JIRA Service Management

4.4 (275)
The only ITSM solution built on the Jira platform

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(275)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

275 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

JIRA - A Must have ITSM

Reviewed on 22/08/2021

Very useful, one-stop solution with related to ITSM, Ticketing and change management.

Pros

Highly customizable dashboard is a huge turn on. You can see almost everything that is going on may be whether it is a project or an issue

Cons

When an issue go unaddressed for a long period of time, I suggest that there should be any way to automatically escalate or generate a reminder.

Alternatives Considered

ServiceNow
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Service Desk for Human Resources

Reviewed on 09/10/2020

Jira has transformed our 12-person HR department. We can now easily track incoming requests, are not reliant on email for communication, can create canned responses for consistency and efficiency, and we have the ability to operate 100% paperlessly.

Pros

Jira is extremely customizable, scalable, and easy to implement when compared with other SD platforms. Out of the box, it can be used as a tool to track incoming requests, however, paired with the thousands of compatible plugins, it is unparalleled. Jira SD has allowed our HR team to take our daily operations to the next level, transitioning antiquated, clunky paper processes into a 100% paperless experience.

Cons

My only complaint is when custom fields are added, you have to update every field configuration you have, individually. This is extremely time-consuming when adding multiple custom fields in an effort to create "forms" within Jira.

Alternatives Considered

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

Cost, ease of implementation, customization and scalability
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Of great help to implement AGILE methodologies in a work team

Reviewed on 16/06/2021

Pros

It is a very useful tool for project management and documentation, since it can be linked with different applications, as well as allowing you to implement various work modalities

Cons

At the beginning it has a high learning curve, until you can have a basis on how to use it

Erik B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Dig Deep Before Buying

Reviewed on 23/10/2018

It has solved some of our immediate business needs out-of-the-box or with moderate configuration effort. But as a full solution it is missing a handful of simple, but crucial, features. It definitely "feels" like a second version. It needs a third.

Pros

JSD is relatively intuitive and easy to learn without needing tons of documentation. Initial pricing is attractive. A decent plugin community fills some gaps, but be expected to pay on top of the initial JSD pricing.

Cons

Many "obvious" features are either missing or do not work as expected.

For example: in many cases, once an internal user is added to an issue, they no longer receive notification about internal comments. This is completely unintuitive, unexpected, and has caused many people frustration: https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JSDSERVER-3410

Another example: Email traffic about an issue is *always* public. Do not allow your staff to reply to JSD's emails as customers will also get emailed a copy! https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JSDCLOUD-3499

The worst part is, despite there being a few years' of discussion, and new comments added monthly by newly-affected JSD customers, Atlassian has no comments on the issues.

In some cases a plugin (more $) can help, but in some cases even the plugin manufacturers can't help as JSD doesn't expose enough info in their plugin API.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A no brainier for non profits

Reviewed on 24/04/2019

In the short time I've been using Jira Service Desk I've been impressed with the scope and capability and think that with the right amount of time invested into getting this setup properly it will do a fantastic job

Pros

I've been trying loads of service desk solutions recently and while i'm still not 100% convinced on which one to settle with, Jira Service Desk is pretty high up on the list.

Firstly, they offer a on premise version as well as (the more easy to setup) cloud solution. This is great for those that prefer to host their own solutions.

Secondly, this on premise version is also free for non profits which makes Jira Service desk a much more viable solution than some of the other options available.

The integration with confluence allows you to build out a deep self service portal, which in theory will reduce tickets. Again, this was easier to setup in the cloud version, but is also free for non profits.

It seems to tick all the boxes for an ITIL service desk, which is great.

Cons

It is missing some core features which other solutions provide out of the box, most noticeably asset tracking.

While this can be accomplished via plugins, it would be nice if it just existed within the core application.

Tim R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Industry benchmark tools but prepare well before you begin

Reviewed on 03/03/2019

This is a love and hate affair. Service Desk is extraordinary software and its capabilities broad. But it's not for the faint of heart. If we could start over we'd pause to learn, then plan, and plan very carefully. This is a project, not something you setup in your afternoon following a lunch break. And with any project, its success is measured in its planning. But learn Service Desk before planning because with the knowledge of what it's truly capable of, you'll be able to build a very powerful service desk solution. My only gripe is that it's not intuitive. We work amongst high level developers who also fumble their way around Service Desk, taking way too long to find what they need. There are workarounds such as bookmarking key screens, but without this approach you easily become lost in the deep levels of available screens and admin areas. Navigation is too complex.

Pros

Service Desk's strengths are also its Achilles heel if you don't plan carefully. It's tremendously complex but powerful.

Cons

Configuring Service Desk is by no means a simple feat. This is complex software that requires careful planning. I would strongly suggest you approach Service Desk this way: study the documentation first, write/draw a plan of what you need to achieve and how you need it to look (back and front) and perform. Planning is crucial to avoiding chasing your tail in the days/weeks that follow initial project build.

Heather R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Flexible and customizable without complication

Reviewed on 20/11/2018

We tried both JIRA Service Desk Cloud and Server but chose server so we could maintain our own data. Both products allow us the ability to track support tickets and internal projects across several departments. JIRA's basic features are good, but some of our features required we purchase add-ons. For example, we needed the ability to export reports in formats that the basic reports did not allow, needed to display specific reporter information on each issue, and the ability to CC, BCC, and set importance on an email notification. This was all possible with add-ons.

Pros

Ease of use
Customization
Dashboards
Integrations

Cons

Limited Email Functionality
Some custom settings require system file changes
Limited reporting

Angelo C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best Ticket System

Reviewed on 31/01/2020

My favourite tool for really big software projects.

Pros

Jira is mighty and comes in play when you have really big software projects.
You are able to customise every workflow, and easy manage you projects.
Also you can connect it to other Atlassian products and monitor your progress.

Cons

Jira is quite expensive and not to easy to use. So you have to really dig in deep to understand the workflows

Prateek M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best solution in market for any Digital/IT company

Reviewed on 20/03/2018

Pros

1) Extremely well thought of ticket management via Epic links, project buckets etc
2) Issue collector functionality that can be directly embedded to websites and web portals
3) Tickets can be linked with other Atlassian products like a Conflience page or bit bucket
4) Easy to create and manage sprints

Cons

1) Third party integrations are not available/limited like that with google drive etc.
2) There are few free solutions that offer something similar. Not as rohbust as JIRA but might still do the job for few.

Brant S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It has been good and we are happy with the number of features that have been added.

Reviewed on 14/09/2017

Pros

How easy it is to use. It has been easy for us to deploy and expand on campus. We have lot of users that are have commented on how easy it is to use over our old product.

Cons

Flexibility of portal. I wish the portal had more options in how it can be configured and segregated. It would also be nice to have multiple emails flow into a single desk.

Maarten C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

JIRA Service Desk is not a Help Desk tool, it's much more

Reviewed on 27/08/2016

Pros

The integration between their tools is awesome. Obviously JIRA Service Desk uses JIRA in the back, which gives you all the powers of a regular JIRA project.

But that's not all! You can link your JIRA (Service Desk) with Confluence (knowledge base), HipChat (quick and easy communication via chat), and much more.

Cons

The product is only a couple of years old and has been growing a lot. Until a couple of months ago we were really missing the WYSIWYG editor for customers logging a request but as usual Atlassian has resolved that issue by releasing a new version that includes this WYSIWYG editor.

Deepika G.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jira for issue tracking

Reviewed on 15/11/2018

We use jira for bug tracking and issues maintenance and it has been a great help so far

Pros

It really easy to keep tracks of bugs and user stories and tasks in one place categorized by the board. And automated emails will be sent according to the changes to an assigned particular task. Other plugins also can be integrated to support

Cons

And the learning curve is high for beginners due to the complexity of the features. The usability aspect can be improved.

Adam W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

JIRA Service Desk is a super powerful product, but one that can take effort to perfect for...

Reviewed on 24/08/2017

Pros

Extensive flexibility.
Granular permissions.
Integration with other Atlassian products.
Ease of use from the customer perspective.

Cons

It can be complicated to setup.
Takes extra work in order to set up a bare bones instance.
Takes some training from the Agent's perspective.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Banking
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great resource for internal teams

Reviewed on 01/06/2018

Pros

Keeps our IT dept organized, and makes sure we also are able to have a resource centre for our internal teams.

Cons

Not much, everything is already setup for us, but it is quite a powerful piece of software so there must've been a lot of setup on the administrator's end.

Kathy S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Jira Service desk

Reviewed on 18/01/2018

Pros

Software is easy to use. Ability to customize workflow of tickets as well as input forms is helpful.

Cons

Reporting and dashboard creation takes a bit to learn. Reporting is not self explanatory and can be frustrating. Once concepts are grasped it is easy to use.

Noopur B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Adept Service Management Tool

Reviewed on 07/05/2021

Pros

Ease of use and tracking activity made reliable.
Dashboard gives a realistic overview of all aspects of project management.
Scrum masters' dream come true!

Cons

Integration capabilities could be improved.

Yan S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Working with and implementing JSD in many global companies

Reviewed on 21/09/2017

Pros

Ease of use, automation tools are powerfull, add ons with no limited possibilities such asset managemnet

Cons

It is a great tool it is part of Jira suite. It is integrated with Confluence for KM so it is not stand alone

Nabil A.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

very good product

Reviewed on 13/09/2017

Reduce time to create and customize customer portals.
Track time spent on requests
Track external vs internal requests

Pros

Easy to use
Simple to demonstrate work by category
Simple to customize and add new fields to a project

Cons

Licensing model for server when installed as an add on to Jira
Limited access for project managers, a lot of work is required by system admin to customize a project

Gary B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

JSD has solved many problems for us as an organisation.

Reviewed on 22/09/2017

Avoiding the utter pain of shared email boxes for triage. Better organisation, better transparency and visibility of support issues.

Pros

Ease of configurability, flexibility for different customer use cases, avoiding the nightmare of shared email inboxes.

Cons

Cost is an issue for some teams due to the way that the licensing model works, sometimes speed is an issue if on Cloud hosting.

Dewmi R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Project Management is made easy with JIRA

Reviewed on 19/01/2020

I would recommend JIRA as one of the best project Management tools to be used especially for Agile projects as it has everything you need to manage and track your project from the inception to the end delivery.

Pros

Easy to manage and track all project work from the inception to end of the project

Cons

Takes longer time to resolve customer reported issues

Brandon A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Well Adapted For ITSM

Reviewed on 25/05/2021

Pros

This product is well Adapted for this Industry. It is well built, reliable, and can get things done. We. An have multiple escalation routes, track out tickets easily, and keep track of everything in a logical manner.

Cons

Integrations were extremely time consuming to setup. A lot of custom Dev work was needed to make basic integrations function. They pitch that you can easily integrate into many tools, but in my experience this is not the case.

Yagneshkumar P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Jira Review

Reviewed on 19/06/2018

Pros

Jira Serice Desk is very similar to other B2B2 ticketing websites where a clients or inner organizations can open a support ticket to get an issue resolved. I like just a few things from Jira which are; its easy to use the UI is very simple to use and navigate through the JIRA service desk web based ticketing system, the ability to track changes in the tickets, make comments either internally or externally, customize the ticket the way i want it to show, either by department, or group or an individual, its subscription based so there is no need of backing up, securing, or changing hardware.

Cons

Well there are number of things that i feel like JIRA is lacking compered to its competitors such as; It does not have the email functionality, when a client opens a ticket jira service desk should integrate an email service such as Outlook, so employees can receive an email if a support ticket has been opened, No other platform is support besides desktop version webpage, Does not have any dashboards or widgets to show the ticket trends, open tickets, closed tickets, other helpful widgets. I believe other competitors are excelling in the areas listed above

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Useful Tool That We Have Come To Rely On

Reviewed on 01/11/2018

We use Jira to manage our development projects and support requests. It's the best tool we've come across for the job.

Pros

Clear presentation of data. Good reporting features. Great collaboration for teams in remote locations.

Cons

Setting up some elements can be a little complicated, but that's all I can think of.

Peter N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Service desk problems solved

Reviewed on 18/11/2018

nil.

Pros

Flexibility: we were able to effectively shoe horn Jira into our business to cover all "works" requests which included; IT help requests, building maintenance, truck maintenance and fuel equipment maintenance.

Cons

I would have liked to be able to create my own "Local" users for my staff so they could login to my Jira with that, instead on everyone making their own cloud accounts.

Carlos G.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Service Desk has helped us manage customer tickets in a clean organized way and to have clear...

Reviewed on 13/09/2017

Pros

SLAs and queues are my favorite feature. Also comment visibility makes it easy to distinguish between internal and external teams.

Cons

Restrictions on what customers can do. It would be nice if they could edit at least a few fields.