8,987 reviews

JIRA

Project & Issue Tracking Software - See why we're #1!

4.4 /5 (8987 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.4
/
5
Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
4.1
89% recommended this app
8,987 reviews
Julian X.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

Go Agile with JIRA!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 08/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Jira is very easy to use from the user perspective, as well as operating it from the Admin perspective. Overall I personally suggest this product, although its price not being very welcoming, it's definitely worth the money! If you're a very large organization you definitely will want to try Jira.

Pros

Jira is a very good platform for organizing your team and projects using Agile/Scrum or Agile/Kanban. Whichever option you will choose you are covered! With its extensible platform through plugins you will never get tired of Jira. The installation is pretty much straightforward and with latest versions you can also make it HA, for instance on AWS, quite easily.

Cons

Although the product is very mature, feels also like a big giant monolith although its plugin architecture. Also, plugins are too much expensive for just simple features. There should be much control from the Atlassian Marketplace, which should follow more an App Store logic like Apple's or Google's one.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jon B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: Self Employed

The industry standard for managing the Software Development Lifecycle

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I've used everything from Excel spreadsheets to MS Access to MS Project and I find that JIRA is the best bang for the buck when managing our SDLC.

Pros

We use JIRA online and it's dead simple to create and manage complex tasks. I love the ability to integrate with great packages like Confluence (which is SOOOO much better than Slack!).

Cons

Getting new employees up to speed on using the software is more time consuming that it should be. I'd prefer a more intuitive UI.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Jonathan B.

Good features let down by a difficult hard to use UX

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Integrates well with other tools including slack and visual studio online

Pros

We moved to JIRA from Visual Studio online because it supported Kanban better than Visual Studio Online at the time. On the plus side, it integrates brilliantly with Slack our team communication tool of choice.

You can tag stories, create reports and link to tasks easily and very efficiently with the tags displaying in Slack conversations as JIRA links. Working with Visual Studio Git we tag all of our stories with the JIRA story numbers and they link together very efficiently.

Confluence is included which is a Sharepoint equivalent. This allows you to create knowledge bases of information about your projects which you can use to document your product. You can easily embed reports into this using tags or the query tools.

There are a great set of features and this tool integrates well with other systems

Cons

The UX changes on a fairly frequent basis and from experience not in a good way. It is still quite difficult after a year of using it to remember where things are because the controls are not as intuitive as they should be.

There are a number of bugs with how the UI displays (particularly in swimlane kanban mode) and although it has fault reporting options, you don't feel that any changes you suggest or bugs you report are used.

Confluence often feels like a poor persons version of sharepoint (which is not a recommendation) as it feels clunky creating pages, sections or defining navigation.

The query tools are a bit like sql and partially fill in with suggestions but can be fiddly for the BA to create.

This is a tool I would really like to recommend given how trendy it is but sadly after a year using I can't because whilst it's features are excellent it lacks ease of use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Glenn B.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great Collaboration Tool For Teams

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 16/04/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Great way to collaborate with team members and outside vendors on ticketing and projects, with a lot of integration opportunities. Would highly recommend to users not currently using JIRA.

Pros

It is a feature packed program that helps teams collaborate using a ticketing system. Much easier way to work with team members to fix issues, deploy updates and collaborate. Using this system between employees, departments, consultants and others we have been able to streamline collaboration on projects. It also has a lot of integration, including with Slack, to expedite notifications.

Cons

There is definitely a learning curve with this project and it can be a little hard to get the hang of, but once you do, the UI of the program will make sense.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Richy O.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Best Bang For Your Buck

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It's the best software out there to manage a team so overall I am very happy and so are all of my developers.

Pros

Jira makes it super easy to manage a team and helps each developer stay on top of their tasks, keep track of everything they are doing, and easily communicate with other team members.

Cons

Maybe a bit of help with integration would be amazing for anyone that has no idea what they are doing but otherwise it is AMAZING.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Brent M.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The best integrated software management tool around

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It's ultra-reliable and I've run many software teams on top of it.

Pros

JIRA integrates with EVERYTHING, and is extremely extensible, so there's almost nothing it can't do. It handles all sorts of notifications, workflows, screens, and reporting.

Cons

It's an older product so there's quite a bit of inconsistency in the product. Creating a new ticket has a very different rich text interface to editing a ticket, and there are lots of little UI/UX inconsistencies. It's hard to figure out how all the different screens and workflows work, but once you figure it out it's very powerful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Stephanie C.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Always improving

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

JIRA is hard at work to modernize and simplify JIRA. I've been using it for about three years now and appreciate recent changes. JIRA is SUPER powerful.

Cons

JIRA might be TOO powerful - it can become extremely complex, complicated, and difficult to understand.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Rijo J.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good Test Management Tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/04/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Capability to store Epic, User Story, Task, Sub Task, Test Cases, Defects

Cons

Navigation and UI is little confusing, Administration is little confused

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Lucian M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The Task management application

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 07/05/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I loved using JIRA to do my daily task management and communicate with my colleagues.

Pros

I love the Time Tracker add-on, the customizable dashboard and the ability to link projects to BitBucket repositories

Cons

I think they need to work out some restrictions when linking JIRA to BitBucket

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Timothy K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great tool but requires training

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/06/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Brilliant tool. Not for the faint-hearted to set up. Once a workflow is there and it's all set up, it's great.

Pros

Love how versatile it is, being able to make a game plan, have tasks depend on eachother, assign tickets/tasks, have mini-goals/mini-projects (epics).

Cons

There's a lot to it and it's difficult to find a workflow. It's unclear what the new project style brings. I prefer the older way as it's more customisable. Need training in it to really take full advantage.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ding L.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 13-50 Employees

Review on Atlassian JIRA

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 31/05/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, JIRA does the job for our team and even though I am on the Systems Team, we ourselves are mostly users as well. That keeps the headaches in check (as things could be very frustrating when trying to administer the applications. See above for the reasons).

Pros

A team needs a ticket/issue tracking system and JIRA Atlassian seems to be used widely in the industry.

As a user, it's easy to use for the most part. Besides having the option of hosting the application in-house, it also has the Cloud edition so from the Systems Team perspective, there's no need for servers, backups, security, keeping the service up (with fault tolerance), etc.

Cons

From the administration aspect of the software, JIRA still has a long way to go:

1) As an administrator, as far as I can see, one can *not* even do such a simple thing as change the Display Name for a user (I suppose it's a "feature" but I can't see why that's a good feature). Instead, an invite is sent out to the user, who can then set the Display Name after signing up.

2) As an administrator, one can login as another user to test permissions. That's normally a nice functionality for administrators. However, for some functionalities, while you are still logged in as another user, you suddenly go back to your normal identity. That's very confusing and thwarts the purpose. One potential good use is being able to login as another user to set/update the Display Name (see #1).

3) Setting permissions is not that easy. I tried to set permissions for an account that's used for scripting (using the REST API) but it seems very difficult (really, it should be easy) to get the permissions done correctly -- sufficient but minimal privileges.

4) The REST API is not great. The online documentation is often outdated and sometimes things don't work (with errors). Even when things run without errors, it might not actually do the thing that it's supposed to do (so you write the code for nothing when you expect it to work).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Adam F.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Jira software gives structure to our teams' progress

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/05/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using Jira for around 10 years. It has the most robust Item profile, item searching with saved searches, workflows with form field dialogs, alerts, charts, etc.

Pros

We use Jira to manage our teams' agile sprints. It makes it very easy to track and document stories and tasks that need to be done. Whenever a new task comes in, it is easy to put it in the backlog to make sure we don't forget about it. Then in sprint planning Jira helps us organize and prioritize our outstanding items into our next sprint. As any changes happen (new items, progress through the workflow, etc.) we are alerted and can easily follow the progress. It's easy to see what other people on the team and on other teams are working on.

Cons

It's still relatively clunky to quickly add a task, either on the website or on the mobile app. It would be nice if most of the common settings could default so 5-6 fields that are almost always the same don't have to be filled out with every new item. Default to the project, current sprint, story or task, assignee, etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jack E.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 13-50 Employees

First class service desk offering

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 16/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We have used this product from the very day we christened our service desk. It has evolved into an enterprise-class, feature-rich ticketing system that we have integrated with several external directories for our customers. So far, we haven't found a requested feature that we couldn't implement easily in Jira and the value proposition is strong. We recently migrated from an on-prem solution to one of their cloud offerings, mostly for ease of customer access, and have been thoroughly pleased.

Pros

Of course there's a little confirmational bias in any review of a product already acquired, but implementing it really was a thoughtful decision. Over the last few years, this product has really matured. When we started with it as an immature FOSS offering, it wasn't really enterprise-class. We were motivated by cost initially, but Atlassian has really grown it. Now with external directory integration, tiered hosting offerings, MSP-level features, and significant customization available, I can't think of another product that beats the value proposition. My most favorite feature? The return on investment. We use this to manage service desk interactions with more than 25 MSP clients, and have never been let down. It costs us less than weekly staff meeting pizza to operate and integration with other Atlassian products is superb.

Cons

Much of the branding customizations fall flat. Inability to resize or edit logos, the prominently featured plugs for Atlassian throughout the UI, and clunky DNS-tricks requires to redirect customer portal URLs to MSP's domain.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tigran H.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The most Advanced Managment Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 05/03/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall this is the great software for Product-process management and for issue tracking.

Pros

Firstly Jira is the most advanced task management software in my opinion. It has tons of valuable features for issue tracking, has interfaces like scrum, kanban and etc. It has simple mode for an starting projects and very advanced for more complex projects. One of the great things it is the editable everything e.x statuses which helps to my my team to do process more likly.

Cons

Using the Jira API it has little drawbacks for example complex documentation. It does not have major language libraries and sometimes the the API is not stabile.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Derek F.
Industry: Media Production
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Using Jira Software and Service Desk

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/02/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using Jira (and Confluence) for over 10 years. We currently have over 500 projects in Jira with a user base around 2000. We do agile web and app software development and run a support desk with kanban. Each team has their own projects with their own specific needs, from workflows, custom fields, permissions, and notifications. We do not use the cloud product, but a 3rd party, hosted, server version.

Pros

Extensibility. Jira really can be all things to all users. There are so many business workflow processes that we have implemented and all in Jira: advanced software development, workflows for processing contracts and invoices, and support work with incidents and service requests with approvals.

Lastly, with the large dev community and a large pool of app add-ons, we are confident we could extend Jira to be what we need it to be.

Cons

If you don't understand the principles of Agile software development, there will be parts of using Jira that will be foreign to you and will likely go unused.

There is a steep learning curve on the administration-side. With so many functions and features, it can be difficult to know all of your options. The "schemes" that power the project administration can also make it difficult to troubleshoot your setup.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ryan R.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Extremely capable project management platform, but almost too flexible

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/02/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, it's been a great experience - but that was largely because we understood our own limitations, and kept our customization of the platform to a minimum.

Pros

Jira offers great flexibility: it can be adapted to any custom workflow, and readily supports custom fields/attributes. Also has fantastic API support for external integrations.

Cons

Jira's flexibility is also its achilles' heal. It's relatively easy to create workflows that aren't intuitive, or worse, leave users in "dead end" states that require admin assistance. Further, their implementation of Agile tools is still a bit awkward (probably because they acquired a 3rd-party set of plugins, and didn't really make the corresponding fields native). Finally, Jira's pricing represents a slippery slope - you can get started relatively inexpensively, but adding on options here and there rapidly adds up, and can make alternatives more price-effective.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Usman K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Useful to track software project progress

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 23/01/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, I have had a good experience with JIRA. It makes software development easier certainly. But it is by no means a perfect tool. Every team I have worked with that does software development has used this tool, so it is a popular choice for software projects.

Pros

This tool lets you create projects, and subdivide them into smaller projects. This allows for separation of development tasks from product and project management. It has messaging/comments in each ticket that is created, where people can be tagged and notified when their input is required. This makes for collaborative solutions. Informational data objects such as documents, images, zip files, videos can be attached to each ticket to add to the task description. JIRA also has Bitbucket integration, so any software development such as code branches or pull requests are automatically attached to the corresponding ticket if the ticket number is mentioned in the commit message. Pull requests are also automatically linked to the ticket so it is very easy to find corresponding code for a task/ticket.

Cons

JIRA does it's job. The cloud version of the tool can be slow sometimes. The tool does not put dates on every change or addition to a ticket. For example, if you keep making changes to an issue description over time, it does not tag each change with a timestamp or which user made the change . This makes it difficult to track when an addition to the issue description was made, or who made it. Also, in some cases of very large features, the description box can get very convoluted and hard to read. Same goes for message/comment sections where too many people are commenting and asking questions, it gets very difficult to sift through all the noise.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Nitin S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Test Management Tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/01/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Overall one of the best Free products in industries. Many companies are moving from ALM to JIRA due to cost and effective wider coverage.

Pros

1. It’s freeware
2. Easy to customizable
3. Perfect replacement of HP-ALM
4. Easy to MAnage Defects, requirements/User Stories and TestCases

Cons

1. We can search test execution based on Date=today , we need to use > or < operators (it’s defect in JIRA)
2. Defects can’t link to multiple EPIC.
3. No direct RTM report
4. Person must know queries to use the JIRA
5. Performance Issue

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Senthilkumar N.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Effective Agile business project board

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/01/2020
Review Source: Capterra

We used JIRA for agile development and testing projects for tracking status. Multiple scrum and agile masters used JIRA, resulted effective outcomes, tracking in a easy way and watch out without a delivery miss. Creating sub tasks within task lead to deep level of monitoring work items, given confident to manage the task items. We have used user stories, back logs, mini sprints, daily hour stand up calls which given target throughput accurately. Used JIRA in the form of test cases, defects, change request types, requirement analysis - all forms of software test and development life cycle along with multiple development tools like dotnet, GitHub, etc.,

Pros

Couple of features below that I really admired the most-Mobile version of Jira board, colorful status tracking with accurate percentage, effective customized workflow modal, quick peek view of tasks in dashboard, search option for any filter, quick catch for getting user by using '@', easy query handling and filters, easier mode of cloning tasks, linking items and referencing, multiple built in report types like bar chart, pie charts, etc., Kanban & Agile flexi boards, vast of plugin support like git-hub, git bucket, zendesk, etc., From the admin point - easy configuration of development tools dotnet, configuring mailing options, deep level view of audit logs, watch list for issues.Couple of features below that I really admired the most-Mobile version of Jira board, colorful status tracking with accurate percentage, effective customized workflow modal, quick peek view of tasks in dashboard, search option for any filter, quick catch for getting user by using '@', easy query handling and filters, easier mode of cloning tasks, linking items and referencing, multiple built in report types like bar chart, pie charts, etc., Kanban & Agile flexi boards, vast of plugin support like git-hub, git bucket, zendesk, etc., From the admin point - easy configuration of development tools dotnet, configuring mailing options, deep level view of audit logs, watch list for issues.

Cons

Sometimes I feel, the JIRA GUI is clumsy to have many things in dashboard, other than that I do not see any specific negative factors to hate JIRA, and it depends on how we use the features for projects.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jonathan E.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Jira for IT Project Management and Integrated Project Teams

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 26/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I still love Jira for the flexibility, I use Jira Software to manage integrated project teams and internal IT projects and helpdesk. It is great to have basically a one stop shop for managing tasks and tickets across a variety of projects and departments. The biggest thing truly is entering in your information and that comes down to managing your teams and setting expectations on ticket information quality.

Pros

Flexibility in workflows and tracking separate projects and sub-projects in the same system.

Ease of creating multiple tickets as well as placing them into different projects without having to be in the projects portal.

Creating reports to review metrics is relatively easy, it was useful in an integrated project to review estimated times reported in previous sprints to project development times for other projects.

The flexibility of how tickets look and editable fields as well as workflows to tailor to the team and/or project being worked on.

Cons

The bad part of Jira's flexibility is that settings are all over the place and you typically need to refer to Jira's knowledge base on how to configure custom settings whether it is for fields inside of tickets, workflow settings and automations, and many other settings.

The standard Jira end user interface is not exactly user friendly and some things may not make sense depending on the team using it such as a ticket being in a closed state however the resolution state has separate "states" such as do, don't do which is more used by software development teams.

Jira typically requires a lot of customization when setting up new projects either for project managers, agile software development teams, or integrated project teams. As an administrator this can be difficult to convey to my end users who want to track their projects in Jira. This is where you need to have great communication with your end users to be able to setup and tailor the Jira project to their needs and improve the overall Jira experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bennar Z.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 10,001+ Employees

Jira for test management

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

As a QA in the team, our project is fully customised for tests, and Jira with Xray so far provides the best test management tool in the market. It makes life way easier, it is better than Zephyr and of course much better than excel sheets, which saves time, energy and money for us as testers and for the project.

Pros

The organisation of tests and the variety of the issue types for testing (Features ,Test cases, Test sets, Test executions, Test plan, bug...)
The ability to track the executions of tests and bugs
Great adaptability with Gherkin and Cucumber
It goes perfectly with ISTQB standards for testing
Perfect for both Scrum and Kanban users
The great boards and views provided by Jira (followup dashboards, sprint board, ..)
The ability to add Xray or Zephir or whatever test plugin that suits you

Cons

Jira users must receive a training before starting to use the software since it can be a little complex to use the software for the first time
For testers you cannot execute the same test case more than once in the same test execution
It gets more and more difficult when end to end testing multiple applications at the same time

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Makes most sense for software projects and products.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

JIRA is our source of truth for what is inside, coming out and ready to go next in, in our engineering pipeline is. There isn't a better tool out there even for miles and once you are cosy with JIRA, you can't really make do with another tool.

Pros

1) Releases/Versions:
Releases allow us to work in parallel on multiple efforts with the same team.
2) Parallel Sprints:
Same as releases, we are a lean team and we have to work on Product features and polish/bug fixes simultaneously.
3) Custom Filters: I like these the most!

Cons

They have taken out small pieces of functionality and made them separate products. These products are now paid and for those small pieces of functionality, you have to make extra purchases. e.g. Pages

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Clemens A.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Can't imagine a better way to manage agile projects

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 09/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

The amount of parameters can take some getting used to, especially if you interact with different squads who track differently: but therein lies its power. Jira is always "just" as good as the people who create the processes there.

Pros

The fact that tasks can be organized and prioritized in every structure you can think of. I have used Jira in three companies and it was perfectly tailorable to all their processes. Also, it interacts beautifully with the other Atlassian-tools. Lock-In is no argument because you just don't go with Atlassian if you dislike the way their stuff works.

Cons

Jira really has to stay ahead of its way less expensive competitors (FLOSS-guys, think Redmine). Also, it's weird how I saw some of our partners manage processes with Trello without having too much restrictions: that kind of made me think. You can probably go with a cheaper solution, but for us being a 250+ software-company, Jira was worth the price.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

David R.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

JIRA is necessary to my everyday organization

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 06/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I use it every day to organize my workflow. Without it, I would be pretty lost.

Pros

Agile development on Jira is great. The ecosystem allows me to track my time, organize my issues into tasks and sub-tasks, track when things get done, create estimates, and organize complex projects into smaller and simpler pieces.

Cons

The support is pretty ignorant of their user-base on several issues and refuse to add new features that would benefit hundreds, if not thousands. It can be very tricky to migrate, update, or set up. Plugins can cost money and it can add up, though I haven't spent too much at all for the value I received.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Printing
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Indispensable application...but setup is not for the non-tech savvy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 05/12/2019
Review Source: Capterra

When our internal IT Help Desk went down, we were in a bind. We needed something that we could get up and running with very little trouble and start getting help tickets going again. Despite there being a negative view of JIRA due to previous setup by non-technical users (who deemed it too complex); when the Help Desk was designed and implemented by the IT Team, there was very little talk of complication and more talk of how much better things were than the previous Help Desk. We did integrations with third-party collaboration tools and generated workflows and custom forms that made JIRA one of the best additions to our IT toolkit!

Pros

I love the quick and easy setup of JIRA spaces and it's integration with other Atlassian products. There are also a lot of third-party integrations to help fill-in the gaps.

Cons

JIRA is a beast. Plain and simple. Actually that's just it...it's not plain and simple. You have to have a good grasp of what you want from it to make sure you get what you really need. It is not friendly for the non-technical user looking to create a workspace.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10