Datadog

4.6 (108)
Cloud-Scale Monitoring Platform For Metrics, Traces, & Logs

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(108)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

95%
recommended this app

108 reviews

Satbyul K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Clear graphs and easy to set up

Reviewed on 28/03/2020

Used the open URL to add dashboard to a large monitor on our workspace to easily spot spikes.

Pros

Really simple set up to monitor our full stack environment. Dashboard is very clear and suitable for both technical and non-technical stakeholders.

Cons

Nothing really. Migrating to any product can be challenging but setup was pretty simple and no key functionality absent.

Neyda jose M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful tool for the analysis and monitoring of applications

Reviewed on 20/05/2019

Datadog is a very useful tool because it is known if the applications, servers or hots are working as they should or if not, we will be aware to prevent further damage solving the problem in the shortest time possible.

Pros

This tool called Datadog I love mainly because it is really efficient and very useful because it allows through it you can carry out a monitoring of the performance of applications in a very simple way, being this through the reading of metrics that are really simple to understand and issue very detailed information that is useful to diagnose the cause and thus be able to solve the problem in the shortest time possible, also is available 24/7 so in case of any fault send immediately a mail informing the same and the best thing is that it has a clean interface, intuitive and easy to use without having technical knowledge to manage it.

Cons

One of its drawbacks is that when it is integrated with a large number of tools it can become heavy, which causes the information to be slowed down.

Damian N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DataDog is one of our must-haves

Reviewed on 06/06/2019

Pros

It's got everything that's needed for infrastructure and application monitoring and alerting. It also fits extremely well into our Infrastructure-as-Code paradigm where everything we set up is kept in a git repository as a Terraform project. DataDog is what we recommend and implement for our clients, and provides more useful features than Sensu.

Cons

Metrics and monitors don't render correctly on mobile phones. It's totally unusable in portrait mode, and barely usable in landscape mode.

Alternatives Considered

Sensu
Ciprian P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great web monitoring tool

Reviewed on 05/01/2020

Pros

Great web monitoring tool if you have the time to dig into all the options and settings. The user interface is really professional and good looking and the charts and graphs are well thought out.

Cons

It requires a bit of server tinkering, which I wasn't familiar with. Not really a minus.

Alternatives Considered

New Relic One
Kevin V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great view of our server environment

Reviewed on 08/02/2017

Datadog has great support for a variety of different third party systems - Windows machines, linux machines, AWS instances, pretty much anything you can imagine. You can easily slice and dice stats on a good looking dashboard. Provides a good one stop view of your environment.

Pros

Datadog's Windows support is great, the Windows agent supports detailed IIS and MSSQL statistics. Their RabbitMQ support is good as well - providing good insight into queues. Customizable dashboards are very handy as well.

Cons

The User interface generally is good but in some instances can be a bit too technical to use.

Daniel P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Using for monitoring multiple servers health

Reviewed on 09/03/2018

Let me know every time when my server is down. Great monitoring tool.

Pros

The implementation is easy.
Let you know in real time if your server is down or is failing.
The best tool I found.
It's always sending mails when the server fails in any way.

Cons

Should have mobile app or mobile notifications.
If you are not in the programming field you should get someone. The code is easy to implement but if you don't know the right place to call at the right function (assuming you have datadog code on a lib of your system) you wont get the data you need or in the way you need it.

Donovan G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good tool, super complicated pricing

Reviewed on 10/08/2021

Great tool, I am not 100% sure about the sales personnel and support. At times they come across a bit "laddish"

Pros

It is brilliant in how it helps to detect flaws in your system, especially their "AI" parts which give intelligent indications on where to look.

It also helps to keep everything you need to diagnose issues in 1 place. Making for a clear end to end vision.

Cons

It works out super expensive and the pricing is really hard to understand. Especially when it comes to K8s clusters.

Sky L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

DataDog - App and System Monitoring

Reviewed on 04/03/2016

We recently flipped from using an older SNMP based monitoring system and couldn't be happier. From the initial install during our trial I was smitten. It was everything I would want in an application and system monitoring system all wrapped up in a beautiful API.

Pros

Easy... seriously dummy proof.
Robust - So many integration's and easy write your own plugins.
Solid API with great documentation.
It's StatsD and Graphite, at the push of a button.

Cons

Somewhat expensive.
Doesn't have an integration with every single application? I actually have to do some work...
That's all I can think of....

Cauvery G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Really good for monitors

Reviewed on 25/06/2020

Pros

Its really good tool if you are searching or shopping for monitoring tools.

Cons

I don't use it on daily basis, but so far no issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Real-time data dashboard

Reviewed on 04/03/2020

We liked it ease-of-use and its customizable dashboards.

Pros

We can quickly create customizable requests and filters to get all the data and organize it like we need. We can get a real overview of all are valuable data in a glance.

Cons

Using Datadog can get pricy when you need many features or you have many hosts. However, its ease-of-use make it understandable.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Datagod is one of the best for IT monitoring

Reviewed on 12/04/2018

Pros

Datadog is easy to use, you can have custom and multiple dashboard, what is nice to control your environment/network.
Great notifications.

Cons

Could have a mobile app so we can have mobile notifications, It could be hard to integration with others tools.

Sam M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reviewed on 26/04/2017

Bryan I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Datadog is a solid performer but not the heaviest in features

Reviewed on 27/09/2019

Pros

Datadog solves most of our needs for general system/application health monitoring and even covers some performance metrics that we use to make improvements.

Cons

Some of the detailed views of where bottlenecks are troubling a system can be lacking. Something we've seen a lag getting data refreshed in the dashboards.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 22/03/2016

Enrique M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

best monitoring tool ever

Reviewed on 23/07/2019

Pros

- dashboards are super customizable and refreshing time is very quick
- templates save you lot of time

Cons

building the queries for the dashboards require quite a lot of knowledge (not intuitive)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Monitoring for senior developers / platform people

Reviewed on 28/07/2021

We use it as a primary monitoring system. I'm a senior developer in charge of my team and I use it a lot. Dashboards are used daily in order to monitor what's happening, usually when deploying new features or changing some endpoints. We can trace the improvements we do by measuring response time, amount of errors, etc.

I, as team lead, also use notebooks a lot to elaborate the QBR (quality business review) each quarter. I can create custom reports easily using the custom metrics we have configured across all the microservices.

In comparison with New Relic, from my personal experience, Datadog is much better.

Pros

Dashboards. Custom metrics. Ruby integration. Notebooks. Monitors & alerts.

Cons

It takes time to understand each part and understand how to use it. It's a complex thing and if you're not familiar with monitoring systems it could be difficult to figure it out how you can find what you need.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Analytics tool which helps customers and users always get the product you want them to get

Reviewed on 13/08/2019

Overall, having Datadog monitor our apps' performance and customers/users' pain points is invaluable. It's an amazing tool which lets us identify bottlenecks and better serve our users. Although the initial learning curve of utilizing Datadog's plethora of data analytics tools is steep, it's well worth the effort and price as there is much value to the metrics Datadog provides.

Pros

Datadog is probably one of the most notable analytics tool out there for large companies. It's easy to track users' flow in terms of what routes they're hitting, when they hit a snag and 404, or other metrics like how performant certain requests are which allows us to identify bottlenecks and get rid of them immediately.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve I will say with this software and needs an expert to help lead tutorials or sessions to get the ball rolling with new tool users. Although there are many built in functionalities and easily customizable features, it can be overwhelming and hard to pinpoint exactly what type of analytics you're looking for. It's one of those softwares where you have to play around with it to get the stars to align and find a model or metric that works best for your customers and use cases.

Alternatives Considered

Google Analytics

Reasons for Switching to Datadog

Datadog seemed to be more data intensive and specifically geared towards products like ours which really relied on app throughput, performance, and availability. Getting our product straight to the user, in a quick and efficient manner, is our priority and Datadog helps clear any blockers or issues that gets in the way of that.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent tool for debugging

Reviewed on 07/02/2021

It is an excellent tool for the use case that I have for Datadog.

Pros

As a software tester, I use Datadog for debugging customer issues, when I may not have direct access. I can quickly filter through the logs in order to find the issue and generate reproductions or resolve issues

Cons

Sometimes when requesting to see a log in context it is does not return the correct context which makes the debugging process harder.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Monitor full stack app performance with Datadog

Reviewed on 11/05/2019

Pros

For our AWS deployment, we use Datadog for application performance and server monitoring as well as synthetic HTTP tests . DataDog enables real-time information and measuring engineering-specific metrics and allows you to control how you trace and diagnose data. If you are looking to track the time it takes for a web hook to fire after an asynchronous request has been made, you can store the time the request has been sent in your database and when the webhook fires for that request, measure the delta and send it to DataDog. DataDog integrates with Slack, which allows for alerts on average and max thresholds.

Cons

Datadog has a mature product but features are limited, the tool feels dated and the UI is very plain.

Vince P.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Datadog Cloud Monitoring Review

Reviewed on 12/10/2017

Pros

I noticed that this monitoring system is very flexible, you can track pretty much any metric, which is great.

Great integration with many services like AWS, Chef, Couchbase, JVM, HAProxy, MySQL etc.

Dashboard functionality is easy. Comes with UI, UI is simply designed but supports all the key functionalities that you would expect from a counter services, and to be able to create dashboard based on counters.

Cons

Noticed that the more data you have, the slower response Datadog service will become, when you query the service.

Query a specific counter, as well as when the counter contains high dimensional data, which is normal, we haven't yet tested what is the upper limit for how much data it can decently handle.

But we have been very satisfied using Datadog, and we feel that it should be enough for small to mid size company.

M. serhat D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Monitoring with great detail

Reviewed on 02/04/2020

I have been using Datadog for 1 year now and I am quite happy with the product. I both used and implemented this product for low-traffic open-source projects and high-traffic enterprise projects. For both scenarios, my experience was quite positive.

Pros

Rich features, well-documented functionality, easy to use UI, being able to create custom dashboards that can integrate with hundreds of tools.

Cons

Custom dashboard creation is a little bit tricky. There is a learning curve for building your dashboard in the beginning, but after spending a day or two - you can create dashboards as you always imagined.

Filip T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Essential tool for infrastructure and application monitoring

Reviewed on 07/02/2018

Pros

Datadog is one of my favorite tools in every day work.

Some of my favorites include:
- great API,
- very flexible and informative dashboards,
- great integrations with various providers and application, which greatly improve visibility,
- a lot of libraries (eg. ruby-kafka) which integrate with Datadog,
- easy to deploy in numerous ways, ie. Kubernetes, ECS, Ansible.

Luis miguel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Datadog is a great tool to monitor your systems.

Reviewed on 30/08/2019

I used Data Dog as a QA engineer to monitor the health of the system on a daily basis.

Pros

* User-friendly UI.
* chart gives meaningful information.
* It has real-time metrics.

Cons

* It is a great tool, it takes some technical skills to understand and configure the tool.

Derrick L.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great tool for SaaS Monitoring

Reviewed on 13/04/2018

Pros

Reliable, easy to integrate, supports all important types of monitors and events, fast UI. You can easily setup your dashboard for important metrics.

Cons

Learning Curve is a high. Overwhelming amount of information to search through in order to start using the product.

Eric B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Monitoring Made Simple

Reviewed on 23/07/2014

After setting up Datadog, the value was immediately apparent. The instrumentation provided out of the box changed hours of troubleshooting to find the source of a problem in to minutes. While it used to take days or weeks to set up instrumentation, Datadog provides tools that make setup and installation simple. We use Chef at SimpleReach and in about 10 minutes, I had Datadog monitoring everything in the infrastructure. Spent a few minutes creating alerts for application metrics and turned what used to be a few weeks of work into a few hours. Coming from a systems administration background, I can't say enough good things about Datadog.

Pros

Easy setup. Wide range of integrations with common applications. Easy to create custom graphs and metrics on the fly.

Cons

If you don't already have your applications instrumented with statsd, then it can a little catching up. Also, their default set of metrics limits you to 100 metrics per server (which can be changed easily).