steer clear from Visio!!! We purchased a TV back in April, we moved into the tiny house about three weeks ago. We set up the original TV, it worked for 2-3 days, when we tried to set up the WI-FI it said it needed to restart after we typed all the information into the TV. When the TV came back on it was just a black screen. We contacted the company and they said they would send us a replacement because there was no technician in our area. We were charged for another TV in the meantime of them sending us out the replacement which is understandable. We received the replacement tv in the mail the other day. We spend over an hour attaching it to the wall and everything. We packaged up the original tv and had everything ready to be sent back out to them and get the deposit back from the replacement. We installed the replacement tv and again tried to connect it to the WiFi and we are having the same issue as the original TV. We spent over an hour fighting with Visio directly this morning (on our Anniversary- yes) they proceeded to tell us that the only option was to send out a technician and see what they said. When we told them that we were told there was no technician in our area they placed us on countless holds of (3-4 minutes) they said they “created a ticket” for someone to come out and take a look, they would contact us within 3-4 business days and we can arrange a time t

Pros

None See full review in the overall experience

Cons

See full review in the overall experience

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Visio is a very good Microsoft add-on tool and I love it.

Reviewed on 14/06/2022

Visio is wonderful to use as I do a lot of process mapping and identifying process ways and...

Visio is wonderful to use as I do a lot of process mapping and identifying process ways and flowcharts. Visio is a perfect tool to use this with and while not everyone can find a use case for it, I am very happy with it. Visio is a great tool that any analyst can use when making an org chart or process map/workflow.

Pros

Visio is a very good visual tool if you need process mapping and a flowchart. Visio can help customize and visualize a change or swim lanes if you need help illustrating on who and what is involved in a process. I also really like all the help and how-to guides there are available when using Visio. Almost all Microsoft products have this and Visio is no exception. Visio is also easy to integrate into a PC or Mac. Visio isn't part of the standard office suite Microsoft has but it's easy to get setup and up and running.

Cons

Visio is expensive. You cannot just request this if you are needing approval, there is likely a business case you will need since this can be up to a $300 add-on per person and costs can add up quickly. Microsoft's support isn't the greatest with Visio either as any problems will require you to uninstall and then re-install the software which is time consuming and frustrating when you have to do it.

Earl
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Unlocking the Power of Visio: Exploring Features and Enhancing Workflows

Reviewed on 15/11/2023

My overall experience with Visio is like taking a journey through a visual wonderland. It's a tool...

My overall experience with Visio is like taking a journey through a visual wonderland. It's a tool that transforms the mundane into the extraordinary, whether I'm mapping out ideas, visualizing data, or streamlining workflows. The learning curve is a minor speed bump on the road to productivity paradise. It's like having a creative assistant that speaks the language of visuals fluently.

Pros

I'm a big fan of Visio's versatility. Whether it's turning complex data into compelling visuals, choreographing workflows, or creating mind maps that spark creativity, Visio is like a Swiss Army knife for productivity. The visual element adds a layer of clarity and creativity to tasks that might otherwise be a bit dull. It's like turning work into a visual masterpiece!

Cons

Sometimes, the learning curve with Visio can be a bit steep for newcomers. It's like trying to solve a puzzle without the picture on the box. But once you get the hang of it, the possibilities are endless. The initial struggle is a small price to pay for the versatility it offers.

Kim
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the "killer apps" alive today

Reviewed on 08/06/2017

Too numerous to mention. Suffice it to say the phrase 'A picture is worth a thousand words' is very...

Too numerous to mention. Suffice it to say the phrase 'A picture is worth a thousand words' is very true and this product helps bring ideas to life.

Pros

Granted it was purchased by Microsoft from Visio Corporation in 2000 but it hasn't lost a thing, which is quite unbelievable. In fact, it has gotten better over the years. I have to say it is truly one of the most "beautiful" pieces of software I've ever used. From the flow of the user interface to the creation of almost any type of diagram, Visio has been there for me since day one. The ability to layer diagrams and images can not be beat. With some additional VBA work in the tool, it can not be beat for ease of use and flexibility. It can also connect to a database and create ER diagrams. It also has UML which can almost turn directly into code. Almost. It's not quite there. Yet.

Cons

It will come as no surprise that the price is what is the most absurd. The pricing of the product lines will take this software out of reach of casual users. For doing any truly useful work, the Professional version is almost double the Standard version. Microsoft needs to lower the cost to increase its market penetration in some sectors. Otherwise, a solid all-around product.