Sisense

4.5 (356)
BI & dashboard software for multiple, large data sets

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(356)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.7/5

95%
recommended this app

356 reviews

Maxime N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best product for your shift in data analytics

Reviewed on 01/08/2019

Working in healthcare, we needed a powerful tool that would allow us to make our clients capable of easily visualize and understand their data in order to improve their operational productivity as well as the quality of care they dispense to their population of patients. Thanks to Sisense, we offer a complete libary of dashboards and even allow clients to create their own dashboards. It allowed us to bonify our offering and therefore increase our revenues while better serving our clients.

Pros

Sisense is easy to install and setup. It easy to use, both on the data modelling and dashboard design aspects. It makes it the perfect tool to quickly set up added value dashboards and begin your shift towards understanding your data. Sisense is also easy to embed and therefore makes it easy to provide our users with self-service analytics. Sisense's customer success team is great and will make sure you quickly see the value of their product through a customized onboarding process.

Cons

The fact that multiple data models (elasticube) are competing for resources (mostly RAM) on a single server.

Alternatives Considered

QlikView, Tableau and Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Switching to Sisense

Ease of use. Ease of installation. Onboarding process and customer success team. Company's desire to partner with ours. Flexibility in pricing.
Chirag S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Quick visualization with Sisense

Reviewed on 23/02/2021

We did a longer-than-normal proof of concept with Sisense and they were a close 2nd to Qlik Sense. Both software neck to neck. Compatibility of Sisense on iOS and Android tablets and phones was behind Qlik Sense. Although we didn't end up choosing Sisense, we knew that had we chosen Sisense, we would have been equally successful. Its installation, visualization, licensing and training were Sisense's strong points.

Pros

Sisense is fast to visualize. In most companies, it is typical do a month-over-month revenue comparison (or just period vs. another period). Sisense makes it very easy to visualize that. It helps with decisioning. Sisense is also very quick to get started. Developers and non-developers can use it equally easily.

Cons

It is typical to run into several little bugs with Sisense. Most bugs don't bother us, but it showcases the need for Sisense to do better quality control. At scale, Sisense modeling system can choke without good architectural skills. Loop in Sisense architecture team before scaling.

Greg P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Able to get BI up and Running from Multiple Sources relatively easily

Reviewed on 31/10/2017

Value for money solution

Pros

Able to get a demo up very quickly - basically a full functioning demo product.

Sisense is used in our organisation to perform the following tasks:
- Bring together data from multiple data sources (mysql databases, google spreadsheets, google analytics, web analytics tools)
- Dashboarding - various sales/metric dashboards are displayed around the office on large plasma screens. Individual users also have access to the dashboards.
- Adhoc reporting - we also use Sisense to perform adhoc reporting and do data extractions across different sources

The product has a long way to establish a single source of truth for our sales data, but to also allow for the quick and timely extraction and presentation of data in dashboards which was previously done in a very laborious way.

Once you bring in your data from multiple sources you can use custom SQL language to bring all data sources together. This is a great way of doing things

Drag and drop dashboarding

Sisense support was also excellent and they were able to provide us with a cloud solution as a one stop shop.

Very solid solution for the price.

Slick interface.

Cons

Drag and drop dashboards also mean there is less customization of dashboards. Not as flexible as Tableau.

If you get your data model wrong the product can hang - you need to self-verify your work. Which you should.

Not sure how it performs with truly big data sets.

Nick A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sisense is a great tool that has advanced our BI capabilities significantly

Reviewed on 30/08/2018

The front end is easy to work with and can produce impressive looking metrics within a very short space of time. Users love the way the platform looks and find the agility in terms of filtering provides insights which they wouldn't have looking at figures stored and presented in their traditional ways (in spreadsheets). Pulse alerts mean that some users only look at the data when it's needed - which is helpful for those employees in the business who aren't going to be spending time analysing the data themselves. The Elasticube manager (~back end) is pretty easy to work with once you get used to it and you understand the required behaviours when making changes. The possibility to write SQL statements in the Elasticube manager is a huge enabler and this functionality makes it much easier to produce the data we require - in comparison to some other BI tools which sometimes have more ~"specialised" language or custom expressions / formulas that are difficult / not so intuitive to work with. There is always room for improvement and there are features that you would expect to be available that are not. I suppose though one of the good things about Sisense is that there is an active community around the tool - where plug-ins, work-arounds and feature requests are logged and discussed.

Pros

User experience. People are always impressed when new dashboards are made available due to the excellent look and feel.

Cons

When working in the Elasticube manager there is no way to download the data, you always have to go into Sisense and create a dashboard and widget for the data you want to examine. This makes it more time consuming than it should be to test and validate the data in the Elasticube manager.

James m L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best full stack BI solution on the market

Reviewed on 21/02/2018

100's of thousands in cost savings from automation and resource redundancies.

Pros

Quick to deploy, easy to use, and you can manage both the front end and the back end from a web portal. No more vpn into a server somewhere! We throw millions of rows of data at Sisense and it still keeps working like a champ! Having tried Domo, Tableau and others in the past Sisense was the first real full stack solution that got us out of our data issues and into a centralized source of truth with reporting. We have effectively saved 100's of thousands of dollars each year in automation and efficiencies alone!

Cons

Would love to see more widgets and customization options in the future. Some of the administrative features could be more robust as well.

Andrew P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Advanced Product Capable of Running Big or Small. Quickly Scalable. Fast.

Reviewed on 04/02/2016

I had first introduced SiSense to a Midwest business in Ohio. It is a nice sized firm focused on Revenue Cycle Management for Radiology Practices across all 50 States in desperate need of modernizing both the look and feel of their current set-up, as well as the functionality. While knowing reporting upgrades were necessary, I knew that whatever the choice, I needed to be absolutely precise when replacing the old with the new. I also knew that we needed to run both systems in parallel to implement safely and smartly. All of these items were communicated to every vendor during the vetting process and for nearly a whole quarter- It was the incumbent verses the likes of SiSense, Tableau, Domo and others.

Ultimately, I chose SiSense based not only on the product's flexibility, but the company's "All-Hands-On-Deck" approach to understanding our business prior to telling us that it would do things that it couldn't. From the pre-contract "sales funnel" to the on boarding staff's attentiveness, there was patience and willingness to help us learn and embrace all feature sets helpful to the business.

In the end, I would and will use SiSense over and over again. For small to medium size businesses, the product is pretty straight forward using a quantitative and tenured employee or two. For larger, more complex installations, I do recommend having a web/app/dev type of staff member available during the initial build process, which is what I ultimately did, but ONLY due to the complexity of the metrics needed to run this particular business. Today, the product continues to take on new shapes and forms, especially as ad-hoc requests encourage reporting in ways deemed previously unattainable to this company.

Finally, with the continual attention to detail that SiSense provides to its clients, even during their own growth, I will gladly use and recommend this product for large, medium or small implementations across the foreseeable future.

Alexis A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sisense for IT

Reviewed on 28/12/2016

Sisense is a great tool that comes with many hidden gems.
It's perfect for IT departments that want to empower their users to be more educated about their data and help their user to make data-driven decisions.
With the abundance of data connectors, intuitive and powerful data mapping GUI and easy to use dashboards for both technical and non-technical user, Sisense is a great choice to serve as your data and BI back-end.

Pros

Powerful data-mapping GUI with great support for custom SQL and pre/post build plugins/scripts.
Intuitive dashboards for non-techies and tech-savvy users.
Dashboards support customisable plugins (with strong community support) and scripts to satisfy the power users.
Great API support for automation.
Solid technical support to help you with any technical challenges.
Access to features request.
Speedy delivery of new and useful functionality to increase the value of the product over time.

Cons

The new features can't come soon enough, but the roadmap looks solid and promises to deliver lots of goodies.
The API documentation could be improved, some more advanced functionality is not as clear as it could be, but there is always tech support to compensate for that.

Austin K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Periscope was amazing in its time

Reviewed on 03/10/2019

I was at an adtech company running millions of reads and writes a month and we needed insight into our data. At the time periscope was the most robust option. And whenever a problem happened someone was there to help remediate the issue.

Pros

Ease of use, caching features, and customer support were all top notch. Absolutely nothing to complain about besides the price point. If you are well funded, you will not be

Cons

The price point is very steep if you are a startup or if you wanted to use Periscope for a home project.

Alternatives Considered

Cluvio

Reasons for Switching to Sisense

These products didn't exist at the time, but these product would be what I recommend to smaller companies.
Jesse B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Sisense is really good, but has its limitations

Reviewed on 06/12/2019

Sisense is a fantastic tool that rivals just about any other name in the game.

Pros

The concept is fantastic. Ecubes are an awesome way to assemble data models and use them. The permissions are very powerful and granular. Plugins help further extend capabilities. The ability to integrate in multiple ways was a game-changer for us.

Cons

Even on elite-level hardware, there can be some odd latency issues depending on how your data models are structured. There are some technical challenges to the pure Javascript embed model.

Elliot A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Awesome tool, great service

Reviewed on 15/07/2019

Our business is empowered to be more nimble. With our users having access to data immediately instead of waiting on others to provide it for them, we are making more proactive decisions.

Pros

Sisense has enabled our organizations to leverage data to identify and solve business problems quickly. It was easy to set up, build data connections, and create custom visualizations.

Sisense support is super helpful and extremely responsive. I fell like whenever I have a problem, it is being resolved quicker than I expect.

Cons

There are some formatting things that could be easier (in one row of widgets, have a columns that has two widgets stacked vertically, for example), but honestly its great.

Savu A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Gambling & Casinos
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, good end user experience

Reviewed on 26/03/2019

Prior to Sisense, we used to make charts in excel to have some kind of data visualization.This was an issue, because there are a lot of reports, and it's not easy to jump from one excel to another. Now we have dashboards that have the data updated at every hour. The top management have all that data that they need in a single application, that can also be accessed from the phone.

Pros

Easy to create a cube (basic SQL), to design a dashboard with no prior experience in dashboard design.
The visualizations are great, the dashboards are very appealing to the end user. The customer support is also great.

Cons

there are still some ideas that we couldn't implement in dashboards, but hopefully this will be fixed soon.

Jeremy K.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

We use periscope for our data analysis and visualization.

Reviewed on 17/07/2018

Pros

Periscope charts and graphs are pretty easy to use. I really like their upload CSV functionality. They recently improved their error reporting for troubleshooting query issues which was nice. Their support is extremely responsive.

Cons

Dashboards with a lot of widgets can be clunky and slow to load. Reorganizing widgets on a busy dashboard also can be a bit frustrating. Not quite as easy to use for non data people as other software I've used.

Oluwatobi L.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sisense is easy to use and a great tool for BI

Reviewed on 02/07/2018

The capacity to access data from different frameworks inside one tool allows us to continuously reduce the data silos at present.

Pros

The ability to 'plug in' and connect a variety of tools within sisense is great. (API Integration).
Sisense can handle large data sets which is easily view-able. The ability to bring in a number different data sources into one elasticube provides a great centralised data hub. From this we can quickly create dashboards.

Cons

There are some simple user friendly functionality pieces missing. Such as the ability to copy/ move folders across the platform.

Ahuva S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sisense gets users answers to questions in minutes, which used to take 10s of hours to collect!

Reviewed on 28/02/2018

Single source of data, automated manual tasks, data warehouse, collaboration across departments.

Pros

Flexibility, easy of use, scalability, great security model!
Forums, community, amazing customer service, and that Sisense is always listening to what users need,

Cons

That I need to go 'under the hood' sometimes to get additional features working. Sometimes features are 'in progress' and we need to be patient, but it's worth it!

Ashish G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple, Flexible, Powerful

Reviewed on 11/03/2020

Awesome tool for building a data driven operations. Culturally have been able to build an organisation that starts every discussion with clear data points instead of gut feel estimates.

Pros

- Elasticubes ability to connect to all data sources

- Visual interfaces to do data transformation

- Easy to use frontend

Cons

- Build times with ODBC driver could be faster

Eric L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Robust and easy to use.

Reviewed on 15/11/2018

Dynamic, active feedback on current metrics. This allows our radiologists to monitor their productivity throughout the day as well as receive alerts for critical cases that are about to exceed our turnaround time commitments. We have been able to realign our schedule and shifts to better meet the actual demands of our client hospitals.

Pros

The onboarding process was especially well put together. I found the concepts easy to grasp and the product was much more powerful and much more he user-friendly than other BI solutions that I have tried. Additionally, the availability of plug-ins as well as other customizable features make this product very adaptable to my needs.

Cons

Haven't really found any serious issues.

Chris B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product and would recommend

Reviewed on 13/03/2018

I highly recommend this tool to anyone who is looking for a reporting/dashboard tool.

Pros

From day 1, Sisense and their support team are there to get you going. They are ready to go immediately and will work as quickly or as slowly as you would like. The comprehensive training materials their support team offers was great and is a continued asset when there is something that I do not understand. The tool itself is powerful and intuitive. You do not need to be an expert data modeler to take full advantage of this tool.

Cons

There are a limited number of out of the box widgets. More can be easily added through their plug-ins though.

Liz C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great software, easy to use and very intuitive

Reviewed on 03/07/2018

Pros

Requires very short learning time. Easy to understand and build dashboards. Allows to represent data in a visual understandable way.

Cons

Some dashboards take a very long time to load especially the ones with pivot tables.. Has trouble with large amount of data.

Weinan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Highly Proficient data platform

Reviewed on 05/09/2019

Pros

Built in OLAP Cube and data warehousing, Data being imported need not to be fully transformed or shaped. User are able to create extra tables in the warehouse by writing SQL queries.

Cons

Web Based software while offers a lot of customization on the display, Knowledge of HTML, CSS, JS might be required to do further enhancement or visualizations if their selection does not provide the required plugin.

Christina K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Business Intelligence Tool

Reviewed on 14/02/2019

Sisense has allowed us to create flexible reporting and clear visual dashboards that provide insight into our data we did not have before. Although we are still beginners, we’ve been able to provide quick wins in areas that previously required a lot of manual processing.

Pros

The Onboarding and Training process. The structured process set our team up for success. Allowing us to walk through our initial use cases with someone that could help us tweak and help us understand how simple changes could make us better users was invaluable.

Cons

At this time there really isn’t anything we don’t like.

Dave B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great and Easy to Use

Reviewed on 31/01/2018

Transparency in our reporting to clients

Pros

The ability to plug in a multitude of Data sources by dragging and dropping! Soo easy. Also, these are easy enough to use that you don't need to run out and hire a programmer for every change.

Cons

There reporting color schemes could be a little more vibrant, but this may be on us. I'd like to see more Templates for us to choose from.

Curtis O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Beautiful software, strong analytics

Reviewed on 21/02/2017

Sisense will be the first to tell you how fast their product is (and tell you every fifteen minutes to make sure you don't forget!). They boast a speedy system with their in-chip analytics and web-based analysis that lets even older computers use their software. They certainly win in the aesthetics category, I found their UI to be incredibly intuitive and easy to learn. I was impressed by their willingness to spend time digging into your data as an example for their analytics software;

Pros

The UI is awesome, people will fall in love with how it looks.

Cons

When you start paying for licenses on a 'seat' basis your costs jump up quickly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful, but many bugs

Reviewed on 21/12/2018

Pros

Sisense's Elasticube data model is powerful and extremely customizable, with the proper expertise. The company has great vision for the future and continues to provide improvements.

Cons

There are a lot of bugs and some customizations require too much expertise compared to their competitors.

Allen W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Intuitive tool, beautiful visualizations, excellent team

Reviewed on 14/02/2019

Sisense helped us transform our data into information that has enabled actionable change. Their Customer Success Team has been consistently excellent throughout our years of partnership.

Pros

Sisense was very intuitive for even our most inexperienced end users. Adoption of BI was greatly enhanced as a result.

Cons

Sisense made it clear that they were focusing on the main product and mobile development would be a secondary priority. Mobile wasn't bad, it just wasn't anywhere near as good as their core product.

Sajid A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A full-stack BI solution

Reviewed on 05/04/2018

Pros

Ease of use. Sisense is extremely easy to use and BI use cases can be developed within hours of installing the software.

Cons

Limited maps functionality. While Sisense does support map-based functionalities, the scope of these visualizations is limited.